(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi Kitty,
I don't know if will have harmful effect taking all together but may not be effective. Cos read calcium and iron cannot take together (but then my multivit has both in same capsule), iron + Coffee cannot, iron + milk cannot, milk + anti-biotics cannot.

I also get quite frustrated keeping track of when eat what, especially since I drink coffee and milk too... but thenI console myself that I'm trying to take care of baby.

Hi cecelia,
Yah, I also sometimes run around when i'm in a rush also. Thankfully still not much discomfort. As long as no MS, still can tahan.

hi Elijah's mummy,
Wow, you must have your hands full running after baby and trying to ease into your 2nd trimester. Not easy.....

cecelia

hahah... as long as you are willing.... hahahah... i am happy to pass him over to you.

thanks mummies for all the sweet comments!

babyethan

i will be waiting for your video! heheh so fun to see them walk!

kitty enjoy your lunch.

am going to order in macs again... hahah the craving for the mcchicken burger never seems to end. had it for no.1 now no.2 also crave for it.

pprincess
hahaha.. i cannot tell u how it works.. otherwise won't be accurate already.. maybe you go and buy the ginger and tell me the price. I will tell u the gender then ahhaah.. cannot bargain hor! I bought mine from NTUC.. just pick the one u like

Re: hospital package
I hafen really go and check out yet.. maybe I should try to go and check out the tour first and decide from there.. either 1 or 2 bedder for me.. i want privacy but yet scare to be alone.. esp in hospital :p

elijah's mummy
i got 1 colleague who told me during her no.2 pregnancy, everidae she will eat at least 2 burger king burger! but they say got craving then eat. dun need to care tat much. bcos i tell them i got cravings. but not those tat die die mus eat or else will b veri sad kind. has. then dey sae not gd. mus eat once got craving. why huh?

ralphine
but isit like veri funni to jus go buy 1 ginger alone? LOL. NTUC is go by weight de huh? then mayb can try try then tell u the price =p

princess

this is old wife's tale lah so i don know how true. it says that if got craving means that its baby want to eat it and not you so better to eat and keep baby happy woh.

hahah for me is as long as i got the taste then the craving will be settled no need so drastic eat 2 burger... wah if like that think i will become a pig already! hahah

mashy

will be the same as you coz i cant think of how to fit my boy in so thinking that if 4 bedded at least got others in the same room as me. :p otherwise if get upgraded i will ask if my boy can stay over too.

lamagier

hahah yaps its really a handful! but then its also so sweet when you tell him that you are not well... he will either pull you to bed and say sleep or just simply give you a hug. hahah if for sleep he will even sit quietly watching you sleep and playing with his toys on the side.

elijah's mommy, he's so cute, but this stage u need to bend a lot to run after or scared he fall down, so do take care of ur back ahhhh.

for my #1, i stayed in 1 bedded cos during SARS, betta be safe, only stayed 2 nites. this time round, might choose back 1 bedded cos hubby and daughter wanna stay, can kids stay or not ahh? my daughter used to sleep wif us, so cant put her elsewhere.

pprincess
ahhaa.. the one i bought.. already pre-packed.. then i chose the nicer one that i like.. the price already printed on it.. but during then.. i dunno the price determines the gender... if u have to weigh the ginger.. buy one.. the one u like!

princess

maybe this links can help your questions
http://www.womenshealthcaretopics.com/preg_food_cravings.htm
http://pregnancychildbirth.suite101.com/article.cfm/cravings_during_pregnancy
http://www.pregnancy-calendars.net/foodcravings.aspx

coolkero

hahah yaps. haiz at times can really forget my back... so now to help am wearing back my maternity corset.

err kids in the hospital ah.... not sure leh my dr was saying that if in 1bedder maybe can. but got to check with the nurses... otherwise....

cecilia
ya i better ask my dh properly
i jus scare scarli i c sect then bill rocket high haha

elijah mummy ur boy super cute!!!!

elijah mummy,
Your boy very considerate and obedient =)

pprincess,
I don't always give in to cravings. My cravings usually go away after a while. And also like elijah's mummy, I take a few bites satisfied liao. Then will start to crave something else =p
That time wanted Xiao Long bao but I know MS will puke out everything, so decided not to waste $$$ and go eat economical rice instead.

Must save $$$, balance practicality & cravings

elijah's mummy
thanks for the information
but i dun realli care abt my cravings bcos lazy to go and get it =p like i keep craving for kfc mash potato. but it's 1 mrt station from my place, thou i can go pass the place when i finish work, but lazy. hahs. but can eat 1 big mash potato at 1 go. scary lar.

ralphine
okok. i go and choose liaos then let u know. mayb later since im so free later before my lesson =p

Hi ladies! Haven't logged on since CNY and the thread has changed so much!

I've recently had an eczema flare-up, but have never had any previous skin problems. It's only on my thighs and sometimes, my arms. Anyone also having the same problem? Heard sometimes the preg hormones cause this to happen. Think I'll need to bring this matter up with my gynae when I see him in a couple of days.

Hi mummies, back fr my lunch & laundry... Going to chat a while more before my meds take effect.

Ralphine, i think that's interesting. I wanna try too...

Elijah's mummy, your boy is really adorable! He looks pretty steady in the pic
I forgot whether u already know the gender of yr 2nd one. Is didi or meimei huh?

sunny duck
yes my eczema flare up and on my thigh too!
quite bad one.. and now my thigh look scaly sigh
apply more moisturiser it will help

Hi lamagier, sometimes i oso confused abt wat cannot eat with wat. So in the end, my milk is always consumed separately. Cox i think milk cannot be drank with quite a no. of stuff.

Mummies, is it true that if you opt for natural birth at the beginning and then got difficulty in delivery, got to pay both natural & c-sect costs?

HBB,

Yar lor. cse for pte hospital, once c sect, they will include Dr charges, anathetist charges, theatre charges blar blar blar. Costly..

kitty and princess,
hahah.. i took it as a pinch of salt even though i wish it is real.. hahaha.. just for fun.. all these not scientific research.. but i tot it is quite interesting..

sunnyduck
i suspect i have slight eczema just when i found out i was preggie.. but it ard my areola.. its like itchy and starts to peel.. is that eczema? I started applying baby oil on saturday.. it seems better.. i'm confuse..

kitty,
ya.. u have to pay both if u need to go for emergency c-sect.. my friend opt for natural birth without epidura.. but was induced.. then half way through.. gynae told her to go for c-sect as baby heartbeat is slowing down.. so she paid both..

kitty
i tink is true haf to pae for both. bcos u at first is pae for the delivery suite mar. then after delivery suite, cannt need to do c-section, still need to charge u surgery room cost. so is double cost.

ralphine
yuppies. i also tinkin of plaeing along wif it lor. hees. jus plae plae, no harm tryin mar :D

HBB, my thighs look scaly too! Have been diligently applying moisturiser but it doesn't really help solve the problem, although it does soothe the itch for a while.

Ralphine, am not sure if it is eczema on your areola. None of my rashes peel, they just look like a lot of mosquito bites...

sunny duck
try aloe vera gel (put in fridge to cool it) then apply on the area
i tink urs shld b mild compare to mine cos i gt v bad eczema
my whole leg look mo beng now... haiz cos scratch till bleed
if it get worse iw ill sue the steriod cream which my skin doc gave me
he and my gynae assure me safe to use for preggy but i try not to use if possible

Ralphine, Sunnyduck,HBB

Tat will depends on what is yr eczema due to lei.. Allergic? Bed Bug? Hormone? Dryness? Fungal infection? So, it's still advisable to see Dr, cse they will know what medicine to apply..

HBB, some of my rashes I also scratch till they bleed.
Think sometimes I also scratch unconsciously in my sleep. Did your doc say why we have this eczema problem? Will it clear up before or after delivery?

HBB,

Recently just had lessons for pharmacology. All creams tat Dr prescribed, you must go according to the frequency lei. Not applying too much as and when you like. Sometimes, we tend to apply a big coating thinking that it will be more effective hor. But actually the medicine still will go to yr blood stream one lei.. I was surprised to hear tat also. Onli to apply thin layer each time.. Scary hor..
Esp yours steroid, so was concern for u.

cecelia, HBB, Sunnyduck
I showed my gynae before and he gave me some cream to apply sparingly.. that doesnt really stop the itch.. sometimes i applied some axe oil to stop the itch.. mine doesnt look like mossie bite or rashes kind.. its more peeling.. probably too dry? I have changed my bra to cotton material and it has slightly improved.. I have also applied the baby oil each time I showered.. I am monitoring it..

Kitty,
My mum told me if I can.. dont take epidural.. my girlfriends told me the same thing.. some say.. you can replace the epidural with another kind of injection.. cant remember the name.. but its near the thigh and also the 'laughing gas' will also calm u down during the contraction. I am still considering.. coz I have low pain threshold and also scare of needles.. I will probably decide later.. If you do not have the intention to do C-sect, the normal delivery with or w/o epidural will be your choices..

kitty

hahah my no.2 is didi. hahah

re: creams and steriods
yaps agree with cecelia... must remember hor. coz all medications wvwn topical creams will enter your blood stream through your pores and capillaries

heheh thanks for all the comments for my boy!

Ralphine, is there any side effects for the other type of injection? My sis oso encouraged me not to take epidural but my threshold of pain oso very low. Hee....lucky still got a few more mths to decide.

Ok, i'm gg to rest a bit nw.

kitty,
apparently is better.. just to numb the pain on the thighs.. whereas epidural is a injection to the spinal cord.. and the side effects as I always heard.. back ache/rhumetism in future.. dilemma now also.. anyway.. rest well babe!

kittyng,
no need to decide now. You'll know whether you need the epidural or not when the big day come. I also thought I can tahan the pain with "laughing gas" only, but my pain threshold is sooooo low, I screamed like hell when I was only 3cm dilated. At last, I had to take the epidural.

I paid both natural & c-sect for my #1. My baby's heartbeat dropped after 13hrs with 8cm dilated. So no choice, pushed to OT immediately.
I paid ard 5k total (incld baby, gynae fee..etc), 1 bedded KKH.

Yen
yeah.. thats about the price my girlfriend paid as well.. sigh.. such circumstances cannot be avoided.. just have to pay..

sunnyduck/cecilia
the cream actualy he say apply when i need. cos its steriod will thin the skin if i apply too much but its very effective
nowadays i onli need apply once.. jus a thin layer then it will sooth me until nxt out break
which i cant foresee when.
i asked my gynae n the skin doctor many tims hey assure mi ok so i jus apply when i realy desperate.

those cream that skin center gave me dunw ork at all
like sunny duck, i scratch till bleed even in my sleep
worse still last time cant sleep cos of the itch

my eczem is nto due to allergy nor mites or anythg
i tink is the weather most of the time and skin is dry
cos last time v mild one then i came bk to sg, too hot here then i gt this big outbreak and nvr stop since.

kittyng,
i think whether pay both or not depends on how hospital price their package. for #1, i had induced & end up in e-sect. I only paid for e-sect package. Didn't pay for nautural birth one. I understand for the hospital, when they price their e-sect package, it's already the most ex package. They have already taken into account that mother is in delivery ward and now the use of OT. I'm not sure abt how the hospital price theirs for those who mentioned they pay both.

ralphine,
injection on thigh only last a few hrs. After that, the pain just come back again & stronger. Also you can still feel the contraction pain just much milder only. epidural really takes the pain away totally cos you feel totally numb waist down. also, the injection caused you to be very drowsy. i don't like that feeling. Feel it's a waste of money.

ralphine
i tinkt he axe oil thou sooth the itch but it actualy dry out the skin
so better dun use the axe oil.. i use to use those v v hot medicated oil to apply also but the nurse say v drying so i stop..

i notice ic annot sleep in aircon.. if i sleep ina ircon i itch more.. prob cos the aircon dry up the skin even more despite i do put some glass of water inthe room to reduce the dryness

my skin doc say for mi being preggy it might improve or it might get worse
depends on luck one

yen

wow that is actually quite cheap compared to mine...

mine was total 6.7k for normal vd (inclusive of hubby as companion, baby, pd, gynea) so in cash i paid upfront of 4.9k after taking away medisave amt leh.

elijah,
yr's was private hospital? I paid 2k after medisave deduct.

Babyethan,
If the hospital got emerg-csect package, then definately incld the use of delivery suit and OT room. I think normally hospital only have natural birth or csect package.

elijah,
mine medisave deduct ard 3k...csect can deduct more. I heard also pte hospital deduct lesser, not sure true or not.

yen

not sure about that leh.. but when check on the cpf site its says that all the normal delivery either at pte hospital or at govt hospital is still 1.8k (2days) leh only if you stay 3 days then its 2.25k

HBB,
maybe you should change shower gel? Use those PH7 type of shower gel, and apply ph7 type of moisturiser.. maybe baby one is good..

My itch on my breast usually during my hot shower.. so i will always wash it with cold after that to soothe the itch and apply baby oil. Maybe the axe oil made my areola peel.. coz it dry.. sigh

Speaking of expensive.. I paid my gynae's package fees already.. even though by 2 instalment.. still feel the pain! The next big payment will be the actually hospitalisation..

ralphine tried all liao
no use
not even ph 5.5
use liao immediatey itch

now i use qv wash/ cetaphil
then use qv cream aso

in fact my nephew who had eczema whn he was 2 mth old, his pd advise nt to use bb shower on him aso. aso rec cetaphil for him .

My frend took the "lauging gas" and she gave up in the end to have epidural instead cos the gas is makin her head spin like no tom!

Thanks ralphine, babyethan, yen and elijah's mummy for your sharing! I guess i will only know when the time comes, whether i can do it anot. Hee.... But nw hav a clearer idea. Thanks

Hav u all taken yr dinner?