(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi Sunnyduck,

I'm using Clarin tonic oil after raves from other MTB.. the smell is pretty mild and not very oily as you need to wash it off with cool shower after applying.. the only thing is it's abit costly..
I heard that if your genes tends to have stretchmarks, not matter what type of stretch mark cream or oil you apply, it will still appear.. I hope it's not the case for me.. one MTB mentioned to put on weight consistently thus will not cause strain to our skin to be overstretch.

Just got back from dental appointment.Luckily didnt have any pukey feeling when the dentist is checking my back teeth. Told him that due to the gagging feeling, not able to floss properly especially the back part. He was telling me to take more calcium vitamins and floss regularly to prevent any pregnancy congitivitis. Drinking milk alone is not enough to prevent calcium loss and there are cases where women lost their teeth after pregnancy or experience loose teeth due to lack of calcium in their diet.

hi girls

im bk fr gynae too

bb happily kicking inside
measuring at 4.8cm .. today is the 1st of my 11th week
so excited. but my edd been push fwd to 28th june instead...

abit disappointed cos i wanted a 1st/2nd jul baby hahaaa

but nvm.... hee...

Congrats HBB on your healthy baby! Good to know that everything is going well.

I think I'll go check out the different stretchmark oils/creams, thanks for the recommendations ladies! I prefer one which has a very light scent or no scent at all because my nose is very sensitive to fragrance now...

han bao bao... i'm also hoping for a 1st Jul baby.. hehe.. it will be my 3rd wedding anni..
let's see what my gynae says when she sees me again on Monday... cross fingers and just have to wait lorr...

jasmine.. juz like you my MS just started a wk ago.. even if i didn't eat anything, i still feel 'pukey'.

thanx sunny duck
ur bb will b healthy n bouncy too!!

dyva
haa ualso wan a 1st julbaby huh.. hehe...
actualy 1st july thr is no occassion fo rmi haa jus tat dh will get promoted then so double promotion if it happen to b that day. more meaningful hehe

I just told preg news to the PILs today. They were v nonchalant about it... somehow I feel a bit disappointed in their reaction. Thought they would at least smile or say wow or what but maybe I'm expecting too much (they're a bit traditional).

I know I can't do anything to change their reaction... maybe when they get used to the news they might perk up a bit? Am trying to be positive...

sunnyduck
ehh soemtiems old ppl wun show the happiness one.. dun b disappointed.
mayb in their heart they brimming w joy =)

HBB/hkbb/yen
yup... my 1st one ended up in a emergency c-sect due to cervix failing to dilate. for #2, wanted to try vbac. gynae said it's possible but got to take a risk of womb rupture during labour. after hearing the risk, a bit scared to insist cos don't wish to lose baby in the end. also due to my reason for csect for #1, worry that end up the same for #2 too.

Hi sunnyduck,

Cheer up, maybe they are feeling happy inside just that they do not show out, some traditional parents are like that. Mine too didnt jump with joy but they do tell me to be careful at times. So different people will react in different ways. Maybe your MIL will cook some tonic for you later in your pregnancy which can be a sign of positive reaction. So do not worry over it.

sunnydeck,
don't be sad... like what MRsC or HBB said, sometimes they just don't know how to express themselves. think it's their actions later that may speak otherwise.

Yen,
My gynae is Dr Tham KF from Gleneagles. He's not against the idea but can sense he doesn't really encourage taking the risk. He told me in his entire practising, he encountered twice where the womb rupture n baby was lost as a result.

If u r looking for a supportive gynae, i know Dr Paul Tseng is one of them. Too bad my hubby is not keen on switching as he only delivers in TMC or Mt A.

sheryl
he talk to mi bout downsydrome test
he say not compulsory
and got 3 option
option 1 is dun do
option 2 is do it now till week 14
option 3 do it in week 16

he knws my concern and so he say do it now better.
i tink consist of a scan and blood test.
will go for it on monday.

my si sis v surprise that i wan to do this test cos she said she din even tink of doing it when she was preggy. but i am v concern as i dun wan the kid to suffer *touch wood* if its gone undetected as i know the misery that 1 will face. so i decided to do it.

yes comin to end of 1st tri is 2 weeks.. so excited... i hope my peak is over LOL thou gynae say week 12 but he did not ask mi bout my MS already.. to him im doing pretty well despite i lost a total of 2.3 kg or more.

do u all take other vitamins or supplements apart from our 5mg folic acid daily?

I'm taking folic acid & vit B & obimin currently. Heard that calcium is quite important for all preggies. Anyone can advise? My gynae dun really explain on this. I have to ask for my folic acid & vit B supply.

LS
i am onli taking folic leh
i ask my gynae AGAIn yesterday and he say no need to take any others... wonder if i shld kiasu n eat on my own...

Good morning ladies,
Yah, I know sometimes the older generation is not very expressive with their feelings. Was a bit disappointed with their reaction (it will be their first grandchild!) initially but as some of you said, hopefully their actions will speak louder than their words. Maybe they need some time for the news to sink in...

I'm taking 5mg folic acid, and a multi-vitamin (was already taking this beforehand) and a calcium supplement. The calcium is necessary for me because my bones are quite weak - I have broken them 3 times already! Doc says the calcium is not for the baby, but more for me. When they are in the womb, they will just take whatever they need from the mother, so it's important for us to have enough vitamins/minerals in store for them.

HBB, since u decided liao just go ahead with e tests. I understand your concerns.... its gd to have a peace of mind too. Btw, yr gynae has scheduled the test for u so fast. next mon ah?

I am also only taking 5 mg of folic acid n an tai yao. not taking other vitamins. gt to chk with my gynae on my next visit.

hi sunnyduck, dun worry too much about it..my own parents showed me nonchalance too and my dad even said that 2 is enough cos i ald have 1 boy...i was pretty hurt but anyway what matters most is that bb is healthy and we as parents are happy....

Han bao bao, actually i think you can take other vitamins on your own...think it should be fine...but calcium should be important cos our bbs do take everything that we have....

LS i also gt lower bk pain duno is old injury or pregnancy induce.. mine is on the right side haiz..

mypreciouskeagan ok i tink i will go buy calcium cos gum bleed a bit on n off liao haiz...

wow this has been active though i was rather out for the past 2 days. hahhah was kowtowing to the toilet bowl.

dyva

hahah i understand totally!!!!
hahah worse now that i am on antibiotics as i caught the flu bug. haiz its like dizzy then kowtow to the toilet bowl! i could not even see to the daily needs of my no.1 thankfully i am at my mum's place and my dad and the maid helped with my boy. otherwise it would have been all hell break lose.

sunnyduck

don worry too much. the older folks unknowingly then to react this way even for my mil. when she heard of my 1st pregnancy i even got scolded about getting preggy at the wrong time and she even asked me to go for an abortion. but now i am getting nagged by her for not bring my boy to visit her enough. they will learn to love the baby even if they don let you see that they care about you or the baby now.
just keep that in mind k. normally its your own parents that are more concerned.

HBB
Me too leh.. also right side! Last nite I lied down to watch TV & had difficulty to woke up to toilet. Had to walk using only my left leg strength. Very cham like an old lady!

How often do u feel the pain?

sunnyduck
Thanks for sharing the website! Found it very useful. Have heard about the book & getting one soon from my sister.

R the burgers sold outside safe for us? Heard that we can't take certain cheese & mayo so not sure whether those r ones. Been craving for MOS Burger since last week but dare not eat until now.

sunnyduck/LS my pain is onn off one i suspect is my old injury

LS
burger outside r ok. the mayo cannot take home made one cos we dun use pasturized egg when we make mayo. while the ready made ones are usually pasturized. for the cheese i tink ok also
those tat cannot take are normaly the more expensive cheese

i would like to join you all. Currently 8 wks pregnant.
Looking for gynae, any reccomendations? Thinking between Glen E or TMC.
Any comments about Dr.K.C.Yeo from TMC? havent heard any comments about him

jasmine,
i am camping next to the toilet bowl these days.
am down with fever n flu too

re: MS peak at 12 weeks.
at 12 weeks, our body will produce the most hormones. tats why it is possible to have major MS ard tat period.
some of our body have awredy gotten used to it and the MS will gradually subside.

those unlucky onces will have a hi chance of puking till the 9th mths.

mbb2, that unlucky one was me. I puke till 7 months plus for my #1 last year.

sunnyduck, I use clarins oil and another lotion and stretch mark cream from them too. Good. No stretch marks at all. Going to stock up for this pregnancy when I feel better. I like the smell as well. BUt for the oil, the sales girl says to wash off with cold water, so can be very cold lo.

About multi vits, my gyne does not give too much vits. Last time I ask him, he told me to have a balance diet rather then rely on vits. But I still ask for fish oil. So thoughout I ate fish oil and multi vits. And he only gave me mid of my second tri, coz he say since I puke so much, eat also waste, since it goes down the toilet and the more I eat, the more I may wanna puke. So far for this pregnancy, he only gave me hormone pills and its 2 types.

Hi LS, i'm nw taking folic acid and obimin tablets given by my gynae at TMC. It cannot combine with milk.

HBB, after 1st trim can take raw food already mah?

mbb2
i hope my body gotten used to the hormones HAHAA

angelsky
i tink my gynae is like urs.. dun give much vit. was talkin to dh just now boutit, he say maybe gynae see bb growing ok so dun realy bother to give such thg.. duno if true anot.

kitty
aft 1st tri still cant take raw food in fact. i heard even salad is nono. i rem saw a news on somellena poisoning in states when ppl took tomatoes. so best to avoid

i tink ur raw more like sashimi n stuff rite? hee cos i cant control also lol. jus watch dh ate 1 plate of sashimi grr...
from what i know, if the sashimi is fr 'establish' place with high hygiene standard, its possible tot ake a small amt. but its at our own risk.

aft birth same thing. unless u are not breast feeding elsebest to avoid those raw food..
i dun even dare take raw tomato now.. thou my dh say is fine. i scare lar LOL... mayb i will give in to temptation during 3rd tri when all is stablise haha

LS,
Burgers sold in fastfood places are normally okay because they are cooked all the way through before serving. It's other restaurants where they serve it medium or medium-rare (pink meat in the center) that you have to be careful, because sometimes there is still bacteria in the undercooked part of the meat. I am sad because I cannot eat steak! (I like it quite rare, am not used to eating it well-done.)

LS,
I'm now taking folic acid, calcium, iron and fish oil. Gynae told me to start now. Can imagine with all the puking lingering around, having to swallow 4 pills everyday can be a torture at times. Plus recently was down with a bad flu. Got to swallow even more pills.... yucks!!

HBB,
sashimi is a no no during pregnancy. but after birth can eat. first thing i ask gynae after my delivery was whether can eat sashimi cos he just came back from Japan ... he told me can go for sashimi party if i want.... LOL

Han Bao Bao, when I went to see my doc for my first pregnancy, I was very gan cheong lo. Always wanna ask alot of questions, coz I see the rest of the docs always seem to give alot of info. Then end up my doc told me to just enjoy being pregnant, relax and dont worry so much, coz he said its his job to worry for me. So my hubbie also say, actually if doc say less means good lo, coz no major problem to tell me about. After a while, I also got use to it, especially when baby born also healthy. I had a super long delivery, my friends all commented if its their doc already long c-section lo, but I guess my doc is pro natural lo. I push for like 1 hour to get my baby girl out le. So for #2, I decided to just take it easy, since pay doc so much, he must do his job ma. kekeke.

mbb2

same, i really understand how you feel. finally found what works. i will eat very very minute portions of each meal and this help to settle my tummy better. but camping in front of the toilet bowl it seems that it cant be helped.

babyethan, mbb2

having the flu while pregnant is really not easy. take care k. oh do drink more fresh fruit juice during the day k.
especially those high in vit c.

HBB & sunnyduck
Thanks! This weekend I can go & buy MOS burger liao hehehe
As for steak, I used to take medium well so last few weeks when I was really craving for steak, I had it well done. But very pek chek becos' it came 3 times uncooked when I ordered for WELL DONE!

kittyng
Both folic & obimin cannot take with milk? Do u know why?

babyethan
Going to get my calcium & fish oil soon. Fish oil = protein or not? What brand r u taking? I heard AMWAY is good becos' it's organic not artificial like what GNC is selling. Yeah, i agree few tablets could be a torture during our "merlion" time.

Angelsky,
aiyooo...merlion till 7th mth for #1 huh?
i hope you will not be lidat tis time round.

one of my colik, merlion till the day she delivered her bb. it was really tough for her.

Jasmine,
tats great.
i am still looking for the "magic food".
cant stomach fruit juice either.
in fact, i cant eat any fruits for now.

ppl kept telling me tat every pregnancy are diff.
so far, tis is juz much worst. keee keee keee.

felt a little guilty towards #1.
lately, i juz lie in bed most of the time. din really spend time with her

poor ger.....

re: vitamins.
i am on folic & calcium.
past few days have constipation. cut calcium for now.

Babyethan,
hee....maybe i should have buffet sashimi after i deliver too

mbb2, ya lor, so far its still looks like the same so far. My appetite is not even as good now as compared to #1.

I wanna eat "he bao dan" now, but too bad cant. Sianz.

Breastfeeding cannot eat sashimi, I did le for my #1. kekeke.

Babyethan,

Oh! Tell me abt tat man.. I can really understand how you feel. Been on 3 capsule supplement from Pharmanex for prenatal purpose, with my Duphaston. I literally gag each time taking the medicine, and really dread every meal time, cse all these must eat after meals mah..
End up I gave up. Only taking folic now with duphaston. Dr told me 1st trimester like tat enough liao. I think will resume when my MS better.

Angelsky,

Y cannot eat "He Bao Dan" ne? I been craving for crab since my pregnancy though. Lagi cannot eat. My mom tell me chinese believe better dun eat crab during pregnancy. My malay colleague tell me not being able to satisfy my craving also no good. Ha HA! Dunnoe whether to eat or not...(Drooling now..)

cecelia446, can eat ma? I tot anything half cook or raw cannot, he bao dan consider half cook ma. Crab? I just ate le. For my first, I also eat le. I can understand how you feel, now everytime after meal I will sit and stare at the meds and procrastinate.

LS, folic never state cannot take with milk. Only obimin. If wan to drink milk after obimin tablets, can only take 3 hrs later.

HBB & babyethan, i find it so hard to resist sashimi esp after my trip. I crave for sushi & sashimi. Will see how long i can tahan
Hmmmm, jialat i've been eating ham for every bkf in europe for the last 2 wks. Then i read yr posts not gd to eat uncooked meat. Haiz...

Angelsky,

My superstitious mom says eat crab wait the child next time got "itchy" hands. Ha HA! But my SIL tell me as crab eat decomposed stuff, so not veri advisable to eat esp at 1st trimester..So now very confused. Got 2 voice, one keep on asking me to bo chap, just eat. One tell me better dun.. Sigh..

Har... I eat alot of he bao dan recently. Never think of tat. Oops! But it's tastier when the yolk half cook lei.. Haiz.. Poor us. Worry this, worry tat..