(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Helen,

I am seeing Dr. KT Tan as well.. this sat.

You've seen her b4?

It's my 1st time visiting her.. got to evaluate the Dr. b4 finalising which gynea to choose.

Sunsweet, can let me know how's the doc after u hav visited? Cox i'm oso considering KKH. Thanks!

Hi rainbow, do take care and dun think so much..

On CL, I'm not getting one as my MIL will be assisting me as she helped my SIL during her 1st child. But she will not be able to carry heavy items due to medical condition. My HB will be taking 1 month leave to help as well.
I heard that the market rate for CL this year is 1.8 - 2.2K

What do you think?

My #1 currently looked after by my MIL. She's going to CC next Feb.

My #2 should be due by Jul-09, should i get a maid to help my MIL?

Or should i leave it to her to manage?

She will certainly not saying she want to request for a maid so we have to read her signs.

What would you suggest i should do?

Hi mommies, yes...i strongly agreed that you shld get a Confinement lady for help, you can oso get some tips of taking/handling the bb from her. I've got one when i had my first bb, she charges $1.8K. This time round, she'll charge me $1.9K as she will be taking care my boy and the newborn. I have already book her liaoz lo (remember to book early for those very popular CL)

Kittyng,

KKH have a few good docs you can rever to their website for the list.

My previous gynea had left for pte practice.. so thats why have to change doc. else would have stick with her then not so much problem liao.

Re: Lunch
Now hungry liao.. dunno what to eat for lunch? scared puking feeling again..

Hi all July MTB.. May I join this thread? Tested positive last week n visited gynae n confirmed I am 7 weeks preggie. My baby EDD is 11 July.

Hi MrsC, do consider getting a CL if ur MIL will not be helping you to look after the bb at nite. Otherwise, u and hubby might need to wake up every 2-3hrs in the middle of the nite feeding the bb, always remember the one mth confinement period is very important for u to get enough rest.

Hi sunsweet, i would suggest u to get her a maid with 2 kids around. Otherwise, is hard for her to handle 2 kids and all the other housechores. While having a maid, at least she dun have to worry abt house work and can concentrate looking after ur kids.

Hi bunbun,

My HB is not in idea of having CL as he felt that it's our baby and we should be respondsible for taking care of bb. He said that i can rest when he can look after during that 1 mth. Not too sure how he's going to cope but if he's that confident, i'll just leave it to him.. :p

Hi Sunsweet,

She was recommended by my friend and her sister.
My first visit was 13th Nov.Found her friendly.
U seeing her at TPS or clinic B this sat ?
My first visit was in Clinic B and i told Dr Tan that i would like to see her at TPS the next visit in 2nd dec.

my mum had offered to do the cooking for me
but im jus 'listening' cos liek wat soem of u say.. they might jus chg their mind at the end..
no intention of CL thou since most of the time i tink i b tending to baby as i will breast feed. cl onli come n do the cooking a bit pointless

askign dh to take 5 weeks leave if possible

HBB

Then you're wrong. Hahaha. CL will need to do the changing of diapers & bathing them too.

And bb poo a lot. They can poo like 8 times a day. And they poo at night too. I still remember one night when i used up 4 diapers just to change my son coz he kept pooing non-stop. After I finish cleaning him, i thought he's done, then out comes some more. So did that like 4 times in the middle of the night.

Well, if your hb can take such a long leave, then maybe ok.

ya new born poo alot... chg diaper alone kill
but i tink i rathe b killed by changign diaper than hav a stranger intruding my hse givin me more work.. afterall CL dun do house work they onli wash bb and prob the mum clothes.

MrsC

If your hb can handle good lor. My hb helped me for my 1stborn too. How abt food? Going to cater? I find confinement food so yucky and boring. So this time round must get a confinement nanny who can cook very well. I want my pig trotters!

I will be hiring a CL for sure. I had one when I give birth last Dec. But will only start looking for one after I cross my 1st trim.

The CL that I had was reasonably good. Able to help me alot so that I had enough rest both in the day n at night.

Mashy

Yes! Yes!! Pig Trotters r real yummy!!! That is the only confinement food that I miss!! hahaha...

Hi to all mummy,

I went to the clinic ytd and test positive.
I already hab 2 kid and my #2 is juz 5mth old..
I am a FTWM,i really dun no wat to do..

anyone advise pls.

Afternoon Mummies!!

had kinda disturbed sleep last nite..woke up at least 4 times..this am too sleepy and had to take urgent half day leave...just reached office..

Also had my first scan yest,cud only see the sac no heartbeat as yet..was kinda dissapointed as I thot I was already 6 weeks plus preggy...but gynae said looking at the scan, I can be only 5 weeks preggy...perhaps becoz my AF can be irregular at times...

so next appt in 2 weeks time...hmm...hopefully can see heartbeat by then...

HBB

I heard it depends on the CL leh. Some do housework. I also don't like an outsider at home. That's why I don't have a maid. But for 1 month, i think it's ok. I will really need that rest.

Well, if your hb is ard to help, then ok lah. And since your mom also ard, plus this is your 1st bb should be ok. If not, can be quite difficult. Coz also depends on whether u will be delivery naturally or c-section.

jessie

wow!!!!! Congrats! You can do it. I've 2 fellow forum friends also 3 kids! Their 2nd & 3rd kid also very closely spaced. And they're both FTWM too. So don't worry, u can pull through.

jessie

Can lah. 3 kids can share toys. No need so buy so many toys. Clothes can wear hand me downs. They don't have to be wearing branded clothes lah. It can be done. My aunt had her no 3 unexpectedly and wanted to quietly go and abort without letting my uncle know. Luckily he found out and said since have cannot abort. Their 3rd kid is the smartest of their 3 kids leh. His A level results is that kind can get scholarship and be doctor type. And my aunt has always been thankful for having this 3rd kid. She said he's a blessing to the family. And Michael Phelps is also a 3rd kid.

Blessed09,
Dont worry i am sure u will see e heartbeat at e next visit. Whn is your next visit? How do you find Dr Ang?

Sunsweet,
I guess our situations are pretty similar. My mum is taking care of my boy now. He is attending nursery classes at a kindergarden currently. I am also thinking of my arrangements after I give birth in July next yr. Who will be taking care of e 2 kids? Whether I should get a maid etc....

i agree that a CL helps during confinement. when i had my son, i didnt had a CL. my mum helped with my confinement. I didnt get enough rest n had to help with my son. It was tough, no doubt i was the mummy n hve to play a part... we as mummies shld rest n recuperate during our confinement.

Hi MrsC, yupz..is good if he can handle the bb during ur confinement but will he be taking one mth leave too..? If not, is best to consider having one CL to help out; otherwise he will be very tired the next day and how is he going to cope with his daily work...uhhmmmmm....

Btw, is this your first child..? Got experience taking care bb before...?

hi mummies!!,

just wanted to say that it is good to have a CL sometimes....why i am saying this is because I did not have 1 when I came birth to my boy...i was staying with my mum and she did cooked well for me except that at nights, my HB and I were left to fend for ourselves because my mum did not help me with the night wakings etc...in the end i was tired in the day and also at night...i think some CLs do help out at nights therefore letting the mummies rest....i was so tired and stressed and was crying most times....so i genuinely think for first time mummies, to have CLs...provided you can get good ones and that you are comfortable with a stranger staying in your home for that 1 month....

I could not agree more with mypreciouskeagan.. an extra pair of hands always helps!!

Daddy n Mummy can still have hands on experience while you have a confinement lady but when you need rest the CL can take over the duties.

Furthermore there are alot more to juggle for 1st time mummy apart from wet nappies, food and wash clothes.. situations like baby jaundice, constipation, difficulty in establishin milk supply, sore and cracked nipples and the list is endless.. and all happen during the 1st month of birth..

sheryl,

yup hope so too..my next visit is on 12 Dec..oh Dr ang is really cool told us everything before we can even ask him...

Re: CL

well, guess it will be just my mum helping me to look after the baby and me, after I give birth..the real issue starts only after my maternity leave i guess..hmm..DH and me yet to discuss on all this issues..

yes yes... i agree with mypreciouskeagan

for my #1, i did not hire any CL. I ordered those confinement food which is very good and delicious. But taking care is very siong. My mil is also inexperienced. My hubby also said will help take care. But baby was crying a lot most of the time. We were both totally lost and feel very tired. MIL only help us occasionally and does the household chores. still, it's very tiring. Luckily my mum came over a few hours to help handle baby and it's really a great help. this time round, i definitely need some help either a maid or CL cos now got elder one to handle too. But think of it, to hire a maid and get a CL at the same time very siong on pocket. I also don't know how. maybe move over to mum's place to spend confinement.

Re: CL

Yes yes yes!!!!! That's why I'm so going to get a CL this time round too! No way am I going to go thru the same thing as i did for my #1. Seems like many who went thru #1 without CL all wanted one now. Hahaha.

Been mia for a couple of days and I could not catch up on all these postings! MIA coz I was sorting out my new job offer - I finally signed the letter of employment today and will officially start on 2 Jan 09. Now I have an excellent reason to start shopping for maternity work clothes. Hahaha!

CL
I did not have one for my #1 since my mom came over and was a great help, especially in terms of cooking nutritious and not so fattening confinement food. I am also lucky to have an experienced helper who did loads. My hubby has his own business so he "took leave" as and when necessary and was pretty hands-on with the baby. But I agree for those who does not have an extra pair of hands, you def should go for a CL.

Jessie
Congratulations! wow, #3 when #2 is 5 months. I am so impressed. And kids are blessings. I believe that the best gift you can give to your kid(s) is siblings.

Finally, a warm welcome all new July 2009 MTBs!

But to find a good CL who's probreastfeeding, cooks well and not lazy is really difficult.

Seems like there are a number of experienced mums here. Can I ask how did u or intend to arrange for childcare for #1 when baby is born?

morning ladies,

I have been having slight cramps since y'day. If I'm lying on the bed with my legs lifted the cramp is gone, but if I sit up the cramp is back again. Anyone has the same problem as me?

Friend of zoo,

Yar, long time never see ya le. Me too went mia for a few days to realise so many posting liao.. :p

Yday spotting again, when to see a new gynae at clementi.. Superb service. Spent 25 mins each pt. When I went in, he explained everything that he did to me and make some jokes since I appear very tense..
Then he went through the things that i gotta expect from 1st trimester to 3 rd trimester. Really good Dr.
And he charges me so much cheaper compared to the 1st one. Really salute him!
Anyway, confirmed yday by VS that my baby is 6 weeks 2 days. Can see and hear the heartbeat le. So happy and relieved.
Now gotta MC 14 days, cse he wants to let me pass through the crucial period.
Worst of all, my previous gynea gave me hormone tab to take 3 time/day causing me really goo goo ga ga whole day. This gynae told me too much le, take once is enough.. SO angry with the previous one!!
kao_angry.gif

Hi Josey,

Yar, me too. Have cramps, bloatedness whole day. Even my back felt like breaking. The gynae says it's very common during the 1st trimester. But I tink you better observe, make sure no spotting like me.

morning all...

welcome to all the new MTBs here.

wow just a few days of not logging on and the forum is so active. hahahh these few days am so busy seeing to the contractors in my new place in tpy as well as to my boy.

CL
I had a Cl who was very pro breastfeeding, cooks fantastic food that tasted not one bit like confinement food, and did loads of housework. hhaha she not only cleaned the house from top to bottom but also saw to all my hubby's needs. hahah like a additional maid cum aunty. was really fun to have had her and i intend to get her back for #2 if possible. her charges are like 2.4k (basic 2.2k + 200 extra for looking after #1 with no maid) now that there is #2 and the age diff is so close. am so thankful to her then as though my hubby was able to take off from work during that time i still cant believe that he was on the computer almost all the time in his games! he was not cooking and did not even help with the baby! not to mention that bathing part! hahha i think then he was in denial that he was a lready a dad an my MIL did nothing to help. she was even telling the CL an me that we as women had to see to the man's needs and make sure that he had no lack. even instructed the CL that she must cook very nutritious food for him as he would be missing alot of sleep now that the baby was here! hahah I think that he lost his sleep not coz of the baby but coz of his games! anyway i so thankful to her that she was with me although the way and even helped me to stand up to my MIL. btw the CL was paid by my own mum as my MIL was saying that there was no need to waste such money and that i could look after myself and the baby and my hubby after the delivery as she also did the same thing.
hahah but that is all now water under the bridge as my hubby has now learnt how to be a very hand on daddy.
heheheh no interference at all from MIL coz we don really see her anymore after baby's full month. she had a major argument with hubby about how to hold the celebrations.
but thats another story altogether.

so my final say a CL is going to be lifesaver if you do not have much famil support or if your child is the first in the family.

josey

me too. also have cramps on and off.

babyethan
I still dunno yet. My boy is going nursery next yr, so might just pack him up on a school bus instead of me sending him there. By the time he comes home, it'll be time for bath & lunch. After lunch, he'll take his 3hr nap. So technically, i just need to manage him during lunch time and after he wakes up from nap. Maybe i'll try tingkat dinner until everything settles into a routine and i can make time for cooking dinner.

wah jasmine, what a story and where did you find this gem of a CL? Friend's recommendation? Internet? Agency?
Oh you are moving house soon? Me too! Moving only in 1st quarter of 2009, not it is tenanted. And my mom is so worried coz preggy should not be near these knocking hitting stuff. (qiao qiao da da)

Josey
I don't suffer from cramps - you may wish to check with your gynae for reassurance?

Cecilia
Which hospital are you going to deliver in huh?

BabyEthan
Next year, my #1 starts pre-nursery, I have enrolled her in Bethesda Katong Kindergarten, for half a day from 8:15 am to 11:15am. My helper or hubby if he is free will pick her up, lunch, nap, play, do homework (if any) and by then, it should be close to about the time I get home from work. Thus my main caregiver is going to be my helper. My MIL and FIL are retirees so can come help out too, especially when #2 arrives in July. Hope this helps.

Mashy
I am soooooo jealous! 3 hours nap, how sweet and nice...mine nap an average of 1 to 1.5 hours, sigh...

Friend of zoo,

Still no idea. My actual gynae is at NUH. But before even get to see him, already got 2 episodes of spotting that I had to go to pte gynae. My hubby asked me to still see how's the NUH dr, if not very good, I might consider pte. Most impt is the rapport u hv with the dr, cse ultimately he's going to deliver 4 ya.
This Nuh Dr is recommended by my classmate working there. Dr James Lee. Think should be good too bah, since she knows all the Dr's attitude there.

How abt u?