(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Oh another mummy from Douglas Ong, welcome missynic!

Sherryl, I will only know the date of the detailed scan on my visit tmr so most prob be at 24th week i think..

Lamagier, can you email me the list? [email protected]

babyethan,
our situation is somewhat similar....my view is, if you are still worried, why not seek a 2nd opinion from another gynae?
For my case, I am quite sure that I want to do the amnio, because I don't want to live in suspense for another few months. Not only that, I think that my stress will also indirectly affect my bb. Yes, there is risk associated with amnio, but I weigh it against the peace of mind that I will get, that's why I am all for it.

Hi BabyEthan
I'll sign up with Cordlife but waiting for the promo also since we still have few mths down the road. There'll be a promo at upcoming BabyCare Festival @Expo this weekend. For 2 MTBs signing together, there'll be a $20 shopping voucher. Another thing I read is $400* for 1st yr but not too sure for which plan. U know when they put a star (*) there, could be misleading sometimes. Last 2 wks, I rec'd an sms from the sales person, promo for $0* upfront payment (something like that), just to find out that it's only for the 21-yr plan. I only plan to take the annual plan, meaning only pay 1 time upfront payment & subsequent would have to pay $250/yr. FYI, on the UPFRONT PAYMENT OF $1400, FBI member will get $450 discount & another $50 if u have a fren as referral (& your fren will get $50 cash cheque too). So, u only need to pay $900 upfront.

If u interested, maybe we could sign up together to enjoy promo? But I'd only be going on Sat around 3pm.

Hi MrsC,
Will email you when I get home tonite =)

Hi babyethan,
Don't worry. Have a lot of listening ears here. Husbands typically don't want to create any more worries, so they also say "Don't worry, everything will turn out fine".

Now, I guess the only thing is to hope for the best and be optimistic. Most tests for your baby turned out ok. And you are keeping the baby, so now is only pray hard baby will be ok and take care of yourself to give baby best condition to grow in.

PinkMaMa,
I did consider getting a second opinion. My next gynae appt is next sat & will be 23 weeks then already. If still seek 2nd opinion after that, wonder if too late to do any further test. Also, I don't think my hubby will be keen to do so.

LS
I'm signing up when there's a good promo. I saw the $400 advert but i think it's for some plan which I'm not sure too. The 1st yr won't be so cheap one. At least $1000 before any discounts. Wonder if 2nd child has any special rates. Will go tmrw n see. Will update u again.

Lamagier,

Gal, just PM u.
Thanks for remembering me. Anyway, how r u feeling today? Yr MS seems too long lei.. Be tough k.. Y u r brewing tonic by yourself? Ask yr parents to 'bu' u up abit.. I have 1 colleague who nv had any MC during pregnancy. She told me that she is following up with chinese sinseh and drinking tonic being prescribed. If you have problem struggling alone, maybe u wanna get help from TCM, I mean a professional sinseh?

Hi Cecelia,
Thanks. I guess my MS maybe due to genes. Cos read in books and online if other female in the family have bad MS, likelihood is I'll have MS too. My sister had MS till she delivered =(

I don't know any good TCM doctor who deal with pregnancy, my pils not into brewing tonics and I don't want to trouble my mmum since she's also not well. Haha, but since I'm still on/off merlion, decided not to wastre the money =p. Depend on the western multivit/fish oil/calcium/iron.... Haha... My boss said I "iron teeth"...

Hi lamagier, i've PM you too
Thanks so much for sharing with us! Hope u are feeling better today. Hmmm, i do heard that MS is in the family. Hang on there for the sake of your bb k!!!! Mummy is the most wei da one

lamagier
next time when bb come out liao u tell bb, see, mummy so xinku bcos of u leh. hahas. i know of some ppl who MS till delivered. and heard of those only MS when nearin delivery date. MS is realli anitime anihow one lor.

BabyEthan!
I can understand your worries.Its not easy,the more details we get from net the more worried we are...sometimes i pretend i am blur..dont really go into details and read.Actually my hubby not supportive of my amnio and he just said it will be fine..i insist.Just discuss with your doc then decide.Dont worry everything will be ok.My pray for you and all of us..

Thanks pprincess & kitty.
Haha, I console myself that MS is a good sign that pregnancy still progressing well.... At least I'm already quite fortunate not to have any spotting and still able to exercise. My sister was spotting throughout both her pregnancies and she had to go for daily injection to stabalize her 1st pregnancy. She worried through both her pregnancies....

phoenix
can I check how many days u bed rest after the amnio? is it total bed rest or u can walk around the house a little bit? Any cramps after the amnio? sorry for the long list of questions.

Lamagier,

True True..
Being able to pregnant w baby growing healthily is the most fortunate thing that can ever happen.. All these processes, we can definately pull through. All mummies, Jia You k!!

pink!
First day i just bed rest but just walk to the hall and watch t v only.Second day i just walk around the house doing simply chores like making coffee only.My hubby took leave and helped with other things for two days.First wk i was taking things easily like not going for my regular walk.Second wk i resume my normal activities just not to carry any heavy stuff. After amnio i felt normal only and no cramps at all. Hope it helps you..

Hello Mummies...
Been awhile since i popped in and chat.. hope everything is ok for all of you..
I did my detail scan on Tuesday.. its a boy and i was disappointed that it was not what i wanted.. but I'm blessed that baby is healthy..I will work harder the next round!

Mashy,
Please update, Thanks!!

Hi girls

Long time. Been too caught up with work but now feeling upbeat coz I just came back from my babymoon in Gold Coast, it was a superb hol...i strongly recommend to all mommmies who are thinking of going for a babymoon.

Mashy, I also did my detailed scan just before I went to Oz and this time, I am having a boy but I am very happy as my #1 is a girl, so this balances out the chi in our little family
Pls update, thank you very much.

BabyEthan, are you also from Sep/Oct 06 thread?? Your nick is very familiar...

Anyone going to this Sat Mother & Baby Fair at Expo?

Ralphine,
Don't worry. You're not alone. I love my baby regardless of my baby's gender, but I'm still hoping during my detailed scan next week, there will be a possibility gender would be opposite of what doctor told me at 4th month scan... makes me feel like a bad mummy

Hi missynic, cant comment cos i have not done it yet.. maybe other mummies can share their experience with you.

Oh.. isetan pte sale again.. hmm..wonder if i should get some stuff now..

I think my bb is active.. been feeling the "popping", kicking every morning, lunchtime, late afternoon and nite..cannot imagine when i progress in the later months..

haha...Ralphine/Lamagier,

yeah you gals are not alone too..my hubby still hopes there could be a gender change during the detailed scan...haha..but me ok have started to accept my little darling already..just wanna give birth to a healthy baby...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB Gender</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Soon Siew Bee </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>candyc</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>5-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>anabellegirl</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pretty Bunnie</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jillian</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>8-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>poshicon</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Watt Wing Fong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Koh C.H</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yen2007</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC/Mt.A </TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Curtis</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Chen LH</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>helpme</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ralphine </TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tay</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Beverly</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boys</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed09</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunbun</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinklilies</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>janbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tan HY</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>16-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>koko51sg</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kong Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>cecelia</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>SabSab</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dawnnie</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kai</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulips02</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bestberries</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Prof wong </TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>lamagier</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffingirl</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Yeap ML</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelsky</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>DR LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peanut</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>mypreciouskeagan</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousthots</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>yammummy</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zolldoll</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>coolkero</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr KL Tan</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Devilene</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr.Chan Kong Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynny</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunnyduck</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>loshita</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD> TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>pprincessbaobei</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>xman</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

blessed09/Lamagier
No point for me to hope as the scan show pretty obvious that it is a boy.. well well.. as long as my baby is healthy.. I am more than happy.. I have even started shortlisting some boys' names.. I will work harder for the next pregnancy.. come to think abt it.. isnt it irony that girls are usually easier?

Any suggestions for boy name? I only shortlisted girl names before the detailed scan. Now have to start all over again!

Hi, Nicolle ann

I have completed the detailed scan at TMC!

Following is my experience:

1) Scan for head measurements, in terms of circumference, front to back and some internal skull measurements.
2) Scan for neck thickness again
3) Scan baby face to check for orbit (eyes), eyelids, nose, harelip, mouth, nose to ensure all the above are formed properly, in terms of appearance and in position.
4) Scan baby heart for heartbeat, check that there r 4 valves and 2 main valve which shows blood pumping out of the heart and another valve which shows blood flowing back
5)Scan abdominal for stomach and take abdominal measurement to compute the estimated weight of bb
6)Scan for bladder and kidneys. The existence of the stomach, bladder and kidney will show that the bb is now able to swallow and pass out the fluid.
7) Scan for hands and fingers. Count that there are 5 fingers on each hand and they are properly formed.
8)Scan for legs and count the toes on each leg. Take femur measurement to compute weight of bb.
9) Scan for gender if you wish to know the gender.
10) Lastly, enjoy a few minutes of the general activities carried out by your little one in your tummy!!

im goin for my detailed scan tmr.
finally can know the gender! so excited! the last checkup at my gynae..my bb close the legs..
hope everything turns out good and well.

i'm going to detailed next wed.. NERVOUS... but also worried after hearing some of the MTB cousin's baby brain not developing well etc.

: (

mine is boy too : )

hi all mtb

anybody have buy bb stuff from internet using credit card

but country is china fujian

izit safe to use credit card ?

Just went for detail scan this week. Gender of BB is Gal. And EDD is brought forward to Jul 17. Pls help me to update. Thanks

my tummy sudden balloon liaos. LOL. abt 6 days ago still can fit into normal clothing jus tat is tight. nw is totally cannt fit and ppl can see tat im pregnant! guess all will start to balloon soon too!

poprincess,
don't worry. Mine starting on the exponential expansion too =) Down to my last pair of normal jeans that I can still fit into. Going to get my sister's old maternity clothes from her this weekend =) haha, just that she works in city area, clothes glam glam one. I work on island, go to work in t-shirt and jeans....

LS and BabyEthan:
Which is co. in cord blood banking is better? Have you guys done any comparison?
Stemcord is having a seminar on the 14th Mar and having a promotion, too.

I haven't enquired abt pricing for Stemcord, maybe will be able to find out in the BabyFair.

Nicolle Ann: the detailed scan is just like the normal scan that you do just that's it takes slightly longer as the doc will scan from head to toe the foetus. Its done by a specialist usually.

Just like what Ning describe, I had mine done today at TMC. I also got a CD of the scanning which is good cause you can look at it at home again.

Certain measurements are impt as it could be an indication for something else, like head, stomach, arms, legs, etc. Doc would also check to see esp the lip formation, nose bone in particular.

koko, what does the cd consists of? i am doing my deatiled scan at TMC tomolo.

dear mummies, thanks for the encouragement. i will stay positive an happy, hope that all mummies here will be blessed with a smooth n healthy pregnancy. we will all have healthy bb. yipee!

lamagier, can you email mi the shopping list as well? thanks.

Friend of Zoo,
Nope... i'm not from that thread. My #1 was born in Dec07.

Koko
Both company are using different methods of storing the stem cell n i remember Cordlife is accredited in Spore but not Stemcord. For my #1, I had stored his wif CordLife. So for #2, will be going for the same company too. Hopefully, can get some discounts since 2nd time customer.

HBB
Yr gynae is Prof John Tee at KKH right? I've made an appt wif him tmrw to get a 2nd opinion on my detail scan result. How is he like? Strict man?

Is it necessary to store baby's stem cell? hmm, alot ppl never. my 3 elder sisters also didn't that's why the idea didn't come across to me.

lamagier
haha. u so cute lar. glam glam gd wad. then u will b their glam lady + pregnant somemore! :D

peanut
it is recommend to store. sometimes is bcos is quite exp so not much store. i tink previously dey also didnt promote much abt the cord stuff. nw they tryin to expand it as they say will save the lifes of many. mayb u can read up from their webbie on the advantaege of storing the cord stem.

peanut

I also didn't. It's not necc unless u have a genetic strain that might need transplant in future. The advances in stem cells are still very limited. Also, if u harvest the stem cells from #1 baby, that #1 baby will not benefit from it. Coz if that bb anything wrong, means the stem cells also likely have probs. It's more meant for siblings, parents or relatives.

Hi guys, haven't popped in for a long time. Did my detailed scan at TMC a week ago and my doc was saying baby is a little on the big side. We were a bit surprise cos my #1 was and is still very small.
Peanut: I didn't store my baby's stem cell but I donated it. Can't remember to which cord bank but that time at KKH, there was a lady at The Private Suite speaking to the patients about storing or donating . Since my hb and I decided not to store, we thought might as well donate it and not let it go to waste.

pprincess,
eh, I don't need anymore attention =p. Already got a colleague (whom I have told directly that I am married and totally unavailable) who is still calling me and trying to come up talk to me and daily basis... Additional stress and my tolerance is decreasing rapidly... Don't think want anymore attention =p

jillian
mayb for nw baby seems big
as it is not 100% accurate. and sometimes veri big difference can b. mayb jus monitor and see how is ur baby developing. as long as healthy should b gd! yea, heard that can donate also. saw from the news that alreadi haf abt 20 people gain from the donated cord and continue living. else they might have died.

lamagier
wah, ur colleague damn xiong leh. tell him nw u pregnant liao wad else he wan? LOL. if i were u, i everidae talk abt my hubby =p like when im attached, i everidae talk to those ppl who are interested in me abt my bf. and end up dey cannt tahan and sae, can stop talking abt him not? wahhas.

Hi lamagier,

Why dun you meet him (i presume is a he?) and show off your tummy to him so that he will get the pic? hah.

Going for my 5th mth visit tonite..hope everything is ok.. waking up with numb palms everymorn now..and bb keep kicking which i dunno if i should feel happy or annoyed..