(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Anyone getting hungry very easily? I somehow now need to eat something every 2-3 hours. Stomach gets empty very fast.

Re: Blockhead hubby
Heng, luckily my hubby still quite understanding about cravings and stuff. Think his friends who have kids already all told him to let me have whatever I want. So he never complain if I buy expensive junk food etc. So I also try hard not to overly complain to him.

Mashy,
thanks for the article> very informative.

hkbb,
Don't need to wait till your colleague gets preggers. Think if she really push for a packed work schedule, she will already have a hard time dealing with wedding planning.

wow this few days i did not log on and there has been so many stuff going on again

esther
am also cracking my head as i am SAHM. don really know how am going to cope with 2 at home.so i spent some time checking out the care centers around my place.

i just checked out the infant care at tpy central coz thats where i stay. the infant care is 1288 a month for the whole day.

child care / tod care is 588 whole day. half day is at 438.

hope this helps. also there is a waiting list so be sure to book early.

cecelia

is the swelling better?

sabsab

that is good to hear.

hkbb

hahah wait till she is planning for her wedding then she will know the headache! better yet hope that she will be preggy and planning for her wedding, tired and yet got to face wedding plans and somemore packed schedule! :p hahah this is really mean of me to say something like that. but really don worry as what goes round comes round eventually. :p

elijah's mummy, since u r a SAHM, y would u wan 2 send ur #1 2 CC? is it difficult 2 cope wif #1 & #2? the age gap betw ur #1 & #2 aso very near if i rem correctly. mine is 17mths gap.

I wouldnt wan 2 send my #1 so early 2 CC if given a choice. I rather she be taken care by bb sitter or if i can be a SAHM, tot of handling #1 & #2 myself.

My bb sitter might not wan 2 take care of 2 kids. she say she will consider, so i need some backup plans. Reali headache leh..

Errr.. is it true tat the CC caregivers dun feed every child during meal times? Maybe a few mouthful then let the child self feed? Wat if the child still dunno hw to self feed?

Wat's ur advise on this ah?

esther

well i definitely wont be sending no.2 to the infant care though they do look very good. but for no.1 i got to consider coz i find that even now am having prob coping with no.1 maybe its coz am preggy and lately have been sick. will take the time to consider during my confinement and the month after as my boy will only be able to join the CC after sept.

i don have a maid to help, so am all alone at home. rushing between the housework and preparing his meals then some more he will be so sticky to me all the time .... and then thinking that he will be more awake as the time pass.... i really cant imagine coping with 2 kids alone. one is still not too bad. the diff between #1 and #2 is 15mths (mine is a 29th feb'08 baby)

cc caregivers feeding
hmmm seems that here they make sure that all the children finish their food leh.

back from seeing doc. can;t see the gender yet. BB cross leg but the umbilical cord block doc view. so can't see anything. need to wait again

elijah's mummy

ic... guess due to age gap near, so our #1 tends 2 be sticky 2 us more esp nw preggy. they know...

esther

yaps i think so too... haiz i feel so sorry to be doing this to #1 but i really don have a choice. will definitely let #1 stay home with me if i find that i can cope with the both of them till # 1 is about 3yrs.
hahah maybe after that i can be a babysitter. hahah
with all the baby stuff that i have accumulated definitely similar to a infantcare center.

elijah's mummy

yes yes i share the same sentiments wif u on "we might be sending our #1 2 CC" I feel so heartpain when i tink of tis. cant bear...

am tinking of being a SAHM 2 take care of my 2 kids if bb sitter doesnt wan 2. but nw recession, wonder if it is gd 2 quit job and be a SAHM... dilemna...

esther

must think very hard as now am actually considering to join back the work force coz times are really tough. having only to take care of 1 is alright and if we tighten our belts a little things are still alright but with #2. am actually wondering if our dollars can stretch that far and if we can cope with the bills.

elijah's mummy

U have ur mum or MIL 2 help out if u return 2 workforce?

seems like not easy 2 hv kids as and when we like, judging of the things we have 2 consider.

esther

my dad helps occasionally now. like when i am too sick to see to my boy and stuff but otherwise am all on my own. don even dare think about MIL, as that would be opening a can of worms! hahah

that is also why i ahve been checking out the CC and the infant cares around my area. on one hand its to know what my options are and where i can get help if i need them.

MIL is a sure no! no! for me. hahah not coz i don want to leave my children with her but she will be too costly for me to even consider! hahah she is looking at 1.5k per child that she looks after and also will need to employ a maid for her if so. :p way above my budget. also she is constantly saying that she don want to be tied down by the kids and restrict her activities.

elijah's mum

Besides the cost of infant care/Cc, u've to put into it the cost of medical fees too. It'll definitely go up. Infant care is so expensive that I realise that it's simply not worth working for that little extra amt. And on top of that, my boy high medical fees that time was a killer and my PD was already giving us preferential rate of just $10 per consultation leh.

mashy

wow that is really a killer! yah was considering all that... that is why was thinking to go back to work... and putting my #1 in CC then #2 with my dad. coz that seems like the cheapest. :p hahha that last round my dad actually paid for all my boy's medical bills. thankfully my parents are helpful and also my dad has his own business so things are not too bad there

elijah's mummy

wat! $1.5K?! For her own grandchildren, she "charges" this price?

But then if let her or ur dad take care, employ a maid is justifable IMO. cos need 2 do hsework, cook.. they r old folks liao, dun tink they hv the energy 2 tk care of kid and do everyting.

Mashy,

i agree wif the medical fees. esp they tend 2 get sick easily frm infant care/CC. and once kid sick, usually they would wan u 2 bring the kid back home rite.

4 my case, i can oni depend on bb sitter, my dad is old. so i cant depend on my dad.. MIL aso out, mainly different living habits and school of thoughts. Arghh... the more i tink, the more headache i got.

elijah's mum

in a sense, it's gd that my boy has started schooling, so at least 3hrs off my back. :p Plus the 3hrs nap he takes in the afternoon.

Don't think I'll go back to work anymore other than prob starting my own biz or something online. But priority will still be the kids. While the money is gd, there's some things money can't buy. So my hb and I decided that we'll just live with lesser material stuff for now. God will provide the rest.
In a way, also good that he's in public service. So in bad econ times like this, he's not affected by it.

Esther

Yes, and if you've 2, they'll spread to each other.

One thing my MIL raised which i find rather valid to share with u gals. Don't separate the siblings as in like let the grandparent take care of 1 kid and childcare/other arrangements for the 2nd kid. Coz they won't grow up close that way. My hb had 2 cousins, each was taken care by 2 diff sides of grandparents. They don't see much of each other. Now that they're grown up, they've zero relationship with each other. Even when 1 is in trouble, the other doesn't feel the need to help.

mashy,

yeah i agree. the purpose of having 2 kids @ such a near gap is becos i wan them 2 be close and look out 4 each other when they grow up.

u were saying not gg back 2 work anymore. in fact am tinking if i were 2 become a SAHM, i wont return 2 workforce 2. mainly due 2 age. i always hv this negative thinking tat the employer wont wan 2 engage an older person and esp if out of workforce 4 @ least 2,3 yrs? tat's my personal opinion.

Now that you mummies are talking about the headaches that comes with 2 or more kids, I'm suddenly very appreciative of my own mum.

Took care of 4 of us and work as seamstress at home to earn money cos dad never bring home much money. Then later when her eyesight not so good, she worked as nanny and babysit 4 kids... So that 4 of us (10-18 years old) and 4 other kids.....

Just quarrelled with her and gaving her cold treatment.... guess I better be more filial the next time I see her and talk to her more

Esther

It's true. I also don't think i can return to the workforce unless i go to the civil service. Civil service will still recruit u if you have what they need. So if need be, maybe when the kids are older and spent at least half a day in school, I'll start to find myself a hobby or do some online biz.

Lamagier
Your mom is really wei da leh. Yah, be more filial to her. Not every mom is like yours. SOme moms have kids dunno for what when they don't love them.

lamagier,

u shd appreciate ur mum more. Speaking frm the bottom of my heart, my mum no longer ard, and I reali regret 4 not treating her nicely. And I always tink that our own mums are the BEST!

no worries, our own mums will never bear overnight grudges with us. Ur mum will tk care of ur bb when arrive? If so, u r greatly blessed!

elijah's mum,
i understand how fustrating you feel abt 'inlaw'...yah...cans of worms

Last time, when we stayed with my 'inlaw' my FIL asked for 1k for us to stay there (they asked us to stay with them after our marriage) and put our gal there, on top of that we already hire a maid to take care of my gal, do all of their household chorus there, helping look after my sister in law's 2 kids, 1 newborn and 1 toddler whose income are much higher than me and my hb income....too much and ridiculous, want to bully me !!!...i want to vomit blood whenever i see my 'inlaw' faces again. Now i'm happy with my solution, settled at my own place, bring back my maid, send my no.1 to childcare since i don't want my kid to be alone with maid whole day.
Now no.2 on the way, see how's thing getting...if i still can't trust maid then i also have to think of infant care for no. 2 and give up the maid when i return to work. Haiz dilemma, headache...

hkbb

That's why, never stay under pp's roof. At least for us, it's my parents who are staying under my roof, so they can't demand too much from me. And good thing abt my parents are that they keep to themselves, so won't bother me and step on my foot. hehe. I even have this aircon service man ask me if they're my tenants!

Just read mashy's note about the siblings, i feel it's true, when the siblings grow up together, bearing things together, even has quarrels, argument or even fight, the bond is still there...i can see it's true with my siblings. I will take note for my kids as well. Thanks Mashy for reminding me

mashy

thanks for the reminder.... ya me and my siblings are really close and we were never really separated.....haiz but am thinking its not possible to splurge on a maid now.... i also agree that putting in the childcare tend to get sick more. but how to cope with 2 ah thats my question...haiz now thinking about all this issues i really miss my granny. how on earth did she manage to take care of me and my siblings is a wonder!

online biz
hahah am thinking to look in that too.... seems like a hot thing yah. hmmm then again maybe i should help my mum with her biz coz now she is going online on top of her shop.

hkbb

hahah think we all have our own issues with the inlaws... wonder if hubbies have the same problems. hahah

lamagier

yah your mum is super woman! so wei da! must love her more!

esther

hahah yap... 1.5k i was thinking hahah only if i was crazy then will agree to it... other wise its like i have to be earning big big bucks!

mashy

how old is you no.1 again? hmmm was thinking that if i was still to be SAHM then i would be looking at the half day thing coz that way i got time to clean the house too.

Esther,
I put my #1 into infantcare full day when she was 3mths-old, after my maternity leave. Fee b4 gov subsidy is $1150.
When #2 come out, I plan to switch to the infantcare and childcare that more near to my block. Fee is $1050 for infantcare and $600 for childcare before gov subsidy (both full day).

elijah's mum

3yrs old and in nursery this yr. Half day is sufficient actually. Coz they also need to nap. Might as well nap at home. U do the housework yourself? I get a part time maid to come in weekly. Going to increase to twice weekly after my #2 comes out.

Wow, your mom so techie, know how to set up shop online! U should learn from her.

elijah's mum

My granny & my aunt took care of 6-7 kids (all my little cousins then) under 1 roof at 1 period of time. It's amazing how they did it. But guess once you've a certain number and they're more grown up, they'll play with each other and it helps a lot.

It also depends on what u want. My friend who has 3 boys once told me, for her 1st son, she's so kan jiong, took care of his every needs and he grew up. She was abit more relaxed with the 2nd kid and he also grew up. For the 3rd kid, he just grew up. Hahah. They will grow up no matter what we do. So no worries.

I don't intend to get a maid after my #2. Will manage the 2 kids on my own.

One way to do housework with your kids is to get them involved. I get my boy to vaccuum the floor & pick up his toys. Hehehe.

esther,
After gov subsidy still OK la...Infantcare ard $500 and childcare ard $300. What to do...I can't facing the kids for 24hrs/7days. I'll go crazy. So I very "pei fu" all SAHM, very "wei da"...

mashy

hahah i intend to do the same too... have been training my boy already but the laundry and other stuff still cant leh.... hahah maybe coz he is not even 1yrs old yet.

hahah yar learning from my mum. hahah but she is not techie lah... she employs my hubby to do that for her. hahahh

wow 2 on your own! that is super leh!
i just cant imagine it but maybe when the time comes its not so tough.... hmmm
actually when is a good time to start sending our children to school?

elijah's mum

not bad for a kid who's not even 1! I suppose he can walk already? But maybe can get him to keep his toys after he plays first lor.

It depends on your needs. There are places which accept children from 18mths for prenursery curriculum i.e. playgroup. My boy attended one when he was 2yrs old and he had some classmates who went in at 18mths. Very cute little children. heheh. It's a daily 3hrs prog at Kinderland.

For me, I sent him there so that I can get a breather and he can get his play and fun in school and make some friends. He's still so playful that he's having a hard time now at nursery and already kenna a lot of complaints from his teachers. sigh.

My MIL who is a kindergarten teacher said in K1 & K2 it'll be worse. They will be expected to just sit down and do their work and there'll be tons of them.
School is real tough & stressful in Singapore.

Sorry to interupt.

New and Never use before. Came as a free gift from baby pram. Letting go as already have a pouch. Selling at $25. Pls email to [email protected]

http://www.pupsikstudio.com/pages/babywearing.php

COLOUR - TROPICAL TURQUOISE

Inspired by the sun and the sea, this striking cool turquoise blue is sure to turn heads! Made from cotton sateen stretch fabric, this pouch comes with a pocket for diapers and a buckle for attaching toys and pacifiers. With built-in padding.

2171810.gif

Went for my detail scan yesterday, everything was fine except my gynea told me my placenta was low, kinda of sad and worries

mashy

yaps he can walk on his own already.... hahah now he is so mischievous! likes to open the cupboards and take out all his toys and lay them around him that is why i have started to teach him to pick up all his toys and keep them. then when he sees me moping the floor he trys to help so i allow him to do it. :p

oh so i should be looking for a playgroup... hahha thanks for the info!

helen

no worries...(easier said then done) but really you just got to take thing easy and all will be fine. also try to get more rest and spend more time in bed. coz it help.

Hi Ester,
Nope, she's not taking care of my kid. I'm now staying east, she stay west.... And she retired housewife now => only left my youngest sister at home, she don't even need to cook some days. Now just enjoy life, watch TV and get pocket money. She even went backpacking trip to USA with 3 aunts of mine...

Hi...

my MIL will be looking after my #2 as well as my #1..
however #1 going to CC.. hope she can adapt...

only concern now is picking my gal up from school..

My concern is if rain it would be difficult to have a infant to pick up #1.. sigh..

why CC no bus service?? for me to pick up it might be too late.. i reach the childcare earliest would be 6.45pm..

Aiyah dunno how... #2.. too young to go out daily to pick up jie jie or not??

hi mummies, regarding the movements, I still dunno how to differenciate leh..Im 18 weeks now,,,tummy is harder but not too big..hmm really looking forward to feel baby...

lamagier, which brand of iron tablets are you taking? Gynae mentioned Im 80% thelasemic and can just take any iron supplementsi n the market...me kinda worried now and also wanna get something which is safe for baby too..

blessed
dun b so kanchiong. when i first felt it, i also thought is i imagine it. until baby kick or punch me a total of 3 times in a row then i know it's not i imagine 1. if is not like me, feel the kick or punch at the 1st round, but instead if the baby moving onli, then will feel like ur tummy is growling. veri veri slight movement onli. nw my bb is alwaes kickin and punchin me. so i can alwaes feel it
can onli sae i fortunate to feel so earli thou is my 1st pregnancy as many books i read sae tat 1st pregnancy usually not so earli one.

ive this MUM-2-B vitamins from my previous gynae. im not sure isit because of this vitamins, but ive been vomitin after taking the vitamins. and it's so bad that u cant control. i can feel alright this moment and the next i wan to vomit means i wan to and haf to. even vomited in the street. but gynae in KKH sae it's gd. it's multi vitamins. mayb jus not suitable for me.

as ive been taking alot of different types of vitamins together and eat, not sure isit realli tat 1. but should b, as when i vomit i keep feeling the taste & smell of it. and previously when i onli need to take 2 vitamins, i also vomit.

as i tink it's not suitable for me, would like to gif it awae. ani mummies who wan it can jus PM me
contains folic acid, fish oil, iodine, vit b, vit d3 & calcium

Blessed,
I'm taking Ferroocyte tablet 50mg prescribed by gynae. I can't find the brandbut it has a logo Eisai printed on the back. White colour tablet with the S301 printed on them. Hope this info helps.

Haha, I also can't differentiate baby movement. And now take iron tablets feel like I have a lot of gas. So even harder to differentiate.

Lamagier, me too. I can't even differentiate bet hunger, gas & bb movement. Do our tummy get itchy when bb moves, or it's jus bcox of stretching huh?

pprincess, did you try Obimin vitamins? it's cheap, cost $7.50 in guardian, and my gynae recommend to me (but i bought $6 only from my gynae).