(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Enli,

RE: coconut water

Yes yes the old pple say that do drink coconut water towards the last 2 months is good for baby. Suppose to cool the baby down since we have been consuming a lot of heaty n tonic food from 2nd trim.

I did drink one cup of coconut water per week during the last trim for my 1st born. Eat alot of birdnest thro out the whole pregnancy, baby skin condition very good till nw!

Pprincess:

RE: Breast pump

I invest in a medela pump in style, cost me S$700 over bucks, during my 1st pregnancy. But end up I din manage to establish milk supply. If you do not mind using 2nd hand, you can ask your friends if they are willing to lend their pumps to u. You can always buy your own once you establish the supply.

Enli,

Poison for the baby or for us? My mom used to cook white carrot soup mixed with red carrot and green carrot, and so far so good lei..

cecelia446

they say its poison for us, i am not sure too.. they say chinese doc say its poison if mix together.. but.. if u used to eat like tat then its ok.. maybe there is something else,they mix into the soup also lo.. but thanks anyway.. then i feel a safe ...

re: coconut

i had from many of my colleagues that at the last tris jus drink once or twice fresh coconut. it will help to clean the baby. so that bb wun b so bloody when they come out. not advised to drink too much bcos dey sae it too 'liang' for our body. so jus drink in the last few months once or twice enuff liaos. those colleagues tat did tat or whose wives did tat, all their bb come out clean

ning
thanks for the info. so i guess jus put it aside first from my buy list

helo mummies,

haven buy a single thing yet, still not sure if should buy bb stuff so early. My frends also volunteer to buy stuff for me when i give birth so not sure if i should.

Been having cramps on my hands in the morning these few days. Anyone has cramps on palms rather than legs? Been losing hair too, wonder if it's the new shampoo im using.

Actually im not intending to buy stroller till bb is much older. Thinking of using sling and carrier till bb get too heavy to carry cos i find that stroller is abit too troublesome esp when we do not have car transport.

Was discussing with HB on the issue of looking after bb after my maternity. Seems like my MIL will not be able to look after and either we hire a maid (share with SIL) or have my aunt to look after. Not really in the idea of having a maid but if i m to leave it with my aunt who has experience to look after, i would have to travel from west to north to put my bb there.. Good to have nanny ard my area to look after but hb still prefer own relative rather than outsider..

peanut

For playpens, there's only 2 levels compared to a cot's 3-4 levels. The top level can only be used for a short while before the bb can turn. Once bb can turn, u have to move down to the lowest level already.

Personally I prefer the cot coz it's more adjustable and the bb can sleep in it for a longer period if u choose those that can be converted to a toddler bed. Don't get those from Ikeas, coz their cots don't have gates which u can pull down.

The following items are for sale:

1) full set of the Medela Harmony pump (used only once) + Brand new (opened) membane valve (1pc) & Brand new membranes (3 pcs) all selling at $50

2180851.jpg

2) Brand new valve & membrane set selling at $28 (retail price ~$30)

2180852.jpg

3) NUK standard neck bottles without teats (Used only once)
- 4pcs x 125ml + 2pcs x 250ml selling at $40

2180853.jpg

Self collection at AMK or SengKang train station.

Interested please pm me.

Hi mummies, i went for my detailed scan yest. BB was so actively moving...everything went well, did all the measurements of the diff parts. So interesting
Mashy, pls update gender of my bb...it's a boy boy
thank you.

Welcome curtis!

Hazelle, u drinking dumex now mah? I'm drinking fresh milk, used to drink dumex all the time but thought it's no longer on sale nw...

Elijah's mum, thanks for all the info on bb fairs. Very useful!!!

Blessed, nice to meet u at the workshop today

hi everyone...
i'm a young mummie to be and i'm currently working as a pre sch educator... after facing children for 5 yrs plus...finally i'm having one of my own!!=D

i'm having a bb boy as doc told last checkup..can i ask abt sth? ...recently, i've been getting a little pains in the tummy..isit normal?

Sorry mummies to interupt:

Selling a rarely used lucky baby warmer bought at $35.90 selling at $25.00

and Avent niplette bought at $70+ selling at $60 (used once)

Self collect at sembawang.

it's been awhile since i last check in here.
i did not have time to read all the post, hope tat everyone is fine.

i went for my detail scan last friday and all's well

bb is abt 331gm, average in size but my gynea is telling me to watch my weight

i dun eat much. no snacks, only eat main meals and not alot too. dun know why my weight juz kept shooting up

i started buying bb stuffs. went to kidzloft yesterday. the 50% sale is very worthwhile!
will be going to HK next week.
can update me if Mustela is worth buying at the coming BB fair in Expo?

will rush down on the 1st of March if discount is good. need to stock up bb's toiletries.
thank you!!

hi mbb2 so far hw much hv u gain?
like u I onli eat 3 main meal a day but my weight is shooting up fast too sigh
tml see gynae duno wat he will say..

mbb2 & HBB
mayb u need to check wif ur gynae liao. or mayb is ur carbo take too much? me haf been eatin junk and so on. snacks, fast foods etc. but weight haven increase much. nw drinkin formula milk see whether will increase abit not. for 4 months i onli gain 1.4kg, doctor jus sae got increase gd liaos.

pprincess
i onli take rice once a day and noodle for the other meal..
will ask my gynae tomolo thou i bet he will tell mi is ok haa so far i tink i gain 5kg or more

Morning mummies!!!

Hi mbb2, my bb is only abt 305g. So far, i only gained abt 5kg. My gynae nv say much abt my weight but i'm expecting to gain more....hee

HBB, your detailed scan is tmr mah? Enjoy the process

pprincess, my bb finally nv play trick with me liao haha...but was ganna scolded by doc for being too active till he shakes my tummy. As for weight gain, i think as long as bb is growing well, it shd be fine

Babyethan, stay cheerful & be a happy mum ok. Dun worry too much...hope everything will be fine for you & bb

Enli, i hav not started taking coconut yet...scared too liang. But think will take a bit in the 3rd trim.

kittyng
Congrats on your boyboy! So EDD still the same during scanning?

HBB
How does heartburn feel like? I tot I had it couple of time but not too sure if it's heartburn. It felt like something poking from inside stomach after eating. Very uncomfortable!

I also gain around 5kgs liao. Stress nehh thinking about how to get back to pre-pregnancy shape later as I've actually gained 5kgs also before getting pregnant. Haiz!

Went to BB Hyperstore & BB's Kingdom yesterday. BB Hyperstore is very messy & service not so good (eventhough it's bigger store). I saw bb cot, changing table, stroller & bb carseat that I like @BB's Kingdom but since it's my 1st stop, I still wanna look around for stroller & bb carseat. The staff service is good there. Will go back to buy the bb cot & changing table next week.

kittyng

yeah.. drink cocounut water at the last trimester..pprincess got mention.. it will cleanse bb when it comes out.. hehe... may i know how many months are u? when is ur edd date?

Thanks LS! Gynae said most likely EDD 10th jul, no change fr last check. But cannot see u already cox u are delivering at Mt A right? I missed the hosp tour timing during my detailed scan....so din get to see the rooms. Only the pic.

May i know where's BB hyperstore & BB kingdom? I hav nt started walking ard to look at bb stuff.

Enli, i'm exactly in my 20weeks nw
Wat abt u?

kittyng
Yeah.. I choose Mt A at the end.. Now we cannot "scream" together liao.. heheheh
From my last scanning, EDD is 9 July (instead of our initial EDD of 11 July) but I guess it always differ everytime we scan. More or less there..

BB Hyperstore
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shun Li Industrial Park

BB's Kingdom
83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shum Li Industrial Park

Both r quite near. Just park @either side & can walk to the other store.

HBB, thanks for the tips, yach i drink lotsa water when i eat. will try not to, and also cos not much appetite i've been eating lotsa chilli, maybe that play a part too. hey, i heard dunno true or not that papaya will make baby skin rough? my gynae ask me eat papaya, but frens say dun.....hehehehe...

wah elijah'smummy, must share any good buy that u bought ahhh. i probably will start my shopping next month after my detail scan.

re: weight gain

if i never remb weight gain up to abt 15kg is okie. but more then tat is not gd. bcos i got 1 supervisor who said that her sis gain too much weight. and they sae it is not gd for the child, hence need to induce birth as she is growing wae too much but baby is the same and it's gifing pressure and may cause diabetes too.

Ya LS, we cannot scream together liao. Think we most likely will pop around the same time....hee
Thanks for the addresses. Are they having sales nw? It's really time for me to look around nw too...

Enli, i'm at TMC. So when's yr detailed scan?

LS & HBB, hifi! We gained around the same weight. But i somehow dun show it...only at the tummy...dunno where all the weight goes to....haiz

kitty
mt detail scan over le. tml is jus to c gynae
he will tell mi bout e bb scan I tink

ehh ya I tink weight gain @ tummy for mi too cos my tummy bigger than another mtb who is due in may!! haha

coolkero
ya I heard some ppl say dn take papaya too bt its becos of jaundice. moderation shld b fine.

ls
ehh heartburn is on chest near throat de... like gt acid reflux like tat...

I havent started buying anything yet, so tempted to...bt i gt quite a lot of stuff left over fr my #1 and my frezs maybe giving me stuff too. Told hubby abt e bb fair @ Expo and he said its too early to buy. Btw, any suggestions of the brand of e diapers u r going to buy for your bb?

Have u gals also book for pre-natal massage? I tinking if I shld use back e same lady when i delivered my #1?

Mi counting down to my detailed scan n gynae chk up this fri. I cnt wait!

next scanning will be next month. on the 4th. Doc say by then, will know bb is a girl or a boy. actually don really mind, as i only hope my bb is healthy and fine.
so far.. i already gain 5kg.. really scare me when the weight keeps on increasing, but for bb.. i guess its ok.. maybe after delivery, then think of how to lose weight..

LS(Perline)

yesterday went to guardian pharmacy, a sales attendant, whom mother of 2 kids, advise me to give breasfeeding for at least 2 years if you can, will slim down faster.. but i don know its true or not..

enli
ya the person who told u is kind of right.. breastfeeding shld be able to help us get bk into shape but tats also provided we watch wat we eat
i got a gf who complain non stop but her waist line that nvr go bk to usual... but she is eating so much junks n rubbish like triple chocolate cake.. high sugar thgy... hw to lose weight like that?
when we bf gottomake sure we eat more yet balance diet..good for bb n ourselves
hopeall of us can gain bk our shape after birth manz!
by right bf no need to wait for 2 yr then get bk to shape thou.. 3 to 6 mth is enuff to shape bk...

Enli, it's true. Breastfeeding uses up to 500 extra calories each day; it's the reason why we have to gain some weight in order to have a healthy baby. Nature's way of ensuring we have enough fat and reserves to produce milk for baby!

Of course, like what HBB says, even if you breastfeed but eat lots of junk food, you'll be fat. Guess this applies whether or not a person is pregnant! :p

HBB, wah...your tummy is really big that means....i can imagine nw. But it sounds gd to hav all the weight diverting there right? hee...

Coolkero, i think papaya with fish soup helps preg woman gain more milk. My mum gg to cook that for me soon. She's cooking that nw for my sis-in-law whose BF now for her girl.

Sheryl, i think i maybe using petpet cox learnt fr my sis & sis-in-law. They all using it for my nieces & nephews.

enli
U also gain 5kg ah? Guess we're those on the average weight gain
At first I tot it's too much as 1st trimester I only gained around 2-3kg. But within the past 4-5wks, already gain another 2kg. That's why quite shock! Maybe must watch out the carbo intake from now onwards.
Hope I could breastfeed my bb smoothly too..

HBB
Envy u.. Your weight gain is going to right places..

kittyng
Do u know how soon can we start on the papaya fish soup? Will it be too early as for now?

mbb2
Where's Kidzloft exactly?

LS, i'm not too sure. When i went home, i wanted to steal some soup cox the smell so gd then my mum said that's specially for my sis-in-law
She say next time she will cook for me too but not now. Hmmm...so i assume it's going to be taken at a later stage ba.

kitty,is petpet gd?

gals, i was searching for my weighing machine to weigh myself. bt, i threw it away when i move hse. wasted when i wana use it now. wana chk my weight gain... tummy is aso getting bigger now, at least its more obvious that i am preggie.

btw, for detailed scan, what does the sonographer do? do we nd to ensure that they count e no of fingers n toes etc? anything else to ensure?

mashy

the ones that i saw online at kidzloft not as good as those that we can get at isetan, robinson, or taka leh..... hahah yesterday i went to mothercare and saw the sleepsuits(those with the covered foot) going at 15 for a pack of 3 heheh i bought 2 set for my boy.....

peanut

i will be going on friday morning... hahah try to just glance round to see if there are any good deals.....

LS
it at 154 targor lane alone upper thomson road. hahah i check it out as i wanted to go.... but after checking out the deals online... i personally found that its not such a good deal after all.... BHG also having baby fair with 20% off.... can check that out first.

HBB

wah like that how to lose weight? bf also got to eat right ah.... other not good for baby leh... for me i only eat 3 solid meals now... :p coz am still bfing my boy on and off... tough to break it... my boy will pull and tug at my clothes to get to it.. but only if he needs reassurance now. i cant put him to bed though coz he will cry for it. hubby puts him to bed now. :p

talking about weight gain.... i have also gained alot of weight the last was 3kg but that was the beginning of the month when i went for the detailed scan... hmmm baby's weight was only 10% of my total weight gain leh.... haiz...

Sheryl, my sis they all tried other brands before but got rashes so eventually settle down with petpet cox seem to be the most suitable for their children.

During the detailed scan, the toes and fingers are pretty obvious
hee... they simply check everything of the bb and did the fetal measurements. Usually the report will show the range of where all the measurements fall into.

Hi sheryl, yeah the report will be churned out on the spot. U seeing your gynae after the scan right? A pity that the photos are all in the cdrom, so got to develop myself if i wan...

kitty.. mytummy now about 36-37inch.. duno consider big anot... but i rem 1 mummy here say hers 33 inch?

sheryl
petpet is cheap.. esp for 1st 2 mth whn bb poo v often(like after every feed) so use n throw alot not so heart pain
i intend to use pet pet or drypers too for 1st 2 mth at nite will use mamy poko cos more absorbent

elijah mummy
tat y i say we need balance diet... we cannto starve ourselves silly or gorge on food silly also
if bf and u eat right.. u still lose weight yet gt good quality milk

if eat alot of junk and dun lose weight the milk is not of good quality also

hi Loshita,
Hope all goes well for you test later.

Hi kitty,
So happy for you you finally get to know your baby's gender. Can start to plan what to buy liao.

Hi Enli,
I only know white carrot 'clears toxin' and cannot take white carrot with ginseng (counter effect I think). White carrot with red carrot should be ok I think. A lot of people boil soup with white and red carrot (my mum too) and I saw on tv it's also a very common homecooked soup in Hong Kong.

re: Weight Gain
Eh, I gained 2 kg before going for my first gyane check up at 7 weeks. Weight till now still the same. But my 'volume' became larger. Haha, maybe lossing muscle mass, that's why weight never increase but volume increase

Just to share. I was at the Young Parents Seminar on Sat. Doc advised no bedroom activities after 30 weeks as enzymes in teh sperm can cause contractions.

HBB,
i gained 5kg awredy.
dun eat alot of carbo too but weight is still shooting up.

Mashy,
Kidzloft ended it's sale on sat.
the latex mattress was the best deal. from $199 to $99.50.
bumbo tray was $9 and i got some safety 1st items.

for those who wanna know the add, it's at 154 Tagore Lane.
www.kidzloft.com

another good plc to shop for bb stuffs is Cheong Choon at Chinatown.

prices are often lower then Kiddy Palace, Robinson etc for bb cots, playyard, bumper mat (if do not want to buy fr BP), bumbo seat, wipes n bottle wash and loads of toys.

bear in mind, this shop only accept cash.
not all items are on display but can simply call Winnie up at 65323855 to enquire abt price n stock availability.

Sheryl,
20th week scan will scan bb's organs, toes, feet, see if there's cleft lips, spine etc.
not 100% accurate coz my colik's child was both with a hole in the heart even after going for this scan.

anyway, there's no scan tat is 100% accurate.

re: Pet Pet diaper.
if the bb/child's bum do not get rash from it. i highly recommend it for day use.
cheap and good.

my ger have been using it since newborn till last yr (now she is diaper free).

my ger never have diaper rash before even tho she uses cheap diaper.
i normally apply a coat of barrier cream on her bum each time i change her and i never let her wear her diaper for more then 3 hrs even if it's not overflow.

Mustela's barrier cream is fab. 1 bot can last 6 mths even when i apply generousely during each change.

for those who are interested in Nepia NB n S size.
can buy direct from the supplier coz NTUC only carry M size up.
tel is 62262650.

$15 a pkt, min 4 pkt for FOC delivery.
size can mix.

remember to cut the seal from the pack and collect 10. send them back to the supplier and get $10 NTUC voucher.

Loshita,
dun worry ya.
it's a simple procedure and i am sure all is well.

Hi loshita,

Hope everything will goes well for you. Dun be too worry. U need to have a good bed rest after your test later.

elijah's mum

their things can be a steal when there's 50% off. The car seats are very cheap when that happens.

Re: shopping
If u wanna get lucky bb stuff, u can go direct to Taime at Bedok. They are opened to public on Sats. Can get strollers at better discounts and can bargain with them to throw in extra freebies.

mbb2
So sad missed it, else would have gone to grab stuff.