(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

mrsc
not sure if it willc ause bb to b active
but i knw caffine hinders the bb absorption of nutrients

i knwo some gynae do allow like 1 cup a day. so if u dun exceed tat amt and bb is growing fine.. then shld b alrite =)

MrsC,
I'm still taking my daily cup of Java in the morning and if I really am washed out, an additional cup after lunch.

I still can't quite feel baby move yet. But yesterday can see baby move. Haha, one sudden sharp angle protrude from my tummy. Goes away after a few seconds. Let you know bb stats tmr after I go for detailed scan. I also worry if it will cause my bb weight to be lighter than typical or bb smaller. Me 1.66m + husband 1.8m + both have relatively broad shoulders, so we are quite curious if our bb will be long and larger built too =p Scardy got "shrunk" by all the coffee I drank

Re: coffee
My mother told me that when she was pregnant with me she had a cup of kopi-o and two half-boiled eggs for breakfast daily! Ha ha. Funny how times (and 'knowledge') change.

I don't really drink that much coffee anyway, but the other night I had a pot of Earl Grey tea and it must have been quite thick (too many leaves, too little water) because I had problems falling asleep! I have found that when pregnant, these things (caffeine, alcohol) affect me very quickly. Normally I would not feel the effect with a little sip, but now the effect comes to me rapidly.

Peanut,
If you don't mind me asking, is your infection similar to yeast infection? I've read that eating plain yogurt with live active culture and reducing sugar intake can help with that. Not sure if the same would work for other type of infection.

I do agree that once pregnant, certain little things will have huge impact.. even the peppermint tea i had yesterday left an unpleasant taste in my mouth the whole morning.. had to pour away after a few sips..

Mummies, i am aso feeling tired recently. super tempted to drink coffee to perk myself up. previously when i was not preggie, i nd one or sometimes two cups to keep mi gg for e day. after i knew i was preg, i cut down totally.

Btw, i didnt feel much bb movements yesdae. or mbe i did slight movements. was getting worried n parnoid coz not much movements as compared to mon. hope my gal hears mi n start giving me lots of movements. or mbe my gal is tired n wans to rest. haha!

My office used to favour fruit teas bags, and the herbal/flora sort like peppermint, camomile, but I couldn't handle the taste of it now although it was tolerable in the past. Tea and coffee contains tannin and caffeine, and the tannin combines with iron, preventing easy absorption by intestines, while caffeine is diuretic. So too much isn't good for fetal growth.

So I resorted to drink decaffeinated black tea and green teas, although I depend more on sugar to keep me going than caffeine which doesn't really have much effect on me.

Lamagier,

Me too can't reali feel baby's movement that frequent yet. But everyday, will have occasionally some kicks-not very hard though. Yday, was very very angry with 1 of my Dr at work, that I told my colleague I gotta soak myself in cold water. Think baby can feel it too, cse after tat can feel baby tossing and turning in the tummy a few times.

re: baby movement

thou i can feel my baby veri active sometimes, but there are also times when will start to panick bcos cannt feel the movement or realise tat like veri long baby never move. and worst ting is, whenever i shake my tummy wif both hand, it's no use. baby wun move de lor. so sometimes im realli being 'played out' by my baby =x

Sheryl,
Maybe something sweet will motivate yr baby to move a little more. When they couldn't get the angle they need for a good u/s scan, the nurses gave me some apple juice to get the baby moving.

Hi Cecelia,
Same thing here. I think baby started to get affected when we get upset. Felt my lower abs area churned when i was upset by colleagues comments about my tummy yesterday. Maybe that's maybe reminding us to not be upset =p

Hi pprincess,
haha, no amount of tummy poking or sweet talk can make bb move. The husband tried also no use. My stubborn bb moves when bb wants to . Haha, 'cow don't want to drink water, you force its head into water it also won't drink"

Anyone has booked confinement lady (CL) already?

I have called a few CL thru's friend's recommendation but seems all are taken up. I'm thinking to get one from PEM confinement agency. Wonder any mummies or friends/relatives has tried before? It will be good if you could quote the CL name from this agency if she is good. A bit worried to get a CL assigned by agency to me which i have no idea/feedback at all.

Thanks a lot.

I guess bb got moods too? Mine didnt move much yday despite movement at standard timing each day. Guess i was abit down that is why she remain quiet throughout the day..only moved when the radio was blasting retro song "Circle in the sand" while taking taxi.. think she be a retro ger.. :p

thanks mummies. i will try talking to her to get movements. think i feel a small kick just now. haha. hope to get more to make mummy feel more reassured.

Wish you all are doing well.
Talking about durian, make me craving for it already...

Lamagier: hope you are not over worried for the small tummy, i'm trying to overcome that dilemma too, I've been told my tummy so small at 22weeks now. During the detailed scan, the sonographer also say the baby a bit small...Make me stressed out. I had the detailed scan a bit early at 19wks plus...maybe bb still small then...i've been trying to comfort me that maybe i'm small size. My bb still very active and keep kicking me so...my baby should be fine.

The last couples of week, my intake was not really good, maybe i was stressed out with all worries...now, it starts picking up i guess, i feel hungry more often.

Oh ya,Baby Fair at Takashimaya will be 12 to 29 Mar, 2009, http://www.takashimaya-sin.com/events.html
i should go down and see baby good stuff having good offer or not. Searching for a good baby pram/stroller.

Pretty Bunnie and Elijah's mummy: have you start taking the check up package with Dr. Fong ? i've heard it's cheaper

HKbb

hahha... i actually have already signed up for it... this way can save more.... think that this round his package has increased price from last year! this year the price is 700 not inclusive of gst.

re: coffee

izit better to drink de-caff coffee? i am also a coffee drinker before pregnant, every morning one big ice latte. sheryl, same like u, always feeling tired, very tempted to drink coffee to perk myself up. lately, my hubby loves to drink ice lemon tea, so i follow him drink also, hehehe, i know it's not good drinking too much cold stuff, but cant control.

Hello...

Anyone here doing her own confinement without CL/mum/MIL?
I plan to do it myself. Dun want to ask MIL because for my #1, after the confinement, I gave her few hundreds of Ang Pao. But she requested more $$$ (more than hire a CL). Very pissy of her. As for my own mum, her healthy is not so good. So dun want to trouble her.

Hi Mashy!
Can Help me update, I did the detailed scan on Mon.
It's a girl!
the Doc show everthing was healthy, the lips, nose heart and etc. anyone saw the ear? cause I don't remember saying anything abt the ear. but the doc comment that my baby had sharpe nose & chubby cheeks

RE: Beef
someone said to me taking to much beef will make baby hairy.

RE: Stroller
some mums recommend me Halem Korean Brand-Light weight.

coolkero,
I think one cup of coffee shld be fine. I also "curi makan" sometime. I like to eat Ya Kue's toast set with half-boiled eggs...hehee..yum yum.

Hi hkbb,
Glad your appetite is picking up. Maybe bb will grow faster with increase food intake.

I was just more emotional yesterday. Those days when it feels like you got out of wrong side of bed. And the guy who was commenting on my tummy told me I forgot to sign up for company's insurance coverage, cannot claim the $4k for maternity benefits, so got me even more upset cos I thought $4k FLY OUT OF THE WINDOP! Actually I'm company staff so auto-include in insurance, & benefits. His wife is dependent, so need to sign up and pay monthly fee

Have to keep reminding myself only if tmr detail scan show bb got problem then I should be worried. Shouldn't let other people's comment affect me. Afterall they don't have ultrasound sounds, cannot see how bb is doing in my tummy. Feel like hiding under a rock so can hide from all the well-meaning but ignorant comments

SabSab, Congrats!!!
Me too having princess. I managed to see bb's ear during the scan. She is very shy at first, cover her face with her hands and keep moving...

Coolkero,
De-caff coffee also has some caffeine in it but I think very small amount. Still have to watch intake. No more than 300mg of caffeine per day =)

yen,
During your confinement, how are you going to cope with your #1 w/o any help?

HBB,
Then u not taking any confinement food ah?

There are so many "NO" Rules to follow in that confinement month, i really dunno how to take care of myself if w/o help.
Though i am not so obedient to follow all but personally feel that, we shld rest well (physically & mentally) during that mth. After the first mth, we will be fully recharge & able to take care of baby ourselves for another 3 mths ML.

jan bb

i will take confinement food
i will either order tingkat for 2 weeks(heard the food sucks thou =p)
or i get dh to cook cos i been doing confinements over the years for friends/ sister so more or less i can ask him to do the simple version of food according to what i want.

if i dun deliver earlier
i will prepare pork vinegar trotter in my 37 weeks to standby. so that i can have that as part of my meal for the month of confinement

u r rite. confinement we need alot of rest
the trouble starts with if i got any 3rd party roaming ard my hse, or using my kitchen or toilet while i am supposed to rest.. equates to no rest for me.. the last rnd i did not sleep for 4 nites(when i was in my 14weeks) when my sis n nephew came over to stay

so for mi a mum/CL to come n help will make mi physically and mentally more tiring.

HBB,
Are u going to order catering or cook yrself?

JanBB,
#1 will go childcare during daytime. So I think I can cope with it. Just hv to try
. I dun like CL because we dun like a stranger in our hse. Actually for my #1, I also din really rest a lot. I had to express breastmilk every 3hrs, bath her and taking night shift to take care my #1. My MIL just cook only and somemore dare to ask so much.

yen
either i take catering or i ask dh to cook simple food for mi
basically confinement food is almost same as normal food
except tat more ginger, use sesame oil (which i always use even on normal days) and also stuff like black fungus (to expel dirty blood after delivery)
drink more soup (fish papaya soup) and fluid
eat fiberous vege like brinjal so that can poo smoothly n wound dun hurt.
no seafood except fish

i believe in eating well rather than jus gorging on confinement food alone

oh ya u also gotto knw wat sort of veggie to avoid esp if u r breastfeeding

all the white vege like cabbage, cauliflower gotto avoid else u will have alot of wind in tummy n pass on to baby via the breast milk.
brocolli n onions too..

if during confinement n bb gt jaundice then gotto avoid all the orangey or yellow food like papaya, ginger, tomato, carrot else it will worsen the jaundice when we bf them

Re: Confinement lady

I will not be getting a confinement lady too, will get my mum to help out. I will most pro be staying over at my mum place from Mon-Fri and then move back on Fri night. Got to bend the rules a bit coz mum is not willing to move in with me during confinement. She need to juggle with household chores and my 2 bros. Furthemore, I am staying with my in laws. On the other hand, my hubby and in laws will want to see my #1 and bb.

Was thinking a confinement lady will be gd. At least, we can get more rest. When my mum did my confinement for no 1, i didnt get much rest. gt to help with no 1. furthermore, she is old too. dont want her to tire herself. But, for me no choice. Will just stick to my mum for this bb too. Can save a bit of cost.

HBB & Yen,

You two are STRONG & independent mummies!! *Clap Clap*. I intend to lve my #1 with my mum & get a CL to take care of #2 & my meals. Juz wanna rest well & eat well ;) Lazy me, heehee. Of cos', hope i can get a good CL. If not, i'll be getting headaches.

Do rem if u cook confinement food, don't add too much ginger if u are b'feeding the baby. Too much ginger will cause baby to have jaundice.

Also try & prepare longan tea for yourself everyday.

If possible, ask hubby to help out for the baby nite feed. If not, u will be totally tired & drained w/o help for 24/7.

sheryl
its ok to bend rules a bit like weekdays at ur mum hse n weekend at ur own hse
jus make sure dun catch a chill during the transfer fr point A to point B

yen
yes my gf told mi brocolli also nono.. since tis is my 1st baby.. i haven got experience bout havin wind aft having brocoli so i am gg to avoid it as well
as for my gfs/sister.. i do not cook brocolli for them either

janbb
yea i hope i can b a strong independent mummy
mayb im used to livin alone liao tat y i tink i can tahan haha

yea i intend to ask dh to feed bb at nite. but u see.. still i gotto wake up n pump
1st month we need to latch/pump regularly even at nite to stablise the supply
but at least dh can feed i no need struggle w baby hehe n he can bond w baby too

yen
im also doing my own confinement but ordering catering which is abt 1.2k for 4 weeks 7 days. not recommended to cook for urself as u realli need alot of rest + still need to look after baby

Yeah, "Daddy's bonding time with baby" is the right word & is very impt. Muz always get hubby involved in all baby's activities. (i.e change diapers, bathing, feeding..etc)

Re: Confinement
Wow, a lot of MTB taking care of newborn without external help. I'm totally "kuku" about what to do what not to do etc and knowledge about taking care of newborn is only 'half-past-six' and only know how to cook very simple food. Think husband will flip if I tell him I don't want any help =p

JanBB, my gf did not managed to get the CLs recommended by her friends, so she went to the forum and the feedback so far for PEM quite good so she just went to PEM paid deposit, she due in April, so can only feedback to you when she starts her maternity leave. The cost is 1800.

I did think about not having one for my #1, but my mum raised the red flag, say it will be hard to managed, I also browsed around and the confinement food are quite costly as well. So end up I went with one, the experience was so so, but the help was great especially when its night time and baby cries. Also during confinement, my CL say cannot touch water la etc, like wash hands less frequently, from her I also learn stuff like how to bath baby etc, since its my ages since my mum handled a baby

For #2, I also hired one, same as #1, my confinement is 40 days. This time, I plan to just sleep and rest and not do anything, since when she goes, it will be me and 2 babies. So better take the chance to rest while I can. My new CL was telling my mum the soup and drinks we take during confinement is very important because its meant to help us build up our strength and health.

Like JanBB mentioned, sleep and rest important, for my first I wanted to do everything on my own, even night feeds, but really end up whole day also tired. So after 1 week, I also gave up and let baby sleep with CL, I just wake up to pump, store the milk and go back to sleep. Machiam like cow.

HBB, thanks. i will ensure that.

Mummies, i just ate lunch and my gal is giving me non stop kicks. Yahoo! Feel so relieved and assured. Those mummies who experienced little movements on certain days, try talking to bb. They will hear us.

yen/janbb/hbb
actually i'm also in a dilemma whether to get confinement lady.

For #1, i want to do everything myself. so didn't get one. mil helped out. she washes clothes, do housework. i ordered confinement food for 4 weeks. not too bad. i quite like it. but it's reallly tiring. baby wakes up every hr to feed n cry non stop. wants to be carried all the time. hubby n i totally shacked out. worse still, hubby n mil don't wish to leave baby to cry it out. keep carrying. end up all the bad habits which i didnt like... pacifier, rocking, etc. Not much rest.

For this time, 1st thing I told hubby is i want CL. But after discussion, also a bit hesitant.
1) Cost is high. Cost of engaging + ang pow + $$ for food ingredients... was told can easily come up to $3-4k.
2) Not sure if CL is good.
3)A bit worried of having another person with different living habits around. Scared will mess up the kitchen, etc.

On the other hand, wants to rest as much as possible esp will be going c-section. #1 will turn 18mths when i deliver. sending him off to cc also need time to adapt. n i'm afraid he can't adapt as he's super sticky to me. also don't want him to feel that he's been shooed off to cc when #2 comes along. i don't wish mil to be too involved this time round although we live together.

Sherly and some other mummies,

me too recently feel sooo slwwwpy after lunch and soo templted to drink coffee..i used to have at least one cup a day previously...hmmm now trying to cut down and also having decaff coffee!!

Re : Baby movements..
noticed mine little one is active after my lunch or dinner time...guess it must be his turn to eat and starts getting active..; )

Noelle,

wah really? sounds so interesting! you mean baby was active after drinkin apple juice?? wow sometimes I 'm always connected to a scanning machine where I can notice every movement of baby's when we are doing something ; ) hahaha...

Lamagier,

me too just put back my 3 kgs which I lost during the MS period...but guess slowly we will start putting on weight since we are into our 5 mths now! so dun worry much abt weight...

Re: red dates/longan tea
how do I make it? any esle to add apart from rock sugar?

bless
dun need add rock sugar one
cos u need to drink it like plain water

u can add jus red dates with dry longan n boil 1 big pot n drink. if u wan can add a bit of ginger but not necessary.

also can add a bit of 'dang shen' to bu the qi