(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Mashy: Nursing bras could still be used as maternity bras, isn't it??? Afterall the difference is the hook on the bra strap, that can be easily removed. The other thing is nursing bra is either padded or non-padded.

Anyway, I gave up my search for maternity bras

Sorry to add on to the post...I'm really forgetful these days...

I wanted to ask if anybody had joint pains? I'm getting them around my fingers in the early mornings. I told the doc and he said its probably water retention.. Actually my shoes seemed a little tight from last Sunday. Does water retention start so early????

koko
tat i duno.. isit that not enuff calcium? my colleagues and frens commented that i am startin to show water retetion in my leg liaos. so ask me to dun stand so much and also lift up my legs. so i guess it will start earli

koko

Yes. The nursing bra has a detachable patch, so that u can unhook it and expose your nipple to bf your bb.

Another way is just head for the bra dept and get bra extensions. That's how i survived my first preg. Then at the last trimester i went to get nursing bras.

koko, u at how many weeks?? actually water retention start around these timing.. i dunnoe la but this is what i read from pregnancy books..hahahaha

pprincess

yeah!!! i feel like the breast not being lift.. like as though i in primary sch.. wearing those BRA SINGLET..hahaha...

Emma is supposed to be pronounced as Em mer... but i know a lot of people pronounce as em ma.. Sounds very funny when pronounced that way.

My boy's name is Ethan. Means strong willed. Really, his character & temperament is very strong. This time round, i tell myself to give my gal a soft & gentle name. Hopefully she'll be more easy going
Emma = universal. How to interpret this meaning? Anyone can help?

Janbb,
Jayna sounds good. Has very strong resemblence to Jayden.

I used to wear maternity cum nursing bra from Perfect Mum during pregnancy, but it's wired. No blocked ducts cos the wires are softer. But I just don't feel comfortable with a wire when nursing. After delivery, i changed to Marks & Spencer nursing bra. Very soft and good support. But a bit ex. Wait for promo then buy. THis time round, i just bought Mothers En Vouge bra. Haven't try yet. Will let you gals know after washing this weekend.

Hi pprincess n muffingirl, thanks for info on no car park slots cos of that Natas fair...then i ask my hubby to park at simei...dun want to get jam n feel frustrated there...

and thanks for sunnyduck on the Takashimaya baby fair info! ya i heard b4 some things can be buy there at great discount!

Friend of Zoo, i dun have Isetan member card lei...seems like i have to apply to get in the private sales! unless i go borrow the card from my friend.

nicolle ann, my gynae different from urs. mine is Dr Soon (lady) from Paragon.
i am taking 2 bedded there, but my colleague told me to take 1 bedded..as last time, her neighbour's baby is v noisy n keep crying when she is breastfeeding....she told me she can't have a decent rest during her few days stay in Mount A 2 bedded..

annie

eehh.. but i guess is heng suay whether ur neighbour baby will be noisy.. can't help it also if the baby choose to be noisy..hahahaha

well.. hmm.. haven really tok abt bedding with my dh yet.. but we did discuss abt getting 1 bedded since he quite insist in staying by my side.. but might opt for 2 bedded.. coz dun wan to waste $$ on 1st bedded..

annie

u can apply for their privilege card which is instant. Heard it's $10 per yr.

I might give this one a miss coz there should be another one in May.

Hi koko,
it's possible for water retention to start so early. Actually normally also will have water retention espcially women having periods. Just that not as obvious as during pregnancy.

I tend to get fluid retention in hands and feet, especially during long walks when hands are dangled at side. Wedding band will slowly cut off circulation in my ring finger....

Umm... maybe try reducing salt in diet? Move hands around so it will have less problem draining fluids away? A lot of books said swimming helps in water retention?

mashy
yea, i got hear of it before. but hor, i tinkin. water retention is bcos water cannt get out of our body, how to drink more and can reduce the water retention? abit chim.
like 2 of my colleague they also confusing me. 1 sae mus walk more exercise the muscle on the hip. 1 sae dun wan and stand. sit down will cause water retention. so i alwaes duno wad i should do. half half lor.

our body will store water if they sense not enough water.. therefore water retention.

u walk but not for too long.. cos walking will help the cevix joint to be more flexible so at later stage easier for natural birth... but too much walking strain your leg/feet.. so not so good loh. and veins will all pop out..

sunsweet
i nowadaes alwaes go window shopping. hahahas.

re: cramps
aniwae, 2 days ago i got cramp in the earli morning. is so bad and i duno why i jus cant move my body to the wall and relieve the tension. aniwae, finally i manage to reach my feet and pull it towards me and it gets better. but since then till today, i still feel this veri tight and painful feeling on the previously-cramped area, like the vein is still cramping. onli when i walk then i will feel it. tried to massage it like also not much use leh

re: cramps
I get them too in the calves of the legs in the middle of the night. My friend who is also pregnant and is a doctor says that if we stretch our calves during the day, it can minimize the cramps.

I still wake up in the morning feeling the calves are very tight, but not cramping yet, so I just point my toes upwards to stretch the calves before getting out of bed. I get toe cramps more now though.....especially when I go shoe shopping lol

Re cramps

I get both toe cramps + side of calf cramps liao..

hopefully not too often..
trying to stretch my legs more often..

muffingirl
if they cramp in the day im ok leh. but not in the middle of my beauty sleep =x too sudden machiam heart attack. hahas! in the past i also will feel that it is tight as if i jus finish having a cramp. but didnt have real craamp till 2 days ago.

sunsweet
yuppies. window shop and then later realli go and get wadever we need :D nw got 2 different list of mus buy items. still lazy to sort out everiting =p

Re: cramps
Yah, maybe regualr stretching helps. I haven't gotten cramps yet (*touch wood*). I try every evening downward dog, lunges each side to stretch ham strings, sit and reach with one leg folded to allow space for my expanding tummy. Then prop foot up on pillow and massage calf to release tension.

haha, but I get pains at side of tummy every morning when I wake when I roll from side to my back again (from the ligaments stretch or cramps.... cannot differentiate). Dunno how to stretch uterus ligaments.....

Cramps can be sometimes lack of potassium in the body, try to take food with potassium in it.

Try to avoid salty food to prevent water retention, usually some stretching and some will help to cease the water retention as it helps the circulation in the body.

Anyone feeling tired from week 17 onward?

Hi Priscilla,
hee, I'm actually feeling better. But then that's largely because I started taking iron supplements from Week 16 onwards for low blood haemoglobin

Lamagier, prenatal yoga can help to stretch, better circulation and also drain away the excess fluid and toxic in body. I started that and found that I do not have bowel problem.

Just that whenever it comes to Friday, I feel really tired , maybe I also have a 5 yr old to take care of, preparing his meals for school, sending and fetching him back.

I'm feeling tired.. i think having to look after my #1 in the evenings.. does not get me good sleep at night.

worst off she's fell sick last week.. and is still on the road to recovery..

Mummies, i just came back from my detailed scan n gynae chk up. My bb gal is at 388g.. she is developing well n my gynae says is a healthy gal. I have gained 3.7kg till now.

Feel so hapy and excited after the scan and check.

hi mtbs
i went to the baby fair
ehh realy nothg much leh... we walk ard for half an hour and we r done!

babysafe mattress is cheap (price start from $155)
some clothings are qutie cheap but i tink other places also goin at same price???
drypers and huggies stall thr.
tink the drypers nto v cheap also thou is cheaper than giant
S size 2 pack for $26

i tink not very worth the trip if u r not staying on the east side

sheryl
good to hear that ur bb is growing well...
i am counting down to delivery already hahahaaa

Mashy: ya, tried the bra extensions, my cup size is too small now, that's why need to change.

Pprincess: could be...I haven't been taking much calcium cause I don't like milk now.

Nicolle Ann: I'm now 19 wks....clothes are getting abit small now, esp pants.

Sheryl: Great to hear that baby is doing well.... my baby is rather small still only 278g. But I read from books that baby boy weighs more than girls during delivery. I hope baby is not too big.

RE: water retention and cramps
I try to prop my legs up in the evenings whenever I remember...As for cramps, I think need to keep ourselves warm though...and if cramps, must straighten legs.

Regarding drinking more water to prevent water retention, don't overdo it. Just the normal 6-8 glasses to prevent kidney stones cause I ask the doc if its true that by drinking more water it can prevent water retention, he said its not scientifically proven yet. I was actually very worried initially cause I seldom drink water, I'm a coffee drinker but since pregnant, I stopped coffee. Coffee tastes horrible now :)) Blessing in disguise.

Lamagier: thanks for the list! I nearly fainted when i see the long line of stuff to prepare.. My room is running out of space and my flat is only coming in 2.5 yrs time..sigh..

Mashy,please update my bbgenger: confirm princess. My gynae had to shake her inorder to get the position and in the end she show us her backside and i saw the three lines btwn the legs.
Weigh 350g at 20th weeks , doc say a good weight. But he asked me to keep my weight down, put on 3kg within a mth cos we will put on even more during the last trim so he asked me to cut down on my supper if can.

JanBB, gynae said that it could be our sleeping position that press on the nerves thus the numbness. Told me not to press on my arms when sleeping sideway but i cant control leh cos will find my hands underneath the pillow whenever i woke up.

Hmm.. my tummy seems more protuding than my breasts leh.. though i wish for the other way round..hee..

HBB, how about the avent steriliser? Is it a good deal as what is advertise at $150? Cos Robinson is sellin it for $195 w pillow, a milk bottle and a water bottle. Still considering if i shld go cos im staying at the west too..

I also went to the fair. So much disappointing than last year.

Anyway, I remembered someone here tempting to buy the Avent Duo pump but hold back becos of the price. Now they are having promo at $639 if didn't remember wrongly. Much savings than the usual $799. Don't remember seeing such promo in departmental store. All other avent stuff also got discounts.

HBB
Saw Prof Tee today. He's really a man like what you described. Anyway, after seeing him, I feel much more relieved that my baby is ok. At least got more than 1 assurance.

I also went to baby fair liao. very disappointed lor. nothing much to see so end up only bought avent milk bottles. haiz...

hbb, babyethan

i went too... and i think that its a total waste of my time.... :p
the avent price can get about the same price at isetan private sale bah....
the huggies.... haiz don even bother to look!
for me i only bought the GD flag cards for my older boy... hahah new things to add on to teach him...and the bumwear promotion that i shared with my gf as we both wanted to try it out.

otherwise the fair was a total disappointment!

mrsc

the sterilizer alone cost 136++ can consider bah... but then again.... think the taka fair may have better deals if you are not staying around there...

mrsc
the avent steriliser pack hor.. came w the cup holder, blanket and ehh i tink cooler bag and 1 big and small bottle... was all sold out when I go kpo n ask (no intention of buying thou haa)
left onli the stand alone sterliser.

Hi Mashy,

I had my detailed scan done today too, and it's a healthy baby girl!

Please help insert me into the table

Nick: Sam
Birth Order: #1
Gynae: WK Tan
Hospital: TMC
BB Gender: Girl
EDD: 19-Jul

:D Was too happy today after the scan, and went on a little spree at the fair.
I bought the CADI Clinical Ear & Forehead thermometer ($79, slightly less than what was printed in the brochure), the Avent Express Steam steriliser (about 20% off the U.P., guess it's reasonable), the Musetela set ($89, less than what was printed in the brochure), and huggies-ultra small (2-packs).

The BPA-free avent bottles were out of stock by mid-day I'd asked, and the saleslady say they are not restocking on them).

Considering to go down sat. afternoon to listen to the talks by train (NATAS fair is next door, parking will be a nightmare on the weekend). Had to drag my hubby there today because he couldn't come with me on the weekends, and I needed the car to cart the stuff we bought.

Got my Amnio results today. It's normal!

Now can really start shopping for baby's stuff and confirm engage confinement nanny liao!

RE: Nursing Bras

For ur info, I saw someone post bulk purchase of nursing bras in bulk purchase thread. Will u all order without trying on the size? Cos scare some bras show nipples or uncomfortable or unfit le! Tempted to order too!!

huh....wake up in the middle of the night coz of my itchy tummy. Tried all sorts of cream and oil also can't help. Almost going crazy...

I found this website which we can download the Mozart Wombsong Collection for free. Mummies who wanna get some music for your babies but do not wish to spend $$$ to buy CD like me, can try out

Re steriliser,

I think BHG has a good deal for steriliser + milk/food warmer bundle which cost <$150.
I wanna get a milk/food warmer. Checked the price is ard $70+ (Pigeon) to $90+ (Avent). So am considering of getting the Pigeon bundle since I may also need a steriliser. I remember some mummies advised that we can only put 4 Avent bottles in a Pigeon steriliser. Is that true?

I'm new in this forum. Abt 18wks preg and this second baby is gonna be a girl. My first one is a boy. That's why I'm very happy. I haven't done my detail scan yet tough, but my gynae can see the gender already. That very day I sweeped the girl clothes in marks &amp; spencer coz they have further reduction. I bought 1 pack of rompers (have 6pcs) for $20. I guess that quite cheap...I like their stuff, it's soft and more durable, even compared to Mothercare stuff.

re: babycare fair @ expo

guess tat from the current feedback, i wun go down animore. seems like taka fair more popular also. hahas. lucky i onli going down on sundae. else i will curse &amp; swear since i go down all the wae to expo from cck.

babyethan
guess that nw after 2nd opinion the doctor also say the safe ting, it should have put ur mind at ease! so nw enjoy ur pregnancy til the big day :D

After hearing the feedback, didnt go down to fair but bump by isetan to look for stuff. They are having the sterliser + milk container (10pc)+ 2 260ml milk btls for $159..
But the deal that Beverly mention at BHG sound good too with the warmer..

Didnt sleep well the whole nite, kept waking up to numb palms especially the right sigh..sob.. it's getting worse now that it will be slightly numb even if i hold on to the cup for long..

Need mummies on these recommendation:
1) Auto Sarong - where to buy, any brand
2) BB carrier/kangaroo sling
3) Stroller - i heard Capella S705 seems good but on the heavy side. Beside that what else?