(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

talking about pumping, do you all really pump till dry as in there is not one drop of milk come out? i sometimes pump like 45 mins.. but there's still drops of milk coming out, just very slow..wonder whether it's too long..

SkylerMum: No patience to pump dry! At most 15 min

artist: My boy dun poo that much at night too! Sometimes he only start pooing in the morning, so diapers can last whole night as well

hi mummy ash,
that time when i got the ML to clear my engorged breasts.. she said usually most ppl will experience right breast more milk than left.. no logic but it seems to be my case too

me using
shampoo - Dentinox and Mustela (both for cradle cap though Dentinox is better
bodywash - Sebamed
laundry detergent - kodomo (pigeon not fragant enough)
softener - bought pigeon but will use it when bb is older
diaper - my bb "golden backside" can only take pampers.. all other brands even mamy poko will cause bad rash.. mamy poko will be a good alternative only if she is not that fussy
diaper rash cream - Avent bottom balm for maintenance, Sebamed and California BB calendula cream for rash

re stop breast milk,
in addition to reduce pump, u can use cabbage leaves.. really effective.. more effective than cold pack in relieving engorgement.. but note that it is so effective that u will have a hard time in increasing milk supply

still reading archives while carrying bb

Hi anyone wants Avent 0-3m pacifiers? I have 6 brand new sealed in pack from Avent Promo Bundles, and my baby doesn't use pacifiers.

PM me if interested. Thanks

Hi ladies! Haven't posted in last few days, but been reading
Skyla turned 2mths old yesterday (based on calendar date, though she's 9wks old). Bought a pc of brownie as "birthday cake" to celebrate, but of course, it's mummy who ate the brownie wahaha!

Went for her jabs today. Did the 6in1 and pneumococcal. Will do the rotavrus when she's 4mths old. For 6in1, she only cried 2secs, and I was feeling very proud of her. Then the pneumo jab came, and boy did she cry. Doc said the pneumo one stings for 10-15secs longer, and she really did cry for 10-15secs longer, until doc carried her up to sweet talk her. Came home and slept very well
Now just hope no fever.

Btw, for those who are wondering whether to take pneumococcal jab, just share with you what her PD said. He said that with H1N1 flying around now, it might be a good idea to take the jab as early as you can. H1N1 cases will prob keep increasing till year end, making it more likely that we or our babies may get it. The pneumo jab does NOT prevent H1N1 of course, but he said if suay suay baby really gets H1N1, it may make them more susceptible to secondary pneumococcal diseases like meningitis, which may be fatal. So he thinks it's better to jab early. Just his opinion of course, and I'm just sharing

Baby toiletries, me letting baby use
bodywash: Burts Bees
shampoo: same as above
laundry detergent: Pureen ABD liquid
softener: Nil
diaper: Fitti, but have full packs of Mamy Poko & Goo.n to try next
diaper rash cream: Desitin Creamy and petroleum jelly

Pretty soon will be switching to Johnsons toiletries I think, cos my dad said he knows someone who can buy cheaper, so might as well save money.

sweethalo, my mum just told me that my sis who did full pumping and didnt latch at all, could extract 200+ml every 3hrs, all e way till my niece was 6mths old. She had lots to freeze. After that she slowly reduced (cos she wanted to) and substitute with stage 2 fm.

dolly, of late my girl only poos every 4 days! So even day time, I only change diapers every 6hrs or when diaper gets heavy... I haven't switched to cloth nappies yet, but at this rate, it would appear disposables may be more cost effective than washing 10 cloths a day! Even my mum agreed that if bb continues like that, just forget about switching...

Just woke up, now pumping
Resting more often cos I caught a sorethroat/cough from dunno where!

TubbyMummy: Yeah, if your girl poos every 4 days.. then not so worth to wash a load of cloth diapers everyday!

dolly, me still got sore throat lor, like almost 2wks liao. Sian...

Anyone knows where to buy those underpads like what they use in hospitals? Those blue ones that they put on our beds, under our butts, in case we stain the sheets? I bought underpads last time, but those were lightly padded. I want those hospital type thin ones... (i'm not lining my bed :p Using for other purposes)

hi to all mummies..

been busy wif cleaning up & my appt

the nurses in KKH thought Nesher is 3 mths old baby as he getting bigger & las sat i upgraded his clothing to 6 mths to 1 yr old...

Dolly- hope tat when our babies grow bigger we wil have longer sleep

Fifincash- i added u in my facebook..

my facebook- [email protected]

artist,
for kodomo wipes,can take out e sticker n place inside the pigeon wipes box, voila.. The wipes managed to stay wet for some time. I see my sis in law do tt, and for a pack of 80pcs it can last my baby only a few days at most!

Chidori/re:lumps,
i have lumps at certain spot in the breasts too.. After massaging it gets softer but the massaging and pumping cant dislodge the lumps that well..only when my baby latch at night can the lumps go away..
I have a very silly qn.. Just wondering, hw long can we leave e lumps there before getting an infection?.. Sometimes really no time to keep on massaging and massaging!.. Caring for baby n pumping already taking up so much time.. Sigh.

Skylermum,
I try to pump till e last drop.. but i dun do much dry pumping as stimulation cos im scared there ll b oversupply of milk production. Bt if after 20min,milk cont to come in little drops,i ll still stop pumping cos simply cant afford so much time to pump!...

Fatmom,
Is pampers really better than mamy poko?.. Much softer n drier?.. Cos even when my boy is using huggies ultra which is said to prevent diaper rash, his rash was really BAD..then we switched to mamy poko, got bettter.. Bt rashes comes n goes.. Neva tried pampers before.. i even tried 3 tubes of bottom cream - desitin (which somehow dun seem as effective as reviews claim), avent (sooths the buttocks quite well), palmers cocoa butter cream (which my mil recommends bt i find it too oily).. so is the calenduler cream good? If it is, i need to get 1..cos i suspect my baby has golden buttocks like ur baby too!.. Heh

dolly,
Btw... Ur sore throat cld be due to dehydration. R u drinking enuff water for urself n breastfeeding? LC at tmc told me before tt lactating mummies can get sore throat if nt enuff water. Then when i look at my baby poo n pee everytime, i keep on reminding tt i really must drink alot of water at the rate he is 'outputting' (if there is such a word heh) .. Whatever babies input n output comes frm the mummy!

tubbyM, u can get underpads from kiddy palace.

skylermum, not possible to pump till dry leh. at least, I attempted before. The most I pump per breast is 15 mins max and can still pump milk out but just too little to spend time on it.

Mummy_Ash: Now my sorethroat is turning to cough... but nothing comes out when I try to cough. And yeah, drinking a lot of water now

Annie: Yes, my baby seems to sleep a bit longer, he's still sleeping since 4+.. shhhhh

For mother who wanna buy nuring clothes:
Moms in mind having 20% off and the warehouse is open this Sat!
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/weeklyspecials.html

bbjun, thanks! Will check go Marina Sq to check
Any idea if they are the padded kind? But if cheap, I'll buy anyway...

dolly, I just bought nursing tops from Thyme! Finally felt confident enough about nursing ability haha, and decided to invest in nursing tops. Shall check out the the website anyway. Thanks for the link!

Hi firstmum,

may i know when you give yr baby the pneumo jab ? if baby going to school later, means can go for the jab when he is 1 yrs old?

did any doctor advise you on the side effect of this jab besides fever?

dolly, tubbymummy, so envious of u girls being able to nurse in e public. Im still hopeless in it.. Esp in front of my hubby's relatives.

Mummy Ash, I can nurse in public only in nursing rooms! haha... can't do like how some other mummies do it, like at the dinner table with a shawl or nursing cover on. Haven't reach that level yet
maybe one day... Almost did in front of hubby's friends (another couple) the other day, but ended up decided to do so sitting in the car instead. :p

Mummy_Ash, TubbyMummy: The first time I did it in during my baby first month, in front of loads of guests like colleauges, friends, relative. I didn't think much also, just do it! The rest is easy!

If I'm not in nursing room, I'll use a shawl, guess some mummies already seen me using that
Kikismom also tried it using my shawl! Maybe it's easier when there's whole bunch of mummies around?

However, I'm still in the look out for a better shawl though, cos the one I have is a little too soft, I've some problem adjusting my boy's latch unless someone hold it for me to see.

I like to latch in car also, haha, save time because we got to sit still anyway, but sometimes need a bit of force to unlatch him when we got to get out of the car.

hayoki: From the pneumococcal pamplet, the schedule depends on when the first dose is taken

Let me try to copy the table here:
Age @1st dose: 2-6 mths Total #dose: 3 + 1 Remarks: Given as early as 6 weeks. Dosing interval 4-8 wk. Boster dose 2 mth after 3rd dose

Age @1st dose: 7-11 mths Total #dose: 2 + 1 Remarks:2 doses at least 4 wks apart, boster dose after 1yr
at least 2 months apart

Age @1st dose: 12-23 mths Total #dose: 1 + 1 Remarks: at least 2 months apart

Age @1st dose: > 24mths Total #dose: 1

Mummy Ash,
Thanks! thought other brands of baby wipes cannot fit the pigeon baby wipes holder... haha... maybe will get one to store the wipes. btw the kodomo baby wipes at ntuc is on sale. 3 packs of 80 pieces at $6.80.

artist: The pigeon baby wipes holder is rather big. I use it upside down because the opening of cheapo wipe cannot stick, and the wipe itself cannot pull out continuously.

Suddenly today Noah has a new stunt... doesn't wana sleep nvm, but must b carried then dont cry... arrghh!!!

Re: Wipes - I really hate the TollyJoy ones in the round can... so lousy! can't even pull out the wipes!

Johnson & Johnson ones fr the hospital was very moist and gd but cannot pull out without tugging a whole pile out along as well.

Nuk and Pigeon work the best for me.Pigeon is thick and nice too and sheets separate well when pulling it. Nuk is thick and luxuriant, separates well and fits into pigeon container too... 3 packs of 80s for $10.10

Maybe will try the kodomo ones since so much cheaper.

<font color="0000ff">hmm.. price is proportional to the sheet number and size too ya.. hehe so focused on no. of sheets forgot we might be getting smaller sheets at the same time for cheap types??

dunno how big thos kodomo ones are..

the pureen orange packaging ones are 2 packs 100 sheets for $6.90 like that..</font>

11Beans - hahah yahor... kekek... are the kodomo ones small? So far Nuk is larger and thicker sheet than pigeon... I m v happy with both brands and price is abt the same leh...

Dono wht to do with my 3 cans of Tollyjoy.. must open up and manually tear out and put in container I think...stupid!

MummyAsh - lumps in breast... besides massaging, i think u can try doing warm compress...I use a plastic btl and fill with warm water and roll around on the lump... then u can either pump or hand squeeze on aerola...

Desitin Creamy the blue type is only a barrier to prevent rash. I think if rash is there, need to apply something else cos Desitin wouldn't help heal the rash.

I used MamyPoko NB and Pampers NB ... but found tt MamyPoko NB leaks quite often leh... not sure isit that time not so good at putting on diapers ... hehee

TubbyM- wow ur sis has really gd supply. So far hv not pumped often since I got him to latch on again. Afraid tt breasts not full enuf for him...

Hv not started using cloth nappies too.. so they are all sitting pretty in the drawers... Too many things to do now to wash nappies... hehehe

cheapest mtd is to use those huge chunks of cotton wool dipped in water to clean baby's butt. Its the softest for butt and no abrasion..and cleans off the dried stools very well. Heh. --> as advised by my mum. My mum even says pigeon ones so rough! Bt.. Really quite leychey to use cotton wool..

TubbyM, thanks for the info abt the jabs. My boy getting his 6 in 1 jab this sat so I prob add the pneumococcal jab for him. Wanted to ask u abt baby poo. i remembered you said Skyler had green poo previously and it was because she was drinking only the foremilk. Today my boy started to pass out green poo. It started with dark green with bubbles and then now its like a light green/yellowish poo. Wonder if its because he is feeding so frequently (almost every hr) or he is reacting to something I ate.

Dolly, your boy slept for 2 hrs? Im so envious. Everyday, its a struggle getting my boy to sleep in the day. I will nurse him and then coax him to sleep in my arms, then put him in the sarong and within 15 min he is yelling for my attention.

I have started breastfeeding with the nursing bib the moment i had to bring my boy out like when I had to visit the PD/gynae few days after i gave birth. The nursing bib has this band on top that allows you to look in on your latching so its much easier as compared to a shawl. So dolly, you might wanna consider this. Now im hoping to nurse with just the nursing top alone but seems quite challenging. Bought quite a lot of nursing tops from Maternalove online.

hehee... so far hv not used my roll of Cotton Wool too... find it leychey leh....and especially when they do the mega shit... how to use cotton wool... won't it be difficult to clean so much?

bbaugustine: Where can you find the nursing bib? Wanna take a look. Wow, you wanna try just the nursing top alone? Find that a bit hard to cover my breast fully even when baby is latch on.

sweethalo, sometimes i use cotton wool. its gentler on the butt. I find that the butt wont be so red if i use cotton wool but very leychey have to wet it and clean. Somemore can be quite messy. baby's butt can get too wet.

Dolly, i think most shops selling baby and maternity stuff should have. i bought mine from the taka fair so perhaps you can check out taka baby section. actually when baby is latched on nursing top alone can do cos his head covers the boob but the difficult part is the starting part when I want to latch on. Very easy zaogeng.

Dolly - I tried using Nursing apron recently but it was quite difficult to hold bb and latch him and adjust bra etc... I find it very leychey leh... last time I used a cloth and put over my shoulder and cover his head seems easier and he gets less frustrated...

Then again, tt day when i used the apron was when he just got a jab.. so dono isit the apron or the jab..hehe... so far since then dare not go out with him again liao...

White Stuff on Baby Tongue... Wondering how to clean it off... I hv tried using cloth... but doesn't really work.. will this turn into some infection if I don't get it off?? Worried kena throat infection or something.

last year, before i had my first born, my mil also suggested to use cotton wool and i therefore bought a roll of it. but after a few usage, she found baby wipes easier.... and there went my poor cotton roll, lying quietly in a corner....

my baby also preferred to be carried. when he was asleep and placed in the cot, he would wake up after a few seconds.... and wanted to be carried. now finally found the places he likes to sleep on i.e. the bouncer and the FP swing! phew... at least can rest for a while...

sweethalo,
you can buy the 3 rifles brand mouth cleanser from medical hall to clean bb's mouth/tongue.

if thrush(whitish milk stain like thingy)developed, u can buy the daktarin from guardian pharmacy for application. very effective.

bbaug, emailed you

I like Nuk wipes the best! Now using Pigeon, not bad, but like a bit too dry? Still like Nuk best.. I never use cotton wool too. Initially used to wipe face during bath, now lazy just use washcloth haha. Oh, and right from the start I didn't use cooled boiled water to wipe eyes/face, I just used normal heater-warmed water. In my house, we don't boil water for drinking (use water filter jug), so it's very troublesome just to boil and cool small amount everyday just for wiping....oops :p But so far no problems.

sweethalo, I tried to let her wear the cloth nappy, looks SO BIG, macham prata man wearing sarong lidat. Wahahaha! Mum tried to improvise and fold smaller, but it became very thick, very difficult to safety pin, scared I force the pin through end up stabbing her. So now just using the cloths for lining her diaper changing pad etc. Try again in future.

I also wipe baby's mouth/tongue with wet washcloth during bath. But she always retract tongue or clamp her gums, so end up can't clean the inner half of the tongue. Dunno how.

artist, I used Daktarin before for skin conditions, you mean can apply in the mouth? The thrush symptoms is on the tongue..?

copied from website:
http://www.healthscout.com/ency/68/460/main.html

Symptoms of Thrush In Babies
Thrush looks as if patches of milk scum were stuck to the cheeks and tongue and roof of the mouth, but unlike scum, it does not wipe off easily. If you do rub it off, the underlying skin bleeds slightly and looks inflamed. Thrush usually makes babies' mouths sore. They show the discomfort when they are trying to nurse.

-------------

my son got it recently and my PD gave daktarin.
it really looked like white patches of milk stain and it kept coming back after i cleaned it with cloth.

artist, wahaha! Ok ok, I just saw the pic, won't get it confused. I was thinking of the regular kind adults use on skin! :p Maybe I should check out the diaper clip... not sure how it works though, but think the staff should know. Looks like I should make a trip down to KP this week...

Baby running a post-immunisation fever now. Sigh... Looks so lethargic and drowsy. Overslept for every feed, and when wanna cry, sounded too tired to cry. Me the paranoid mum checking her temp every hour.... Use 2 types of thermometer some more haha

TubbyM- BTW I managed to fit in the Nuk pack into the Pigeon container..much easier to keep pack in place n also keep them moist n sealed.

hahah..prata man in sarong!!!

yeah hv bn using some of the nappy cloth to line the underpads s well s bassinet.

The tongue damn problematic...scared if thrush then my nipples also kena