(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Enli,
Bitterness? Haha, that one I really have no idea.

Take green leafy vegetable, broccoli, pork, black sesame etc. All these food suppose to have high iron. I think some nuts too. And as what some mummies have previously posted, don't take calcium & caffeine with all the iron rich food cos will hinder iron absorption

pprincess,
I think whitish coating (haha, if tounge is clean) means body 'han'. Normally tounge supposed to be pinkish. Don't take too much cooling food like coconut milk, kang kong, green bean soup etc. See if that can help a bit.

The thalassemia test got test for haemogonlin in addition to thalassemia. That's how gynae knew I lack iron

thanks.. i also think it would be ok if the air flight allows me, i will ask doc to write me a letter to prove i am safe for travelling.. so now how many months are u?

lamagier
u machiam like expert. LOL. i hate to go TMC bcos their medicine smelly. =p on my next visit i check wif my gynae whether got do the test not. bcos i got ask her bfore i 2yrs ago got test for thalassemia nw still need to test? she sae yes, bcos everi pregnancy is different. i thought is my blood, i no different mar. but never ask much from her. ahhas.

enli
im nw 17 weeks pregnant
yea, also check wif ur doctor. if ur doctor willing to write letter to certified that u are fit for travelling then should b no problem. but b extra careful when u are there and also the food wise.
when i go vietnam i never even tell doctor bcos i got bleedin from 4-6 weeks. so i scare doctor sae cannt. so i jus secretly go. luckily i no problem :D

Pprincess,

You feel "cold in my head, break out in cold sweats and feel damn in my head" could it be low blood pressure?

i had that feeling in the intial period of preggy..

Re: water retention
high sodium intake will cause much water retention.. walking helps.. but not walking or standing for too long hours..

I think there are supportive stockings for pregnancy to help reduce water retention and spider veins..

I've ordered one pair of materninty stockings from NZ.. hehe.. if its good i'll recommend

Enli,

you are at KKH?

You got nerogain BP form your gyne or you purchase from pharmacy seperately?

I was given natal care but the problem is that dosage is 1/2 of what Nerogain which i too for my #1..

Pprincess,

wah.. u are so brave.. didnt tell doctor u got bleedin from 4-6weeks.. lucky u are fine... hehehe... must take good care ya... u say u are 17 weeks pregnant.. i guess almost same time as me.. so ur mature date will be july too mar? because i am july mummy too... hehehe

sunsweet,

i see doc at KKH..actually doc gave me GANILIA only, NeurogainPB is when i went back to my hometown, my doc there intro me to take it.. say its good for my bb.. i bought it separately from pharmarcy. u can find it at watson or guardian..

sunsweet
but when i take blood pressure on my every visit doctor sae my blood pressure veri gd, veri normal leh. can still be low blood pressure?

enli
i got tell doctor i bleedin from 4-6 weeks. but then never tell doctor or ask permission whether can go overseas not. hahas. bcos i scare later doctor sae cannt mar. my edd is on 31july.

pprincess,
Haha, cos I last time martial arts sparring team one. Always get bruised and injured. So me & some seniors went learn a bit of tui na and stuff from the coach, then can help each other to tui na =p

Pprincess.. probably as Lamagier says u have to check on hemoglobin level..

My blood pressure is fine but hemoglobin is low loh..

Enli,
There's nerogain S something.. its higher DHA content.. heard is better then the blue packaging ones..

Enli, i think you can travel. I travel to KL quite frequent by flight. Short period I feel ok, just boarding awhile only then landed liao!
I was suppose to go Italy with hubby when I was 7 weeks pregnant, who know the day before departure got bleeding, went to KKH emergency unit. Doc said still can travel if I want to but my hubby dun allow cos I have very bad MS that time too. End up the trip just burn like that.

babyethan, when u do the first trimester test, did the report say u got 2 or 3 blood vessel? dun worry too much if doc say ok. always remember happy mom, happy baby. yah i agree that monthly visit to gynae seems so long now, i'm looking forward for the next visit to see baby alright thru ultrascan.

my #1 passed her stomach flu to me and hubby over last weekend, it's so terrible to be sick, whole body weak after vomitting and diarrhea. i'm ok now, all of us seems slimmer, hahahaha. btw, just fyi, for those mommies who are drama queens, u can check out mysoju.com, can watch korean, taiwan, hk dramas for free, or u can preview before u buy whole set of dvd. i've been watching last few days when all i can do is lying down on sofa, cos my #1 controlling the tv, hehehehehe.

Hi loshita,
I drank Similac cos free from TMC FBI package. But found it to be too sweet. I think Jun09 thread MTB also commented a lot of them dun like Similac because of the sweetness too.

Hi babyethan,
Hope you will hear reassuring news from your gyane. If worried, why not see if can bring forward your appointment, then can see gynae face to face and get him/her to go through the results and answer your questions.

lamagier
ohh.. icic. else later everitime go find sinseh. hahas =p

sunsweet
okies. thanks for the advise. tink haf to see doctor and check wif doctor whether got do the test not and whether my condityion need to do the test also.

loshita
u find it pityful to waste the trip but ur hubby feels tat ur health more impt mar. should b happi tat from this incident u know ur hubby cares abt u more then the money. :D i got drink milk powder. but i forget is wad brand as the container is at home and i brought some to office & drink. is got some flavour de. normally clinic will recommend.

hi 2nd time mummies,

need 2 seek advice again, if ur home has an elder to look after ur #1 & got a maid, do u still install camera?

is it can oni install it in the living room?

Re: Pregnant mum's milk powder

I personally prefer Anmum.Taste like condensed milk when u make into drink. Tried Enfamama and Dumex,don't like.

But now Anmum new packaging don comes with tin. Got to find ur own air tight container to store.

I'm don't drink everyday cos didn't bring to work. Sometimes drink milo.

Now after lunch everyday, my tummy sooooo bloated. Like an inflated balloon. Anyone like me? Can't believe how much my tummy have grown over this 2 weeks.
My colleagues all says if boy, tummy will grow very big during the initial part. Those mummies tat knows yr baby's gender alreadi, is it true?
Or, I'm just 'big & bloated'.. :p

I'm new here. I'm having my second one, i'm now in my 19 weeks. I wish to join in this threads to share with u all.

PPrincess,
Actually I feel that he is 'kancheong' for the baby. He restricted my whereabout now.

Lamagier,
Do you mean that if we sign up FBI, they provide Similac till we give birth?

Re: Pregnant mum's milk powder
I have tried Frisco Mum, Anmum, Dumex sample. I found that I like Anmum chocolate favor the most. Not sure if other mothers also drinking anmum.

wah, u guys are really good mummies for drinking mum's milk. i was more diligent for #1, drinking fresh milk everyday, now with #2, hmm only drink once in a blue moon, but i eat ice cream.

cecelia, my tummy bloated also, feel the skin stretching hard to adapt the bigger tummy. same case like u, mine also expanded suddenly lately.

btw ladies, got any remedy for heartburn? i've been getting bad heartburn at nite...thanks

Hi hi mummies! Such a long time i didn't login, almost cannot catch up liao.

Went for my detailed scan yesterday and everything is fine. Praise the Lord! Can start to shop for big ticket items liao...haha...oh, BHG is having baby fair till end of this month...alot of stuff is 20% off. Think I will start to check the price now.

BTW, I'm having boys. Mashy, please help to update my babies' gender. Arigatou~~~

For all new Jul09 MTB, welcome!!!

BabyEthan, don't worry too much since doctor said everything should be fine. Try to arrange to see your gynae earlier so he can clear your doubt. Stay positive, ok!

Re: pregnant mum's milk
I try to drink 2 glasses of Anmum chocolate milk everyday. Started since 1st trimester. Tried Enfamama before and really dun like it. Dumex still ok but still prefer Anmum. If go to M'isa, can buy from there. quite cheap.

hihi sherryl, ya I'm going to the First mum congress too. You first time mummy too? I duno what to expect leh... haha, treat it like go there see Zoe and Ivy. LOL!

went shopping yesterday at orchard road.... ok here are the best places for these items...

Avent bottles and stuff... Robinsons as they are having 20% off on selected items

Nuk bottles and stuff..... isetan and robinsons- 20%

baby bear and rigchi baby.... isetan 20% off

baby bjorn carriers..... isetan 20% off

allenhand (diaper bags).... isetan and takashimaya 20% off

hahah hope this help you all in your buying.

also there will be a baby fair next week do look out.... its at the expo. 27th to the 1st mar'09

cecelia, me too, super bloated when I'm full. At first I thought hmm maybe i'm short that's why can easily feel the bloated stomach all the way up to the bottom of my breasts. haha! Your bloat is protruding out and high, or just protruding out? Mine is the former.

hi elijah'smummy, thanks for the info. Will definitely go and shop around those places this weekend.

am thinking of getting a playpen but dunno how to select. Any tips? What are the features to look out for?

woah elijah, u start buying all these stuffs already? I was still wondering when to get them, last trimester or what...

hi mummies, its been sometime that i been to e thread.

elijah, u started buying already? i gt some old stuff fr my boy. still tinking hve to unpack his stuff first before i decide on my shopping list.

mi now counting down to my detailed scan n gynae chk next wk.

peanut

haha... not me buying lah.... no.1 has so many that i will most likely be reusing coz can save some that way....was out with a gf that is a may mummy so telling and showing her what is needed.... shopping was done with her and things are bought by her.... just showed her the best places to buy....

hahah for me so bored at home that i go window shopping. :p

oh for baby clothes right. cheapest is at mothercare where they have the sets to buy... those that are the 10pcs or more for 49.90 i think.(it the 3 sleepsuits, 3 onies.... etc per set) otherwise those wanting to get the sleepsuits be prepared to spend more then 15per piece.

play pen.... think that as long as its steady and meet the local safety standards should be ok... can look at the graco ones if they are on cale coz can be as cheap as 125 - 150 per set

new born wearing used baby cloths good right? my sisters also intend to pass me some of their children clothings after I deliver. haha, sakali got the smell of milk, that's why baby like! lol.

think its the 1 pcs suit sets leh....

wah haha!!!! grab all that you can its the best deal!

think the set that i got was.... 1beanie hat, 3mitten+ booties, 3 onies, 3 sleepsuits (these are 1 piece with covered foots)

anyone going to the babyfair... am thinking to go at 11am on the 27th... hahahh go early before the crowd then look see look see and leave early too.

coolkero
i got bad heart burn too...
i read that papaya help heart burn not sure if it works for u

also i read that dun drink too much water before u eat and avoid drinking during meal... aft food rest a bit then drink. so tat our gastric juice dun get diluted and food cannot digest properly end up getting heart burn

it works for me =)

i am taking Anmum since i am 5 weeks pregnant.. don like milk actually, but for bb's good, so i have to drink it.. sometimes feel a bit bored drinking plain, i add some nestum into it, will make the milk taste nicer and feel more full.

Loshita

no worries.. wait till u are more stable or after birth then go to italy again lor.. sure got chance...
i am taking Anmum.. but original flavour de, choc flavour taste good but i worry it will be heaty for me...

elijah, me going too on 27th Sat. Hope to return with some good buy

BTW, is the height of playpen adjustable? Considering playpen or baby cot...err... Any advise mummies?

Regarding milk;
hmm, i could only take HL milk
the powder form or even other freshmilk I'm not comfortable. Is it ok?

coolkero, lamagier
thanks. still waiting for gynae to get back to me cos he's not in the clinic these 2 days. Hopes baby is really fine.

Coolkero,
during 1st trimester test, there's no checking of baby's organs etc. So didn't found the problem. It's only the neck measurement that shows a bit thick. Blood test results show lower risk. Think it's 1:2000+. Also checked for thalessemia and was negative. So gynae said baby shd be healthy. But I was in a blur state n didn't ask him what else could contribute to the neck thickness.

Also went for the routine blood test for HIV, etc etc. Dr told me my haemoglobin a bit low. Got to consciously remind myself to take my iron pills religiously.

Then this detailed scan give me another worry.

Aiyo.. now so scared to go for tests.

Haiz... i thought i was more relaxed in this pregnancy but end up more to worry about.

Regarding milk,
Probably u gals can check wif your clinic to see if they have any samples from the milk powder company. Abbott has been giving my clinic sample tins. The nurses have been asking me to take a tin each time i go. So far, took 3 tins... full size ones.

I'm now taking Enfamama... only like enfamama, annum & dumex so far. Hated frisomum & similac mum cos find their milk taste very weird.

peanut,

My tummy is protruding out after meals like going to burst anytime.. One of my colleague who just came back from maternity leave says that I looked swollen, which I feel too.

BabyEthan,

i am goin for that blood test too.. my result come out high risk, make me freak, i nearly fainted when the nurses call. rush to see my doc.. he say it was ok.. i don have to worry.. scanning show my bb is fine.. doc ask me not to think so much, and stay happy.. told me to eat well, sleep well.. tat will be the best way to have a healthy bb... i have the same feeling as u too.. tot there wouldnt be so much things for me to worry, who know end up worrying during pregnancy.. they say its not good for mummies to worry everyday..it will influence bb.. so be happy..

onli 1 dae and i alreadi cannt catch. so mani postings.

re: buying of baby stuff
u all buying so earli? im tinkin of after my DS then slowly buy. bcos seems like got alot of frens sae dey can gimmie their stuff. but cannt confirm wad are the stuff dey giving me so abit headache to buy. im tinkin of buying breast pump so tat in the future i can pump at work, store & gif baby drink. continue on breastmilk. but was advised not to buy yet as sometimes not enuff milk supply. are u all going to buy stroller so earli? i saw kiddy palace having big sales on stroller. damn cheap. 119-199 all haf lor. and im tinkin of buying. but my fren sae dey will buy 1 for me when bb is 1 month old. and my dad sae dun need buy so earli. but afraid tat by then it's exp alreadi =x and u cant expect ur fren to fork out so much for u right?

anyone heard tat drinking coconut water on the last trimester will cleanse bb skin mar?
and i heard old ppl say tat, white carrots cannot mix with red carrots in the soup, will produce poison.. anyone heard of that?