(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Re: Maternity wear

Maternity wear these days is so pricy. I bought a jeans skirt at Modern Maternity at $79. I digged out my old Maternity wear.... but look funny in a few of them since tummy is not so big or obvious now. But again, my pants these days are so tight... usually unbuckle in office n hide beneath my clothes. If not, its really uncomfy.

sunsweet,

for me it's not wind but a lot fats. I looked like pregnant b4 pregnant.

but I do noticed that for #2 tummy grow faster and bigger than #1 last time, my bb is only 3.2cm at my last check up 1 week ago, but my tummy already so big and round, the bellybutton almost flat liao.

sheryl (lailai),

I think it's nessesary to by 2 nice and comfort maternity pants to alternate at weekday. for top no need special buy from maternity shop, they are exp and not so pretty, nowadays so many brand has those loose type of tops on sales, I bought one from fox after discount only $13 and it looks nice.

I am also finding my pants tighter these days, but tummy is still a bit small to fit maternity pants properly, and I don't want to buy them now and then if my hips expand (argh!) it may not fit as nicely. But if I buy larger (normal) clothes, then the cutting is not so suitable for my expanding belly too. Sigh!

Has anyone heard of or tried the Bella Band? It's a stretchable band that fits over your normal pants or skirts, supposed to grow with you throughout entire pregnancy. Was thinking about it but not so sure how practical it may be, especially if my hips grow and then I can't fit my normal clothes. See: http://www.ingridandisabel.com/bellaband.html

Hi everyone, recommended by friends to join this forum, hope to find good advice and friends here.
mashy, please add me too, thanks

Nick: coolkero
Birth Order: #2
Gynae: Dr KL Tan
Hospital: Mt E
EDD: 28 July 09

Thanks Angelsky.

I just got back to work after 3 weeks of mc from my Gynea. Had MS the whole day n was so tired. Anyone have bad MS?? Any remedy?

Hi tulip,
All my remedies fail. Only thing that relieved my MS a bit was drinking ice cold 100+ and apply medicated balm. If I'm at home and feeling horrible, I just try to go to sleep... Try to sleep through the horrible part of MS

Hi xman,
Yup, agree. Most maternity top don't really look nice. And nowadays very easy to get loose tops from normal shops. I intend to just buy tops from normal shops, cheaper and more choices to choose from.

Hi sunnyduck,
I bought bellybelt from mothercare. Seems less cumbersome than the Bella band (cos no need to go round whole tummy) I guess it all depends on your current pants. I most of my jeans all loose fit, got space for me to expand except for tummy, so worthwhile for me to use Bellybelt. If your current pants/jeans already fit just nice, then maybe belt/band will not be practical.

Anyway, the husband offerd me loan of his jeans if I outgrow mine =p, so belly belt definitely useful for me

Hi Mashy,

Pls add me into your list as well.

Nick: anabellegirl
Birth Order: #1
Gynae: Dr Sim Lee Ngor
Hospital: TMC
EDD: 7 July 09

Lamagier,
does the bellybelt pop out in the front due to the extra bulk?
i have someting similar tat i won thru lucky draw.
everytime i used it...i ended up looking even more pregnant

anyway, my hips are expanding too

cant escape not wearing M wear.

like my #1, i have a huge tummy but bb was only 3.1kg.
was digging out my old M wear and realised tat i started with S size n then upgraded to XL!!
scary.....

Tulip,
hope tat your MS will ease off soon.
ya, the best is slp n slp (if possible).

Welcome to coolkero n koko51sg

oooopss....i missed out anabellegirl.

Anabelle sound very sweet....hee, now looking for bb names

Hi lamagier,

Which mothercare branch did u get the bellybelt? Cos the one at Centerpoint told me no more stock. So now looking around for alternative.

Welcome to the new gals!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB Gender</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>anabellegirl</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pretty Bunnie</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>poshicon</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Watt Wing Fong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yen2007</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC/Mt.A </TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>helpme</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tay</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Beverly</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed09</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunbun</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinklilies</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>koko51sg</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kong Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>cecelia</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>SabSab</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dawnnie</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kai</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulips02</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>lamagier</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelsky</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>DR LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousthots</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>yammummy</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>coolkero</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr KL Tan</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunnyduck</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>xman</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>December</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH/TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mypreciouskeagan</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

FYI, mothercare has 20% off all maternity lingerie for SAFRA card holders. So if u have, remember to use it. Just bought some maternity underwear for myself coz i was bursting in the seams. hehehe.

Hi yen,

Something wrong with my pc yesterday. I opened the thread and it's blank!
Yes I stay in Sembawang.

Hi Sheryl,
Will go and check out the fish oil when free and update you.

Hi Lamagier,
Thanks for telling me about the bellybelt. I went to look at it online - one side hooks onto your pants button/clasp, but the other side? Does it come with another clasp or do I need to sew a button on my pants for it to hold onto? The website I went to wasn't very clear.

Wish I could share my hubby's jeans, but he's 20cm taller than me, so no way!

Have anyone been to the baby warehouse along Balestier Road (the end nearer to Thomson Road)? They have a very big advertisement on the building that looks like a factory...

May I know where can I get cheap maternity wear?

dawnnie

I've been there. It's called baby avenue. They've loads of strollers/ car seats etc. Heard it's a sister store from the bb hyperstore at kaki bukit.

I just went for FTS scan today @ KKH and kind of confused at the result.

The scan was done by a sonographer. When I see the doctor, the first thing he told me is the result for one of my babies is not very good, reason being the nasal bone is "not well seen" (not sure if he means can see but not very clear or cannot see at all???).

Then, I asked him what is the ratio and he said the ratio for both babies are the same, 1:2348 (which is supposed to be low risk right? then why he said no good???)

I am confused and worry!!! Pray hard that my blood test result will be good.....Can't wait to see my gynae also as he did mention to me that he can see the nasal bone for both my babies during my last visit.

Hi Beverly,

Let's wait for the blood result, dun worry too much, u need to be positive for ur bbs! My gynae didnt manage to scan the nasal bone too due to poor position but he didnt say anything is abnormal. The nurse was telling me that the NT measurement is more important..
Ultrasound screening do not diagnose DS but aims to identify risk which may require amnio test..so it's not fully accurate..But my gynae did a scan of the brain to check for Choroid plexus cyst which is link to chromosome disorder or DS which the result is perfectly fine..
Sometime i wish the doc/assistant doing the scan can be more considerate in their message to MTB..

I'm also waiting for my blood result and staying positive so cheer up.

Btw, there 's a saying that the food that you eat currently will determine the gender of the bb.. for those 2nd time mummies, how true is this saying? I'm more into spicy and not too sweet stuff (except fruits) so does that mean a boy? My mum when she was pregnant w me ate alot of sweet stuff..

me soooo sad n worried now... went for oscar scan yesterday... bb is ok... now, 13 wks le... but, the radiographer found a cyst @ my right side... not sure is the uterus area or the ovary area. too shocked to ask her for details... but, is 3.5 cm big... worried that it would affect the bb....

mrs C,
not so sure about the liking of food though... for both my #1 n current unknown gender of #2... i dont have much cravings... the onli symptoms i got is for #2... m sleeping like a pig...

Hi MrsC,

Thanks for all the encouraging words. I tried to stay positive but quite hard leh. Agree that it does matter on how the doctor convey the message to MTB. Imagine if the first thing doctor said is "your result is not good"...then your heart will start to sink liao....aih~~

I have never heard of Choroid plexus cyst. What is that? Did your gynae use the normal machine to scan for that? If yes, will ask my gynae to scan for me in my next visit.

Huh.....really cannot think too much now as it doesn't help at all.

Let's wish that we will get very good blood test result so we don't have to worry and can enjoy our CNY.

Hi Jasmine,

Don't worry too much. Most of the cyst won't affect pregnancy. Discuss with your gynae to see if there is anything you can do. As mentioned by MrsC, we have to try to stay positive for our babies.

Hi Jasmine &amp; Beverly,
Hope you babies will be fine.

HI Jasmine,
I was so envious of your twins. Once they are born, have someone else to else with. But after all the MS, I'm glad I'm only carrying one! So tired every day and with the sore back, I'm just dragging my legs around like old lady all the time...

You must be amazing to tahan through all the MS! Heard if got MS, mothers with twins get it twice as bad.

BP still on for http://www.babymallonline.com/
Please PM me for details..

Will close at 180usd, currently at 100usd already, any last orders?

Also, desitin creamy for diaper rash, california calendular cream and first teeth A Natural enzyme toothpaste ready stock just arrived from the states, PM me for info.

Have also the Classic Pooh Anti Dust Mite 7 in 1 Bedding Set With Bag for baby cot if interested.

Hi, i am new here. Having my second baby and edd is 27-July-09. My first one is a boy,and i am crossing my fingers that this time will be a girl. Will be delivering in TMC by my gynae Dr Wong Mun Tat. I had reduced long labour for my first, and i hope i will have a speedy delivery this time round. Let us all count down together..

Hi lamagier,

I am the one carrying twins lah :p
Ya, MS is x2 for twins pregnancy but luckily my MS so that serious. so far no vomiting at all but I really need to sleep alot or else my whole body no strength.

Recently my hairs drop like crazy. I had my hair perm 1 mth before pregnancy and my hair start to drop since then. I heard that pregnant women will not drop hairs until they deliver. For my case, I worry my hair will all gone by the time I deliver. Anyone has the same problem?

Morning ladies...

Hi Jasmine &amp; Beverly, stay strong &amp; positive.

Welcome Zolldoll!!! I had emerg c-sect for my first due to baby detress and I really hope that I can have a succesful natural birth this time. Pray hard everything smooth smooth...

Beverly,

i did my scan at KKH too and i think i have similar ratio as you.

However my scan was done by the doc himself so he told me that with the visual of the nasal bone + my age group bb should be fine.

maybe bec yours cant see a clear view of the nasal bone (due to your baby's position? My initial scan Baby was lying in an uncondusive position of the scan so was told to drink some water and have a walk to shift baby's position.. got a better position after the walk..)

so maybe that's why he give some doubts to the scan pics.. but your ratio is good lah.. dun worry too much.

Blood test will be 10% more accurate..so lets wait for the blood test results lah..

MrsC
I bought my Bellybelt @United Square (Mom's R Us) for S$32.90. You may try there if Mothercare has no more stock.

We're pretty much alike, I only have appetite for those spicy foods &amp; dun like too sweet things, even chocolate which I normally like! Heard ppl said it's a boy too.. dunno how true.. I'm looking forward to a babygal though

Sunsweet,

Actually after the scan, the sonographer asked me to wait for a while as she went to check if the doctor wants to do another round of scan for me. I didn't know why at that time but now I guess it's becoz she can't see clearly on the nasal bone. However, the doctor said no need to do another scan that day. I think their tactic is don't waste so much time on one patient and they rather to keep the patient worry.
The most frustrating part is initially I managed to book a very experience doctor to do the FTS for me but he was busy yesterday and he assigned another doctor for me. and you know what, the other doctor also kind of busy then she called another doctor to do the consultation. Very disappointed with their service.

beverly im surprise KKH is so shabby.... i tot since gt appt they shld keep to it even if it means to make u wait longer? or is it the sonar who is not experience?
fr wat i experience from them... unless they r sure its ok then they wun do the scan again other wise they will scan till confirm be it good or bad
perhaps they already determine is a nasal bone liao in their context.. dun worry too much ok
babies will be fine

Hi Beverly,
Oops, sorry. My pregnacy brain kicking in already, got the names mixed up.

I read somewhere that not all preggy ladies show same symptoms. Most drop hair after giving birth, some drop air during pregnancy.

Anyone feeling cold/hot all the time? Suppose higher metabolism during pregnancy, will be less tolerant to heat. But seems like I'm one of the few who's the reverse.... Sometimes so cold in the evening I have to wear my track suit to keep warm

hi beverly n jasmine, relax and dont worry too much ok? i am sure everything will be fine for u gals.

Hi HBB and Poshicon
Thanks for your infor..Guess either wash off or not is up to individual. Now I can start to use.

My doc in KKH recommend that I go for this cardio scan for my bb to check for heart defects and blood vessels. Anyone went through that before? When I read through this thread, I did not come across any mummies doing that so abit worried lor.

kat
why did the gynae suggest such a scan for ur bb leh?
when is it supposed to b done?
anyway which gynae u went to?

Thanks mummies for the warm welcome
I remembered when i had my first son, i was so nervous when i knew i had to be induced as my water level was too low. Then my labour took nearly 18 hours. I still shudder to think about it now, especially the pain as i did not go for epidural.

Come this July, i wonder if this time i will have the courage to go through this whole procedure w/o epidural again. I know i will try my best to endure again though. Anyone here know what are the signs to having a girl. I really hope to have a girl this time. By the way, i live in Jurong West, somewhere very very near the new sports complex.

Hi Beverly,

Actually my gynae didnt explain to me on it as i believe he was too tied up the other time with long queue waiting outside.
This is what i found on web:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choroid_plexus_cyst
Not too sure if this test is optional for some gynae.

Hi LS,

Will look for the belt when i bypass US. Thanks!

I had a super big appetite this morning, had bao, 3 shrimp dumplings and beehoon... gosh..

Hi ladies, just got in the office.
How are all of you today???

I'm so sleepy n a little nuasea...it really not easy to be a mother.

Kat,

i tot during the detail scan you'll be able to see the blood vessels and heart?

when is this cardio scan suppose to be done?

Beverly,

So far I have not had bad experiences with KKH yet. I think if i were you I'll be making a lot of noise since you have specifically appointe a dr. to do the scan for you how can they as a sonographer to do it instead? I believe the price would be different?

BTW, is there different arrangement for TPS and clinic B patients for the scan? cos I see that there are 2 persons doing the scan at ADC, 1 is the Dr. who had an assistant nurse and other is just a lady who is working on the scan on her own in another room.

Hi lamagier

Me too, i feel cold every now and then.. the symptoms is very same as my first pregnancy...dunno why lei..?

Hi bunbun,
Haha, maybe body temperature sensor went haywire.
Gynae just told me there are some mothers who feel cold instead of hot.... Maybe good lah. Considering we giving birth during the hot &amp; dry part of the year...

Just that even though gynae said nothing wrong with feeling cold, I still feel a bit worried why I'm not like the majority. Maybe cause this is my first pregnancy... I always worry when I deviate from the norm.....

Went to see bb today. Bb is now 4.3cm and EDD brought forward by 2 days. And my gynae said good chance i'll get a gal.

I like sweet stuff. Can't stand spicy food now.

Re: Cold
I also feel cold. But i'm wondering if it's gotta do with the weather now. It's rather cold lately due to the monsoon.