(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Hi Caremelle, I am from MAy MTB but happen to be reading posts from this forum. Saw your message about Bjorn. I am thinking damn hard about getting one - what model do you have? cos i heard Bjorn carriers are very hot. What colour did u get btw? DO you only use it in aircon places or even outdoor is ok?

Like you, I own a pupsik sling but it's too small for me i think. My baby doesnt seem comfy in there - thus I am considering changing to a carrier instead.

Thanks for your advice....

<font color="cc0099"> dolly, don't think rubbing of scalp and all are counted, hey. It's quite confusing, really. For me, Kyle had some rashes that spread downwards on his body, so paranoid daddy decided to bring him to PD only a week after his 2-mth vaccinations. Dr told me about itchy nose thingie. I realised that's why he burrows fiercely against burpcloth when I burp him against my shoulder.

BUT~ My sis said babies tend to burrow (more rubbing eyes than nose) when they're sleepy.
I guess it's kinda like when we rub our eyes when we're tired ba.

<font size="+1">ahnetsan!!!!</font>,
KYLE SAYS HELLO TO AUNT AHNET!!! This pic was taken a month ago.

2795730.jpg

I haven't read thread in the last fortnight cos busy taking friends out for various church meetings. But yes, now that I've seen it, I'm rather keen on attending the gathering at blurmom's... shall drop her and Fifi a pm in case they miss my post. A bit last minute though... *paisey*

At first I went out at 5-weeks to overcome my apprehension at bringing baby out. That was quite ok... first few time I brought a bottle of ebm. But then Kyle started his aftnn fussies when only WALKING around will soothe him to sleep, so I started getting on the train and trawling the malls every aftnn. Now that hubby is on leave, even better! We've been going out every aftnn... again when guests were staying with us.

Jerene, whoa! Like that I must join May thread neh. Haha... I'll be switching to SebaMed once I'm done with dr's moisturiser. And ermm... pardon me k, it's CASSey. Haha!! My forum-mates know I have this thing about being called CASE-ey... cos it's cASS-ey. Like as in ass... if you know what I mean. Keke!

sweethalo &amp; Tubbym~, have the previous regulars been around? Like l'tulips, bubu~, bbjun, LFB, etc?</font>

<font color="cc0099"><font size="+1">fifi</font>, sent you pm to "register" for gathering @ Blurmom's.

<font size="+1">blurmom</font>, can't send you pm! Are Kyle and I too late?!?! I won't eat anything if we are!</font>

<font color="cc0099"> TPYmummy, n others. Re: leaky breasts
I was collecting 15-45mls from opp breast in glass botts during nursing sessions. Besides being clumsy n messy, it was also super unglam. So when I saw Medela milk collection shells being sold on forum, I jumped on them n bought to try. Within a week, I had FOUR glass botts of milk to add to my collection of frozen ebm!! So I say, def a worthy investment.

The shell is meant to go UNDER nursing bra, not manually held to the breast. Only leakage during feed or pump is suitable for storage immed. Also, shells aren't meant for all-day usage - uncomfy on boobs, may cause nipple skin reaction fr pressure n dampness, plus milk'll get stale. Can use breast pads for other leakages.

TPYmum, agree that regular tops with nursing bra is the best way to go for pumpg at work.

Hope this was useful.

Hihi morning ladies!

I couldn't set my profile/pm with my mobile explorer
and I couldn't excess internet with my computer promptly. Fifi can help me to coordinate, she has my address and contact no.. Anything just msn, sms or call me, Heehee i'm more prompt this way. It would be great to exchange contact so we can correspond better. But do remember to state who u r

The gathering is 11am on 13 August thursday...

Cassey, my doors are open for Kyle and you

We will only order fastfood delivery when most mummy arrive.

Am looking forward to meet u girls soon!

It had been a super duper long time since i last post. Still remember me

Got to give the gathering at Blurmon place a miss cause I HAD STARTED WORK!! Bobian lor, work in SME and boss need me to return early, sigh.

Btw, i had stop bfing and is selling my Ameda dual electrical breast pump. Do PM me for more details

good morning mummies
how's everyone?
just back from a couple trip from beijing.. booked to go taipei but flight was cancelled due to the typhoon...
wow, got gathering ah.. sorry blurmom, tink i will give it a miss.. my legs are still protesting from the climb at great wall.. :p

<font color="119911">Ooops! My apologies, Cassey...I understand, I also don't like it much when others get my name wrong...the pix of your son's so adorable! Was it taken during his bath??

So are most mommies here first time or second and more time mommies?</font>

hey "panda eyed mummies"... been so long since i last logged in...

qi7, i realised our daughters have the same name... kaelyn! beautiful name, isn't it??!

sorry, blurmom... won't b able to join u ladies at the gathering... my gal is an impatient little one... cries v loudly when she's hungry and wants her milk immediately... have fun everyone!

does anyone have recommendations for milk bags? need to start planning on how to store EBM when i return to work...

yesterday before i sleep, i went to hv a look of my little kris. to my horror, my mil, who is taking care of him (while i look after my elder son) left the side of cot opened! when i qn her, she told me tat this is to convenient her picking up bb later for feedings!! i was so ANGRY!

ok bluedream, we meet and go together

How about ahnetsan? Hope she can confirm by tonight too!

Oh, so excited to go tomorrow!

yes dovey, beautiful name

Gathering on 13 Aug, 11am @ Blurmom Hse (Yew Tee - Choa Chu Kang Crescent)

Mommy list
1. Kikismum
2. Fifi n Cash
3. Innocentwar
4. Ahnetsan
5. Shelisa
6. Superbee
7 qi7
8. Bluedream
9. Createjoy
10. Mummy Ash
11. Cassey

Pls PM me for the address and Blurmom's no.

hi mommies! im new in the forum. my boy now 2mths old. hev some qns 2 ask regarding breastfdg.
usuali u nurse how long on each side?til bb unlatch?if bb onli suckle for 7-8mins dan he rests n dan 1 2 latch again-do we latch on same side or change side?m confuse...hehehe!

Hey Gals

BbAug- yeah managed to bring him out to Church on Sunday...Noah was very well behaved on Sunday and Monday.. very litter fussing but then Tuesday came and it was back to the familiar again... hahaha.. I woke up so many times on Tuesday night for feeds...

Stickymouse - ooo didnt fig that abt my BM.. mayb u're right abt the foremilk thingy... Any ideas how I can intro back btl to Noah's feeds without risking breast rejection again??

Re: weighing Scale

EC_mom - I think I got it for $60 on WTS if I don't remem wrongly. The condition is very good, mint condition.

TubbyM - yeah u're welcome to come over anytime to use the weighing scale... hehehe.. hope u are better today and the cramps are gone already.

Artist- wow nice shirt u made for kris!

Cassey- Hey girl! Long time MIA! Glad u r back in action
Kyle is adorable! He looks alot like Daddy leh... hehehe

Dolly - wah Nanny2 got cert?? fr where?hmm

Chris38- wah u went holiday... so shiok...

Re: breast shells and breast pads...
Wah u ladies msut really hv good ss... so far, although I hv these at home, dont really need to use them leh... breasts don't leak so much.I use breast pads mainly when I go out to pad up the bra so tt it doesn't look pointy..whahahahha!!

re breast shells and leakage
Hmm wouldn't the leakage all be foremilk? If feed a whole feeding of foremilk to bb won't tummyache? I never bother abt the leakage unless pumping leh.. Very waste hor.. I just apply little pressure to the nipple and it stops..

Raudha: Welcome to the thread. How's your milk flow? Mind is not the super fast kind, and usually I latch on one side a a time for 20 min or till he drop.

sweethalo: Nanny2 got this cert from Community Partnership Programme, dunno what's that. And then she took child care course in Taiwan last time.

This morning experience more leakage than usual, the whole tissue was soaked when my boy was feeding on the other breast. But yeah, it kinda stop after a while.

yeah! we exchange numbers already. Havent agree meet sunplaza what time. Taking cab to and fro? or take mrt there then cab back from blurmom's place?

sweethalo, your boy and my boy same same. Very unpredictable. Some good days and some fussy days. Nowadays after his 5am feed he refuses to go back to sleep, keep waking up. So i wake up at 6 am and 7 am too. Very tired. Wondering if its because i put him to bed too early at nite-8pm. Yest i brought my boy out. He was fussing at the beginning but settled down and listened quietly to the conversation between me and my friends while we have dessert so it was good. wld try to bring him out more often.

thanx dolly. my milk flow ok. let down quite fast. i juz wonder if my boy unlatch aft 8min n rest for a short while...wen he 1 2 latch again, put him 2 same side or chg side?

mommies, wen u r out do u nurse often?is it convenient?

Raudha: In my case, I won't change side because my boy takes longer to drink and I also want him to get the richer hind milk.

My boy seems to drink less when I'm out. When he needs it, I'll try to find a nursing room. However, I'll also bring along a poncho so that I can nurse when I'm outside

Ahnetsan &amp; bluedream:

RE: Meet up tomorrow

Since we 3 bringing bags and babies, I suggest we take cab there. Meet sunplaza taxi stand at 1030am ok?

Me very easy to spot one. I'm with the messy hair and my girl's in a blue sling.

qi7, bluedream,
have received PMs from u gals. have also added ur contact numbers le...

how abt taking train there and den take cab back? den can save some $$

i had emailed u my number.

yes MIM cant go out without this power sling!

my first boy i try and try but he hates the heat i give up halfway.

i can demo how i use the sling. then u bring along i help u ok?

yeah ok thanks. im going to try to sling him in tmr morning...hopefully can, if nt i must carry him until sun plaza and den u show me how to use the sling ok?

but i have to be back around 3+4...

first time go blurmom house no bring anything so paiseh... i maybe go ntuc earlier see what i can grab...

then dont want impose on her, use her fridge store my ebm... so pai seh!!!

Qi7, I need to learn how to use that sling too!! .. my boy looks super weird in that sling, heh.. anyways, see u mummies tmr! ..I am excited... but at the same time nervous cos its the first time I am bringing my boy out so far alone!! .. heh

qi7 &amp; ahnetsan, meet you two at 10.15 tomorrow. My boy may fuss. Hope he will guai guai tomorrow. :p

Me no problem in coming back ard 3 or 4. May need two feed in blurmom house. One feed BM and one feed bottle. So will need blurmom to provide water.

I also two feeds but should be ok I will pump before I go out for her next feed, then give her next feed after I pump at blurmom place. She is drinking 4 hourly now.

okok I will teach all mommies who want to learn how to use MIM sling... that's what a gathering is for- to exchange pointers...

but i only know one pattern haha! there's a few for nb babies. personally i like the one i know so i keep using it.

infact im using it sometimes at home. need to walk around do things with one free hand.

<font color="0077aa">hi tinkles mum, i got the synergy in black so it's not hot at all. i use it everywhere, even in the house when she dont want to sleep but i need to eat. longest i carried her without taking out is 3 hours at tampines mall.

my pupsik now is a white elephant so will sell eventually i guess.

if you want to buy, i suggest getting the synergy. the lumbar support for the back is excellent and the material very cooling. only thing was it may not be very supportive for newborns but since our babes are abt 2 mths old now should be okay. check out the WTS thread or the WTB thread..after i bought mine got few sellers PM wanting to sell theirs. Budget was abt $160.

raudha, you SHOULD nurse on one side for at least 15min to give baby hindmilk, in the first few minutes they only get foremilk. i'd suggest you only switch after 30-45 min on same side. when im out i either nurse in the car, find a nursing room (only for malls) or feed EBM but this can only be done for feeds within 4 hours of leaving home because i keep bottle in thermal bag and dont want to risk keeping it longer than that. i find quite convenient since most malls have nursing rooms.

mummies enjoy your outing at Blurmom house tomoro!</font>

<font color="cc0099"> LOOKING FWD TO SEEING SOME OF U LATER!

Fifi, tubbymummy will be in attendance at Blurmom's too. Blurmom is aware. Thanks for coordinating and getting in touch with addie!

jerene, no worries! Thanks for taking it kindly

11_beans, yes, it's a full bottle of foremilk. My question is - why would dilute milk cause tummyache? That's like saying drinking orange juice mixed with water will cause us diarrhoea wor. Daddy just offers Kyle more during total foremilk feeds (up to 6oz) and I just be on standby, anticipating that he'll get hungry earlier. That's all. No harm.

ahnet &amp; Mummy Ash, bring ur MIM slings! I can help too!! *if you like, that is* Bn bringing Kyle out in that since he was 5 weeks. Sometimes nurse in sling too... but haven't achieved the level of hands-free nursing in sling tho. Don't think I will either.

MummyAsh, bring a bott later just in case...? I did that when I first started off taking Kyle on the train from Boon Lay all the way to Pasir Ris to meet my mum. At least I know even if I can't nurse due to time constraints, I can offer a bottle. Thankfully, he's never needed it. But having on standby boosts your confidence.

Took Kyle on train today again... after 3 weeks of not travelling on train, he was again upset by the SUPER DUPER HIGH VOLUME announcements and doors closing beep beep. Ended up wailing for 2-3 stops... but thankfully he settled.

raudha, I always nurse when I go out. Most malls have nursing rooms now and even if they don't, with a nursing shawl/poncho, you can nurse anywhere discreetly. I've nursed in restaurants, hotels, homes, church... just about everywhere. Was sharing with a mum on the forum that I don't want to end up resenting baby for curbing my freedom when it's really my own fault for not mastering babycare in public... or something along those lines, if you know what I mean.

> wrt to how long to nurse on each breast, generally the guideline is to offer 1st breast for 15 minutes (I take this to mean actual sucking time), then 2nd breast for as long as baby desires. But some babies don't latch long and perhaps won't even get to the second breast offered. For me, I mostly keep to the 15-20min nurse on first breast... unless perhaps 1 side has been emptied previously and 1 side super engorged or something. Remember to alternate between first breast offered from feed to feed!</font>

hello all mummies attending the gathering, jus a gentle reminder that the gatherng is today. u can still pm me for addie. but i will be out by 1030.

seeya gers!

hi, i'm from the feb'09 thread. i m selling away my jumperoo... good condition, can say totally no stain on it.. price negotiable... pm me if interested.. thx...

hi all how's everyone?

anyone reading books by gina ford to try to get baby to sleep through the night?? i tried the routines there. day time is ok, but night time cannot follow at all..

my baby will sleep (like a baby) after his 6.15pm feed until 9plus 10, have his last feed at 1030pm then keep waking up every hour in the night.. dun think it's hunger cos he only drinks 10 mins from the breast then falls asleep..

end up being zombie cos so tired from waking up all the time.. his appetite seems to have decrease as he could only finish 80-100ml of FM/ EBM when i bottle feed him.. poo poo output and urine output is ok though.. and he's active in the day...

having some anxiety sending baby to babysitter's in 6 weeks time. will be missing out a lot of his development in the day. quite sad..

thanx caramelle!-tink il follow ur style...if my bb unlatch 2 fast n 1 2 latch again soon aft, il put him again on same side. so he can get hind milk ya. dats important. winks

cassey-ya u r rite. im stil gettin d hang of nursing in public. i bring my shawl. d expressed milk dat u bring out is expressed juz b4 u left home?
thanx 4 sharing cassey!

<font color="cc0099"> I think today's gathering was a huge success! Thanks to Blurmom &amp; Fifi for your efforts and for the pizza!!

Re: GATHERING PHOTOS
I only caught 11 and no one got all 13 bubs on mattress...
Those who got 12 and final whole group photo with all mums &amp; bubs, pls pls PLS email pics to [email protected]!!!
THANKS IN ADVANCE!!

ahnet~, Mummy Ash &amp; Kiki~, do keep me posted as to how you and your bubs go with your MIM slings after today yeah?!?!

Raudha, no prob. I rarely ever bring ebm out anymore. When I do, it can be fresh, chilled, thawed or warmed.
1. Fresh - when I'm feeling full and tender but haven't time to nurse before heading out
2. Chilled - when the bottle of milk has been stored beyond recommended period in fridge OR
>> when I anticipate I'm going to a place where I won't want to latch him on (either I'll be on the move/too warm)
3. Thawed frozen - when I anticipate I'm going to a place where I won't want to latch him on (either I'll be on the move /too warm)
4. Warmed - when I want a bottle on standby to pacify him if necessary (e.g. on train) or when I anticipate place I'll be going does not have warming facility.

Sorry to be so naggy ah. I hope this gives you an idea.

Sigh... Kyle has been wailing and howling for some time now and daddy can't seem to pacify him. I'd better go give it a try</font>