(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Lamagier and Cecelia,

you gals are not alone!!! My MS is not over too..am in wk 14 liao! funny thing is whenever i drive I sure will puke by the time I reach the destination!! haha..once I was puking while driving too...it was green light and I could not even pull over to stop...grr...just like you gals me hoping MS to end sooonnn...

Mummies have you started on any special milk like Anmum or Frisco yet? My nurse fren gave me some samples to try..choc not bad thou I just puked wat I drank this am!!

Re: Clarins Oil
those who use it, do you find it extra warm at nite? even after a shower applying it, I find it tough to have a gd nite sleep without air con..

blessed09
I do not feel warm at nite, maybe i turn on air con every night.. but i was told preggie ladies tend to feel hotter than usual.

I was given Anmum and Frisco by gynae but I have not touched it yet. I am afraid that I will puke after drinking it, coz I don't like milk.

Yen,

Wat is wrong with gal gal.. I like..
If yr MIL like boy, ask her to have one more herself lor. Ha Ha!!

Lamagier, blessed,
I'm also 14 weeks. I try to console myself by saying got MS means baby still healthy inside lor.. But sometimes reali so miserable tat I really feel like taking another 15 days HL and rest at home.. Ke Ke!! Lazy me.. :p
I must have been too rebellious last time teenager tat god now want to punish me by telling me wat hard time my mom had when she had me.. :p

cecelia,
I like gal gal too...I love my daugther very very much. No matter gal or boy, they all my babies.
But old people, you know la, traditional thinking, boy can pass the "surname" down.

blessed & Ralphine,
I already start taking Anmum milk when I found out I am pregnant 7wk. I love milk a lot. If you still puke, then take later also ok.

ralphine, yen - ya i dont know whether mil and fil are really mean or subconsciously mean. i'm having twins and my mil is betting 1 boy 1 girl, my fil bet 2 boys. i mean, what if both girls ? my fil and mil generally nice ppl but things they say abt my babies really gets on my nerves, esp mil who already got plans on who will look after babies, getting extra maid, furniture to put in babies room. wah lau, i didnt even ask her !!

yen - wow can tell gender at 15 wks ? i'm 13 weeks. i thought must wait until 5.5 months then can tell. quite excited now.

any ladies here experience spotting ? i'm having some spotting.

1. BP for baby cots - Inclusive of latex mattress, 100% pinewood + 7pcs bedding set

2. BP for babymallonline spree 3rd shipment

3. Desitin creamy ready stock (Only 7 pcs left!)

4. Strollers BP

5. Lansinoh milk storage bags 50pcs BP

6. Medela Breast Pumps inc Freestyle and PIS BP

Pls PM me more more info

bestberries

be prepared for war ahead when the bb is born. Seriously, my ILs and us had huge fights esp during the 1st mth after delivery. They wanted to rule over everything and decide everything for us even the 1st mth celebration.

Altho i've a boy now, my MIL still wanted another boy and will refer to the bb as he. Cannot believe it right? Heck, I already told them I prefer a gal.

Hopefully they won't meddle too much this time round.

mashy and bestberries
I can imagine all these conflicts.. I don't stay with my ILs, so shd be quite safe.. be it boy or girl, I wun let them babysit unless those few hours kind. Life will be so tough when grandparents tend to dote them and spoil them rotten, then you will have a hard time discipline the kid. They will interfere or even scold u for scolding their grandchildren.
I am sure they are doing it for our OWN GOOD, and go overboard.. My bb is the first grandchild for both my parent's side and in laws.. I am sure there are going to be some saga to handle once delivery..

Ralphine

FYI, I don't stay with my ILs either. And we can still fight during my confinement. Terrible right? My boy is also the first grandchild and first great grandchild and on top of that a boy.

My ILs decided on the 1st mth celebration on the 2nd day when i was in the hospital without consulting us. He just told us that they booked a restaurant already. On that day, they seat my relatives at a corner, far away from all the action and put all their relatives and friends nearby. Talk abt respect. There's zero respect for me.

Hi Im new here too, I find this thread very interesting and informative. Can i join this thread?

EDD: 28 July 2009
Baby #1
Gleneagles
Dr. Chan Kong Hon

sunsweet

i was lying on my hospital bed, recovering from my c-section the night before and still in pain. U tell me lor. I totally no strength to argue with them then. All i can say is they're totally insensitive, have total disregard for us lor.

The night when i just came out from the operating theatre, they already said they wanna hold at the restaurant. I already told them in my semi-comatose state to wait and will discuss further coz the date happened to fall on the 2nd day of CNY which we always celebrate at my aunt's place. Who knows the next day they came in, they said they booked the restaurant already.

Hopefully this #2 won't invite so much attention from them.

cecelia,

ya u bet!sometimes just feel like throwing resignation letter and go home to rest and sleep all the way...haiz...how i wish life could be as simple as that...;p

mashy,

well i think sometimes we have to learn to close 1 eye..

as for the seating arrangement erm dun you know in advance.. tot you/ ur hubby could sound it out earlier during the planning.

Anyway, i guess if your IL happend to be so "ON" abt your #2 celebrations, then its better u or yuor hubby sound out to them your preference loh.. else will strain the your relationship with them for very long..

My in-law is totally opposite from yours.. they leave everything to us.. got pros and cons about it ... cos we have to headache many things and they tend to make last min changes like no. of headcount / no. of cakes to order etc.. ..

LS,

I love the bb cot! i was checking the cot when i was having my #1. cost $980! wanted to get but kena stopped by hb. haha...

It is simply 2 lovely!

have you planned how to clear your leave this year? keke..

we got to clear our leave roughly by june otherwise will be after our ML..

anyone thinking of extending ML using Annual Leave? keke I'm toying on the idea.. haha

scare boss not happy only..

Hi sunsweet, i'm contemplating to take unpaid leave after my ML for at least 1.5yrs. I dun hav annual leave cox mine is sch hols.

Mashy and bestberries, i understand about ILs wanting to interfere too much. My FIL is mostly like that so we try to keep info fr him sometimes. And of cox not staying together will minimise contact and conflicts.

Ralphine, i've hav called TMC and my gynae suggest me to go down and let her examine. So i'll be going on fri instead. Sorry unable to update you much.

Esther

Yup i love bb cot in white color! Looks neat & clean. I read in ebay that this bb cot can be converted to single bed in future when bb grows. Quite a good investment i think. Dunno whether the changing table will be too high though. Best is to visit the shop one of these days

kittyng,
no worries! i will be seeing gynae next week, so lets see.. coz seems like mummies here also experience the same pulling sensation.

mashy,
celebration on the 2nd day! geez! Sorry, but thats insensitive. You are not in the right mind to think and they are just too kan cheong already! Lets hope history dun repeat..

LS,
The baby cot and furniture are soooo nice and sweet! Ok.. I shall go share this URL with my hubby and hint hint him.. lol

Sunsweet,
I am going to take 3 mths maternity leave, and spread out the last 4 weeks.. as for annual leave.. i can only bring over 10 days from current year to next year.. guess will use it slightly before ML to rest at home or take it from now to ML during those days when I just feel lazy.. hahaha..

Ralphine, think i'm worrying a lot and oso hoping to see my bb soon...jus to make sure he/she is fine
My initial appt is next wk too. But i think seeing my gynae will make me feel at ease.

LS
the cot looks swee leh hehe...
my cot also white one

mashy
i tink it depends ont he finishign whether it willt urn yellow anot..
the one i got fr my gf.. already 3 yr still v white n nice...

Hi, anyone heard that if the hubby is getting thinner mean the baby is boy, or preggy who like sweet thing probably is a boy?

Ralphine,

I can only bring over 5 days..

our 2 extended months of ML is to be cleared before the child turns 1 right?

Probably will use up the AL 1st b4 I utilise ML..

LS,

Oh yes, the white color is super nice and sweet isnt it? I wrote in my 1st preggy blog tat it was my DREAM COT. 2 bad din get it..

Yes yes, can convert, if i rem correctly, the lady told me can sleep up to 7 yrs old! I find the changing table jz nice 4 me.

Sunsweet
Yeah, you can utilise the last 8 weeks (3rd and 4th month) within one year. I would like to go for a short holiday before I go back to work.. and hubby promised already.. but not sure by then.. do I bear to leave baby and go enjoy myself.. hehe

Loshita
Yes, I heard about people saying that if you like sweet things, probably is a boy.. but I reckon these are just old wives tale!

Ralphine,

I brought Baby on a short road trip to malacca when she was 2 + mths old.. keke treat it as a break for myself..

Didn't go far or on our own, cos its troublesome to pump and travel at the same time.. :p

any mummies experienced severe bloating? kept letting out wind frm above and bottom? any remedy for tat?

HBB

I suppose. But it's heng suay coz we aren't experts in terms of finishing. So far those i've seen had turned yellow with age. And they're all expensive brands. I once went to the kids paradise warehouse (they specialise in cots) and can see a lot of the white cots can't last. They were clearing loads of the white turned yellow cots.

I prefer in the original wood. They really can last a long time without looking old.

esther

me too. I think can't be helped bah. Just need to avoid gas producing food like cabbage, onions & beans. U can try ginger tea to get rid of the gas.

just booked my CL today, luckily she's available, recommended by friend who gave birth last year. $1900 but she say she work 28 days, does it mean they have 2 days off??

aiyoh, talking about ILs, i was soooo stressed last few days, i dun stay together with them now, but mil already hinting wanting the baby to stay with them 3-4 nites a week. i dun think i'll let it happen lah, cos i'm not working anyway, but how do u guys reject inlaws in a nice way ahh? i told mil i want to breastfeed, then she say i can express out or she can give formula. i'm sooo stressed...

esther, for winds(and diarrhea) my doc say can eat ultracarbon tablets. but the pill soooo black, i dun think i can eat it...hehehehe.

coolkero

Make it bu liao liao zhi. Avoid talking abt it until she forgets abt it. Then tell her stories of how the bb won't sleep at night and keep crying. hahaa, that'll scare her off.

Have to start telling her that during confinement coz confinement she cannot take bb home. Then she scared won't mention the nts in her hse anymore.

Hi loshita,
Eh. never heard of that before. But the husband having 'sympathatic prgnancy'. Eat my left overs, so he's putting on weight together with me =)

Hi Ralphine,
I apply stretch mark oil & cream every night while watching tv =p Boobs and stomache were starting to itch and my sister said scratching ti will make skin more stretch mark prone, so I 'kuai kuai' apply oil every night after shower...

Hi Sunsweet,
My boss was telling me to go back work after 3 months. Then can use the last ML month be like tai-tai, every week take some leave till end of year =p. Another colleague came back after 3.5 months. Said leave 2 weeks ML in case baby needs to go for vaccination or baby not feeling well. I intend to probably do that....

Then if can't find people to take care of baby, backup plan is to take no pay leave till baby is 6 months old and send baby to infant care... Last resort is to be SAHM... Just that my job pays well, bosses are great and I value my financial independence. But ten priorities may change when baby comes.

Hi Blessed & Cececlia,
Hour MS better today. Found that if I go to bed early, MS not so bad. If go to bed later than 11pm, next day will be spent hugging toilet bowl. Maybe can try getting mroe rest, see if it helps.

Re: Milk
Haha, I bought a tin of Similax milk 4 weeks into pregnancy and got another tin from TMC in the FBI package. Thing is, now just hate the sight of milk. Waste money

Re: Baby Gender
Mashy, similar to you, my husband is only son or the eldest son and first in his clan to get married. Before I got pregnant, my mil commented "it doesn't matter if your sister is having boy or girl, she already has a boy". She hasn't mentioned anything about baby gender to me yet, but I'm already stressed...

Re: Wind
I have very bad tummy cos already have history so stomache ulcer, gastric and many bouts of gastric flu. So since pregnancy, been having a lot of aches and pains in the stomache area, esp when stomache is bloated. I take Pfizer Gelusil tabletsthat helps relieves gastric pains, hyperacidity, heartburn and flatulence.

Hi Coolkero,
Your in-laws weird leh. WHy they want to take baby from you? Maybe just ignore her first or get your husband to hint hint them. EH, If I were a grandmother, I would only want to play with my grandchild and spoil my grandchild =p let the parents do the looking after

mashy, lamagier...cos doc hint hint could be boy, so they want this baby to be close to them. good idea, will try to avoid talking about it and let hubby handle it, cos there is no way i can outspeak mil, she must have the last say. thanks thanks for advice.....

cookero: CL standard 28 days (4 weeks) - it's not 1 full months. It's like our maternity leave, not 4 months but 16 weeks.

lamiger: one of my colleagues didn;t have cravings for her pregnancy, but her hubby did!!! end up everytime the hubby had cravings they would have to dash for the food and so hubby put on weight not the wife :p

cecilia: i had MS up to my 5th month for my #1 =) my gynae was luffing at me cuz i wanted twins so badly (1 shot finish mah) - he told me in my that state, if really twins, I'll be hugging the tiolet bowl every single min of the day! my colleague had MS till the day she deliver! it was so bad she was vomitting out blood ;P in my case, i discover that life after giving birth was more difficult than being pregnant ;P cuz i couldn't cope with the baby and no confidence. to add on to it, my breasts also blocked ducts and every single day in agony, more obsessed with clearing the blocked ducts then spending time with my gal ... i had problems with my mum (my ILs dun even chup) so i was also crying day in and day out, imagine i got CL and I wasn't even staying with my mum then! when u look back, it would seem trivial, so hang in there, enjoy your pregnancy while you can =)

ralphine: no you are not thinkiong too much. it's normal to worry. u no for a few short days when i was in my 13th week, my MS stopped suddenly. I was so worried so I went to see my gynae, he being super popular means i have to wait for 2 to 3 hours ... hubby also not free so i went alone ... so i sit outside the clinic thinking the worse and tears kept rolling down my face ... looking back, it seemed silly but it's very real the worries becuz i know what some of my friends went through ... if u are really worried, can always call up the clinic and ask ... i did it that in #1 ... now er ... i tend to be more bo chup lah =)

HKBB: in case u come in, hope everything is well for you. today i went for the amnio (one mummy in pink was after me, and the cute thing was, I was also in pink!) and it was ok. slight pain compared to the first time, but very bearable ... better than having my blood drawn for test :p

Hi HKBB & Pretty Bunnie,
Hope your amino test will go well.

Eh, MS up to 5 months and more? Oh dear. The husband and my boss will be begging me to stop complaining to them if my MS stretch that long. Both of them were hoping that 3 months would be the magical cut off period and my MS would disappear and I would jump into the comfortable and energetic 2nd trimester

pretty bunnie, if 28 days then when they off ahh, izit up to us or last days? cos i never have cl before. i only spoke briefly to her on the phone cos the baby was crying. wat are the things that we should ask the cl before she comes ahh??

Helo mummies,

Been so busy with work these few days. Just to check if snow pear is liang? Cos been taking it almost every weekday cos juicy and not too sweet as apple.

mashy, ralphine - at least you dont have to satay with your ILs. i live with my IILs and my hubby always outstation. i really dont know how to tell them to shut up cos they just sneak in their comments into the conversation and i got no time to react. then i always kick myself after that for not having something to say back. mashy - why you bhubby never come and defend you ? sometimes i get mad at my hubby for not doing anything,

ls - the baby cots are so cute, and practical too. do u know how much ?

bestberries

have, my hb did defend me. So we both cold war with my ILs for a while. That time really quarrel until quite bad.

Now better already lah. They got the message to back off and we also meet them every week to let them see their grandson. But during the 1st few mths, it was real bad. Too us a bit of effort to mend back the ties.

Any 1st time mummies who could feel the bb movement now? I think I do but not too sure whether it is. It's more obvious during morning time but not in afternoon & night. I find motherhood journey is very interesting, isn't it?