(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

TubbyMummy: Can also buy the nappy cover, then dun need to pin. Saw them at Kiddy Palace too. I bought them at Taka though, there's different brands but the sizing are the same. I bought M and L, both can fit, so can just go for L (my boy is 6kg). BTW, my CL says only when baby bigger then use pin, for now she just tie a loose dead knot over the waist area. It gets loose easily cos my boy kicks violently!

mummies, do u guys haf problems using breast pads? .. I've tried pigeon, medela and tollyjoy disposables.. all caused my breasts to sweat n itch a bit, quite uncomfy.. Then i bought medela washables, more comfy bt still caused a bit of itch at times.. Quite headache nw... Cant imagine going back to work with breasts tt itch at times.. only when im wearing those unpadded ones at hm ll my breasts feel at ease..

What shld i do?

hi mummy ash,
pl see extract from website:

http://www.breastfeeding-mom.com/breast-pads-and-shields.html

Whichever you choose, be sure that the breast pads do not have a layer plastic or waterproof material. Though these may sound good, they are actually not good for your breasts. The plastic or waterproof layer will prevent air flow and ultimately cause you trouble in the form of itch/sore nipples or breast infection.

Breast pads (nursing pads) can be found in grocery stores, pharmacies, maternity shops, and online. Disposable pads are sold in packs of 50+ and cost between $5 to $10. Re-useable pads are sold in packs of 4 or 6 and cost $10+.

If you happen to run out of breast pads, or if you don’t want to buy breast pads, you can always use layers of clean fabric, facial tissue, or toilet paper. Stuff these inside your bra so they will help absorb any leaking milk. Innovative women will even cut out fabric rounds, sew them together and use them as breast pads.

Mummies, wonder any of ur baby has this problem?? Please help..

re: Phlegm

My bb has this stubborn phlegm since born.. Has tried nasal spary, iliadin, hou chou san & bao yin dan but doesn't seem help, his phlegm is still follow him till now.. The problem getting worse these few days where he has difficulty in drinking & sleeping.. Appreciate you could advise how can i clear his phlegm..

prawnmee, my boi had this prob as well. Brought him to see the PD when it was v bad, hindered his breathing during feeds and he gasped for air. Was on medication for 4 days to clear the phlegm n we stopped the medication as advised by PD. Though he still had a bit of phlegm then, it slowly clears up by now. The only thing is that the mucus is still stuck ard his nose and it still blocks his breathing a couple of times a day and we will remove the dried mucus from his nose when possible.

Do go and see the PD if the mucus is too excessive. It's very distressing for the little one.

Dolly,
U still engaging CL? During my girl's 1st month, she is ok w bottles & BF but when i wanted to up my milk supply, i latch her on more often and since mid 2nd month she has preference for BF. Read from Babycentre its normal as BB is more aware and selective.

Any ideas if i keep trying to offer bottle (daily basis) will BB reject it even more?

BTW, anyone can advise if i can re-fridge milk after heating? Teat touches BB mouth but didnt consume.

tubbym,
hope skyla's fever has gone down. its always heart-wrenching to see our babies sick and lethargic...

sweethalo,
i hate the tollyjoy wipes in canisters too! what i do is to put them on my dining table and use them to clean our hands, spills, mouth etc, all except the baby haha. u can put them in the car for emergencies too.

daktarin/ daktacot cream
these are very effective as they treat fungi/ bacteria. but do note that they have to be used sparingly as they "thin" the skin, in both adults and kids.

artist & bbjun,
thanks for answering my question.. i hav brought him to PD abt 3 weeks ago and the PD only prescribe me nasal spray & iliadin.. n his pleghm got worsen these few days, i can even hear the horsing sound when i hold him upright.. he used to be nap for 2 to 3 hr for a single nap but now he will just awake in half an hr time with struggling, so heart pain to see this and wondering how long he still need to suffer..
may i know wat medication ur PD prescribe?? any oral medicine??
do you put ur bb in air-con room at night?? if not, any direct fan blowing at him??

artist, ant good tcm to recommend??

Prawnmee, my PD gave Rhinathiol, a reddish/pink syrup, taken orally. I mixed in EBM and gave it to him 3 times a day for 4 days.

I dun let my boi sleep in aircon. Fan doesn't blow at him directly but do a sweep to make the room airy for him.

bbjun, so ur bb having only pleghm rite, there is no cough or running nose.. i did not let my bb sleep in air-con room and there is no sweep fan on him once i notice his phlegm, the fan is only blowing at one corner, i change the fan to sweep mode on sat nite after seeing my bb sleeping in sweat for so many days, then his phlegm gotten worse, wonder is it bcos the cool air, my bb used to wake up only once at nite but now he is waking up more often bcos too hot and now bcos the phlegm too.. i really dunno how to handle this after i go back to work.. i will be very tire at work cos not enough sleep..

PUMPING
sometimes i noticed that i can pump for 30 mins and get only foremilk (very thin and slightly transparent apperance), then the milk stops. othertimes i do see hindmilk (bluish-white and thicker). any mums can comment on this?

how do we encourage hindmilk? seems like hindmilk is very little. is this normal? or i dont have much hindmilk??

regarding baby wipes/ cotton wool,

I'm been using a mixture of cotton wool and baby wipes.
for cotton wool, buy those which are balls type, shengsiong sells 100 pcs for $0.95 and guardian 100 pcs for $1.95. I put some water in the container and soak the cotton balls.
works well for me esp when clean the folds of fleash on bb legs and the butt crack.
if messy poo, I use the baby wipes coz larger suface area.

not sure if cotton balls are cheaper than baby wipes? 100 pcs can last me 3 days (5 poos a day). to date, I have only used 3 packs of baby wipes in the past 7 weeks. baby butt is not red when i use cotton wool..

regarding nursing bib,

I usually put my baby into the MIM sling and just nurse inside the sling.

white stuff on baby tonguee,
my gal also has it, its oral thrush. PD gave an oral antibiotics daktari but not much use. I used gauze and handkerchief to clean it also cannot come out.. maybe try the mouth cleanser.

vogue mummy,
you are welcome

bbaugustine : My baby likes her toy mobile on her crib, so after feeding, just let the mobile entertain her. She still falls asleep nursing and can nurse for long periods too. But I haven't tried pacifier, since it's not recommended if BFding.

I had a huge massive lump and managed to massage and pump the milk out, so my breast is now really soft, feels empty. Doesn't feel like it gets full with milk anymore. Is that normal? Been feeding baby today, but its not like the usual continuous milk flow kinda sound..I hope she's getting enough.

sweethalo / firstmum, tks tks, my girl's fever has gone down
Almost no more, so I feel more at ease. Went up to 39+ last night. First dose of baby paracetamol, I stupidly squirted it into her mouth directly from syringe. Half of it leaked out, cos her tongue kept pushing it out. So 2nd and 3rd dose I mixed each with 1oz ebm and bottle fed it to her before latching her. She happily drank the drug laced ebm without even flinching, think my girl very "tam jiak", taste like what also drink haha.

artist, ya I was worried the Braun one dunno accurate or not since baby's ear so small, so dug out my digital thermometer and stuck it under her armpit, that's why I said monitoring with 2 thermometers haha. KS.

Mummy Ash, could it be your nipple skin is dry, and chaffing against breast pads cause more irritation, that's why itch? Just a thought... I usually apply PureLan before chucking boob back into bra (with breast pad). Once in a blue moon got a bit of itchy sensation, but most of the time ok.

sweethalo, Pigeon's plastic box, the opening is just a hole, or those slits in a "cross", if you know what I mean..??

dolly, the diaper covers are worn over the regular cloth nappy is it? Do you still fold the nappies in the traditional triangular shape, or do you just fold it into a rectangular and use as insert? Good idea hor...

bbjun, how's your boy's colic? More manageable?

firstmum, I think everyone will have hindmilk one right... so cn't be that you don't have much. Maybe hindmilk is more difficult to extract (cos breast not full by that point), and your pump unable to "squeeze" it out? I noticed quite a few sources mentioned milk appearing to be bluish-white colour. Just realised mine doesn't seem to be that colour... more like normal milk creamy colour, maybe sometimes even very slightly yellow tinged... Wonder why like that.

prawnmee, ya.. just phlegm only for my boi. Suggest u go see PD again. I waited 2 weeks before I see PD and he got worried when he heard got breathing probs and insist I get my boi's lungs checked immediately first. The phlegm is very distressing for bbs as they dunno how to clear their throat like adults. Hence, they will wake up very often. I went thru similar episodes with my boy, and have to tolerate his frequent cries at nites becos of that. The medication can only help a bit, the rest is up to his body to clear.

I sprained my back! Now my head and left arm cannot move in certain directions... Mummies please take care yourself, dun be like me!

vogue_mommy: We offer bottles only around once a day. So far he dun reject leh

chidori: I've not mastered the skill of using the sling leh, let alone latch inside!

white stuff on tongue: My CL told me can use a little bit of salt water to clean. Not sure true or not. For my baby, she uses the baby handkerchief, using bathing water and first thing before bathing stuff her finger in to clean his mouth and tongue.

TubbyMummy: For diaper cover, still fold in triangular shape, except dun need to tie a knot at the waist.
My milk also not blue leh, guess it depends on what we ate?

dolly, please take care of yourself! You already had back problems right? Hope you get well soon. Thanks for the tip on the diaper, I'll go check it out. Glad to know I'm not the only one who doesn't have bluish-white milk! Was getting worried, cos saw my friend's ebm, also got that sort of bluish tinge.

Ok, I go nap liao!

TubbyMummy: My back prob was during pregnancy time, now ok liao! Guess age really catching up!

Do rest more, my CL mentioned although we dun feel it, but our body are tired out that's why easy to have ache here and there.

dolly,
take care.. me also having stiff back from bad nursing posture and leaning over baby cot.. my mum says its due to me bathing very day during confinement but I think its due to lack of exercise for the past 10 months..

sweethalo,
yeah the tollyjoy wipes sux big time lor! nw i changed to pigeon le. so much better!!!

my Jarius is 2 months old alrdy le! yay! but hor, he's still nt drinking as much milk as he shd be drinking... haiz...

nw i super lazy to pump le, i jus latch him full time. hate those washing and sterilising... sick of doing those le...

den jus nw tried to pump, only a bit come out. oh oh...

btw, i realise dat by letting Jarius sleep on his tummy, he can sleep longer!! but must jaga him lah...dats how im able to come in here and read and post.

re: diapers
well, for me, i find giant diapers are good enough.. they are really cheap and good... mamypoko still the best i think... pampers ok nia, pampers do leak for my Jarius, esp when he poos!!

re: nipple confusion
im not sure wat happen, and not sure when it happened, it seems dat Jarius is rejecting bottle feed now!! for the past few nights, my hb was trying to bottle feed him, he jus cries and refuse to suckle! only suckle for a few mouths, den he buay song and cry and shake head! in the end, bo bian, i haf to bf him... hb say either he's still not hungry when he's bottle feeding him or dat he's refusing bottle feed now...

re: white stuff on bb's tongue
use wet cotton wool or wet cloth to clean. normally i try to do it before or after bath. though not able to fully clean it, but at least, it doesnt look so thick and white.
and i also cant manage to clean the inner half of the tongue, cos he will retract his tongue.

yeah and how to know if it's thrush??

re: vaccinations,
my poor jarius kenna fever after he took his 6in1 jab tat day... but now ok le...

btw, any of ur babies kenna cradle cap?? mine kenna le.

iniitally was at his eyebrows, now eyebrows ok le, nw kenna head le.

re: storage of ebm
anyone of u store ebm in freezer? can use glass bottles mah? anyone tasted it? i heard frozen ebm tastes sux! and how to heat the milk from freezer?

re: nursing tops
anyone know where to get nursing tops? i dun wan those typical MIM kind leh... so typical nursing tops... kiddy palace worse, only that few patterns nia...i jus wan to get 1 or 2 tops for me to go out on my own and be conveniently bfg...

dolly,
pls take care of ur back! gosh wat happen? my upper back also been aching for many many weeks le.

tubbymummy,
i also dun haf bluish-white milk leh. mine also more on milk creamy colour kinda. how come got bluish-white one ar?

chidori,
yeah same wif u.. my mum also say it's cos i bathe during confinement. which i personally find it crappy lor! i also think it's due to lack of exercise!!

btw, any of ur baby not sleeping in cot bed now? mine cham, put him in cot bed, he can only sleep for 5mins the most, then he will wake up le, despite he being sleeping very soundly in my arms before putting him down.

i think mayb he's too used to sleeping wif us on the bed? haiz...

how? anyone can share baby whisperer tactics on dat? did the book say anything abt putting bb to sleep in cot bed?

chidori, ahnetsan: Thanks for concern, dun think it's due to bathing lah! haha, else my CL won't let me bath at all. Thinks it's my position when I getting out of bed after breastfeeding. Anyway, when I was breastfeeding on the bed, I had this slight back ache during my confinement, then I got to adjust here and there, stretch here and there to relief myself. Now I dun get the pain that often, think I careless when I get up and kenna loh

I was just starting to think of doing yoga at home... now got to rest! hahaha

Hi dolly,

Re Peneumoccal, i checked with KK hospital, they say baby less than 1 yrs need to take 3 doses, each 2 mth intervals. they did not mention booster. where did you get the schedule from? did you did this jab?

Me thinking the pro and cons for taking and not taking the jab?

Pramnmee,
last time when my elder son was 3 mth old, he got bronchitis and got lots of phlegm. PD put him on neubuliser (dunno the real spelling :p)and gave a lot of drugs. besides, PD also drew out the phlegm via his nostrils.... very painful experience.... he lost quite a bit of weight then....later on i heard of the chinese medicine, Hou zao san. i gave him whenever he got some cough...

since hou zao san not effective, maybe you want to change to see a better PD? Heard from my friend (she is doing medicine sales) that a PD at novena is very good.

Hi first mum,

that means if baby now not going to any infant care, no need to take penumoccal? can take when he is about to enter nursery?

Tubbymummy,
did your doc gave your bb baby paracetamol for fever? My PD refused to give and she said it is not good to give for bbs below 3 mths. should only sponge bb when he got fever.

TubbyM- glad tt skyla is better now

Pigeon container has a good size regular hole so much better than the stupid Tollyjoy canister's X slit!

FirstMum- yalo... now still can't b bothered to go and tear up the tollyjoy wipes and use..see oredi fedup! wakkakaka...HEHHHEE

Thnz for the info abt Daktarin...dono hb remember to get or not!

Re: Hindmilk... mine is also like HL Milk colour leh.. not bluish white... it's just super creamy looking lo...

Dolly - take care n rest well... esp since ur CL leaving soon le...

Chidori- Hv not tried my MIM sling yet... feel like abit insecure to put him inside... scary

Ahnet- welcome back! Long time no see
how r u...hehhe

Wow Jarius 2mth liao.. so fast ... hehhe.. i still dare not bring Noah out on my own leh.. too chicken! kekeke

Artist: Thanks for taking the troiuble to ckeck with ur PD. My daughter's apeptite came back today. She is able to drink 100 mls in one go now..Increasing to 110 ml tonight...

Firstmum,
Everyone will have hindmilk...there is only one kind of milk..is like hot water..when u on the tap, cold water(foremilk) will come in first..slowly hot water will comes in. Try to wait awhile when pumping..or massage your breast midway. If no milk comes out and breast soft...means hindmilk is out. To make sure, wait for milk to settle and u will see the creamy layer..thats hindmilk..may at times be more or less...

i always pump and massage and press at the same time to empty the breast and get more hindmilk out.. More hindmilk when i massage and press tho.. If only pump, not so much comes out..

ahnet, dono where the bluish come from leh, but some BM really have. So I thought I was the strange one haha.

dolly, I was thinking of taking up those mummy + baby pilates class, cos pilates is very good for strengthening the core, but quite expensive, still thinking whether it's throwing money away or not...

hayoki, my PD schedule for pneumococcal is the same as dolly's: 3 jabs + 1 booster. I posted earlier regarding my PD's opinion on doing the jab early. At the end of the day, I think it's good to get the jab, but when you actually want to get it done is personal preference I guess.

artist, yup, the paracetamol liquid was given by the PD. Only take 1ml every 6hrs, very small dose. In total I only gave 3 doses, so I think ok ba. Besides, once the fever hits 39, I don't think I'll be comfortable with just sponging lor...

sweethalo, I thought those X slits are good for holding on to the next piece of wet wipes so that when we pull, only one comes out? Maybe Tollyjoy never cut/perforate their wipes at all...

TubbyM - the Tollyjoy slits are just too tight for the thin pcs of wipes to come through... and they are so sharp! try to pull out the wipes and my fingers will kena injured... Pigeon container is great for both Nuk and Pigeon since they release and separate pretty well even without the container.

Artist - I asked for infant paracetamol even before Noah was 1st mth...think during his follow up chk up after he was discharged fr hospital.. no problem stated by PD leh.. he just gave it to me and billed me for it.. heheh

Hmmm, that means if I use the Pigeon container for Johnsons wipes, no point right? Cos Johnsons ones get stuck together, and probably need those X slit opening to separate them...

Sweethalo n tubbymummy...
maybe the PDs came from different schools of thought.... hmmm.....

Shirley,
glad tat your darling's appetite came back. ;)
we the parents are often very gan ziong one. haha

Hi mummies..I MIA again .. not due to work..

I suppose to start on 4/Aug.. now delays cos son suddenly running high fever since sunday. We do know what rigger his fever. Now, his temperature is still ard 37.5 degree. Maybe i am not fated to start work early..

Missed my SiQi so much.. cant bath, talk, hug and kiss her.. She is with my parent in law hse. They help me to take care of her day n night, while i take my son.. They worry that YiEn will spread to SiQi, i really appreciated their kind thoughts.. But cant help it to feel very sad, separated with SiQi for 3days

Now, seem that my son has spread his virus to me.. Whole body aching and headache.

Quest: can i still continue to BF SiQi after taking paracetamol?

Please take note of correct posture is very important when you breastfeed or carry your baby.. I suffered with wrist pain after birth due to poor posture of carrying my son. End up, i had to inject steriod in my wrist for speedy recovery.. Now, i constantly remind myself to be more careful when i carry SiQi

http://www.mamasource.com/article/wrist-pain-on-pinky-side-of-hand

http://www.mymomsbest.com/daily/de-quervains-tendinitis-wrist-pain-after-giving-birth/

http://www.ehow.com/how_4844916_treat-new-moms-thumb.html

Artist,
Luckily, not my daugther SiQi.. Is my son who is 4yr old but still very worry cos his fever is quite persistent..as high as 40degree

Now he is slightly better.. still need to monitor cos it always shoot up to 37.5 after the medication wear off..

When children sick, parent suffered..

ahnetsan, you just need move the frozen milk frm the freezer to thaw it in the fridge (lower compartmen) for at least 12 hours. that should do the trick.

regards storing ebm:
wondering how to decide whether to keep the all the ebm in the fridge or some in the freezer... coz frm each pump session, i'll get 2 bottles & maddox will only takes a bottle per feeding so now end up with 10 bottles of ebm ( date from yesterday) in my fridge & the amount keeps topping..the amount will only decrease when there's outing.

regards wet wipe:
how come there's no one using carrefour wet wipe?
although the container has the cross on it & the wipes sort of link to another but the price is irresistible to me (so long that my boy is not sensitive to it). 200 wipes in 1 container for only rm7-8. all i need to do is pull out a few wipes n separate them manually b4 clean my boy butt, it'll merely 1 minute to prepare it but save a lot of $ in long run :p

regards teats & nipples
maddox has no problem at all switching between nipples & various type of teats. the only thing is he's not really good at latch on, the milk will leaks from his mouth & wasted half of it.

phew.... but we parents very worried when children got fever...

i remembered in may this year, i got fever for a few days and followed by my 1 yr old son. he got throat infection then. like wat you said, when children sick, parents suffered. i spent sleepless night to monitor his fever.... before i could really rest, my son in womb wanted to come out...