(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

the stretchmark cream thou dun 100% prevent stretchmarks
but at least it condition our skin and we dun feel the tightness that badly when tummy grow
so keep applying hehe

Re;hardening of tummy

Yes, it's the braxton hicks. It's your body doing 'rehearsal' contractions to prepare for the real thing. It's irregular and will go off. So if it gets really painful and at regular intervals, that means it might be real contractions and u need to see your gynae.

coolkero

think that the nutrients from the wolfberries will be boiled away leh.. she was quite specific not to boil leh.

mashy

brandon hicks? hahah i had it all through pregnancy during my no.1 and never thought that. hahahh... this round it only start now but will go away after awhile. so not to worrisome to me. :p

bestberries and those mummies who wake up in e middle of e night... for me, i will wake up n eat fruits like apple, strawberries n grapes etc n will try to go back to slp after that. sometimes will toss n turn, bt will go back to slp soon. it affects e rest of my day. like now, i feel slpy. just had a short nap after my lunch...gg back to my work now.

SAHM, wow, think your mom same like my mom.. smooth, fair like tofu.. my mom has 5. I just told my hubby i dunno how my mom did it cos today I dun feel well at all.. top right of my tummy hurt so much, like cramp and soreness. and usual soreness on shoulder and back from sitting and working on pc.

Sheryl, u supper healthy.

Kimberly, yes pls do give us the Toyogo add..

Bestberries, dun remember seeing the twin pram but guess you can check with the salegal..If I go this wkd will check it out ok?

Re: Strechmark in bums
have been applying my clarins oil once a day..so far tummy ok, but noticed my bums have some marks, coz initially i did not concentrate in applying in the bum area.

Re; waking up at nite
me try to go back to sleep again..sometimes feel hungry but feel lazy to go to the kitchen to grab something...keke..so i tell baby to go to sleep too..

Yan
U're not alone! I also become so forgetful recently. I even can't recall my friend's & my hubby's friend names (those that we met once in 2-3 mths time). I know the person well, remember the face but just cannot recall the name! Crazy right?! The brain went totally blankkkkk.. Made a few mistakes @work too ;p

coolkero
My tummy seems to grow faster lately too but I guess all along there'll be time when it doesn't really grow & when it really does, we could obviously feel it. Well, it's been like that for me from 3rd mth til now.

Any 1st time mommy using BUMWEAR diaper? Could share your review here? Thanks!

LS

i just started my boy on the bumwear. got 2 diff kind to test both out... the bumgenius and the bumwear. personally find that i prefer the bumgenius to bumwear as its more cooling and can absorb better, boy's bum is dryer. also coz its velcro tabs... makes it easier to wear for my boy that like running around naked! also the time for diaper change for my boy is 5hrs on bumgenius and 3.5hrs for bumwear.

here are the links to the 2 diff sites

bumgenius
http://www.whoopeekiddies.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=1_145

bumwear
http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/diaper-index.html

but saying all these rite... i wont try it out for newborns as they poo lots!

also the poo... when with these cloth diapers for my boy is very messy! but then again there has not been any poo sticking to the diapers! so after washing with water its as good as new! also do note that i use nappy liners with them so that there is less poo to wash away.

Blessed, it's at 21 Toa Payoh, Lorong 8, next to Subaru, which is about 2 blocks from Tan Cheong (Nissan).

My friend's list includes:
Large bucket with cover (for us to contain bathing water)
small basin to wash bb's bottom,
basin for washing bb's face,
Multi-drawer chest to house bb's clothes if you are not using any bb's furniture,
bucket for soaking bb's soiled clothes
bucket for soaking bb's soiled nappy (if using),
container with lid to house sterilized bottles (according to Pigeon sales person, if I leave the sterilized bottles in the sterilizer, it's last about 4hrs, but if I placed in a container with lid, it'll last about 6hrs, so I am not sure what I would do..),
Container to house the washed bottles awaiting sterilization.

bestberries,
now e only thing i can do is to actually apply lotion n see hw it goes.. i use bb lotion.. so far so gd.. don really stick on clothes..

coolkero,
ya lor..actually kinda thank god tat its on my buttocks where its almost 24hrs hidden!!...hahahaha *phew

Waking up at nite: i do wake up every nite without fail oso.. =( same lor, also go toilet and drink water.. sumtimes i fall back asleep quite fast but most of the times i cant realli fall back asleep.. i jus roll arnd in the bed till i get my slp.. cos working early morning.. i can wake at 4 plus, fall back asleep n cant wake up at 6...=X

elijah'smommy, the velcro on my Bumgenius diapers become quite useless after 3-4 months and worse still, my boy knows how to open them himself :-(

I personally feel that 5 hours is way too long for cloth diapers.

margaret

really the velcro is gone? i know that my boy knows how to open them him self but he will also put it back him self... so to me just a stage of learning...

time given for the cloth diapers is just how long before it will start to leak for my boy.... every baby is different.
most times i will change at around 4 hrs.

in fact today i was so busy that i totally forgot to change his bumgenius and it actually managed to last for 7 hrs without leaking pee... so both hubby and me were surprised. :p yaps this horrid mummy can get forgetful too.... where else for the bumwear we cant forget to change coz it will leak on our stuff!

Bestberries: I wasn't sure if I was hungry so I just much fruits and drank milo. Other than that, watch tv, read magazine then try to sleep again.

Kimberly: thanks for the list... i didn't realise we need so many buckets..hee now tt you reminded, i just need to add on to my list, esp those with lids.

SAHM, Kimberly: so lucky that you've got mums with nice smooth skin even after birt, hopefully you ladies would be like them....

RE: cramps

I got some calf cramps too, its quite sudden when it comes so I just put them straight and hope that they will go away.

RE: Braxton hicks
Do we get them so early? Hmm.... i din't really notice it yet.

Koko, no worries for the list, I seriously think it's a bit kwa cheung to have so many containers/basin etc. I am considering the bucket with lid for our bathing since I dun have long bath at home.. I am not sure if I actually would buy so many also.

She also passed me a list of things I may need for my new life.. and it's quite similar to the stocklist you can pick up from Mothercare/ Takashimaya nursery department..

I also hope I will take after my mom, but my skin and complexion has always been like my dad, very typical southern Chinese, freckled , tan & sallow while my mom is fair & pinkish..

Re: Cramps
I understand normally cramps are usually caused by lack in Sodium or Phosphorous but now that we are pregnant, I wonder if it's the same deficiency.. furthermore, we should not consume too much sodium..

my instructor was telling me yesterday cramp could b due to lack of magnesium.. not sure if i heard her correctly...
and do loads of ankle rotation and lift ur leg to sleep will help in easing cramps

RE: Braxton hicks
As you associate with tummy hardening, I thought it was bb adjusting his position to make himself comfortable when I lie down. Still went to sayang the hump! LOL!

Happy weekend all!

Hi LS, Yan
I'm worse... Last week forgot to off the fire after cooking. Halfway thru eating went to kitchen to get a cup of water and found the kitchen all smokey... Left my hp on top of laundry. thankfully hubby rescued my hp

Hi Kimberly,
Cramps can be caused by sudden change of temp and lack of calcium in additon to lack of slat (electrolytes)

Hee, I'm also a fan of Jon & Kate Plus 8. Can't wait for their new season to start! The sextuplets are four!

Hello ladies:
I had a good night sleep last night..phew!! I was worried that I might not be able to sleep again, but I guess yesterday i was out the whole day so my sleep was well.

Kimberly: yah..I don't need so many buckets too...I was thinking of those with lids too, cause I had two which I used for laundry, but now one that is needed for bath, so got to get an extra one and for the baby clothes. My bath is not huge so I can't imagine lining these buckets in my bath.

RE:Backaches
The doctor said crunches can help to strengthen the trunk.

RE: cramps
hmm....lack of magnesium or sodium ..I also not sure but how much to take????....

RE: ankle rotation
think its necessary cause some woman will suffer from swollen ankles...

BTW, if anybody still needs to get stuff, Robinsons is having 20% discount for card members. Ending this Sunday.

Hope to go down to Baby avenue today or tomorrow if time permits...

Woke up with sudden cramps in wee hours this morning. Gave a scare to my hb cos i was like "ahh, cramp!" he tot i got stomach cramp..:p

i had tummy harden too few weeks back when i was walking home. Check w my gynae he said it's ok unless it's quite frequent.

Good morning! *Stretch*

Peanut, sama sama! I also thought bb adjusting his position to make himself comfortable & went sayang him. didnt know is braxton hicks. keke.

Koko, do update us here about your trip to baby avenue. any cheap stuff..... :p

Wanna check with u guys whether is avent manual breast milk pump gd?
I intend to get avent bottles,so thought of getting the above item as well..

Any advise on that?thks...

Lamagier, wow, quite dangerous to leave the fire on woh.. good thing you went to get the water.. My MIL thinks I should get a new bottle of fire extinguisher.. Talking about Jon&Kate, I remember all the sextuplets' names and their character, love Alexis the best, think I am very much like her. I was telling my hubby if I were to sponsor a trip to Singapore, I will only do it for her..

Sheryl, agree with mashy about the manual pump.. Think so long as it's manual, it's tiring.. Initially I wanted to get the single pump (electric/battery operated) and a friend warned me not to as the other breast will leak while pumping one..

Hello mums! It's been a long time since I logged in, just got back from my babymoon, hee...
Apart from some shopping, I also came back with a very clear bump! So amazing how much the baby can grow in 2 - 3wks, I'm 23 wks now and the bump has finally appeared!

Re: breastpumps
I'm really torn between getting the Medela Swing (single electric) and the Medela PIS (double electric). If I am going to be a SAHM and latching on most of the time, do you think the Swing will be sufficient for expressing milk for occasional bottle feeds or relieving engorgement? Or if I have problems latching on and want to bottlefeed BM instead, I am wondering if the Swing will be good enough. I like that it is lighter and more portable compared to the PIS, also it is slightly cheaper than the PIS... I really can't decide!

Sunnyduck, welcome back! I don;t know if the mini electric plus (battery/ electrically operated but 2 pumps instead of one) would be good for you? for me, I won;t be working after Yoda's born, and we need to travel between here & USA (different power supply) so I pick this for 1. portability, 2. power supply, 3. only small pump that cycle enough(30-38/min). I got it from Robinson, came with special bundle ($379 incl pump, PureLan nipple cream, carrier bag, cooler bag, valves & membranes 1 teat, and total of 09 bottles)

check out the site I listed earlier, may be of help to you after taking in all the feedback from experienced moms.

re: breastpumps..

I torn btw the medela freestyle (purchase online so its withoue warranty) or to get a Ameda dual pump..

I'm looking for a heavy duty one which i will use daily a few times when i get back to work...

PSI is kinda out for me furthermore PSI needs 10 batts if i were to use Batt to operate.

i too can't decide.. cos freestyle is like a new pdt just no warrenty.. then Ameda is a much older model..

It's Earth Hour! Turn off your lights to help

My DH just switched off the lights. BB and I love to play a part too.

Sherryl,
i got an Avent pump frm Taka fair.. frm wad the lady says.. u can bring it out as manual pump (cos she says if u need the milk outdoors cant possibly find a plug anywhere u wan?) and when u use it at hm it can be an electrical one... it works both ways.. so i tot it was a gd buy?

Mashy,
serious abt the Avent bottles? but i tot it was a gd brand? i have abt 5 of it at my hse.. =S cos i saw so many of my children in the childcare using n they all looked okay..
hmmm, hope it will nt leak.. if nt i'll sure cry.. FIVE bottles somemore..=S

Leg Cramps: same as Mrs C, my hubbie got a scare too wen i shouted in the middle of the nite.. but most of the times, i have it while im sitting down... so will ask hubbie to msg lor..

ladies, isit really better to get cloth diapers den normal ones?... any comments?

peanut, i cannot switch off the lights..hahaha.. it has to b bright.. cos hubbie playing mahjong with frens..haha
wonder wad will happen if i turn off e lights n say "EARTH DAY!".. =D

Kimberly, the webby info quite good. Really helps to explain what we should look for in a pump. But hor, after reading everything, my conclusion is that the most expensive one will be the best loh. haha! Initially still thought of trying out second-hand pump (passdown by my sisters) until I make sure I have good supply then invest on 1 pump, now err... wan2 reconsider. Maybe I just use their's for testing but don't use to give bb... what do you think?

peanut
wat do u mean by use the 2nd hand pump for testing but dun giv baby?

the bean sprout pillow
some kids liek it some kids dont
i made a few diff sizes one for my nephew
he refuse anyy!!
weird rite?

jeslyn: i owned 2 Avent ISIS uno pump for my #1. Please rem to fipp up the warranty, and keep it. The motor dun really last but given the way i was abusing it (1.5 hours per use) that may have been the reason why.

As for avent milk bottles leaking, I heard about it from one of my gf who uses it as well. but none of my bottles ever leaked on me except for times I didn't screw the top properly :p and my that gf was the only who complained about it :p

Sunny maybe u can get a manual pump (i recommend avent) first before investing in a electric one. Alternatively, you can check out TMC, they have those buy back schemes ot something like that. I will be getting a Medela PIS for my number 2, since i want a double pump this time but I can't afford the Avent duo :p one of the mummies who bf most of the times uses ameda twin pump.

sherryl: anyway avent manual pump has converters, so if u decide to use other bottles you can, just attach it. Alternatively you can pump and use avent bottles to store, just pour out to the other brand bottles for feeding.

With regards to single pump and the other breast leaking, i use the avent breast shell, so it catches the BM when it leaks and I just pour it when I'm done to the bottle. I have little BM so every drop is precious :p

peanut
why wan throw away the milk leh?
if the pump is ur sis one shld b safe enuff to use rite?
if u worry bout hygiene can alwasy buy the funnel n etc and jus use the same motor
motor dun contaminate the milk de

then again of cos if u wan to buy new pump.. better still haaa... who knows u trial the pump liao decide tat its good enuff haha

anybody can recommend a good playpen?? like which brand should i look for or what kind of function must it have?? thank : )

lamagier
Ohhh nooo!!! That's very dangerous! The short-term memory lost really strike preggies huh?! Before pregnant, I always tot it's just exaggerating but not anymore now

elijah'smummy
Yeah, I think better invest on Bumwear diapers only when bb is above 3 or 6 mths. Thanks for sharing!