(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

1. 65usd more to close spree for https://www.babymallonline.com

2. Strollers BP still on

3. Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags(50 Bags) BP on

4. Desitin creamy 4oz and california calendular ready stock at bulk purchase price

Pls PM me for info, thanks

Also, BP for US import medela freestyle - half the price of singapore medela freestyle set, already placed an order for a group of mummies, pls PM me soon if interested so can share shipping costs!

Can I join in this thread too cos my EDD been brought forward to 28th July 2009.
Gynae: TMC AL Lim

Lamagier,
Your results really good..my NT showed bb having risk of Downs Syndrome. Have just decided to go for amniocentesis, but really worried abt miscarry it during the process/after that. Wonder any mummies here have gone for that and any recommendation on which Dr. has good skills in performing amniocentesis?

Also any advise if it would be cheaper to do amnio by going to govt policlinic to get a referral letter before going to SGH for Singapore PRs or is it the same irregardless of whether referred from GP and govt policlinic?

Many thanks.

lynn
generally its cheaper to get referral fr polyclinic
however i do not know about PRs

not too sure if it can be done anot also if u have a pte gynae and yet wan to do amnio test in govt hosp.

amnio test are onli done by a selected few doc.
for example in kkh.. 1 of them is Prof John tee who can do it.

I have bought extra 2 bottles of DOM liqour for my wife's confinement. (Mother-in-law already bought them).
All 2 bottles are brand new and I am letting go at $56 each, 750ml bottle.
Supermarkets are selling at $65.
Please contact [email protected] for enquiries!

elijah'smummy, yah i agree wif mashy, maybe cut out one nap cos next time go school easier to adjust and can sleep thru nite better. btw how old is your boy ahh?

for those stepping into the second trimester mommies, any difference between first and second trimester????

Hi Han Bao Bao, many thanks for the info. Just to share mummies from pte gynae can do the amnio test in govt hospital. I'm not sure abt the cost for amnio at TMC (cos haven't gone back for review with my gynae..my next review with my gynae is after CNY but I do know that the cost to do OSCARS at SGH is cheaper than TMC). As for the amnio, was informed that it would cost SGD829.25 and if want the results fast, add SGD449.40, if doing it at SGH and was told that this is the same rate applicable for Singaporeans as well. Not sure about those referred from policlinic.

Been having sleepless night worrying abt the test results and the risk associated with amnio. Read on net abt some mums having poked several times to get the amnio fluid..also read abt the increased risk associated with multiple tries to get the amniotic fluid. That's why am really hoping to find a Dr. that's well experienced and good in it to do the amnio for me.

Han Bao Bao, any idea if Dr John Tee is good in doing amnio? Cos I've history of spotting and read somewhere that those with bleeding has higher risk of miscarry from amnio. But when checked with the counselor, he feels that tat doesn't increase the risk to miscarry. So there seems to be contradictory opinions. Really feeling so vexed.

Lynn
oh i c .. mayb u can try asking the hospital bout the referral fees and non referrral fees.

ya amnio gt risk of miscarriage so I understand ur fear.
so far as a gynae in KKH, Prof tee is quite well known and popular. He is the head of department I tink so I WOULD think he is quite skillful bah. sorry realy cant provide much info on him doign amio cos non of my friends did amio when they were w him
but generally based on my encounter with him, he is a very confident doctor i would say.

i tink Dr SF Loh also do amnio. I heard he have got quite good hands too =)
call up KKH and enquire who r the gynae who are allowed to perform this..

Since like i mentioned onli a few selected doc are chosen to perform amnio, they should be all u to standard.
im not sure about SGH as its a general hospital as compare to a specialist hospital like KKH.
But if I am given a choice I will probably choose a specialist hospital like KKH for such test as they seem to have more 'hands on' experience
then again i tink its up to ur level of comfort.

dun worry too much ok.. talk to the gynae/doctor u chose bout the amnio test n risk 1st n see what they says.

coolkero
2nd tri is def better for me!
lesser puking.. lesser sickly feeling and not so breatheless already.
appetite better but i am sticking to 3 meals a day unlike 1st tri i eat like 6 to 7 times a day =)

HBB
Just finished listening to all 4 CDs. Love the Nighty Night one. It even helps me to sleep better. Thanks! Hope u like the Abbott CD too

hi LS
haa im glad u like them
actualy onli the one for MTB is meant for mummies the rest is meant for babies
i got another 1 meant for sleeping for normal adults which is also good but it dun seem to work on me now that im preggy LOL so i din burn for u

yes yes i like that abbott one u gave me! thanx!!!

Hi Everyone!

just came back from my trip, seems that I've missed out on alot of things.

It seems like there is a lot of things that we need to buy, but pretty lost on where to start.

my oscar result is out but yet to hear from my doc, cause she was busy. worried.... hope to hear from her this afternoon.

Hi Elijah's mummy!
Thanks for the links, I think have to go thru them for more info.

Hi Coolkero!
just step into 2nd trimster. I feel like i'm not pregnant at all. eat as usual, sleep well, not so tired.

mashy, coolkero

hmmm yaps will try that today!
maybe cutting back on one nap for him will be better.

my boy is now 10mths+ will be 1 on 29th feb... but since there is no 29th feb this year will be having a small party for him on the 28th.

hi candy, she did say "could be a boy" but then will only confirm on 20th week when i do the detailed scan. Both my hb & me caught a glimpse of the "little bird" though.. Are u hoping for g/b?

Hi Coolkero,
i had viral flu in my first trimester + MS, so 2nd trimester definitely more welcomed. Just that I thought my MS has passed, but today started to puke all over again. And since entered 12 weeks been getting aches due to expanding uterus.... unlike Sabsab, aches makes me fully aware of pregnancy

Sorry didnt log in 4 long long time.. Still thinkin which is better TMC or Mt E? Any suggestions? Also have any of u ladies started to get stuff?

I see that alot of u ladies goin 4 tis detail scan in week 20.. care to hightlight to me wats tat? I went for a scan n blood test in week 12.. do i still need to do tis again in week 20?

I still dun kn wats the gender of my bb... into my 15 weeks oredi... i didnt get any sickness in my first trimester but started only in the 2nd trimester and doc say starting to be anaemic too... so envy u ladies who is havin it easy now..

yan
detail scan is to scan the organs, hand n legs, make sure everythg is developing fine
dun tink need blood test again

I seem to be still feeling sleepy in my 2nd trimster. No MS though. Apeppite seems to have increased, but sticking to my usual meals. Dont want to gain too much weight unnecessarily. Now in my 16 weeks n gg to my gynae this fri for chk up. Cnt wait coz hoping bb will show us his/her gender.

Btw, are all of us supposed to go for detailed scan on week 20? or cn we go later? cant apply leave to go for my detailed scan during that week, may need to take MC instead.

Me just in my second trimester too and boy am i still feeling very sleepy. And it is so hard to work like this cos i cannot look up at all. I have better appetite now, but only when i take junk food.It is really tedious, especially my son still wakes up at night for just crying or feeding, and him insisting i carry most times when i am home. Sigh..

sheryl

think that the detailed scan in week 20 is guideline can check with your gynea on when you have to do it. but most gynea's will say to do it in week 20.

zolldoll

now i know i am not the only one. have the same prob with my boy too. wonder if its the sibling jealously/ rivalry showing up? me too cant seem to put in proper food.

gals, i am worse than you guys. i can put in both normal n junk food. so trying to prevent myself from eating too much junk food. ;p i agree that its so hard to work. for me, its worse coz i am given added responsbilities at work recently. my boy seems to be throwing tantrums n wanting so much attention from me. This morning, I even have to send him to sch though usually its my mum who does the sending. I took the same train at him and both mum n he will alight first. Bt, today he cling on to me so tight. I had no choice bt to send him to sch. Told him cnt wait for his class to start. He was sensible n gd enough to let me go after I see him to the sch entrance. its seems to be sibling jealously. haiz.

i will chk with my gynae abt the detailed scan this fri.

HI Han Bao Bao and Lamagier, many thanks.

Han Bao Bao, My mum also suggested me to go to KKH, she said more specialised. Have decided to go for another NT retest before deciding whether to go ahead with Amnio or not. Thanks a lot for the recommendations. U've been really helpful

lynn u r welcome
yea go for another NT test at KKh and see hw it goes. for all u know its a different result but go asap ok cos i tink NT test cannot b any later than certain wekk

glad that those going thru second trimester ladies are generally feeling better, (lamagier, hope u feel better soon too). i am looking forward to my second trimester. i'm in my 13th week, today went for first trimester test by another gynae and the scan showed ok, 1:1000++ (as compared to my age range of 1:300++) so gotta wait for blood test result tomorrow before seeing my gynae.

btw, i just bought new bras today, feel that i cannot breathe in my old ones, just curious if u guys also need to buy new bras? and if u do, do u buy sports bra, normal bigger bra, or those pregnancy bra for breastfeeding???

Hi ladies, joining this forum for the first time even though I've been reading it for a couple of weeks now.

Expecting my 1st little one on 19 July 09, most likely TMC, under Dr WK Tan.

In my 15th week now, been less affected than MS, but still bracing it in the morning and in evening around 5pm. The main meals of the day are like alarms to eat. Patiently waiting any MS to be over soon.

Suffering from back aches now, which hurts whenever I move from a sitting position. Getting stitches in my sides from a full tummy too.

Hi Coolkero,

I bought 2 larger size sports bra (cos still going to gym and I'm more used to sports bra cos funkier and no need worry about accidental exposure if neck line too loose). Will go buy nursing bra later on in 2nd trimester or in third trimester when I can more or less confirm boob size doesn't grow more. Now a bit squeeze for A-cup, can't fill a B-cup, so best not to buy at the moment =p

Hi 2nd time mummies,
Oh dear. Seems like sibling jealousy is common. Already have to worry about baby in tummy and have to worry about son/daughter jealous over new baby.... Must be hard juggling so many things....

Lynn: I did amnio for my #1 and am going for amnio for my #2 on wed. My gynae is Fong Yang and we did it at TMC. Like you, I read up quite a fair bit and some mummies have very scary stories to tell. For me, I am very happy to say that my experience was a painless one, and it was a lot less scary than I thought.

as for the risk of miscarriage, that time just so happen babycenter came out with this article. apparently the risk of miscarriage with amnio is the same as miscarriage without amnio. so having a amnio or not, the risk of miscarriage is the same. my gynae this time a lot more cautious (cuz he see me, "amnio? ok lor!") so he did talk to me a few times and said i have the choice to opt out. the risk is 1%. Well, why I did my first amnio cuz the DS marker came back as 1 in 92. so erm ... we did it lor ... then now, i still haven;'t done my blood test! but i missed the deadline for oscar so now end up with amnio also lor

I understand your apprehension, but I cannot not tell u not to worry, becuz each of us are different and we all carry different "risk". I am worried about 'wat ifs" but I think I'll just have faith in God and my gynae to hope for the best lah.

In case you missed my earlier post, i did say that if you would keep the baby no matter wat, then no point doing amnio. when we had #1, we weren;t certain at all, in fact, we were leaning towards we can;t do it! for #2, it's more of we want to be totally prepared, esp pre-empting the parents.

HKBB: remember to rest well!!!!

Elijah, sheryl and all other mummies,

I think i do not really like rice, and am very put off by fish. I do not even take much meats. Last time when i have my boy, i like hot and sour stuff. And now i think i like sweet stuff and junk food. I can eat the whole of a macdonel meal, but will not be able to finish my usual dinner. I feel very sleepy everyday, and i feel i got no strength at all now to carry my son for long.

hello,

My Gal's HFMD not the too serious.. but still have to stay home till thursday then to the doc to clear her for the new year.

its been a scare.. but she was so cute this monring as she woke up early.. She told me that she cannot go school bec she's sick.. ghees sometimes i feel she is too mature for a 2 YO.. Well she's turning 2 in Feb..

Well as for clingy part due to we preggy.. I still play with her the less rough games.. but we still like to roll on my bed and tickle each other and laugh till our tears roll..

Re: gender
I asked my gal several time "Who's inside mummy tummy? Didi or meimei?" she will either say "don't want" or "mei mei".. me a bit dissappointed leh I hope for a boy.. but in another hand i dun mind a gal cos gals are so close to heart...

can't wait for the next check up at 16 weeks for to see if Bb's wants to tell us his/her gender.. otherwise got to wait till March for the detail scan..

hi ladies - speaking of underwear, anyone knows any good and cheap place to find nice comfy granny panties ? my butt is growing too fast !! the store bought XL sizes are too tight.

I'm using Hush Puppies undies.. can fit up to waist size 40".. which allows me to grow in them..

not easy to find but can try John Little.

u can try Kiddy Palace too cos i think i do see they sell undies.. anyway that's the place to buy maternity disposable undies if u intend to wear them after your delivery.

HI Sunsweet,
Glad to know your daughter's HFMD not too serious.

Hi CoolKero,
Sigh, my MS getting worse. Spent half the morning next to toilet bowl. Don't know if it is food poisoning or gastric flu or not.... Can't differentiate.... Maybe go GP check later... Hard to work when puking all the time... I want to go home....

Lamagier,

Rest well.. Me too still puking and nauseas. Went GP last week, GP just smile and "say you know its good to have MS rite? Ok, I give you 1 day MC today to rest.." End up no medicine, no nothing. Paid $15 for MC. Ha HA!!

Sunsweet,

You mean the undies you bought is for maternity one isit? Me cannot take the truth of wearing huge undies next time lei. Scared my hubby see will laugh at me, cse he sometimes hang clothes for me..

Anyone knows if there's any one-stop store that provides newborn essentials (with a checklist)? Just afraid I'll miss out anything.

Hi HBB & Cecilia,
Yah, in my 13 week. Weird thing is the MS went away for about 2 weeks then now suddenly back again.

Gynae expensive =( Each visit cost me about $150> And my company quite particular about MC, say national average is 3 days. I already 3.5 days MC liao since Nov =(

hi all MTBs, im frm the Sep's thread...can i check wif u all btw week 12 till week 20, hw many visits do we need to see our gynae?

cos my gynae onli offer package frm week 20 onwards and im wondering if i propose to sign up wif her at week 12 is more worthwhile...

LS

there's a lot of places which provide the list. Can get at isetan, bb hyperstore at kaki bukit etc.

cecelia
I bought my maternity underwear at Mothercare. It's not those granny underwears, just ordinary looking ones. Doesn't look that huge to me.

lamiger, pls take gd care of yrself n visit yr gynae/ doc if u r unwell. if u cnt take it, dont force yrself to work too hard.

hi all, anyone of u bought maternity pants already? my pants is so tight. I am now at work, but unbutton my pants. hee! lucky i gt long top to cover it.

lamagier, ahhhh u mean our boops will still grow thru second and third trimester. today wearing my new bra (bigger size), but still feel breathless, maybe i should learn from u and wear bigger sports bra (i think no wire more comfy). hope u feel better before chinese new year so can enjoy good food. starting this week, i've been getting headaches by nite time, very tempted to take panadol, doc say safe, but i'm trying to minimise drugs unless i cannot tahan.

i'm envying u guys that giving birth at tmc, so many frens and can meet each other for those giving birth around the same time, hehehehe.

Cecelia,

the hush puppise undies are the regular but large size panties. I did not buy any materinty ones for my #1 either.

Sheryl,
I've been wearing maternity pants since 10 weeks. cos my usual pants can't fit anymore..

sherly i been wearing maternity pants for quite a whie liao cos more comfy hehe

anyway i pm u leh but u nvr reply... waitin for ur mailing address