(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

re: confinement

my colleague was telling me that if we are BF, then should b easier to do it alone. bcos she also did it alone. for the last 2 weeks. 1st 2 weeks her husband is around as she delivery via c-section. so realli unable to move around much at first. she mention that can order for catering and put baby jus next to us. as baby at 1st month onli know how to eat sleep & shit/urinate

e;ijah mummy
ya lro w the economy like this.. the CL will have a big burden on our pocket
imagine CL plus food already 3k or so..
touch wood if c sect n etc.. another few k!
realy gotto tink of ways to save yet we dun tire ourselves out

pprincess
the baby willc ry also lar
depend on babies
my gf one realy good
her girl eat n sleep
but my nephew will fuss a bit here n thr n the oldies cant stand bb crying kind

but i will agree that bf is easier to do it alone
mayb lesser stress

HBB

can give comments after you check it out?
coz am also looking at it.....
also the food from this place... is it ok to take if bfing baby?

hahah

yah with this situation am really stressing out.... on top of that MIL is asking if we plan to have a girl for our 3rd! hahah i really cant imagine the situation if that happens

elijah mummy
i tink the food looks ok
their menu not bad as in they got soup for almost every meal
some caterer no soup or onli alt days. mayb that explains why it seems abit more ex than other caterer. forget which one i saw last week at expo but the food din appeal to mi at all cost about 700 plus for 2 weeks

bear in mind some ppl do not take chicken/egg for the 1st 12 days after delivery for fear of infection on the wound.
so u might wan to take note.

1 thg i notice.. their menu is same every week thou
so if u dun mind same food every week shld b fine

elijah mummy
dun get stress out by others!!
gotto learn to shut off our ears
i kenna also!
my mum keep saying my bb is boy not girl
keep telling me 1st one boy better blar blar blar

i mad piss at 1st.. . we try for 6 yr for bb. finaly preggy still wanna choose? begger dun ahv choice one leh haha
now i tell her my 2nd one better be girl also LOL

Re: CL

yuks, i hate confinement food from the caterer. Eeks. Makes me so sick of it after just a few days.

I'll still get a CL coz i don't think i can cope without one. And, my dear God had already kindly provided me with the money for CL via a car accident. Dunno like that considered lucky or not since i was slightly injured from the accident. But the insurance money should be sufficient to cover the delivery & CL. That's why my hb said, God decided to sponsor our #2 kid through the accident. My car was badly wrecked but i managed to escape with minor injuries and extra money in the pocket. ;p

HBB/ elijah'smummy
the one u saw at expo is newbaby? i was still thinking whether to try that out this time cos got promo. the other time, i was also deciding between the 2 coy. decided to for natal essentials cos the menu looks better. i like their soup very much. probably also becos my expectation of food not very high.

personally, i like their service. they are very accomodating to our request. for the first few days, my mum asked me not to eat some food. i told them n they adjust the menu accordingly. food does repeat but i find it acceptable. n their soup comes in those double boil container, better than some who use tupperware. there were a few times they deliver very late. i called up their office n they offer to give me a free meal to "compensate".

babyethan
i tink so cant rem haha cos it din appeal to mi so i jus chuck the phamplet away

ya i read on the website natal essential they willa ccomodate wat we dun wan .. seems gd

i gt fussy taste bud.. ask my gf who is fussier which one she tink better cos she tried a few when she go her gf hse during confinement hehe
then she did mention natal essential also.. so i tink if i order for 2 weeks shld b safe bah? not happy w the food then dun continue haha and ask my dh eat them up for mi hee

oh really? then i think i better stick to them if not getting CL. don't want to regret the change.

ya i tink if u r ok w it then mayb stick toit bah thou i duno hw long ago was it u last ate their food
duno standard change anot haha

mayb i will ask for a trial 1st n see how

bbethan

Think it's new baby. yuks. ordered for 2 weeks only but so yucky.

now more or less ok, just that sometimes my knee joints will hurt. But alright lah. God gave me enough time to heal b4 blessing me with the bb.

U know what, i was so fed up with trying for a bb, that i was going to do lasik with the money already. Just before i was due to go, I tested positive. It's like Him telling me that the money is meant for the bb, not for the lasik. Hahah.

(*0-0*)
Been working on some massive spreadsheet and looking at numebrs for the whole day, except for 30min lunch and toilet break. Brain freeze....

Think my bb prob bored to tears liao....

I delivered in dec 07. so it's just abt 1 yr ago.
i ordered 2 dish + 1 soup for lunch n dinner. portion quite big. sometimes i cannot finish. rice definitely more than needed. i only finish half the rice. remaining goes to my hubby's dinner. initially appetite not good, so i always didnt finish. towards the end, i can finish all. it's definitely more than enuf. if u r small eater, can share wif hb. my cousin did that. n they give 1 flask of longan tea for each meal. find it too thick, i always dilute with water. so it's more than enuf for me. i didn't prepare my own tea that time.

oh ya... u got to check wif them on delivery places. they don't deliver to some places. PH also no service. but i think we are not affected.

my appetite is normal one.. so i tink shld b alrite hehe

i tink they shld deliver to omy place i stay in punggol hehe
ya we not affected by the PH

babyethan
i may be affected by the national day leh. since my edd is end july. hahahas. duno dey send to cck or not. i went to see their webbie. got few dish to choose each time. so i tink still okie. but price abit too exp lar. but compare to CL + angbao + food is abt more then double of jus ordering the cater food. as my budget veri tight. so rather do tat

pprincess
1 day only... not so bad. can ask someone to cook those black pepper soup w pig stomach n some simple dish. that time i kena christmas, new year. so suay..

ya lor. the price is much cheaper. but means got to take care of bb yourself. if baby is kwai kwai, drink n sleep type, then bless you. but if kena one like my #1 who cries so much n want to be carried so much, it's really more stressful. actually my hb more keen to order fr caterer than ask CL to cook. he asked me if there's any CL that charges only for taking care of bb n do simple housework. ie. simply no cooking. told him price difference won't be too much.

after talking to u gals, i feel maybe it's better for us to get caterer. $$ is an issue. going to reno hse n move in. Plus the economy situation now. n this time round i want to do malay massage. all needs $$. it seems like having a CL is more a luxury item if got spare $.

babyethan
mayb dun need to find CL or jus ask ur mother or IL to jus drop by once in awhile? like mayb 2-3hrs per day. i believe they also want to see their grandchildren right? for me is no such luck. no ILs, mum pass away and my grandma is so old. so have to be alone. i definitely hope that my baby is the kind that jus eat, sleep, shit & urinate. hahas! i heard from my fren tat normally after gifing birth will be abit emotionally not stable. duno isit true. bcos i will b left all alone at home.

i think there's a tendency to feel more emotionally unstable cos of the sudden change in lifestyle especially if got no proper support. I was a bit unhappy during the 1st mth too. was disappointed & sad that i was unable to deliver my boy naturally. stressed out by a crying baby all day n find my mil an eye sore then. everything just don't seem right then. thank god i was able to breastfeed baby with no problem from start. hope this one also hv no bf prob. but as the days pass n baby adapts to a schedule, things get better.

tink all the stress, plus baby crying.. and mayb nags fr parennts bout no milk then dun bf n blar blar blar sure make us all feel worse...
so gotto try to remain positive
not easy... but well. can try hehe

just came back from KKH.. did my screening.. its a BB Boy... my hubby so happy.. Doc say my bb is healthy and fine..doc say my bb quite big but not very big.. sound funny when he told me tat... today when the screening doc wanted to scan bb face, bb keep on facing down, doc ask me to go for a few min walk, to make the bb turns over.. hahaha.. so funny.. lucky bb turn over after a few min walk.. else i have to wait for another 1 hour.... i am so happy today..

Yen and Han Bao Bao

Im definitely gonna have to do my confinement myself as my MIL and my mum do not have the time. Thus i kind of had a plan as im quite fortunate i still have the maid to assist me in the washing.. But maid also have no experience with babies and cooking is terrible so im on my own except for the washing.. I have also read on the forums for advices by mummies who had past experiences doing confinement on their own..

This is my first time so im jst as green as anyone... Maybe it be good if anyone here can share somemore ideas.. I have gone thru some of the confinement catering prices and food menu and honestly i think its so disgustingly priced!!! As for confinement lady i think its too pricey for me to use one and too much hassle to arrange a place for the lady to stay at my place..

Do share with me if you any of u have great ideas to pull thru tis confinement alone.. Thanks

I'm not getting a CL cos don't want DD to get stressed up abt another stranger in the house. I hv a maid to take care of the daily chores and my mom will be staying with me for abt 2 wks.

What is confinement food? Do you take any chinese herbs? When I had DD, I didn't hv much special food. My mom made me longan and red dates drinks. I think she puts sesame oil in most dishes but she didn't put a lot of ginger or wine cos I was breastfeeding. She also boiled some herbs for me to shower with.

It was very stressful for me during the first couple of weeks. First, my milk came in late, ard the 6th day. By then, DD had lost quite a bit fm her birth weight (13%) and was showing signs of jaundice. So I had to take her to the ped every other day to check for weight gain. Glad I had my mom and DH to lean on.

If you're not getting any external help, do hv a friend come over every now and then to talk to you and relief you for a while.

HBB,
Can you share your pork vinegar trotter wif me? Why must prepare so early, as in before delivery? How long can u keep it for? In the freezer? Sorry, no idea how to make this dish but heard it good for getting rid of the "wind", right?

babyethan, i share same point as you, my #1 no confinement lady, was staying wif inlaws, in the end never breastfeed (mil say like pig) n she use pacifier cos cannot tahan cry at nite, everything must follow mil rules. so now that we've moved out, hubby ask me to choose CL or MIL for #2, hahahaha. i was shocked to know the price of CL, but for the sake of my own happiness and dun want to stress during confinement time, i decided to go for CL although i feel funny with an extra person in the house, guess i'll appreciate the help later.

angelsky,
Thanks for your reply. U jump thread ah..heehee i posted there & surprised to see your reply here ;) I juz confirmed my CL recommended by our #1 thread mummy. Glad that i finally got one. If i go thru' agency, i will need to pay $300 more. Keep my fingers cross, hope this CL is responsible one!!

How cum u do such a long confinement?? 40 days??
Did u manage to get a CL in the end?

janbb, i hav already booked my CL with PEM as i'll be using the same CL as my sis-in-law who gave birth last yr. But i heard she's booked for a jun confinement. So hopefully she's available when i deliver. Cost is still $1800 but it's advisable to hav yr mum/MIL with u during confinement to bring the CL go buy groceries.

Hmmm but i oso feel quite uncomfortable with an extra stranger around but hav no choice cox i hav no confident in taking care of the bb myself. Oso dun wanna trouble my mum due to her age.

Lamagier, u muz be very excited to see your bb tmr. Enjoy the whole process

HBB, i think all the stress starts coming after we delivered. I try not to think too much nw...jus enjoy. But sometimes went to read other MTB threads after they hav popped, i become so worried. Lucky we hav this forum...think we can give one another support too

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Baby Fair
Thu 12 Mar to Sun 29 Mar 2009
Takashimaya Square, B2</font></font>

For those who are sourcing for household products, this is a fair you should not miss.

Calling all mums, get the best deals on all the baby necessities from diapers to strollers to baby clothing and toys for all mums and mums-to-be. What’s more with every *$50 same-day purchase (maximum of 3 combined receipts), made at Babies’ Section, Children’s Department, Level 3 and/or Takashimaya, B2 and stand a chance to be one of the lucky winners in our Baby Fair lucky draw and walk away with the following prize:

1st Prize: S$3,000 worth of Baby products
2nd Prize: S$2,000 worth of Baby products
3rd Prize: S$1,000 worth of Baby products

<font color="119911">BTW, anyone planning to signed up wif stemcord?? There is a talk on 14 march... but, u gotto go register.. onli got to pay 800+ for first payout.. if interested, do rmb quote my name n ic hor... den we both share the cash rebates off our yrly payment. thanks</font>

<font color="119911">Went for my detailed scanning yesterday... bb now is 380gm... haha... though is the second time... but feel soo happy when i c my boi kicking inside</font>

noelle
i haven realy cook this dish in spore before.
but the rough guide will be 1kg of ginger with a bottle of dogs brand vinegar and some water and sugar to taste
and then also the pork trotter
i like v sourish one so my sugar might be lesser as the vinegar is not tat sourish.

actualy can cook it after u deliver no prob
but cos i cant cook during confinement and so i will do it before deliver if possible

my gf father cook it 2 week earllier becos he said everyday re boil the mixture and it becomes less acidic.. not sure how true

no need to freeze.. jus reboil everyday becos its vinegar so it wun b spoil so easily

traditinally 1 pot of this can last the mummy for 1 month hehe

jus add new pork trotter or pork meat and hard boil egg aft u fin the meat =)

kitty
ya stress onli come aft delivery
so dun get too worry now haaa
i onli tell myself jus be prepared fo the worst. at least i wun feel any worse by then haha
if thgs are btter.. then is a bonus

wow...this thread is moving really fast!

Re: steamer

Sunnyduck, went to check liao the layers for Tefal's steamer can be removed. Not sure about other brands.
Mashy, may I know what brand are you using?

Re: CL

Me too dun like the idea of having a stranger at home so not going to engage one. My mom will help me but with 2 babies, I wonder if she can cope. Expect my hb to take 1 to 2 wks leave to help out but if he can't then bo pian I have to do lor :p

Re: Confinement Food

Heard that after C-section, have to avoid ginger and alcohol. Thus, my mom will just cook some herbal chicken soup for me for the first 2 weeks. Quite easy to prepare just need to wash the herbs and chicken and throw everything into slow cooker can eat for the whole day. :)

hey all MTBS.. thank for the guidance..

i try looking for stroller.. but most place stroller very limited model or brand..

anyone know where can i view large selection of stroller or shop that specialise in that particular brand ?

Today dunno heng or suay. Met a naughty 6yr-old boy while waiting for bus. The boy was playing with stone and suddenly throw the stone at me and it hits my shoulder. painful man! lucky it didn't hit my tummy.....

Noelle, my gynae never tell me what infection. Did a google on yeast infection: A vaginal yeast infection is irritation of the vagina and the area around it.

But I don't feel as irritation around vagina leh. No pain when passing urine. Just pure abdomen pain.

sheryl, me too. Once I knew abt my pregnancy, I cut down on coffee and tea immediately or sort of no craving for them at all.

And indeed, gynae said it's actually ok to have 1 cup per day.

pprincess, do you have recommendation for catering of confinement food? Is it abit ex. for 28days of confinement food? 3 meals including whole day longan tea?

Hmm, i dun intend to hire CL too. My IL has a maid that I would like to make use when doing confinement. So will be moving in with my IL then. Hope everything goes smoothly...

peanut
tink if u haf a maid should b easier. like when changing diapers u can teach the maid also. then she can help u. also can help u prepare water to bath baby &amp; all tat. should be much easier. hafing an extra pair of hands and legs so dun need to rush here rush there scare baby untended.
bcos is my 1st time also. but check wif my colleagues she sae newbaby is not bad. but i tink is up to each other's preference. howevre dey onli haf for lunch &amp; dinner. from wad i hear is tat morning is still okie, normal breakfast can. does not include longan tea also. tink u haf to make ur own drink lor. i tink compare to getting a CL + food + angbao = $3k+ the food is considered quite reasonable. and my colleague also mention the share is veri big like wad babyethan haf mentioned also ^^
i check they haf different kind of package. if u take 4 weeks, 7 days, 2 meals &amp; 1 soup each dae is 1.2k. if u wan soup for both meal is around 1.3k+