(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

blessed,

No worry too much k.. Do You have any family hx of thalassemia? And thalassemia dun occur only when you are pregnant right, you would have known you have thalassemia long ago if you really have it. Maybe it's just a mild anaemia. Any progress, Keep us update k..

Pretty Bunnie: what is SBI program ? something like membership isn't it ?
Re: the amnio test, do i need to fast before the test

oh yah, our EDD quite closed huh, if we all move closer to each other i.e the same EDD, Dr. Fong will go mad...heheh

all mummies, mtbs, re: mood swing...ah, recently i become short-tempered too, but onli hubby tahan, sometime, i feel guilty as well after all...so before sleep i just give him a hug

mashy, thanks for updating all the July mothers contacts always!

Here the missing data:
my Hospital will be Mount A.
BB Gender is Boy (although i really wish for a girl...).

========
Hi Sunnyduck, my gynae say can do slow jogging (according to our stamina) currently in 2nd trimester.

Elijah's mummy
Congrats!!! Your #1 has a brother to play with, I am sure he is happy too!

Re: short temper
I have that sometimes and I get upset easily, guess its mood swing!

Re: exercise
Anyone going to try yoga? Will it help?

Helo,

My book did recommend certain stretching exercise with pics. Will try that out but w my hb around incase i overdo it that might strain the ligaments. I ever saw an ang moh lady jogging ard city hall area and she seems 4-5mths preggy as her tummy was pretty small (for her size).

I guess light or brisk jogging is fine but do not overexert yourself. My aussie colleague fainted in her 7th mth while exercising in the morning (she is a health consicous lady) and hit her head on the pavement. Luckily someone called for ambulance as the area was pretty secluded (aussie) and with no identification on her, the police has to made notice over the radio in search of next of kin. Was in coma for a while and fortunately no major head injuries and bb was fine. (Think i mention this before) So if anyone is exercising, do have a partner along.

My colleague guess that i might be having a BB ger as i look radiant. But my friend who had a bb ger just was tired thruout her whole pregnancy..

Hi Candy n all...
wa you girls are really very fast..actually i call the agent May in the morning but still deciding to taking Yu Hua...then now May call me n say Yu Hua is decided...sob sob... i kinda of like her cos she knows baby massage.
anyway, congrats to the mother who took her.

I am taking Ailin then.

May say she receive 8 calls from july mums today..

HBB
Is that place meant for preggos like us? I would like to do some yoga and stretching.. just worried if those places are safe for us.

SunnyDuck & Annie,
I'm torn as to jog or not. My gynae to tone it down but a lot of websites wrote if been exerciseing regularly, can continue on during pregnancy.....

I'm former school runner and I still did 7km on last Sunday. I exercise sensibly, make sure I don't overheat and stop to walk if I'm breathing too hard. Hard for me to stop when I don't feel anything wrong and I feel so much better when I do exercise and sweat it out.

Baby, tell mummy if you ok if I exercise......

lamagier
WOW! 7km at this stage.. I do enjoy walking..and my hubby is not keen for me to do anything too vigorous... thats why I am keen to do some stretching exercise like yoga..

LS,
U are keen to do cord blood banking too? My hubby wants to do it.. and since I am giving birth at Gleneagles, we will have to sign up with Stemcord. I feel that this cord blood banking is like an insurance.. we can share more information about it.

Ralphine,
I already went for a dragonboat competition and beach volleyball in first month =p Cos didn't want to declare pregnancy and no substitute

Most likely next time is walk 7km instead of run 7km liao =p Decided since this is my first pregnancy and don't know how body will react, be good girl and follow gynae advise.

Since can't run, going to force husband to go swim with me

lamagier

wah, u very gung ho leh. I think what u did was even riskier than all the pantang things the rest of the gals are avoiding. Go slow...

Walking for 7km is also quite jia lut leh. Be careful of overheating. When preg, we must not get overheated, that's why no sauna, no hot showers. Even walking 7km may cause u to overheat.

Hi MTB,

So fast some of you know the gender of your baby.
I'm in my 12 weeks when I last visit my gynea, she say too early to check.
I had nuchal scan instead and found to be low risk. Blood test will be done in my 16 weeks.

Hi Raphine,

I'm interested in the cord blood banking too. Have you check on it at Stemcord?

I am visiting my gynae next week, but by then only 13 weeks so too early to check. But praying hard for a girl this time round. I cant wait to know the gender. Though this time i have total different symptoms, i think it might not mean i will have a different gender.

Thanks lamagier, jaz and cecilia, i will check with my gd friend again jus in case. I oso afraid i'll be too tired to go around...

Re: Exercise
I'm not doing much stretching...but i walk a lot. I like to walk after eating esp. Walking a lot should be fine right?

Mashy,
I'm trying to take it slow. Tonight go home tell husband to hide my track shoes in PIL's place liao.

Then maybe swimming is safest liao. Got pool water to cool body temp down is boday starts to heat up...

Ralphine,
Could you please share info about cordblood banking with me? Paisay, I'm lazy, haven't gotten around to checking out details about it.

Re: exercise
I walked the other day office to bugis junction.. tats like 15 mins and then walk back, next day.. my legs hurt. *lol*

Lamagier,
take it easy! My aunt told me during her 8th week, she ran 10km competition.. geez! if i do it, I will probably get terrible looks and nagging from my in laws! :p

Tulips02,
Only took brochure, haven't gone through it yet. Are u going to give birth at gleneagles too?

Mummies.

My Gal was just diagnose with HFMD..

Should I go for a check on for myself?

not sure if i needed to stay away from her for 1 week.

Sunsweet

Hope the below helps

http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dvrd/revb/Enterovirus/hfmd-qa.htm#8

What are the risks to pregnant women exposed to children with hand, foot, and mouth disease?
Because enteroviruses, including those that cause HFMD, are very common, pregnant women are frequently exposed to them, especially during summer and fall months. For all adults, including pregnant women, the risk of infection is higher among those who do not have antibodies from earlier exposures to these viruses and for those who are exposed to young children—the primary spreaders of enteroviruses.

Most enterovirus infections during pregnancy cause mild or no illness in the mother. Although the available information is limited, currently there is no clear evidence that maternal enterovirus infection causes adverse outcomes of pregnancy, such as abortion, stillbirth, or congenital defects. However, mothers infected shortly before delivery may pass the virus to the newborn. Babies born to mothers who have symptoms of enteroviral illness around the time of delivery are more likely to be infected. Most newborns infected with an enterovirus have mild illness, but, in rare cases, they may develop an overwhelming infection of many organs, including liver and heart, and die from the infection. The risk of this severe illness in newborns is higher during the first two weeks of life.

Strict adherence to generally recommended good hygiene practices by pregnant women (see the section “Can HFMD be prevented?” below) may help to decrease the risk of infection during pregnancy and around the time of delivery.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_hand-foot-and-mouth-disease_1614.bc

What if I'm pregnant when my child comes down with the illness? Is the baby I'm carrying at risk?
If you're exposed to HFMD when you're pregnant, the chance that your fetus will be affected is very small, but you should mention it to your ob-gyn. Wash your hands frequently after changing diapers or tending to your sick child's needs. You might also want to consider wearing gloves to keep your risk to a minimum

Yen,

So was it necessary for you to go to do any check at your gyn?

I'm a little worried cos I am just recovering from a sore throat..

sunsweet,
I didnt go for any checkup because I din have any symptoms of HFMD. If you're worry, then you better seek yr gynae advices.

Sunsweet,

Sayang sayang you gal. Normally only when you have signs and symptoms then perhaps you gotta worried. Like ulcer in mouth. I think yours is normal sore throat isit? Plus once we have pass 1st trimester, it's actually quite safe in a sense le. But nonetheless, if you just wanna play safe, you can consult Dr. But normally, they cannot do anything also, just ask you to wait till baby bigger..

Sunsweet,

Oh yar, just make sure that you disinfect yourself regularly, like wash your hands with soap, dun share drinks or food with your #1. Drinks lots of fluid to "cool" your body, cse once you r "heaty", very prone to get any infection.

sunsweet

ok thats good to hear. coz my galfriend did not know that she and her hubby caught HFMD and only thought that they had the common flu till they decided to see a gp who after seeing them diagnosed them as having HFMD. caught from their boy. actually till now still cant figure out how their boy caught HFMD, as the boy is still staying at home with my friend who is also a SAHM

Cecelia,

Yup had been taking in lots of water since have to nurse the sore throat..

after yesterday's dozes of Lozenges, it got much better just the recovering part gives your tickeling feeling at the throat that makes u feel like coughing..

i'm going to get extra bottles of dettol handwash and dettol to disinfect her toys and the house..

now busy with CNY still got to be busy with her.

Hope by CNY she'll be ok then lil kids can come visiting.

I also dun know how my gal got the germs..

cos whole of last week she's at home nursing her cold..

only time she goes out was when ah ma brings her out to get lunch or buy bread from the bakery..

she was out from school for the week loh.

anyway had informed her school that she'll not be attending her playgroup next week. school was kinda shock too cos no one report HFMD at their place loh.

Understand all the ladies here edd in July.. Possible to join in the group? Im a first time mother so know nuts abt pregnancy.. hahahaha... Any advice on which hospital is better?

Pretty Bunnie,all mummies and mtbs,

I just called up TMC, FBI or SBI do not have any discount on amnio test which you can claim through Medisave (about $400) i've heard.
For now, they are having a promotion for NTUC card members, only $118 for 2yrs membership for SBI if either one in the couple has NTUC membership card. (save $30)

Must join before 28weeks pregnancy, otherwise, the fee will be $188 (not sure NTUC discount applies for this ???)

Think i will join after the amnio test
there next week. They said there's a goodie bag for new member too

hkbb

I signed up FBI before but not sure if i wanna join SBI again or not. Coz last time still go prenatal class so a lot more discounts, but now like not so worth it since only detailed scan & room discount of $60 only. Hmmm.... Probably won't be getting it.

hehe realise there's a Yen and a Yan in your forum here

welcome Yan

As mashy said, Probably if you have a preferred doc then just go to whichever hosp. he/she is with.

Otherwise what are your citeria of choosing a hosp?

I'm using KKH cos my citeria when choosing hosp is that the place should have all required equipment in case of emergency.

ralphine
Yeah pretty interested in cord blood banking. Do u have any idea how much it roughly costs?

hkbb
Yup! The goodie bag is great. You could choose backpack type or sling bag. Inside has a tin of Similac Mum, Abbott Maternal Heartbeat CD, a pair of bb gloves, etc etc..

Cecelia, I will have my graduation ceremony in June/July as well! Think I will look very funny in the gown and my big belly, heh heh...

Lamagier - wow, 7km! I don't have such stamina but I do like to do some light jogging and brisk walking. Have been swimming regularly too, it's great for backaches. Maybe I'll check out HBB's recommendation for prenatal yoga. Definitely want to stay active, to relieve stress and to stay strong for labour. :p

Welcome to our grp Yan,

Re: Hospital
I'll b choosing back KKH (when I delivered my #1) and I share the same sentiments as SUNSWEET... "should hv all required eqpt. in case of emergency". But my gynae only delivers in TMC.... guess I'll switch at the 3rd trimester to another gynae in KKH then...

Re: HFMD

Sunsweet, may the visitors got it and visit yr home? tat's y yr gal got it? But u've got to be extra careful....

Re: CL
Haa... Annie, u may call me Candy for short...
I've called May to book Fenjie for me already... b'cos my hubby leaves the decision on confinement to me... & he'll takes care of the rest... so I stick back to the agency

Re: Short Temper
My tummy was already showing and felt kinda of sensitive recently when my colleagues was giggling or whispering behind my back. Esp. my boss! Today keeps mentioning abt cutting costs, cutting manpower etc... frustrating!

Sunnyduck,

Ha Ha! So I'm not the only poor soul.. :p Imagine us with red nose, swollen face & leg. So clumsy..Like tat can have priviledge to go up stage faster or not.

LS,
replied u liaoz... hopefully my explanation clear enulf for u.. cheers

for TMC pre-natal course, i did enrol for my #1... ok lahz... u will need it if u 1st time mummy... but, gotto book early as is usu fully booked.

Hi Sunsweet,
Hope you be clear of HFMD

Hi Sunnyduck,
Humm, you prob look very outstanding in your graduation gown =)

HI Yan,
Like the other MTB, I also just chose the nearest hospital. Shortlisted who are the female gynaes (eh, not as comforable with male gynae), then reseach online to see if anyone has any comments on the gynaes I have shortlisted. Then choose from there.

hi ladies, do u guys have enough beauty sleep lately? can u guys sleep well? after 6th week onwards i always wake up in the middle of the nite to pee a few times and get back to sleep, then about 10th week, dun pee that often, but once wake up in the middle of nite, cant really sleep, kinda aware of surrounding until the next morning.