(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

beverly
u know, many ppl dun like to go to public hosp like kkh for such procedures claiming scare of lack of professionalism.. but seems it its proven it can happen anywhere
sad case!

Yup, agree with hbb. What a horrible thing to happen. :-( Even if they sue them and get millions, for me, I don't think it's worth the $. I'd rather not have the $ and not have to go through this kind of stress. Poor things.

Just complaining... Got pretty annoyed with smokers yesterday. Singapore parks are meant to be smoke-free areas!!!!

Was at the Botanics Gardens enjoying some fresh air when I caught a whift of cigarette smoke. Turned out a man in his 50s was secretly puffing away in a smoke-free garden. Ad he gave me a sheepish look and tried to hide his cigarette behind him when I gave hiim a long hard stare.

Had another incident with smokers at one of the reservoirs with waterplay area. Two teens (who looked underaged) were smoking next to the waterplay area and promptly left when I snapped a photo of them. They finished their cigarette elsewhere, came back, trudge through the water in their sandals and went off to join other friends.

some people just choose to defy the law. I have the neighbourhood police post right downstairs and it deterse nobody from smoking in the void deck or peeing in the lifts before the lift upgrading. Just last thursday, I was cabbing home after Jg, I smelled cig smoke in the cab, but I can't get off since it's difficult enough catching one outside evans.

just wondering am if i'm getting too aunty ? i brot my kids to rws over the weekend and 2 maids along. had to monitor the maids' actions and make sure they pack properly and took care of my kids. i personally, didnt enjoy, but i enjoyed the time with kids and they enjoyed rws too. i'm always keeping an eagle eye out for my kids or my maid or both and snapping at them not to touch this, do this, do that. where has the swinging easy-going Me gone ? i can see myself turning into Kate in Jon & Kate.

any mums feeling like that too ?

bestberries
absolutely. I said to myself I won't screamed loudly at my kids for misbehaving (po fu ma jie) in public BC (Before Children) and now, though I have not reduce to that level, I do snapped at the older one in such an unkindly tone I surprised myself at times.

bestberries
i am liek u now.. everythg also DUN TOUCH.. uncle scold! look at the uncle there.. he dun like children to misbehave... haiz.. i tink its normal!

just today my gal was helping herself to the golf balls in the golf shop while I was trying on my shoes... zzzz

FYI:
For those who have slightly older toddler/kids and live near Ikea Tampines, just saw that the child eats free on weekdays from 5 pm. ;-)

LOL!!!! Dunno how old. I saw on on The Studio Loft's FB page. For Nov. I did think of you as you are not too far from there, but also did think that E may be too young! ;-D

mommmies, which swimfloat is better for our 16mo now? neck float is def out for S as she rejected it since abt 8-9mo. Is arms float ok for their age now? TIA!

Linsu,
I got arm floats for MR. ThInk it's pretty hard for them to balance, didn't turn out why. She just clinged on and refused to venture off by herself.

I got the Konfidence swimsuit with styrofoam inserts too. But I haven't let MR try for a long time. not sure if it's easy for them to balance.

Why not try 'noodles' like those used during swim class?

arm float is not recommended according to the swim coach back then.. she claims will make the kid not able to swim proper way.

The jap coach here gif Char arm floats during some parts of the class. She still can't balance wif them after 2 mths lessons leh... For my #1 (almost 4 yo), she uses back float and kick-board. She likes noodle floats too!

From http://cheekiemonkie.blogspot.com/2010/11/christmas-shows-at-malls-2010.html

Yogi Bear Meet & Greet
Downtown East, Event Square
15 - 28 Nov (except Tues)
Weekdays: 3.30pm & 7pm
Weekends: 2pm, 4pm & 7pm

Strawberry Shortcake Berry Bubblelicious Show
1pm, 4pm & 7pm
Yew Tee Point, 19-21 Nov (Meet & Greet only)
Compass Point, 23-28 Nov
Causeway Point, 30 Nov - 5 Dec
Northpoint, 7-12 Dec
Centrepoint, 14-19 Dec
Anchorpoint, 21-23 Dec (Only 1pm, Meet & Greet only)
Bedok Point, 21-23 Dec (Only 7pm, Meet & Greet only)
Meet-n-Greet for first 40, no purchase required.

Dora "The Big Pinata" Live Show
Raffles City, Level 3
19 Nov - 5 Dec (except Mon)
Tue - Fri: 1pm & 7pm
Sat - Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm

Dora's Tea Party
Raffles City, Level 3
4 & 5 Dec, 2.30pm
*Spend min. $30 from 12 Nov - 5 Dec to receive a pass.

Yo Gabba Gabba! Musical
Takashimaya Square, B2
22 Nov - 1 Dec, 1pm, 4pm & 7pm daily

Barney's Christmas Surprise!
United Square
24 Nov - 6 Dec (except Tues)
Mon-Fri: 2pm & 7pm
Sat & Sat: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm
*Meet & Greet; min. $30 required.

Hi-5 Live Show
Marina Square
26 Nov - 12 Dec (except Mon)
*Timings still unknown

Care Bears Musical Live Show
Downtown East, Event Square
30 Nov - 31 Dec (Weekends & Public Holidays ONLY)
6 - 6.30 pm (extra show on 21 Nov at 12.30pm)

Care Bears Nite Parade
Downtown East, Event Square, The Alley & E!hub
1- 26 Dec (Weekends ONLY)
8 - 8.30pm
*Additional Parade on 31 Dec at 3pm

The Elves and the Shoemaker retold by Precious Moments™
Jurong Point, JP1 Centrestage
1-12 Dec
*Timings still unknown

The Nutcracker - Musical Spectacular
Vivocity, Level 3 Amphitheatre
2-12 Dec (except 6 Dec)
8pm
*Spend $100 between 22 Nov - 12 Dec to redeem a pair of passes.
OCBC Cardmembers need only charge $80.

Dora & Boots Meet & Greet
Raffles City, Level 3
7-12 Dec (except Mon)
Tue - Fri: 1pm & 7pm
Sat - Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm
*Admission to first 50 children per session

Mr. Men & Little Miss Christmas Musical
Takashimaya Square, B2
3-11 Dec, 1pm, 4pm & 7pm daily
*no show on 6 Dec, Mon.

Go Diego Go! - The Iguana Sing-along
United Square
9-20 Dec (except Tues)
Mon-Sun: 12pm, 4.30pm & 7pm
*Meet & Greet; min. $30 required.

Spongebob Squarepants MEET & GREET
United Square
9-20 Dec (except Tues)
Mon-Sun: 2.30pm
*Meet & Greet ONLY; min. $30 required.

Have a wonderful weekend, mommies!

lamagier
noodlesss!!! yayaya.. how could I forget to buy one?! Will get one from toys r us later.. looks like gotta stick to the usual swimfloat.. Just ordered this from mambo sg:
http://www.sgmambo.com/mambo_craft.html

They still give me the promo price $22.90 with free normal postage.

japa (if u still read this)
For a while, I tot the baby in the ads is baby M hahaha..

dino-mum
I love dino's swimfloat with leg support that u lent to me last time but always no stock

hi mummies! am back!

as I was reading some of your posts, I was nodding my head agreeing to whatever that is mentioned on our 'active'kids..

I just cant seem to keep him occupied in anything for more than 5 or when lucky, 10mins! Have tried spending on toys and etc...Seems like he needs one of us (me, hubby or mum) just by his side the whole day to watch him pull this and that!

Sigh, any good games/toys to recommend?

I'm giving my girl gain iq. Although she's on the lighter side, didn't give her pediasure since she's eating well. Pediasure more fattening and sweeter. My #1 is more of a picky eater, I'll supplement occasionally with pediasure. But his main milk is still gain iq.

Blessed09
Not necessary to change brands just that Wakodo nutrients is definitely lower than wat we have locally and he is older now so i thought to change him to something that is of higher nutrients level.

Think i will give gain iq a try since quite ok reviews so far. Just that not sure if he will be receptive to it as wakodo is of much lighter texture and not as thick.

personally i dun see a need to chg the milk powder now except to chg according to the age.
nutrients in the older FM is definitely lower since they will take in nutrients in their semi solids as well as solids.

if when younger already taking the lower nutrients powder and no worries.. why worry now? unless the kid is not eating much solid

Hi, anyone can help me here please?

What is the paint or pen thing called that only shows it's colour on the special paper by Crayola?

May I know where to buy Crayola products?

Sylvia,

U have my support in changing the fm. For the fact that it's too troublesome to buy. If it hasn't been for the lighter texture (therefore less phlegmy), I would have changed it earlier.

Do take note that some fm are notorious for causing phlegm. Check with your pd if you have such concerns.

Hbb
I gave gareth wakodo from 6 mths s I was desperate to stop bf as I was gonna start work n don't think have the energy to go on full time bf. tried enfa n similac then only to have him reject. Another reason was I find the amt of dha n bla bla bla in our local fm too high n din wan inject so much in him Wen he is under 1yr so anor reason to use wakodo. Didnt wan the hyperactivity in him starting as that was something oso mention by my pd.

Peanut
U can get bulk purchase from agapebabies at a cheaper rate who is oso selling the bellamy fm on smh. If u wan my gf want let go 4 tins each at $36. He seems ok Wen I mix in 1 scoop gain iq so fingers cross he b receptive 2 it Wen I start adding 2 scoops next week... U swimming 1030am next week??

Sylvia, thanks for telling me that agapebabies sells wakodo fm (I tot she only sells wakodo biscuits). I just bought 4tins from isetan at 43.5, $ wasted ohhhhh.. Regis is on wakodo for 3months now, every trip to buy fm invited nagging from hubby as he is unhappy to make special trips to get the fm, he prefers something that can get off the shelves from major supermarkets. Btw, Pd suggested to give supplement when I raised the same concern as u.

Peanut
Wif agapebabies gotta buy 8 tins to get the price of $36.
Let me know when u run out as my gf stop giving wakodo n on pedisure.

Wif supplements advise given was that we know how much we r exactly giving... Just that I notice the hyperactivity kids r on the rise n jet a precaution on my part that I don't want to start him on so much of dha bla bla so early so I chose wakodo then due to it's lower content in the ingredients.

Peanut,
It's called colour wonder. You can get crayola products from toys r us, mph bookshop, the craft shop at harbourfront and a lot other places. I get mine from kidzo-galore.blogspot.com
just that they may not have ready stock so you may have to wait. But their prices are a lot cheaper than in the shops

Sylvia, noted. Thanks!

Lamagier, thanks for sharing the blog. It is cheaper than bulk purchase in smh and near to my place for pickup. Good thanks!

MMR jab reaction:
Y has developed a rash after his MMR - about the 10th day, which is quite normal, but does anyone know how long the rash lasts? I have been googling and yahooing but can't find any concrete answers. Some say 2 days, some say "a few days" - what is "a few"? There's no fever though and never has been.

Peanut,
You can also try Aquadoodle from Toy r us for mess-free fun. I bought that recently.

Pro:
It's water, so no need to sit next to child and watch over the playing like a hawk
Definitely less stressful.
No cleaning up required

Con:
MR started to suck water from the pen, thinks it's fun.
Use it to 'draw' on herself and us, giggles in delight when we try to escape =p

Water would be more messy isn't it?

Regis drew on the table, creating his own piece of 'art'
I need something that would spare my furnitures, walls and such. And I don't want to clean up

Haha, that's a quick way to have mo4 shui3

BBEthan - Alamak! The MMR was a good week before that, so doc has said that it' not from MMR, but we don't know what it is!!!
Rashes all over, mainly legs, hands and face, no fever. Todaywas sooo clingy! Any ideas? I have googled measles, fifth's disease, chicken pox, etc...nothing. sigh.

lamagier,
No, no where new, no new food, no new laundry detergent. Nothing! Been trying to figure it out but nothing comes to mind. :-(

Chiyojade,
Dr said not from mmr? Then what's his diagnosis? Amanda hasn't take hers yet. I only got an appt next mth n by then she'll be 18 mths old. When Ethan took it last yr, he had fever a wk or so later. Then the rashes broke out. V similar to those viral fever reaction.