(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

HI Sheryl,
=( My turn to feel unwell. Not sure is it something I ate at my company's luncheon, gastric from the long lunch or morning sickness. Head buzzing, stomach pain and feel like puking. Worse thing is I just ate my multivit and got all the horrible taste coming up windpipe

HBB,
I dunno can take cordycep.. blur me! Now can finish our chic essence w/ cordycep liao (those in bottles one). After that, will try to cook manually. Thanks!

cecelia
Thanks also! Let me know if u've checked the name of the soup w/ your mom, ok? Will search for the recipe.

LS i tink a few mtb here takign cordycep also
when i brewthe cordycep i add a bit of dang shen in also.. cos tat one will bu the qi
but i dun take all these often lar.. jus take once a while nia.. hehe

HBB, LS,

Tried calling her, but she went out pray.. The cooking and taste is just like our lotus root soup. Later, will call her afternoon again..

Lamagier,

Oh gosh.. When did you consume the food? Maybe go vomit out will feel better? Lie down on yr desk and take a small nap pls..

Lamagier
i tink is not ms leh.. see a doc if u still unwell ok
or is it indigestion?
gt tummy pain then better see doc

hi mummies, hope you all are well...
Kittyng, Sheryl: hope you feel better today, take more rest when you can, go to bed early.
I'm taking antibiotic and cough given by a GP since the cough and phlemgh got worse. I feel the cough better by the medicine make me feel very tired, endure it just to get rig of the germ in my throat.

Congrats Pretty Bunnie on your baby boy !! when you will go for detail scan ?

Elijah's mummy: your baby is also a boy isn't it ?
i can't wait to see my bb again during the detail scan

DHA capsule

Hi mummies, like to check with all what DHA pills your gyne prescribe?

I had my check yesterday, cannot see gender (Ralphine I'll keep you prediction in mind till next month's detail check).

Dr. prescribe natal care plus DHA capsule in addition to the usual vits.

Heard there's Natal Care Triplus.. wonder KKH have this supplement or not? if so what's the cost?

Sunsweet,

Hee Hee! 2molo my turn to see Dr liao. Think restructured hospital like NUH will not update gender so fast also.. But I still hope Dr can be vigilent enough to spot..

LS,

My mom says that one is call 'huai shan', some call it 'shan yao'. U can put lotus root together also some red dates and meat for the soup.

I also had my check-up today - baby was actively bouncing around inside, but couldn't see gender because the cord was between the legs! Ha ha! Got to wait one more month for detailed scan before I can go shopping, oh well...

HBB, Ralphine,
I checked with the doc about my eczema and he said the hormones caused it to flare up; I was prescribed a very mild steroid cream called Travocort to apply when necessary. Read the info brochure and it said it's safe for women who have passed the first trimester, plus the steroid action is milder than most other creams. Something you might wish to consider asking your doc about if your eczema is really unbearable.

Sunsweet, my gynae at KKH prescribed Ganilia as a supplement. It's a multivit but with additional DHA and iron included.

thanx sunnyduck
hop ei dun need to apply yhe cream already hee.. so far onli applied once..
hope ur eczema go away soon!!!

LS
You can put pao shen into yr birdnest. I'm taking pao shen with kao li cooked with pork as tonics now. Taking abt 1-2 times a mth. On alternate days, I'll put a couple of pao shen slices into hot water and drink. Had been drinking chicken essence in trimester 1. Will probably start birdnest later on so that baby can absorb more.

Sunsweet
My gynae prescribed Prolacta DHA pills. Also taking iron, calcium & folic daily. Everyday got to swallow 4 pills... yucks.

Lamagier
Do take care. THink you shd see the dr soon. My next appt also on valentine's day.

HBB,

I've got my Natal care plus from my gyne at KKH during my last my visit.

I just like to know if anyone had the triplus version instead?

Question,

will there be any harmful side effects from taking too much DHA pdts?

what is good enough?

Cos i see Natal Care Triplus has triple its contents then Natal Care Plus.

dunno if more is better here?

Sunsweet,

Shouldn't be harmful lei.. Cse DHA is known and well-research for the help it has for the devlopment of baby's brain.. Research shows that DHA improves baby IQ, tat's y milk powder for baby all has DHA.

for chi herbal help.. i wonder if chi physican has any bottled ones that they brew.. I'm too tired to make those herbal soup just myself.. + no one in the family drinks those herbal soup I make..

sunsweet,
my Gynae also give me ProlactaDHA (like fish oil), multivit and canxi, i feel puke...when taking canxi b'coz i have to chew...sometime i forgot to take also or purposely skip when i feek of puke out

Hi sheryl, try not to wk too hard. Muz hav enough rest after taking med too.

hkbb, thanks! I'm feeling better today at wk...at least has more energy to wk. But flu and cough is still ard
haiz...

lamagier, how u feeling now? Muz go see a doc if really unwell.

Seems like many mummies are taking birdnest nw. I'm oso going to try taking it, thou dun really like but bo bian, it's gd for the bb. Hee...will try once i hav fully recovered.

LS,
I never like bird nest with rock sugar and ginseng.. my mum usually does double boil, like soup, coz I prefer savoury favour than sweet. She will add either black chicken or skinless drumstick with the bird nest, and add salt.. like normal chicken soup.. it is nice.. coz you can drink it like normal soup..

I was advised not to take so much bird nest as bb will have phelgms.. I was just wondering if it is only true if we take the rock sugar bird nest. Try to take in moderation. I am looking forward for my bird nest soup..

Han Bao Bao..
I will observe and see if it get worse.. apparent it is better now with baby oil.. so not sure if its really ezcema..

Princess
Your case sound very similar to mine. My nipple were dry and itchy.. and starts to peel.. I tot was ezcema.. but after applying and massage with J&J baby oil each time I shower, the condition does improve, not peeling anymore.. give it a try.. coz baby oil is mild..

Sunsweet,
hahah.. i am looking forward to my mum's prediction in my next visit too.. hopefully bb will not cross his/her legs..

ralphine
Yup i agree to take everything in moderation. I also only take bird's nest once in 2-3wks.

cecelia
I think i knew what is "huai shan" liao. I talked to my colleague just & suddenly remembered the cooking show @Channel 8. If not wrong, Christopher Lee cooked the soup (lotus root) and the auntie in wet market recommended "huai shan" to him & said it's very good for health & tasty too

hi ladies - didnt post for a while cos my internet out was out last week. hope you're all fine. went for my scan yesterday. i'm 14+ weeks already
doc says both babies are doing fine. although i had some glucose in urine, so next month have to do blood glucose test. did any of you have it ? could it be too much sugary stuff i ate the day before? i had hot chocolate and lots of sweet pastries the day before.

Pprincess,

I have the same as you on certain occasion, just apply some moisturizer or oil and it will go away. I been having some dried skin or yellowish stuff at the tip of my nipple..cleaning it using BB oil and been very painful recently.. i hope it's not some duct blockage

Yesterday i poo three times and now i'm feeling constipated even after fruit juice & water..
dunno why it's this way..

LS,

Yap yap, tat's the one.. Happi cooking k.. The soup taste good & sweet when mom cooked for me..

Lamagier,

Hw r u gal? Didn't see yr reply since afternoon. Just worried 4 u..

HBB
if u need obimin hor, i actualli haf lehs. bcos i never thought i will see gynae so fast. hhas. so bought obimin first. end up buy liaos i cannt tahan the strong medicine smell. so didnt touch and then see gynae and my gynae gif me better vitamins

ralphine
i never itch at the nipple. jus around the breast =p but then todae when i bath, accidentally brush my nipple before touchin water and find it why rough rough 1. look carefully then know is skin pealing -.- so digusting leh. hahs. will try ur advise.
aniwae ive alreadi buy the ginger lehs. i bought at $0.60. can tell me is boy/girl with that test? hahas.

MrsC
ive pain in my nipples when i first started pregnant. normally before my menses comes also nipple will be ultra pain & sensitive. so i keep tinkin menses coming. but after tat never come & the pain is there. all the way till week 13! which jus ends. hahs. but if got yellow tingy mayb u wan see ur gynae and ask abt it?

bestberries
dun worriew. jus remb to drink more plain water. plain water is still gd for us aniwae!
u can drink sweet and eat sweet stuff. but remb to drink more plain water to flush it out will do. i also alwaes drink coke. 1 dae can drink mani cans. but when im in office workin, will drink plain water to 'neutralize' it =p

MrsC
One of my nipple tip also very itchy these 2 days & last nite I saw a tiny whitish bump right on the tip. It's quite painful when touched (like having a cut on your skin). Pain plus itchy! HAIZ!!! The other side ok though. Just having rashes/stretchmark like thingy on the breast side. Guess this is quite normal for preggies huh?!

Bought "pao sen" just & put a few pieces on hot water. Quite like the smell! I asked the seller about cordycep & quite shock to hear the price. The better one costs about $200plus almost $300. Didn't expect it's quite costly

ls

its normal... errr.... think you are talking about pimples on the nipple leh....i tend to have one on and off.... after having my boy... but will go away...(think its opening of the milk ducts).... the yellow liquid is also normal.... its the colostrum kicking in.... all this are in preparation for breastfeeding when baby is here.
haiz for me i am now noticing that i have pigmentation spots!(looks like "liao ren ban" so sad.)

Thanks for the concern. I rushed for the company bus after my last post and went home to rest. Head still has the numb numb feeling and feels like my MS is back in full force (*sob sob*). Trying to keep my dinner down. Haven't gone to doc yet cos can't really determine if it's just MS or what.

Suspect it might have been the steamed fish i took at the luncheon... but I puke out my meal when I got home. And I have to an impt meeting tmr morn =(

Re: Confinement: Bath or not
Just saw on TV channel U's "women on top'. Quan Yifeng has a TCM doctor and gynae. Chinese doc said no records in chinese med books cannot bath during confinement. Said maybe in olden times, midwives will break ceramic bowl and use jagged piece to cut umbilical cord, more prone to infection. Places may not have running water, hence water may have virus and bacteria. Hence new mothers not encourage to bath due to possibility of infection.

pprincess
ya i wonder if i shld ask for better vitamins... but my gynae seems not v gancheong bout such thg haa maybi will ask him n se ehow
now i waitin for my gf to send mi the prenatal DHA fr states which she claim is very good for mi .. still waitin for the parcel hehe

LS
i tink the 200plus cordycep is 1 of the cheaper one liao
i tink got more ex one manz...

MrsC, pprincess and elijah's mummy, idun hav the yellowish thingy on my nipples as described, but hav a lot of white stuff which i always hav a hard time to scrub off. Do u all hav?

MrsC, sometimes my digestive system oso super gd but constipated at times too. So my gynae gave me duphalac to consume when i hav difficulty pooing. It was part of the reason why i feel pain at my tummy due to too much wind.

lamagier
ya ia gree mayb is lack of fresh water in olden days and no heater so cannot bath?

btw i tot if we got heater then ok but myaunt insist the heater water is 'raw' water.
she say MUST boil water leave it to cool over nite then use it to mix w the freshly boil hot water n bath
i almost faint when I hear that!

kitty
i find some yellow residue on my nipple
if i lightly 'scratch' it will come off and liek small little roudn thgy.. duno siit the same as wat the rest of the mtbs are having.
its also in light yellow

HBB, so far i dun hav the yellow residue like u all. Dunno why....

Lamagier, is it possible not to attend the meeting tmr? Think u shd rest at hm. Or try to rest as much tonight.

kittyng, if u go dentist, remember to tell ur dentist ahead that u r pregnant, they will be more gentle and patient.

babyethan, please share with us later about ur detail scan. i'm doing mine with another doc cos my gynae dun have the machine, but i heard it's about $500...hmmmmmmmm

elijah'smommy, last time did the doc advise u to rest more or dun use so much energy because of the low placenta??? how about this time round, placenta ok? are u going for natural with epidural???

Oh, so i'm not the only one to have the light yellowish stuff at the nipple..haha.. i read somewhere that colostrum only comes in later in pregnancy cycle thus was curious if there are cases where it appear in early 2nd trim.. Still wondering if i have milk to bf my bb anot..

Lamagier, think u should rest more.. remember that you r having a bb now.. got to think for the little one..

HKBB: doing it on the 20 Feb... how about you> will be doing it in TNC again. not sure if got any discount though with the SBI :p

bird nests: i only eat my bird nest 1 way, tt is with kao li sheng and rock sugar :p i dun like another types of ginseng cuz i grew up with this flavour of bird nests .... come 5th month then i'll prepare once a week - now too lazy. appetite still v bad, so trying to take the vitamins regularly otherwise baby got no good stuff from me =(

Noted coolkero, thanks!

Pretty bunnie, i'm oso doing my detailed scan on 20feb at TMC. I'm doing it with Dr TC Chang. Wat about u?

Mummies, gd morning! I work till 8 plus yesterday. Super tired n shag out. I slept immediately after my bath yesdae nite. This morning my nose is still stuck and I feel lethargic. Just reported MC to my boss, even though gt to be in today for the prdt launch. Guess I need rest, if not will affect my little one too.

Hi Kitty , MrsC,
Sigh, I'm helping my boss to chair and facilitate the meeting with shareholders. Have to go... I slept away most of the afternoon and night. Hopefully tummy won't give me much problem today.

Although my boss has been very understanding and caring, don't want him to think I'm skiving on excuse on pregnancy.

I haven't told colleagues about pregnancy yet. Later they think my boss bias towards me if he let me have too light load or have too much time off

hkbb

yaps will be having another boy. hahah there will now be 3guys in my home.

coolkero

yaps the last round i was actually spotting all the way, almost till delivery day... hahah
yaps dr keeps asking me to rest more... minimize all heavy activity...but then ... i actually even went ahead to shift furnitures on my own coz hubby was never around to help or when he is back it was already 12midnight.

will be going for natural... hopefully w/o epidural....

as for this round... dr never mentioned anything so i assume that all is fine?

mrsc

you are not the only one....me too... but am wondering if this is coz i am still breastfeeding my boy....though... the breastfeeding is only for him to sleep.

elijah'smummy
It's definitely not a pimple hehehe
It's part of the nipple & just right on the tip. I checked w/ my colleague yesterday & she said everyone should have even before pregnancy (which I also never notice). During pregnancy, it'll be more obvious. I'll check w/ my gynae on my next visit why I only feel pain & itchy on one side.

HBB
Wow, really?! Must ask my mom to select for me liao as I heard many types of them but really not aware about the pricing