(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

hehe.. I think mine will be a July baby again as EDD is 03 Aug in my last scan.. so most likely will pop out ard end of July..

Congrats to the both of you!!! Woot!!!
I think those who want to get preggers need to hang around TJE! ;-D And spread the baby dust, yeah!!?

Maybe we should meet for a celebratory makan! ;-D

Lol. TJE tires out more easily than 2 preggers in their first trimester! When she is tired, she cannot walk straight while Linsu & I are still walking straight lol!!

I brot Loacker dark chocolate wafers to munch on in the morning & shared with Linsu! By the 3rd day, Linsu also buay tahan the morning hunger & bot cup noodles to eat!! Lol
Thanks to TJE for helping me carry my luggage :p
It was a good trip despite food not tasting good due to weird preggie taste buds. My maid's cooking is now tasting bleah to me too, now. Previously was good. Wonder if it is still my taste buds!!!

We also missed our kiddos waaaaay more than the hubbies and had the blues lol!

Thanks for all the good wishes.

One of my friends who found out that I was pregnant, went 'Wow! So fast pregnant again! Are you the first
of the July forum mummies to get pregnant again???'
lol! No! Not me! It's Etirto - kiddo already so big!

Chiyojade - any excuse to meet up with you for
makan is cool!

Hahaha, i want meet up for makan too. Sigh, locked in the island. you guys can come to the island i work on and have lunch in my company canteen.

Congrats Muffingirl! Your kids will be about 2 years apart, like mine. The first few months are tough, but it does get better

Mufingal
Only came into the forum coz I read elsewhere that you are expecting #2 - Congratulations~! I do say 2 years = perfect timing, mine is 3 years = less perfect but still good
Do keep us updated here when you go for your scans and such.

Noelle
Can go to my manicurist - Roxy Square. 6348 6693. Good service, reasonable prices, fabulous sofa-chairs, latest mags always avail and 2 large TV screens if you fancy a movie or 2.

TJE
Did you carry the luggage for BOTH preggers on top of your own? Wow, what a wonderful travel companion!

Hi, i wonder any mummies here send their child to schoolhouse by the bay?? need some comment on the sch as i found some bad review online but was date in 2010.

Muffingal&Linsu congrats on your pregnancy! Just heard from KK the other day but haven't really got time to log in.so both of you are expecting Rabbit girl ya!Wish you smooth and healthy pregnancy.

Inkling, 2 yrs, 3 yrs and even 1 yr apart is perfect! hahaha. Now when I see my 3 blessed kids, I feel like I'm the luckiest mom on earth!

Anyone free to go to Loewen Gardens (at Dempsey) this Thursday late afternoon? Toy Box is having their monthly storytelling, etc (by the ex JG teachers).. free. We're going, so if anyone wants to join us, let me know. :)

Re prenevar

Brought A for her booster jab today. I was told moh has changed the guidelines again! Now it's 2 jabs instead of 1 if taken after 1yo. Is this true?

I m so happy my gal finally hit 10kg exactly at 20 months old.

Hi mummies, so long never enter this forum already. May I know is it very hard to get pregnant if still breast feed? I am envy like eltiro, muffin gal, linsu u got pregnant again. Congrat to you muffin gal and linsu
dun know when is my turn?

You might have forgotten me as I disappeared for the longest time, but been a silent reader.

Zoe1: I just bought a Tommee Tippee bowl anchor from Mothercare, it costs $9.90. My son was yanking at it but could not get it out, but he knows how to lift the anchor mat, not the bowl which is also from Tommee Tippee, costs $8.10.

Chiyojade, do you have more info about this Thur's event at Dempsey?

Congrats to Muffingal and Linsu, 2yrs is a good age gap. I just delivered #2 in Jan 2011, 18 mths apart from #1, its really not easy right now, can't complain cos I am not working. Anyone also in the same boat?

Pinkyxu: I voluntarily stopped bf after 8mths to conceive #2, managed to during my first cycle after stopping bf. Just met a friend who is also a July 09 MTB, she is now preg with #2 due Sept 10, she was actually still bf #1 when she conceived, so conclusion is, it can happen.

Any Mummies here staying in Tiong Bahru area? Where are you enrolling your 18mth old in for playgroups? Where's good? Kasper is so active, my helper has to be by his side full time when he is awake. Any experiences to share?

Pinky
Think it all depends on whether yr menses are back.

El chan
My children are 18 mths apart too. I also stopped bf after 8 mths n strike on first cycle. Same like u... Only diff is I m a ftwm. Handling 2 was tough initially but it gets better as #2 is older now. I grumbled a lot but no regrets on my decision on 2 close gap children. Love to see them play n "talk" together.

Hi bbethan. I'm new here n wanna hear some advise fm mummies who hv kids close gap. I hv a 22 mth n a 7 mth. 15 mths apart. Do u ever cope with 2 alone?

Feeding has to time it in such a way where bb sleep, #1 eat. Else put bb beside n feed him. My boy is in cc. So usually only hv to manage dinner. Weekdays, my mil is ard, so she'll handle bb n I take over after I finish bathing n feeding him.

A lot of tantrums at toddler's stage. When both cries, attention on elder one first. Once settle down, explain n tend to bb. Luckily my boy was quite 懂识and didn't fuss too excessively. As long as not too much, usually will give in to him to pacify him.

Pinky, I got pregnant accidentally when I was in the process of weaning off breastfeeding for the BKK trip that my son was not coming along for lol.

Not sure if it's gonna be a boy or girl - I want a boy but logic and lunar calendar and TJE suggests strongly that it's gonna be a girl. Get pregnant also headache - left and right relatives keep telling me to have a girl blah blah blah every single time I meet them - until I got angry and told them (indirectly) to shut up about the gender!!! They will know when I know!

Something funny to share.

My mil was telling my girl in a joking manner to go beat her 2month old cousin on Sunday. My girl very happily walked around say "Beat beat". I got angry and told my girl off, telling her we do not go around beating people (since it would be very impolite to tell my mil off). And of course, she pouted and looked teary.

Last night, my mil got the husband to call her. Told him she was concerned I was so fierce to my girl and she looks so scared, sad and teary. I just couldn't help but laugh.

If I don't teach her all the right manners now, I prob will be called to the principal's office every other week when she's in school, to appologise to all the kids she bullies. And if I were that scary, my girl wouldn't be wanting me to latch her, carry her or keep asking me to sleep with her at night

EL Chan, tell me abt it..my son is super active too..my mom needs to be with him all the time when he is awake...to play and talk to him etc..so weekends expect the same from me too!

Faints, cant even make a cup of coffee or toast a bread! keep lugging on to me and wanting me to carry him or play with him...boy he is not even keen in cartoons or baby tv..even if he is, most prob for 5 or 10 mins only...

haiz how are you gals coping??

thanks mommies, for the congratz!
Mine was unplanned too! We're still considering & undecided whether or not to have #2.. well, bring it onnnn...

re: BEAT BEAT
Stacia did "beat beat" months ago but we quickly stop saying that in front of her. When my dad came for 1.5mth to visit us during NY & CNY, he'd pretend to beat her (by rising his hand) whenever she's naughty. As a result, this gal suddenly started saying, "beat beat" again! I realised this after my dad has left & I'm going to tell him in his next visit to stop doing that! Now, we change that word to "sayang sayang". She normally do "beat beat" as a revenge when she knocked on something so we'll ask her to "sayang sayang" her own head/feet & the things that she knocked onto.. silly i know but better than she says "beat"..

re: dad or mom?
mommies with girls, do u let your hb "beat" your girl when she's naughty? I just don't like the idea "guys beating girls". My hb did that before when my girl insisted on something & I wasn't very happy. I'm not pampering her & definitely agree that we have to educate her & "beat" sometimes when needed. So I told him, let me do the beating next time. Am I wrong?

re: temper/tantrum/screamings
is it normal for this stage to "scream" when they can't get something? Last Sun I couldn't stand her anymore & I beat her for that! But I felt so horrible after that cos her cry & screamings became louder until eyes red red, followed by cough & abt to vomit.. haiz! it's not easy to let them understand! Helpppp...

Linsu,
I should try your sayang method. My girl also very good at crying. Scolded her last fri, she cry non-stop through her shower, till i towel her dry and hug her.
I'm the 'beater' on the rare occasions that she needs a smack. Usually it's cos she goes dig through the rubbish bins despite repeated warnings. The husband melts when my girl gives him the 'i'm so cute and cuddly' look. He told me 'how to discipline her when she looks at you like that?'

Hi mummies, after discussion with my hubby decided to wean off my baby by next month. I feel bad but hb and friends say it already very good for this stage. Bbethan my mens is not accurate as before. I almost three month never come auntie. Like that very hard to get pregnant. My ex collegue called me on Monday and she was aug'09 mummy, she told me she three month preg and ask me why I so slow, still she ask me to buy tonic for my hb to boost. I so sad to hear this.

Pinky,
Your ex-colleague no common sense. To have more kids or not is a personal choice. This type of thing also want to compare who's faster..... Got nothing better to do

Lamagier, fully agree with u. Ya she too free, she stll told me that she have resigned and stay at home, and her child go for full day cc. She told me everyday she serve net until headache.. *faint* why got such person

Linsu/tje
Many kids know hw to vomit to get their way! And the parents give in becos they say the kid cry till vomit!
Even those kids who r of right age to go to sch but dn wan go cosof seperation anxiety cry n puke to get themselve out of school!

In my opinion
Puke then puke I dn give a damn!
If scare of washing up.. Put them in toilet let them cry! Aft puke take off clothes shower n rinse floor w water. Job done!

Unfortunately smacking dun work for Edna! I'm famous to b a smacker! But it seems like she still cont to be not tie
This week I did the hands behind back facing wall method.. Works better and she get upset yet dn dare cry.. Sob quietly

hi, sorry to disturb

can you kindly help vote for my 2 lil ones... thanks a bunch..

Please click on the link below n "like" the page "singaporemummy"

http://www.facebook.com/singaporemummy

Then (album 5, photo 101 )

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=196785520350645&set=a.196491317046732.54304.166984169997447&theater

n this (album 5, photo 97)

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=196785477017316&set=a.196491317046732.54304.166984169997447&theater

THANKS n have a nice weekend ahead.. =)

urggg... puke blood.
went my mil's place for dinner. My girl was going around climb on chairs etc so I had to use my "angry" voice to get her to behave. Later on my mil offered her a drink container to play & my girl decided she didn't want it, my mil said it's because she's scared (of me).
Feed up.
My girl throw tantrums / melt down = mummy never taught her well
My girl don't want to play = mummy too fiece, don't allow her to play.

lamagier
one ear in one ear out
come hear and vomit it out... haha
like that also good right? at least she knows mummy not someone to meddle with and will not dare try her luck to do funny things with MR.

wonder why all these problems lie with MIL????

care to share any food recipes other than porridge?i need help!!!

my gal was down with viral fever and since then, has been rejecting porridge. wants rice instead. the problem is i m the one preparing her meals and i don't know what kind of food that i can prepare in the morning and can keep till lunch and dinner.

my side of MIL problem!!!

long time no 'c'.
Regarding throwing tantrums, that day I punished my gal for beating her bro. She cried till she vomitted. So I brought out the kitchen paper and made her clean up her own vomit. Of course I also helped a bit, but I made sure she knew she gotta clean her own mess. I hope she learnt her lesson.

sickening. Need to vent. Don't know what's with the office these few days. Got so many people trying to make small talk and ask me when I'm going to have my next child. I've already gone for 3 baby full month parties in the past month and going nuts from carrying newborns and feeling the achy hole in my heart.

Feeling like telling them "I'm having my child end June, but my baby died", savour the look of horrified embarrassement on their face and them stammering and hastily put together words of consolation, especially the freaking "Your're still young, can alwys try for another one"

bbethan
try cook soup instead? Like ABC chicken soup, red bean porkribs soup, etc. Can keep from lunch to dinner. Then since she doesn't like porridge, can just cook softer rice & pour soup on it with the meat & veges from the soup. S loves soup with rice too! But yet to fully convert her into rice since her teeth not too many yet!

mommies
need help on CL recommendation for my #2 confinement in early Aug/end Jul. Anyone has a good one used for your #1 or #2 before? My previous CL playing hard-to-get. I got her from an agency the 1st round. Now she wanna charge me higher than the agent plus gotta apply WP for her separately! Then, at the end of our conversation, she added.. nevermind, u think lor, if u wanna use the agent back also nvrm.. wth?! My hb fed up & straight away told me no threatening pls, get another one!

Linsu
These few days I'm cooking soup with a dish of steam meat/egg. I am going to be good friend with the butcher soon!

What other veg can cook with soup? Been giving only spinach, carrots, potato n broccoli.

Beetroot suppose to be rich in iron. Radish can detox. So can green bean soup. I tried those before. Bean curd? Maybe let A try bee hoon, mee sua? MR loves corn. Old cucumber soup? But don't know if it will be too cooling. Butternut? Nice with rice (those from petite bowl =p)

BbEthan,

I did Watercress soup with pork ribs when the heat spell hit and she likes this one. Other Chinese soups can be like Sishen soup with pork, red date and longan, once a while she takes cordyceps soup which she also loves. Lotus root soup.

Found a local blog with quite simple recipes to follow. I usually just copy it to my phone and bring it with me to go groceries shopping. http://www.noobcook.com/category/recipes/soups/chinese-soups/

She is predominately a fish eater, so the steam fish recipes are so a hit with her, especially the Teochew steam fish with sour plum

Thks ladies
Going to buy a slow cooker n a new thermal pot this weekend. I hope I can keep up the energy to prepare the meals in morning. Can't prepare noodles n stuff as I think it might turn soggy by the time she eats.

Going to send her to cc in a week's time. Hope can save me some troubles. Happy she's going but also sad. Mixed feelings. I miss her waving bye-ing us in morning n greeting us hello when we come back... Haha

Sam thanx for the link... Gt new thg to cook for Edna then!

Past 2 weeks we been in Europe and she gorge herself silly with all the gnocchi n pasta in italy! Everyday must eat ice cream! Now tat we r bk, all food bk to ormolu again ni be shes gg to lose tat extra pounds She gain from e trip!

Terrible jet lagged toddler i got here! Tats e price topay for traveling!

Bbethan

I have made corn soup, lotus roots, old cucumber soup, white and green radish soup, fen ge soup etc. Yesterday I didn't have ribs so I threw in cabbage, carrots, potatoes, onions and china barley. Taste great!

Hbb
welcome back. Love to see edna's photos. She's so cute!

Thanks for the link Sam!

hbb - jet lag is worth the travelling. Only suffer for a few days....er, I hope only a few days!

BTW, any one knows where I can find NOT non-fat yoghurt for our toddlers? Not the Petit Miam/Nestle baby yoghurt as I want to try a cheaper alternative? Everywhere I go, I only see low -fat stuff and I know that it's not advisable to give our kids low-fat stuff.....

Any mummies here know where to get chicco zanza no ricarica per vaporizzatore at cheaper rates? stores selling at $16.90 each for the refill.

--- On Tue, 10/5/11, Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) <[email protected]> wrote:

From: Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) <[email protected]>
Subject: Outings for the Underprivileged Children
To: "Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network)" <[email protected]>
Date: Tuesday, 10 May, 2011, 11:22

We are still short of sponsors and volunteers for the outings arranged for the Underprivileged children, below is the updated numbers :

No. of Children Sponsor : 12
No. of Volunteers : 6

We hope to have about 45 children and 35 volunteers to come along for this Ice Cream Making Workshop, for those who can help, do get back to me by 15 May 2011 so we will have sufficient time to send out the flyers to the children.

In the event we are unable to get sufficient sponsors, we will cancel the outing and will refund those who have sponsored so you can use the funds to reach out to others instead.

Charles Tan
Volunteer Resource Network
Email : [email protected]
URL : www.vrnetwork.org

From: Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Thursday, 5 May, 2011 11:09 AM
Subject: June Holiday Programme for the Children

We will be resuming our outings for the children from the low income family this June after taking a break last Dec. This coming June, we plan to bring the kids to downtown east for an Ice Cream Making Workshop and have Ice Cream Buffet there as well, below are the details :

Event : Ice Cream Making Workshop + Ice Cream Buffet
Date : 18 June 2011 (Saturday)
Time : 10am to 2pm (Tentative)
Venue : Downtown East
Meeting point : Daybreak Family Service Centre
Blk 855 Yishun Ring Road Training Wing
(5 mins walk from Khatib MRT Station )

Targeted number of Children : 45
Volunteers required : 25

The cost for each child is about $35.00 which will cover the cost of the event, including lunch and cookie packs for each child. We hope each of you can sponsor at least one child for the trip, we will also need some volunteers to join us for the trip to take care of the children and help them out during the ice cream making workshop when we are there.

For those who would like to sponsor, you can mail a cheque payable to “Maple Lifestyle”, indicate “VRN June” and mail it to :

Maple Lifestyle
195 Pearl’s Hill Terrace
#01-32
Singapore 168976

Please let us know the details of your cheque such as bank, cheque number and amount via email if you are sending by cheque.

For those who preferred to funds transfer, please do email me separately for the account number to transfer.

Do remember me to update me so I can consolidate the sponsored funds, we will stop accepting funds once we have enough as per our usual practice.

And for those who are keen to volunteer, do provide me with the following particulars :

1) Name
2) NRIC
3) Contact Number
4) Email address

The cost for each volunteer is $38.00, we will likely be getting McDonald Lunch for everyone, if you are a vegetarian, do inform us and we will pack lunch separately for you.

We hope to be able to get your support to sponsor up to a max of 45 children from the low income family group for this trip.

Charles Tan
Volunteer Resource Network
Email : [email protected]
URL : www.vrnetwork.org

Am posting for information as they are short of sponsors and volunteers for the event. Pls liaise with the organiser directly if you are interested in helping out..

Thanks a mil! =)

Hello! Anyone from this forum still following this thread?

Hmm, I'm trying to find reviews of Little Skool House at Alexandra. Anyone has experience with them?

Sorry to interrupt.

Oh, what a noisy zoo tickets.
=============================

May I know if any Mummy has 4 tickets on 23 Oct, Sunday, 11am that you are willing to exchange with me? I'll be most grateful for that. Or else I will just have to sell these 4 tickets and my kids won't get to watch the play.

I'm willing to meet you anywhere to do the exchange. THANK YOU!

Please PM me for my hp.