(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

qi7,
hey, cool, u staying at sembawang.. yeah shd gather.

when ar? heehee

tubbymummy,
haha, yeah maybe popping once a month to kidslink isnt a bad idea!
well, jarius' reflux is still like dat lor. but manageable... doesnt vomit as much as before le. but stil got lah. so stil need to feed him motilum, colic drop, and stil need to prop him up after feed...

TPY mommy
my supply for #1 & #2 have been quite good. i eat normal meal but i drink a lot of soup everyday & water (hot milo, hot red date, hot chrysantheum tea, etc) cos breastfeeding is very thirsty i feel.also if baby latch very often, it does generate more milk cos my #2 can latch so i got more milk this time than previously where i only exclusively pump during my #1 time. my #2 is now 7 wks and i can get abt 160-200ml if i skip a latching session (3 hrs interval feed). whether 3 pump sessions enough or not really depends leh.. cos got fren who exclusively pump at every 5-6 hrs interval though she is a SAHM cos she say she yield more milk production by dragging longer hrs. for now, i m still on 3 hrs interval but will slowly drag to 4-5 hrs b4 returning to work else my boss sure fire me if i keep MIA every 3hrs. :p

sweethalo,
ya loh can get up to 30ml leaking cos sometime when my bb suck, i can feel letdown so the milk just keep dripping like open tap. everyday can collect up to 1 glass bottle of "leakage".

dolly,
maybe ur boy is a good sucker cos he suck out all the milk & thats why nothing left after he latch.
maybe u can try to pump out b4 feeding time to see your actual output?

Blurmon
i m interest in the gathering but i m still waiting for the massage lady to confirm nxt wk schedule with me...

Wondering any mummies keen to meet up in the central area?

vogue_mommy: Yes, my boy also like to put his right fist to his mouth and he dun take pacifier. Have been trying to hold his hand but he dun like.

superbee: I tried pumping at a very engorged breast for 15 min, around 90ml for one side, so guess that's how much he's drinking

vogue mommy--

i had the same problem of my baby rejecting his bottle at the initial stages when i was weaning him off. i'm going back to work early sep.

but my problems are now solved. here's what i did:

1) babies are generally least interested in the mid-day feeds, so introduce bottle feeding into that schedule for one week.

2) as each week passes, add on one more bottle into the schedule. night feeds are the last to go.

3) have loads of patience.

i now feed my baby 3 bottles in the day. i only let him latch on for night feedings and the first early morning feed when he wakes up (which i will replace with bottle starting next week)

be prepared that your baby struggles with you.. my baby would struggle until he vomits or leaves a lot of milk unfinished (until i wonder if he's drinking enough). i had called up my paedi regarding this and was told this is very normal as long as your baby is gaining weight. babies are apparently very smart and sensitive to any changes you're introducing into their lives.

in the process you may have the baby crying emotionally as if he's being abandoned by the lack of closeness of latching. it broke my heart but i replace with lots of cuddles and kisses!

DO NOT offer the breast everytime your baby refuses the bottle, as it will only prolong her refusal. so have lots and lots of patience!!

i personally find going cold turkey very harsh on the baby, i wouldn't do that to the baby i love so much, especially hearing the way he cries as if i'm abandoning him...

TPY mommy --

there is a guide to calculating how much your baby should be drinking:

(150ml x weight of baby)/no. of feeds a day

e.g. if the baby is 5kg,

he should be drinking (150mlx5kg)/8 feeds = 94ml each feed. going by this calculation, many of us will find that we overfeed our babies as i was told by the paedi.

nonetheless, the above can only be taken as a guide. it's really by trial and error that we'll know how much our individual babies need. as a fact, it is better to underfeed than to overfeed (because when we underfeed, the baby will let us know very clearly then we'll have to feed more often and adjust the quantity from there)

TubbyM, I am trying to bring my boy out more often so that he gets used to the noise outside and fall asleep in the pouch. Now when he fusses when we are out, we give him the pacifier and it helps to soothe him so thats great!

Sweethalo, you can try that. Have you offered the pacifier? Previously when i bring baby out, he will fuss and keep on suckling on my breast cos he is uncomfortable. Now he suckles on the pacifier so its better and i only breastfeed when he is hungry. You must start trying to bring baby out so that he gets used to it. Today when i brought him out, he seems a little better. He still needed the pacifier but he caught cat naps in the pouch and when he came home he didnt fuss. Think he was tired. Sweethalo, whats WTS? thats where you got the baby weighing scale?

Superbee, I am keen on a gathering in a more central area. Im not so confident to go too far...try nearby places first=) i dont mind town area.

Chidori- like the way u describe our bm... actually wonder who wld wana buy someone else's ebm leh... wierd...

Stickymouse - Thanks for the formula for amt of milk to feed bb... makes me feel alot better that I wasn't shortchanging my baby with his feeds then...ehhehe.. I used to give him 100- 110ml BM and he seemed to want more but for FM he only cld finish 90ml max...which i thot was strange

VogueMum - After reading wht Stickymouse said, maybe it's quite cruel not to latch on and go cold turkey for 48hr as recommended by the book. My case was opposite as he didnt want to latch on and instead wanted a plastic bottle because it was so much easier to get milk instantly than latch.

When I did that, I was worried that if he didnt latch on to me, eventually my milk supply will dry up and I will end up with no more BM for him. That's why I was so desperate then to chk with everyone if purely pumping would sustain my milk supply.

In the end the 2days spent getting him to latch on was difficult but worth it. On the first day, he latched on but with some frustration during the day... when it came to the last feed of the night, he simply refused to latch as he was so used to getting the btl at that timing. He cried alot and my mum helped me soothed him... He was quite determined to get it his way the next feed too, and refused to latch as well... only gave in at the 6am feed and latched on after that eversince. So he actually missed 2 feeds that night.

I no longer do daily pumping as before as I notice Noah's liking is that the breast must be super full so tt he can be satisfied fast and immediately. I think he is very impatient hence his pref for the btl.

Now my only problem is how to introduce back the btl to him n not let all the efforts earlier go to waste in the end.

bbAug- WTS is Want To Sell on this board... just managed to chance by someone selling off the weighing scale few mths back..

Maybe will try bringing Noah out tmr with hb ... somewhere near and simple. I still dare not go to church because if I get into a problem there, then hv to chabot halfway with whole family...

huh, my hubby mum was here from morning till 9pm+. Wake up my baby to play w him until he so tired at last sleep for 3 hours

Hi, do anyone keep a list of forum name with facebook account and baby name? Can share with me?

Blurmom, I will try to go if the weather is ok. Can you pm me your address and hp? I will pm you my hp later. Thanks.

hello mummies....

been awhile since i posted...

baby Dwayne was so cranky yesterday night. fed him his usual FM feed for the night and tucked him to bed. but he didnt want to sleep. hb carried him and pat him but he still made noise. finally i carried him, latched him on and he fell asleep. anyone has the same experiences???? dwayne seems to like latching on after his night feed before wanting to sleep.

tubbyM, your girl steady leh... like going out. do u often bring her out alone? i'm still struggling to bring dwayne out alone.... scare this scare that. hahahha

sweethalo, yea, bring Noah out la.... start with somewhere nearby. i think all babies will cry or wail at certain times but dont be discouraged by it.....

hello mummies... me still suffering from stomach cramps. Waiting for hubby to come back from cycling, then we'll all go clinic together. he watches the kid, while I go in see doctor. Tried going to see doc yesterday, stupid clinic all closed or doc not in. One of them told me they'll be open today, they better be. I'm in so much discomfort...

lovelytulips, usually bring my girl out with hubby. So far, the furthest I've gone on my own is leave house with baby, pram, car seat and all the barang barang in tow, put everything away in the car, buckle in her car seat, go to Taka, unload everything, set her up in pram, wheel her up and did some shopping at Taka. Then met parents for lunch in town. Stopped by in Taka to nurse her too.
I don't think I will sling her to go anywhere, cos it seems so tiring to carry the weight around for a few hours... Seems more ideal to be able to push her around, especially since most places now got ramps and even flooring for wheelchair access... But need car to transport everything.

sweethalo, i think I saw the same weighing scales on WTS! Actually thought of buying too, but hb said I too KS.
Now wanna find also can't find. Wonder if I can buy those used for postal? then place the whole bassinet on top of it...

ahnet, good to hear that jarius' reflux is in check. At least you now know what to do and what to expect, easier to cope right? maybe slowly his stomach will grow bigger/stronger, and the problem will get better

<font color="0000ff">re exercise
Hee checked liao, moderate exercise will not affect the milk alot.. In fact makes mother feel good and thus supply may increase.. Hmm..

Anyway, feel so tired, wanna get some exercise and maybe will manage to get the energy levels up

Wanna go khatib gym.. Maybe next wk on weekday.. Anyone interested to go together? Heh. Just do treadmill walking and elliptical trainer ba. Definitely no running for me! Hee

Pm me hp numbers ok if anyone interested.. Heh. </font>

Gathering on 13 Aug, 11am @ Blurmom Hse (Yew Tee - Choa Chu Kang Crescent)

Mommy list
1. Kikismum
2. Fifi n Cash
3. Innocentwar
4. Ahnetsan
5. Shelisa (pending)
6. Superbee (pending)
7. qi7 (pending)
8. Bluedream (pending)

qi7, we are tinkin reach her place abt 11am then spend the afternoon there. no problem u can bring ur pump or latch bb there. Since its a hse so privacy is confirmed!!

Bluedream, I'll pm u the address once blurmom text us. Or maybe she might log on n catch ur post.

Cmon mummies, I'm sure it'll be fun!

Harros Everyone

Happy National Day? hehhe..

thnx for your encouragement, TubbyM,BBAug &amp; Lovelytulips,today managed to gather courage, stepped out of the hse and went to Church with hb n family.

Noah's PR is very good leh... he was very well behaved all the way... just like on his full mth party.. no fussing at all, only abit of crying and was easily soothed... still need to do afew more times of this before I will try going out with him alone...

TubbyM- hope u get well soon

Wahahhaha! we both saw the same item on WTS ah! kekekke... yeah, i was tempted and decided to get it in the end... oops :p

11Beans - jiayou! peifu tt u are determined to go exercise... me too tired... hehehe

Mummies going to the gathering at BlurM's place- enjoy yourselves and hv a great party

sweethalo, actually i have been thinking abt introducing the bottle again for some feeds but after hearing abt your Noah not wanting to latch on. Im a bit worried cos my Augustine is very sensitive to changes. When I introduced the pacifier, i had to deal with alot of crankiness and fussing at the breast and Im not even sure if its the pacifier cos he is usually rather cranky by nature but it happened all ard the same time. I had to try the pacifier a few times then he took.

Bluedream, I usually give the pacifier when i see that he wants more sucking even though he is full. I know he is full when i offer him the nipple and he doesnt wanna suckle anymore. But he keeps opening his mouth when he is falling asleep hence i know he wants comfort. That is when i give him the pacifier. Or I give him the pacifier when he wakes up and i find him sucking his fingers. This is to coax him back to sleep. Of course if he is hungry he will reject it and I will feed him. I also give the pacifier when he fusses outside and its not time for feeds yet. I think you need to offer the pacifier at opportune times when baby needs comfort then he is more likely to take. Best is when you find baby sucking fingers/fist, i think at that time he will be more likely to take the pacifier. Hope this helps. Actually i never wanted to offer pacifier but baby keeps on treating me like his pacifier. Every time he wakes up he wants to suck and that cld be less than an hr sometimes so no choice give pacifier. And when i bring him out much easier also. Previously he will keep latching on cos he is uncomfortable.

Sweethalo, I brought baby to church already and he slept thruout the service in my sling so that was great. Think you pray first b4 u go church then put him in the sling. He will be very comfortable and if its air-conditioned even better. It is conducive for sleep. And make sure you feed him b4 you bring him too=)Hope this helps.

Sweethalo, just saw that you successfully brought him to church. Congrats! Just need more practice bringing him out and for him to get used to it. Im also trying to bring baby out more often.

fifi, I am interested to meet you mummies too.. are you all gonna bring the baby along? .. I am wondering how I am going to transport my baby to cck from boon keng by myself cos my hubby wont be able to drive me there! .. hmm...
cab?

btw, I want to share my big finding today .. I had posted earlier on uncomfortable breast pads which makes my skin at the breasts itch.. brands tried include tollyjoy, pigeon and medela.. I had even bought the washable ones by medela! ... none worked.. and I chanced upon the disposable ones by tommee tippee at kiddy palace... and OOOOH... I had never felt so comfortable at my breasts for a LONG time!! .. so I conclude that they are the most comfy pads.. hee.. and I didnt know that tommee tippee make breast pads ! heh.. just to share, in case some mummies face the same problem as me.

stickymouse,
thanks for your step by step advice,by the way, least interested in mid-day feed meaning got to start from the least interested feed? So start with one bottle feed mid-day everyday for a week? Only till BB is comfortable with it before starting the 2nd bottle? Qn: Do u intro bottle yourself or your caregiver? Now is like when my BB struggle with my caregiver, I can only hide somewhere and watch... afraid when BB sees me will be even more agitated..when can I hug and kiss her? sigH...

you're welcome, sweethalo. actually there's a possibility that the breastmilk you feed contains more foremilk than hindmilk, that's why your baby would drink more of it compared to formula (foremilk not filling; hindmilk contains more fat and fills the baby up). either way, as long as the feeding relationship works between you and your baby, doesn't really matter BM/FM or that quantity fluctuates a little bit lah...

vogue mommy, it would make sense to start from the feeding that the baby is most distracted/disinterested (doesn't necessarily have to be mid-day it depends on your baby) but generally mid-day is one 'cos they're more interested in napping. so yes, you start with one bottle everyday for one week... and then you add another bottle the next week. your baby will eventually get used to it. i'm pretty much the only one who takes care of my own baby, so i feed him myself.

do you have a musical toy that she is familiar with, that you can use to distract her if she fusses?

hi mummies, was out the whole day sat and today with bb.

bbaugustine,
yup think their cut is slightly bigger. coz i'm usually m size one and yet too big for me.

ahnetsan,
thanks.. think i try out giant s size..
the purple top is fitting type with a plunging v neckline

my gal is also small drinker. 2 months old, only taking 80 to 100ml every 2.5 to 3 hour.

what the colour of your bf babies? is it always mustard yellow?
my bb started having yellow mustard poo with green streaks for 2 out of 5 poos each day.
is this normal? definitely not too much foremilk coz she nurse on 1 breast most of the time..

tmbbymum,
hope you are feeling better already

wanna come in and say hi to everyone. Always want to come here to chat but everytime half way reading archive , Cayden or jiejie will wake up and want my attention.

Received few request to add friend in FB but not sure is it mummies from this forum. should we update our real name into the list that Dolly has consolidated?

Dolly,
Sorry juz suggestion, will it too troublesome for you?

chidori/sweethalo, thanks... me not feeling better. But decided to go out anyway to Great World City, cos stay at home like worse, nothing to distract me from the tummy aches. Great World City's nursing room is very nice!
The one in the basement anyway. Not sure if there are other nursing rooms on other levels.

chidori, think baby poop will vary in colour all the time, but what you described all sounds normal I believe. I think the only time you should worry is if it's very dark in colour, like consistently dark green or almost black, or if there are streaks of blood (yikes!).

sweethalo, next time go your house weigh baby can liao kekeke...

Mummy Ash, glad you found your perfect breast pad! I have a box of tommee Tippee breast pads but all this while was using Pigeon. I shall take out my TT ones to use then hehe

I don't believe I'm sitting here watching Chelsea vs ManU, instead of trying to catch a nap! I'm a bit phobic lah, past 2 nights have been tossing &amp; turning or curled up because of the stomach pains. I know tonight will be like that too, so I'm just avoiding the bed. Wah, penalty kick out very exciting! (and my hubby is ASLEEP, beat that!)

Dolly,
Cayden also dun like paci, he will suckle very hard for few second the spit out, think he tot is my nipple then realised not :p
My Boy likes to rub his face, sometime after he vomit bean curd, he rub his mouth then rub the bean curd all over his face, sooooo smelly.

Sweethalo,
Hihi me busy with Cayden, he keep wanting carry few hours every morning and evening without fail.
How much you pay for the scale? Wanna get one coz my digital scale sot already, evertime I will carry Cayden and weight then minus my own weight, but sometime I weight in morning show 5.2kg at night show 6.1kg. really sot my scale.

Tubby mummy,
How are you, better?

Chidori,
My boy poo also same, mustard poo with green streaks, Iask pd before he say it is fine.

My boy slept for 4 hours till almost 4am! Great

hua_jing: I've a small table of FB names vs Nick names and emails. Wanna post it here?

Wonder how's Cassey. Tinybubu, caramelle, LFB...etc long time no hear, anyone know how are they?

Chidori, I ordered L size! Hope the nursing tops i ordered fit me. The ones from Maternalove fit me beautifully. I used to be S size pre-pregnancy.Jumped 2 sizes..sigh. Now boobs also bigger so have to go for L size.

When i visited the PD, i also asked abt the poo colour. He said green, yellow and mustard poo are all fine. Baby took 6 in jab on Sat and developed a slight fever...gave him the paracetemol that PD prescribed. Now fever subsided. He was very sleepy when he had the fever. Not cranky.

Dolly, now baby is waking up for feeds every 4 hrs at nite. I hope my baby will be able to sleep thru the nite soon!=)

hi morning....

tubbM, hope u're better. no wonder i hear all the goal etc in the wee hours la....... what a big match.

chidori, think the poo colour is ok. PD says not white colour poo is ok. of cos not with blood and hard...

what is suppose to be baby's normal temperature? took Dwayne's temperature and it was like 37.4 deg. monitored and in the night, it was 36 deg. just took and it was 36.8 deg. fever??

Lovelytulips, my PD says that temperature taken in the ear canal shld be 38 degrees and temp taken under armpit shld be 37.5 degrees to be considered fever.

But my boy's temp usually abt 37 degrees so anything above that, i would think its fever. yest he was slightly hotter than normal so we gave him paracetemol. He was 37.8 in the morning then dropped to 37.4 in the evening. This is due to the vaccination.

<font color="0000ff">dolly >> can pm me the facebook list? or post here lor.. hee u so hardworking somemore compile ah.. hehe</font>

stickymouse,
I managed to get my girl to suck from the bottle but that was after an hour or more so of crying and struggling...I guess she took the bottle eventually becoz she was really hungry. ..but it looks like she didnt feel comfortable sucking the teat..i guess thats normal? Or Should I experience diff teats each day to see which she likes best? Or just stick to one and train her on it?..sad news was that she only drank 40ml and refuse the bottle again..and kept crying till she fell aslp.. I am tempted to try bottle again when she wakes becoz i am afraid if i offer my breast the next feed, she wouldnt want bottle anymore...Or maybe I should latch on for the rest of the day and next morning same timing try again... =~(

PM me the facebk info too. yew tee gathering i wana go but i wonder if i can wk prep him so early haha i normal slp till 10+. u gals staying till aftn right mayb i can dropby later hor? ya ya i will wanna brg my pump.. and everyone can see my nipple haha i wanna know if mine is normal leh, all the broken skin, bruise and lump...

so is e gathering confirmed? .. It ll b nice to see each other. Let me know if all r bringing along e babies too? Hee

Im still rocking my baby to sleep.. He is tired bt refuse to zzz.. Haiz

Mummyash,
u stay boon keng? I stay at upper boon keng(kallang mrt).. Near u leh... But weekday I'll b at my parents house which is Farrer park mrt. Mayb we can share cab or meet at mrt to go together?

Besides bbaugustine, anyone else keen in town area gathering?

I have seen 3 different PDs so far! haha. me very fussy. The latest one is Dr Simon Ng at Mt Alvernia. My boy took 3 different vaccinations-6 in 1, Pneumoccocal and rotavirus. And he gave paracetemol. In total he charged me $400. He didnt charge me consultation fee=)

I think he is not bad, patiently answered all my queries and ran me thru a list of things to look out for baby. You stay in Toa Payoh too?

bbaugustine, oh you are bringing your boy to mt alvernia...i used to stay at tp. after married i am staying near tp, at geylang bahru.

my boy is seeing the one n only PD at tp central... my son also received the 6in1, rotavirus n pneumoccocal. the PD charged slightly more than yours n got consultation fee charges too...
but so far bringing my son to see this PD more convenient for me... wondering whether tp got other PD.

brought my 2.5 mth old son, Kris, for the first swim yesterday... haha... he only cried a bit when he touched the cold water. thereafter he was ok... and seemed to enjoy the water... unlike my elder son... keep crying when entered the pool.. hmmm...

artist, which PD in TPY did you bring your son to? Is it the children's clinic? Is it possible to tell me how much the PD charge you?

I am hoping to bring my son to swim as well. I thought I would have to wait till he is 6 mths old. What float did you use for your 2.5 mth old son?

lovelytulips,
same here, my girl unable to get to sleep unless i latch her for comfort suckling..i have tried methods like going for car rides..putting her in sling, using sarong,carrying her singing and walking ard the house...which worked but latching on is fastest..But i am now trying to stop this as it may be a habit..tried pacifier but she doesnt want..so i make sure after feeding she is drowsy and put her to bed gentle patting her thigh..which works...my PD once told me should the BB be truly satisfied w feed, should be able to sleep w/o much effort..