(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

haha i think as long its durain.. its shiok with its cold..

but i prefer malaysia durain comapred to thai

last 2 yrs been going up msia for durain.. this year went plantation in late july then lots of durain.. vvvv nice.. :p slurp..

usually i think durain are at its best in lunar June...

sunsweet
def malaysia durian nicer hee...
u drove up for durian?
actualy initlay when i was preggy hor i did tink of eating durian so the sac can grow bigger and then easier to scan haaa... then aft i scan can see liao i cant b bother to eat already hehe
but i was telling dh if gt the mountainc at durian i wan eat thou hehe..

where about do u go for the durian plantation?

HBB

haha, durian has very high sugar level. U eat that sure no need to eat your sugar biscuit. Even the bitter ones contain a high sugar level.

mashy yes i know v high sugar level tat y i din not eat it when i finaly saw my sac.
even if i do eat i believe i wun eat more than 3 seed

btw
i am eating the sugar biscuit not bcos i wan to increase my syugar level
its becos i cannot stoamch biscuit at all. and so tryign to find an alternative to make myself eat.

anyway i am not sayin bitter one dun contain as much sugar.. jus simply i cannot stomach sweet thgs

HBB

thought u don't like sweet stuff, then having sugary biscuit will make it worse, won't it? Since your main objective is actually to eat the biscuit. Well, u can try. Or why not just try a different biscuit? Butter biscuits? Digestive biscuits? I find those square biscuits are very dry and very difficult to eat. If not, u can try dipping the biscuit into a drink.

mashy i dunno since i have not try
i try dipping the biscuit into the milo ne tc still i cant swallow.
mayb bcos i knw wat goes into the biscuit, cookies n etc... so i can never stomach them.
all biscuits n cookies are dry to me irregardless wat kind.
and butter cookies n etc do not help in MS.
onli soda crackers like these

main objective is to curb MS not eat the biscuit.

Baobao, Mashy and Sunsweet,

I also hope that i can dont work and stay at home to look after my bb. But i cant. Haiz.. I actually bought a car together with my DH and then within the next week, i then found out that i'm preggy... SO now got commitment for car, must go out work.. And as for looking for a nanny/babysitter, i'm afraid that it is quite expensive... Thus, this option will have to die off.. Left with no choice, i think all i can think of is to let my FIL to look after instead.. But problem is i'm afraid that the niece and nephew will bully my bb... The niece is very stubborn!! The mosre you say cannot do, the more she will do and make the person angry.. That's what she did to her own didi!!! When ask her not to sit on her didi's leg,she purposly sit hard on the didi leg.. Wa!! Come to think of that, i find it scary!!!
Well.. I heard that my SIL actually told my MIL dont give her sweet stuffs and chips to eat.. But hor.. Like listen one ear in, the other ear out immediately.. She will still give one lor.. Only my FIL better.. But i'm just worried that later bb will still end up spoilt by MIL. It's true that gandson/daughters should be dote by MIL.. But hor.. i find dote and spoil, is 2 different things leh... Basically, my MIL is spoil the child... Very Jialat... Even if my niece did something wrong, the maid scold her, my MIL will be very angry and shout at the maid lor... say is her fault for making my niece cry... Say she still young, she want to do wat,want to eat wat, just let her be.. we cannot stop/scold one leh... And by the way, she is 3 plus.. And can be like that liao.. I'm sure if my SIL also side the niece, next time she sure will be a big BULLY! what she become is none of my business la.. But hor.. I cant help thinking that if the child gets bully by her, is very poor thing leh.. who will wants their child to get bully? Even my DH also cannot tahan his niece.. He said tha he feels like smacking her since her parents dont know how to teach!

sunsweet
i rem last time my dad willd rive us in to ehhh batu pahat.. the durian plantaion duno still thr anot sinc eliek 20 yrs ago haa and i too chicken to let dh drive in to malaysia haaa
hope i get a chance to go some days

i heard penang durian is nice too..

mashy,

this time rnd i cannot take food that smells buttery / like vanilla.. dunno why

i fav amos cookies are not so nice liao..

dorisq
hugs to u
dun tink so much ok...
giv birth liao gt 4 mth ML.. slowly see wat u can do..

its very likely ur kids will get influence by those spoil brats u mentioned if its ur mil/fil lookin aft the bb for u
takes alot of discipline n etc to make sure ur bb dun follow the same way..
if ur pil looks aft for u.. u also need to giv them money?

mayb can try weigh the cost n see if is a bbsitter is better for u.. might have to scrimp n save a bit if go to bbsitter but def worth it if they dn spoil the child

fr wat u say bout ur nieces.. i tink i bth them also hahaaa

HBB. segamant also have "ang hea" (red prawn) the variation from Penang.. which is my fav..

actually 101 also not bad.. last time only know how to eat D24.. now i prefer my 101 and ang hea.. :p

Doris,
i think imptly is SIL have to teach the kid no doubt your MIL dotes the kid loh..

i dun blame my gal being dote by my MIL better then she get abuse by some stranger..
but whenever she bullies ah-mah..i will tell my gal right away infront of my in-laws. So that the kid knows its not right and my in-laws knows that we as parents disapprove to this manner of pampering to our kids...

well this methods works so far.. cos its indriect mah..

keke..

Jacob's Vegetable Crackers taste good for me. It comes in small individual packs (6-8 pieces inside).

Btw, when can we start taking "bu" things like chicken essence, tonic, etc? I heard it's not recommended during early pregnancy as it might be too heaty or too "bu". But until certain stage, we will need to have that. Anyone knows when exactly?

sunsweet i tink might affect a bit leh hee.. for mi my taste bud more sensitive so means hor i will addlesser condiment than usual. not sure bout u.

LS
can take aft 1st trimester.

i took tonic at 2nd trimester..

now only some pao sheng with chicken soup yesterday..

suppose to bu qi.. but today i still so sleepy.. hahaha

Baobao

I also not very sure.. Will have to let my dh talk to them and see how..

Ohya.. saw from your post.. Have you ever talk to your gynae about this problem? That you cant dont like sweet and salty taste? I find that if you haven talk to your gynae about it, you might like to let him/her know and see is there other alternative other than you have to die die eat those things which you dont like? And check with your gynae if not enough sugar level and salt level, will it cause any harm to your baby before keep pushing yourself to something which you dont like?

You mention that you dont like to have sugar added into your drinks.. May be your try to add in a little.. But you will have to take a few cups per day.. You said you dont like fruits which are sweet,you can still take fruits which doesnt have much taste like drangon fruit, white colour honeydew, starfruits and fruits that are not very ripe.. Only ripe fruits will have taste more sweet, y not taking fruits that are not that ripe? Mango is also another fruit which is high in sugar level even thou it's not that ripe, you might like to try? And as for salt intake, maybe you can try to put alittle bit of salt into 1 cup of water and mix then drink.. The taste will then not be like sea water. Although you might still not like it, but at least you are taking in salt..

doris
my gynae find it ok leh thou i also scare will get deficiency

yes yes i do take sour mango hee.. my fav!n strawberries hehe..
agree that those sour fruits also got sugar in it.
i tink starfurit cannot take. its liang de. u might wan to take note

i try buyin a can of condense milk and add a bit into the milo initlay(too enthu lar haha) then everythg came out aft i drink.. took mi long time to drink also cos mildly sweet. haiz

salt i stil not so scare.. occasionaly i pinch a bit of potato chip(v salty yikes) then i also tabao fr outside at least once a day now cos cant realy cook outside food gt salt...

nxt rnd i go bk to gynae i will bug him again on this issue... bet he will laugh it off haha

HBB,

fri i was on leave cooking curry,
i tot it taste spicy but everyone took say ok leh..

so now not accurate liao.. haha

I also heard that only 2nd trimester then can start taking those "bu" stuffs.. Can drink chicken soup with "pao sheng" now.. But they say can only take once or twice in the 1st trimester leh.. True or not huh?? And hor.. I heard ppl went all the way to take top grade birdnest from 1st trimester till give birth.. They say like that the baby skin will sure be smooth and white?? Is this true?

sun sweet haha i tink i opp
spciy thg not spicy to mi anymore haha

dorisq
some ppl do say bird nest is good but i tink best to take aft 1st tri also
anyway i did hear that bird nest will cause bb to hav a lot of flames when born not sure true anot
also will cause asthma?
but i tink take in moderation shld b ok bah

HBB,
B4 i was preggy.. i take pao shen soup / drink, i'll have sleepless night..

then last night no effect hahaha...

maybe i'm just too tired liao loh

Haha.. If i will you, i will also bug at him regarding the issue... As mummies, we are not afraid that we are sick.. What we are most afraid of is our precious little one(s) that might/will get sick.. Of course it's good to bug him for correct and definate ans!!! I raise both my hands and legs to agree that you should bug him on this issue.

sunsweet ya last time i will get sleepless with pa o sheng haa now i duno
dund are try cos i already gt prob sleeping
later i shld go eys and ask wat can i take to make myself sleep better haha

HBB

Try bread. It worked for me... Wholemeal will be healthier. Or if not, munch green apples. Or if not, go and get nuts like almonds, hazelnuts etc. It's a healthy snack and not sweet nor salty.

doris
well, u'll just need to think of alternatives then. Baby sitter is abt $600 now. Or if not then go infant care. Altho infant care will have higher chances of getting sick.

doris

Re: Bird nest

I think it depends on pp to pp. My SIL took all the way from 1st trimester till end also no prob. I took from end 1st trim, my boy now has asthma.

i think everything in moderation.

I'm taking birdnest soon.. getting from my dad's friend.. he supply Indonesia birdnest ..

thinking to take bottled ones or those dry ones and boil it ourself?

mashy i cant take bread. i try liao all vomit out cos it seem to get stuck in my throat.
i am avoiding nuts bcos i gt eczema i dunw an it to flare up.
i now take whole grain cornflakes for bf.

sunsweet
my dh keep askin me if i wan bird nest anot leh but i say dun need...
i was tinking mayb aft 1st tri buy fr lo hong ka? then take that hee

Just to check with all MTB, did everyone experience increase of eye sight during preg ?

HBB

Since you hv eczema, u shouldn't take bird nest at all. Coz it will increase the chances of your kid having asthma. I think mine is an eg. I've eczema too. Now my son has eczema and asthma. Sigh.

U're like my boy. Hahaha, allergic to many things and always have to keep cracking my head on what to feed him. hahaha.

helen
eye sight might deteriorate during pregnancy and after child birth due to hormonal changes (as told to mi by my optometriest friend)
dun worry.
jus let it be unles sits v drastic chg.. visit the opto about 3 mths aft u give birth to determine if u need new glasses =)

helen

if there is, it's probably temporary due to the hormonal changes. Don't worry too much abt it. Anyway, preg also burns up our brain cells. U'll find yourself more forgetful, thinking slower than before. hahaha.

mashy
im not allergy to nuts lar
my doc tell mi it doesnt cause eczema
but it will cause the existing eczema to itch more.
since my current one have not heal completely i dun wan to let it flare up

i do think my kid will b prone to asthma/eczema even if i do not take bird nest becos both dh n i gt asthma problem
and asthma and eczema are closely related.
so even avodiing will not help much
best is find a remedy to standby when such thg attack

i also not v gian bird nest also haaa...
i was tinking mayb eat hashima thou LOL

my hubby was asking me why need to take birdnest?

i say maybe high in protein good for skin.. then he says.. white fungs as good.. keke well dunno if its true

sunsweet white fungus can take but not too much
i tink a bit liang not sure if im right.
must make sure u add in red dates w seeds when u cook that ...

yup.. cook birdnest i also add red dates sometimes pao sheng too..

haha last preggy SIL bought me birdnest.. wonder this pregy will she do the same.. not that i "niao" but have to see if she is kind or not loh haha

sunsweet wah so nice of her hehe...

mum keep sayign wan to make bird nest also but i tink better not let her make lar.. wait she sure buy and spend a bomb one.. no point...

HBB,

yah loh.. very nice of her..

but this time round i'm sharing cordecepys with my gal... cos i boil corgecepys soup for her every month to build up her immunity.. so now i can cook double protion to share the soup with her loh hahah..

yup she has rosy cheeks but only when she feels warm..

but i think also bec i often add red dates to boil with the porridge will be more norishing for her..

helen duns train ur eyes k... try to relax ur eyes a bit.. if tis v bad then go to opto n see wat they can do for u
likely the power will fluctuate quite a bit
tat explains why some mummies get blurry eyes aft birth.. old wife tale says cos they cry too much or strain eyes but actualy due to hormones.

Dear Han Bao Bao,

Really thanks alot on ur advise.
Ya. Will check with Opt and will update you.Just came back from my vomitting, my BB select Food to vomit