(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

11_beans,
manual pump avent is very gd. u can gather alot of positive feedback on this pump from the forum too. letdown is fast from the massage petal cushion.

i havent heard any feedback on medela manual, guess most pple using the electric. pigeon my friend said its lousy.

chidori (chidori)
thanks... but once i tried not being at home when BB is hungry, ended up she rather cry and starve than to take bottle.
by the way, the latex teat i am using turned white powderish after some time when i left in the open.. ( clean but not used)is it okay to use after washing? ( turns to original colour)

Do u advise I try to get my BB to accept Nuk pacifier 1st so that she will more likely to accept Nuk bottle?

TPY mommy
I am using nuk teat but with medela bottle. I was using silicon teats at first but changed to latex as it is softer ( more like mommies nipples) I rem reading that newborns would prefer latex...Although my BB still rejecting bottles at times, actually prefers latex teats. But if your BB is used to silicon already, good for her as silicon is more durable than latex.

vogue_mommy: Yeah, better feed baby when you are not around! Really got to try again to let other people feed him. In fact, I feel kinda relieve when at last I could pump and let my CL feed.

My boy dun take pacifier yet and he's starting to suck his fist!

dolly,
Same here, my boy like his right hand and will suck it whenever his right hand is near his mouth. My boy start produce lots of saliva le.

Dear mommies,
Some encounters to share... couple of weeks back i tried to pump often to up my milk supply, but realised it is better to let BB latch so our bodies will cater to BB's demands. Pumping too much will create more milk but also stronger let-downs which may be too strong for BB to handle and cause BB to take in more wind. Ended up choking during feeds. Greenish stools is possible as BB will take in more air as well as too much foremilk. Pumping more than should be will encourgae our bodies to create oversupply of milk. BB will be full from foremilk before taking in hindmilk which is not good. Only foremilk intake will also cause BB to be hungry earlier.
http://www.obgyn.net/breast-care/breast-care.asp?page=/pregnancy-birth/articles/bf_smith_0501

<font color="0000ff">dolly
i using ameda lactaline leh... thats y lor.. cos no manual pump on sale here for this brand hahaa..

Avent one very ex right.. i think $119 less 20%.. medela is $109 less 20% hahaa

but will i kill myself using the manual pump?? scared i buy le wont use leh.. is it as effective as electric one?? less efficient is fine.. but the suction - strong?</font>

blueDream: Yeah, my boy also suck right fist! And his fist is not happened to be there, he bring it there leh, cos I remove and he'll suck again! You try and see

vogue_mommy: Thanks for info, yeah, I try to let my boy suck more than 15 min, so he'll have some hind milk

11_beans: Also thinking of buying pump, either single/dual/manual... haha, cos thinking of pumping in office so need to leave one there. And single because the Medela PIS cannot pump one breast alone. So now I'm alway forced to pump both breasts. Manual because it is cheaper... haha, so many things to consider

hi vogue mommy, i have plenty of milk storage bags (mostly unopened boxes, some open)

because they have been given to me, i'm willing to give them away on the condition of self-collection. i stay at punggol, PM me if you're interested.

just managed to get my boy to sleep. Took me abt 1 hr 15 min to feed him and get him to sleep. so tired! After feeding him, he kept on looking around and then wanting to suckle again and again. Its like he needs to suckle for comfort to get to sleep. Didnt think he was hungry after feeding him on both breasts. I think im going to try to give him the pacifier. My nipples are so sore from feeding him so frequently. He is also starting to suck on his fist/thumb.

vogue_mummy,
i think its ok to use.. my teat turn a bit whitish at the rim after using for 2 weeks (at most use once a day)and I' still using them.. latex ones dun last long, must use silicone ones..
as for pacifier, i'm not sure if it will work coz babies can tell the diff btw pacificer and teats..

I'm using breastpads tollyjoy $6.90 for 48pcs kiddy palace, milk bags blue egg
this is the cheapest supplier I can find
http://www.freewebs.com/mybreastmilkstoragebags/

if you dun mind those without ziplocks (got to tie with rubber bands), you can try playtex liners. its abt $13 for 140pcs..

coz I got limited space in my freezer, I use the ziplocks ones and I can lay them flat and stack up. no leakage so far

<font color="0000ff">dolly

my ameda can pump one side or both leh.. PIS so wierd??
i always pump 1 side by 1 side cos the suction power is same for both but my both sides cannot withstand the same pressure - one side will pain.. so i pump 1 side and massage alot with the other hand.. haaaa..

yeah man need a smaller pump that can be carried around.. most likely will get a manual one so that no need to worry abt power supply.. heard even electric ones that are able to run on battery, either batt die very fast (and therefore super heavy on the wallet) or power too weak on batteries..

so how? so far any ideas yet on which to buy? I am officially considering only medela harmony or avent something.. around 80 bucks wor.. so wanna gather more feedback before i invest..</font>

bbaugustine: my baby too has long nursing sessions! btw, is sucking on fist/thumb considered a hunger cue? I think i overfed her yesterday and she vomitted out quite a bit of milk.

HI Artist,

My daughter apetite still the same ince last Thurs. Sometimes finished 110 ml. Sometimes 80 mls, 90 mls. Today is the worse taking only 50 mls every 2.5 hrs.

So now i smart, i bottle feed her 100 mls milk in 2.5 hrs but divided into 2 feeds ( 1st hr -50 mls &amp; the rest the next 1 hr).

Can share with me if your bb also lost apetite after their vaccine?

Wow, so many posts!

Thanks all for answering my question abt pumping.

Caramelle - Long time no see... I was worried too that without bb stimulation, just pumping will not sustain milk ss.

Huajing - harros, how are u, long time hvn't seen u posting too...

bbcow- ur supply is really gd... my fren told me to start a regiment of 3hrly pumping and it will go up.. but i find it hard to balance btw latching and pumping

FatMom- wow already thinking of BB no.2... heheh.. yeah, Dolly's CL sounds really good and helpful. Most of my other frens CL are not supportive of TBF cos need to wash so many nappies...hehee

qi7- Do u latch Kaelyn? or do pure pumping?

SkylerMum- so as long as there's latching a day, shld be able to maintain supply with pumping...My mum was suggesting to latch in the day and pump at nite so tt it's faster... dono which way better also.. hahah

MummyAsh- Does ur baby encounter Nipple Confusion. I find that Noah kena confused cos we gave him btl at night since 2nd wk and once in the afternoon when i was hving Jamu massage. He started refusing to latch.. Had to 'retrain' him last wk... now dare not give him btl liao..

FirstMum - I think we are same category. My milk ss also abt the same volume... But it cld be tt we gave birth same day, so ss keeps pace with bb growth ba?? Hopeful! hahah

Artist- My fren buys the Looney Tunes wipes but for her 3/4 yr old to wipe hands ... she said she doesn't use it for her baby cos scared sensitive for their bottoms

Shirley - I noticed that Noah had an entire cranky week last week after his HepB jab... refused to latch too... now he is better. not sure if it is related to the jab or not...

Hi Shirley,

so far both my sons appetite ok after the 6-in-1 jabs. I also gave them the rotavirus and prevenar jabs together with the 6-in-1. maybe boys are better "drinker"??

the only time that my younger 2mth old son's appetite got affected was due to throat infection. he had fever then...

perhaps, is the teat hole too small for your child, that she finds it tiring to drink milk (such that she takes 100ml milk at 2 separate hrs)?

Hi sweethalo,

been using lots of baby wipes and wanted to source for cheaper wipes. saw some threads in forum that looney toons wipes are good and i was wondering where can i get the "authentic" ones. those i saw are from neighbourhood stores, made in china (when see "made in china" will get worried after the milk scandal)and was sold cheaply at $1 per pack (100 pieces).

Artist: The teat hole was small but all the while she was ok since confinement time. I also dunno whats wrong with her.

Shirley,
not sure what brand you are using... i already switched his teat to teat 2 (avent, for 1 mth onwards) before he turned 1 month old...

sometimes it is the teat hole that is too small. she got drink slower and slower or not? e.g. if usually she finsihed 100ml in 10mins, she got slow down by finishing milk at 20mins or longer? if so, it would be an indicator that she needs a teat with bigger hole. maybe you could try to change 1 to see if she improves in her milk intake.

sweethalo,
thanks... then i dun really dare to use the looney tunes ones... not sure the material is safe for children usage. maybe will buy to wipe my office desktop. haha... my desk gonna be very dusty after the long confinement period. haha

Artist: I changed to medium size teat on sat (NUK brand. The intake was the same. She used to take 110 ml easily in 15 mins (using small hole NUK teat).

Now, i gave her 100 ml, she will finish 50 mls only.

newbiemom, actually im also not sure if the sucking of fist/thumb is a hunger cue cos my son just started doing that also. Previously, if he was hungry, he will just keep opening his mouth and attempt to look for the nipple. As for sucking of thumb/fist, could be hunger or looking for comfort i think. Does your baby keep on suckling and refuses to sleep? Its like he needs comfort to fall asleep cos he doesnt seem hungry anymore. Mine is like that. Not sure what to do.

I tried giving the pacifier today and it gave my boy colic! sigh...so no pacifier and no bottle for my boy. My boobs will have to comfort and feed full time.

sweethalo: mainly pumping. occassionally latch to clear blockage/cranky refusing to sleep/increase supply.

Aisha started sucking her thumbs, esp when she hungry. but dunt think its a hunger cue. She rejected the bottle of EBM this morning when I went off to accompany my first child at childcare. my aunt had to use spoon to feed her.. =( oh no...

aiyoh chidori, i feel pain wn i press leh hw?? i no $ to see LC just for this.. i seen one at MT E she didnt say i mayb infection leh just help me latch bb on and press hard. will gynae know.. i seeing my gynae tomolo. what medi u tk? safe for BF?

stickymouse i PMed u.

Y bb bigger suck been weaker huh??? is it only for btl fed or all bb??

Jayden also like that.. last time use the teats ok now either too slow or too fast he just cry &amp; cry. smetime the same teat ok leh depend his state.. slpy or very hungry...

huh pacifier cause colic?? i just gave jayden gripe water today. he been crying after a loud fart..

didnt know fitti cheaper than petpet. how was it? i just bought petpet $16.80 84pc... M size

shirley - my son took his jab and rotavirus last sat..he suddenly lost appetite also..before de jab he was drinking 150ml 4 hourly..after de jab he is now drinking 100ml 3.5 hourly..

createjoy,

Don't worry, your boy will get use of the new skill - pass motion. :p He cried cos of the sound and it is something new to him.

My boy fart like it is part of him now.

dolly,
so envy that your boy learns to feed from bottle. So even now, during feeding time U still got to be away from sight?
My girl usually depends on her mood. So today she may be willing to feed from bottle but doesnt mean tomorrow will be the same. which means she hasnt learnt fully yet right?
Now I am trying to get her to feed from bottle once in the noon and the 1st feed after midnight. But when I heard her crying and rejecting, I will BF her.. or should I just let her learn the hard way? -_-~

createjoy,
i'm taking antibiotics, safe for breast feeding one.
after the LC help you press, if the lump did not go away means its not blocked ducts leh..
when i told the LC i tried to clear for 5 days already and she tried to massage and press for me.
asked me to pump, after pump, lump still there, she said most likely infection.
yes. the lump hurts. mine is near my armpit and hurts even when i lift my arms. after taking
antibiotics, pain goes away but lump still there

you can ask your gynae to take a look, they are able to prescribe antibiotics too.

vogue_mommy: I didn't train him, he feed on bottles because I'm out of the house or my CL think I need more sleep. So yeah, I'm always out of sight when he's on bottles.

BTW, my boy really attached to CL leh, he'll look at her when she put him down beside me for a feeding! So maybe that's why no problem giving him bottles. I shall ask my hubby to give him bottles instead!

hi mummies..

How do u noe when to stop pumpin?

1) by reaching the required volume?
2) by timing, eg 30 mins each side?
3) by the feeling of the breasts, like soft n tender liao?

pls advise..

sweethalo,
yea. im on partial BF only. hpefully one day i can full BF, but i doubt my supply can keep up. my boy can drink 100-110ml every 2hrs, even throughout the night!

shirley,
my boy is getting 5-in-1, i didnt notice any difference in apetite after her hepb jab at 1 month.

hayoki,
pneumo jab yes, cos my daughter goes to sch. rotavirus maybe not.

fifi n cash: Guess it depends on whether you are doing mainly latch or mainly pump. For my boy, he latches often and I only pump like once a day. I'll pump when my breast is hard, around 8 to 15 min, so that my boy can still have some milk. The volumes varies depends on whether my breast is very full or rock hard.

fifi,
i usually see the time.

as im using manual, it takes me abt 30 mins each session. so i'll pump for 20-30mins and stop if i see that there is no milk coming out liao. then do "dry pumping" (to stimulate more milk) for about 5 mins each side amd stop.

FirstMum- are u taking the pneumo tog with the 5in1? I just called up my PD clinic and they said it will be taken tog at 3mth. Just worried that the interim he is not protected but the nurse said, pneumo only taken fr 3mth onwards leh... then how come some of the mummies are doing 6in1 and pneumo at 2nd mth... strange

Is manual pumping painful? I heard it is...

Dolly- I just managed to get Noah to latch back and noticed tt if i don't pump often, my milk ss is fuller and always ready for him and he is happier tt way. so i think ur mtd is working4me.. now i pump less and only do so once or twice a day at most... ytd didnt even pump.

fifi - when i was pumping and latching few wks back, my fren told me to pump for 30- 45min. But now I find, that 20min for an 'untouched unlatched' breast and 10min for a latched breast is enuf to so called empty the breast but be ready if bb needs abit more milk later. I think I frustrated Noah last time by emptying breasts totally and he got fedup... probably felt cheated by me cos i asked him to suck on an empty vessel... hahaha

Shirley,
i happened to bring my son to see PD today. i asked her about the appetite thingy and she said some children's appetite might be affected by vacination.... hope her appetite comes back quickly. ;)

Hayoki,
i gave both my sons rotavirus and prevenar jabs.

comparing the NTUC diaper and Giant Diaper, which one is better? I find the tape of the ntuc diaper not so good. it is not so sticky and the diaper easily become undetached.in terms of absorbency, the ntuc diaper is also not too good... after 3 hours of usage, the ntuc diaper became sticky and wet.

sweethalo,
think the clinics have different schedules for the jabs. last time my son used to go to a clinic at paragon medical but later i switched to a clinic at toa payoh. i compared the schedules and found differences.

my son had his 6-in-1, rotavirus and prevenar at 1.5mths.

sweethalo,
There was initially some confusionmy boy shows,such as shaking his head in frustration at my breast then spitting out the nipple.. Bt i keep on trying and few tries later,he seems to be able to latch and drink bottle both at same time. Hwever,i noticed tt bottle feeding does make him a more impatient baby,so now in e daytime since my mil helps me as well, baby is on total bottle feed w ebm, bt i can fully latch him beautifully at night frm 11pm to 7am abt 3 to 4times in a peaceful surrounding in e bedroom. baby takes e pacifier at times as well esp if i need to calm him down to sleep.. So my conclusion is, there ll be nipple confusion bt baby can be trained to be used to e different teats eventually..

A note on wet wipes.. My sis in law just told me tt kodomo wipes r ok too.. Esp if get frm watsons sometimes, per pack is 2bucks, then can buy 10 free 1pack.. So much cheaper than current pigeon which im using.. Hmm..

So is fitti or petpet better? im going to get a pack later to try so tt can cut down on mamy poko! Used 1 drypers yest and it leaked like crazy after just 2hrs!!! The insides r coarse and nt soft at all.. And the stickers seem so cheapo and doesnt seem resealable. the price really reflects the quality itself. I dun even want to finish using e samples on my boy,cos his poor bum bum like reddish frm drypers.

sweethalo,
im not sure when pneumo jab would be administered but i guess it wld be the same time as the 3rd mth jab. do not be unduly worried abt baby not being protected in the interim unless u also have sch-going kids in the same house(some PDs will even tell you no need if you dont intend to send to infant care!). my elder girl only took before she started sch, but this time im a little but concerned cos my girl brings all sorts of viruses back from sch!

i have tried both ameda and medela electric pumps. actually i find electric more uncomfortable cos i actually feel "a current going thru my breasts"(even though my hubby thinks im BS-ing him)! manual was also painful initially, but now after a month its no longer painful to me liao. i used medela purelan initially when the nipples were sore.

how long does noah stay awake these days?

Mummy Ash,
while kodomo wipes are good, the sealer is of those sticker type... it became not so sticky after a few usage... and the wipes became drier...i tend to buy those with plastic sealer ones so i got the cheapo ones like ntuc and guardian (quite cheap during sales) but the wipes are not so moist compared to the expensive ones like J&amp;J ones.

my child used fitti and petpet before. both are quite good in terms of asborbency. fitti is the velco tape while petpet is those normal tape. fitti is softer to the touch but it is also quite thick. after a few rounds of urination, the diaper became heavy....

earlier saw fitti promotion $60 for a box of 6 packs... dunno now still have or not...

sweethalo: Good to hear that now Noah is more contented
I also find Kendrick kinda frustrated sometimes, but tat's because he latch very often (like 30 min hourly) and the milk supply didn't come that fast! And that left me wonder if my breast is making milk at all! But that doubt is cleared at night, cos he latch less, my breasts will be full like rock.

Actually can diapers last 3 hours in day time? My boy poo almost every feed, so got to change like every hour. Lucky using cloth diapers now