(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

LFB: You are not alone! Guess we are all going through the same thing, especially for first time mum

For your case, if you decide later that you'd wan to go back to work earlier, just do it! No need to restrain yourself too much on the one year thingy.

thanks for all of your concerns...

i've brought my boy to kidslink PD tis morning... well, my boy has bad reflux.., asked me to continue to give the medicine which TMC gave last week.

pd says my boy's reflux is above average kinda, so it's quite bad. plus yes, he got shallow stomach...so must take frequent feeds, lesser amts and must burp and prop him up, damn cham.

since back from pd, have been latching him every hourly since 3+pm till 7pm.

dolly200906: I'm not sure 3kg or not yet. But I'm getting slimer because of the BM i'm giving her my fats. next KKH appt the week after... hopefully she have gained some meat.

Hayoki: this is my second kid. My first boy I opt for 6 in 1 i paid $320 at polyclinic in yr 2006. I've been postponing my girl's hap b jab cos of her jaundice. since he doc at KKH gave the green light, I'm going next monday. I heard from my sister she also gave her kid 6 in 1 at PD and paid 2x my amt in 2006 yah...

And yes they did baby development check too. Í've chosen class C so KKH will ask me go polyclinic for the jab.Not sure about other classes/walk in cases...?

Qi: Good that you've lost weight! My weight didn't go down anymore... maybe when I do the binding next week my weight will go down :D

Wow, the 6 in 1 jab so expensive huh!

We weight our boy by carrying him w us during weighing, then minus off our weight. My boy didn't gain much, since birth though, maybe 500g

Dolly,
think it's the homones getting into me. Dunno why the fear and frantic! Now I feel better, but cannot guarantee I will be ok tmr! Ha ha ha! My only consolation is I have a very, very supportive hubby! He said I can choose to do whatever I want,i.e. hire a maid, go back to work, go my mom place everyday etc! He even told me if i am stress with expressing milk, just give up, though I bought the new Ameda pump. I am very touched cos he is so supportive and understanding! So I felt better after talking to him. Think I will try to be optimistic! Thanks!

Dolly,
I am left with 1kg from the weight I put on, but I am still very big! Cos these weight was pre pregnancy! LOL. I started my massage today! Wah, the binding and the herbs super uncomfortable! My massuer used this slimming gel that has a burning effect! Was so uncomfortable all day! Looking fwd to tmr 9am to remove it! My problem not the tummy actually, it's my arms and tighs. Very difficult to lose I know!

Qi7,

yup, the PD adviced us to give FM for 3 days and go back for review on Monday. Think nite time I will still give BM bah, else I will need to wake up make FM feed him and then express BM, so troublesome.

Hopefully by Monday, his jaundice level is lower. Really heartpain to c them take e blood sample.

dolly200906: do you know you will be giving baby your fats if you give her BM? my fats always stays on top of the bottle, got to shake it before pouring. Which explains baby's motion is mustard yellow colour, if you managed to pump hind milk out.

LFB: yes hubby support very important. Let me share my story:

Once I was sooooooooooooooooo tired, baby not sleeping much. She was crying as I was changing her cloth nappy. Guess what? In my hurry to finish wrapping the nappy and pick her up, I did not check the safety pin and poke her tummy.

and OMG she screamed and cried. I was so terrified and told my hubby when he came back. I thought he would blame me and scold me but he did not, instead he put his hand on my lap and sing: Everytime you touch me, I become a hero...

LFB: That's good... I'm big size (already XL before pregnancy) and I still got 7 kg more to lose! hahaha
Wow, have to wear the binding so long? Did she avoid your c-sec wound?

Qi: I'm on TBF and all latching on (cos I can't manage to pump much yet).... anyway, will think about losing weight only after my confinement.

qi7,
same, i also haf 8+kg to lose!!!!
wah.. ur hb is so sweet. but hor, i dunno how dat song is sung leh.
but nevertheless, he's so sweet!

qi7,

ur hubby is so sweet
indeed very important to have a supportive hubby now

After giving birth to #2, me still got 14kg to loss... I how miss my S size clothes just 2 yrs ago.. now L size le

Hubby
guess we all have good hubby we can depend on. I was telling him last night that when CL gone, I will take care of bb and thus probably for the first 2 months, I won't be able to cook, and do all the housework. He told me to forget abt housework and just concentrate on bb. He will do them when he is back. Honestly, when I am pregnant, he washed the clothes, ironed his working outfit, swept and mopped the floor! At times, still have to listen to my orders and bring stuff to me! Horrendous me! So I told myself I can do it with bb, although alone. Just have to pluck out the motherly courage and brace the world!

q17,
so nice of your hubby! He knows you tired. I cried when I realised that the cabinet was so moldy, and blamed myself for being so careless. Hubby told me it's not my fault and that thanks to me, I realised b4 things got worsen! I felt so much better!

massage
My massuer quite knowledgeable. I learn alot just from 1 session yesterday. The binding has this burning sensation that I totally dislike! But if I go into aircon room, the feeling is better. I have asked for the 1230pm slot. Will bath around 1130am, pump my milk at 12pm and wait for her to come. Hopefully my water retention will be cleared and I am not that puffy. She commented that I am still puffy due to the water in me!

mummies using fitti and mamy poko,
any idea what size I should buy for these two if my gal is wearing drypers nb (huggies is too small) now?

Hi qi,

i called up ployclinic, the price for 6 in 1 is $326.10. think it should be for 3 immunisation visits.

i am looking for normal GP around my place, think it is more convience.

chidori,
dunno leh... i knw mamy poko is really good, i find lah. can use up to 5kg.

nw my boy wearing mamy poko, and day time use petpet. i find drypers and petpet abt the same quality like dat...so dun really like both, but they are cheaper than mamypoko.

drypers and petpet, after a few pee pee, can smell on the outside of the diaper lor.. and somemore, my boy will cry cos uncomfortable.

caramelle- my lunch hour is only half an hour so it be impossible for me to pump milk...

so it good he is bottle feed & jus stored up the breast milk then get my friend to feed him when i pass to her..

anywher nesher is always hungry & wil cry for milk if not full... jus drank 120ml of breast milk...

styliciously- by pumping out breast milk.. i can see how much he drinking each day..

he already used to my smell & will peep & check if i ard & if i not he will start crying...
if hubby carried him he cry pass back to me he smile & look cheeky at me...

qi7- ??? u still stay at yr mum place?? who look after yr son??

bbjun- my boy also stretch alot till his face red but yesterday poly doc said it alrite as he growing...he didnt vomit milk out instead he pee & have start poo alot too

bb potato ll MTB- my boy jaundice went up 170 .. also did blood test & urine test...
no infection on urine test ..blood test result to check whether it is a good or bad jaundice must wait tomorrow poly doc call us...
poly doc said its ok to give him breast milk

qi7- my boy weight 4.2kg now.. poly doc said he gaining good wt.. 3.156 when deliver..follow 3.126 then 3.4 then 3.8 & now 4.2kg
in his 20 days yesterday

Annie: my hubby taking care of my son? My MIL *wont/refuse to take care of me so I'm staying here until Kaelyn turns 18mth and I'll move back. Meanwhile I can eat alot of good food here and mom's here to wash my cloth nappies. Otherwise, no one help me wash and cook for me at my hubby place I can faint. If I carry on my MIL diet of porridge and salted egg n salted veg... Less than 1 mth I sure no milk!

My boy's coming to stay over tonight till sunday. That's the few days I have precious time to spend with him, shower my love and kiss him all over. SIGH!

*whatever it is... I can't read her mind.

I'm using Fitti NB... I feel its better than drypers...

Annie,
wow! Your boy is in good weight! I dunno how heavy is my boy but last week when we brought him to PD, he was 3.78kg liao! I think he has gain cos he also a big eater!

Ahnetsan,
I also bought petpet, cos cheaper! Esp my boy poo alot, so I don't think it's advisable to buy those expensive ones! I am currently using Tesco brand I bought from M'sia, but going to finish liao! Initially wanted him to wear the cloth diaper, but once it's wet, he will be agitated and want to change. Then he can't sleep and have to feed. So to let him sleep well, I have started on diaper for day too. Bo bian lah!

just wanna vent my anger..ytd got a fight with hubby cuz of my #1..hubby alway complain to me how his family members spoiled my #1 and how naughty my son is now cuz everyone gif in to him when he started to cry/ throw temper..but everytime he only dare to complain to me but dont mumble a word infront of his mum..

den ytd my son started to throw temper again when i refused to gif him sweets since already bedtime..he started to throw his toy and cry lying on the floor..i ignore him but my mil/fil and bil all started to pleased my boy..of cuz he see so many people pleased him and mummy ignore him he cry even louder..my hubby just sit at the sofa watching tv..so angry..den i started telling my inlaws to go away and ignore my boy..cuz i find that by ignoring him is the best way to let him know that throwing temper wunt get him what he want and people will not pay any attention to that..but my inlaws keep saying shouldnt be harsh to him and dont let him cry too much..and they still pleasing my boy causing him to cry louder..i was soo pissed off and started to tell my mil off by saying "mother im trying to teach my son can u stop interrupting"..my hubby was angry with my remark and refuse to talk to me ytd..

Split,
sigh, this happens. Sometimes when in laws come into the picture, we cannot control. So frustrating. Actually, it's difficult. When my bil discipline my nephew, my mother will be heartpain and try to interfere. If I am there, I will tell her let him handle and don't bother, afterall, it's his son. You need a third party to say that. Maybe you can discuss with your hubby?

Split: Think it's best to talk to your hubby. Tell him that since he also think that his IL is spoiling your son, it's better for him to tell them off then you! Then you won't risk spoiling the relationship, but of course it depends on your hubby if he wanna speak up.

qi7: Good to have your mum w you at least for this 18 months! What happen after that can work out again
Some more can use cloth diapers, save money and less problem w nappy rash! Cos you really have to change very often. My CL was counting, think my boy uses more then 20 the day before and around 16 yesterday

LFB, my bil and sil both also not married so they also superb spoiled my son..they not parents they dont know how i feel..im so worried that my boy will grow up being an unreasonable person..but hubby only dare to complain and talk loud infront of my den infront of his mum or sibling he only keep quiet and watch..ytd i finally cant take it den started to tell them off but hubby still dare to get angry at me..i told him he should be the one telling his family off not me everytime my mum do something my hubby dun like he alway tell me to go tell my mum how come he dont dare to tell his mum not to do things?>

dolly we qurrel becuz of that loh..i tell him he should be the one telling den he angry and show me face..den nv reply me anything and now we still on cold war..

Split: Really tough on you! Guess you have no choice, for the sake of your #1, got to make the first move and talk to him again. If he dun wan you to talk to his family, and he dun like the way his family treat your #1, then who else can tell them!

My hubby and I also super sensitive when it concerns his mum. Just hope she dun come and bother us much. So far she visited us once, but will appear again tomorrow during our early 1st month celebration. Was asking hubby why he inform her about it, he said it's because she asked... huh Just hope she won't spoil our day

A few things:

Spilt cannot ignore your kid just because her throw temper. Must talk to him, make him realise what is right, n wrong. (sorry girl latched on as i type alot error)

Second, correct, you teach your kid BY RIGHT MIL FIL whoever in lawshould not interfere. Cos it's your kid. not theirs. talk to your hubby.last resort: tell him: if the kid grow up spoilt, tell him you wont be responsible and by then dont blame you!

Lastly, i agree he shoulld be the one telling his family off and not you. but there should have reason why he dont dare to tell them. why not check with him why?

ahnetsan and split,
thanks for the advice, my gal currently wearing pet pet s size too for day coz she poo about 5 to 6 times a day.. just bought mamy poko nb to try for night use..

chidori: My CL also recommend momy poko, so far have not bought any diapers yet, still surviving on the samples given cos my CL uses cloth diapers. She also tell me only buy one packet of size S will do, no need to buy too much cos baby might outgrown it very soon. The difference between NB and S is the length of the diapers.

BTW, where did you buy the mommy poko? Guess got to start buying once my NB size diapers are used up. She's using those free size S for me as well. drypers really not that good, cannot hold much of the pee, and so far it is the only one which leaks

qi7- oh Nesher cant fit newborn drypers anymore he wearing fitti small size...
ohhhh yr boy sure miss u

i cant bear to be apart from Nesher

LFB- ohhh mine also a big eater... going crazy soon today every 2 & half an hour he cried for milk

annie, wow your baby gained so much weight!! my parents complaining that my baby doesn't look meaty.. i also dunno how heavy he is now.. ask my husband to bring the weighing scale home later. i haven't even weighed myself since i delivered!! dunno how much i have to lose..

regarding BM, sigh, i think you ladies are right. shouldn't be so stressed about it. though it's something only a mother can do for her child, there's nothing wrong in supplementing with FM too... my BM output today has been better, slightly below pre-infection level and have been able to use my EBM to supplement feeds today most of the time.. i'll try to relax. got more let-down when i relax, unlike yesterday.

can't wait for confinement to be over. my hair very sticky.. though using the powder to wash hair still, nothing beats water and shampoo..

annie, my boy is worse! He cries for milk every 1.5 hr and gobbles down 3 ounces of ebm every session!.. If im lucky, he ll only cry for milk every 2.5 hrs.. I wonder if its normal, n if he ll suffer frm indigestion by drinkg so much!

need some advice frm some of u here.. is it normal to experience tenderness in breasts n sensitive nipples (nt sore) cos im doing exclusive pumping and occasional latching? .. e last engorgement was abt 3 days ago which i hoped had passed.. n there's always lumps in my left breast tho they become softer after each pumping (call lc at kkh n checked abt this,they told me nt to worry as long as lumps feel smaller or softer after each pumping or latching).. E thing is my nipples still feel sensitive, have to be extra careful when i rub myself dry w towel or wearg a bra etc..n just yest,i noticed a very small rash bump on my right breast aorela bt nt pain or itchy. is this normal or is it some kind of infection? Sigh.. I wonder hw long i can sustain breastfeeding.

amk_gal- i been bathing twice per day & yesterday having chocolates & potato chips hahahahahaha
Selisa tried to tempt me wif her mcdelivery meal but i already had mcdonal meal on my 2nd day confinement & pop corn chkn frm KFC las weekend..kekekekekeke she told me if jess know i having all these she be nagging at me...

Mummy Ash- if my boy cried every 1 & half an hour i be crying but i know BM not fulling at all...
as yesterday i put 125ml BM after his bath he finished up in less than 15mins..
he drank too fast & my father nickname him oh ba tok yao in hokkien mean hungry..
i worry i overfeed him but doc said he dont find Nesher tummy bloated or having winds...

Annie: you pump till foremilk or hindmilk? Hindmilk more creamer and fatter. Foremilk is more to transparent= beginning of the pump.

If he manage to drink hindmilk, he should be ok with 2 hrs gap... Or you can try, mixing forumla with BM in a single feed. Because formula milk takes longer time to digest compared to BM.

Mummy Ash,
my boy eats alot and I was worried. I checked with PD and he told me feed on demand. Last few days when my boy didn't have enough, he will cry and refuse to sleep. So now we give him more and he did sleep well after that. I asked my massuer and she said thatbb is growing, so is their tummy. So if they don't get enough, the only way is to cry for more. You can check with your PD. As long as the baby don't vomit out the milk should be ok.

amk_gal: lucky my CL let me wash hair, and I didn't know can use shampoo and bathing gel until this week
But after that she'll make me drink some diluted wine

MummyAsh: Check if you are having fever, it could be mastitis, amk_gal and fatmom kena that too. Maybe you let your baby latch on longer, more effective in clearing milk ducts. My breast will be hard early in the morning, cos baby sleep longer and didn't drink, but by the first feed it will get soft again. My nipple also sensitive, so just try not to knock it, rub it when carrying baby.

<font color="0000ff">qi7 : we using pigeon wide neck bottles.. the teats are the only ones my boy would use right now.. we try evenflo and nuk teats, he always refuse to drink and cry.. but the pigeon ones are really good.. gonna buy a few more..

re : diapers
we are trying Giant brand diaper now.. cheap and quite good actually.. size S,42 pieces cost $8 only..
says it's "cloth-like" diapers.. soft soft one, looks more comfy compared to the rest ..

think there's another brand also "cloth-like" type.. but forgot what brand.. saw at giant tooo.. on offer now..</font>

Qi7, im using nuk bottles now, silicon teats with small feed hole, which's supposedly suitable for feeding breast milk cos its thinner than formula milk. My boy had rejected avent bottles n i happened to have bought really alot of those!!!

Lfb, thanks for the advice.. I guess overfeed abit is better than underfeed bah.

Dolly, im nt running fever.. In fact i think im feelg well cos the engorgement phase seems over. Its hard for me to latch him cos my mil LOVES to feed him with bottle, i ll try to latch him again tonight then tho i had been realising tt he's getting impatient at my breast ever since teat is introduced. But he still like to suckle at e breast for comfort at times..

Its so tiring to bottle feed n pump n sterilize.. I dunno hw long i can sustain.. Its worse when im alone n baby is crying for milk n too hungry to latch and my breasts r full with milk to be emptied out with pump.. Sigh.

MummyAsh: You deserve some bonding time w you baby too! Just let your son latch on tonight, save the time sterilizing.

I tried pumping again, still not successful today, will try again! :p

hate it.. my 2 yrs old niece keep crying &amp; screaming loud to get wat she wan for tis past few days... poor Nesher couldnt get to sleep at all &amp; got frighten by her screaming &amp; he cried too... now he become cranky &amp; ther two green veins on his forehead... my friend was telling me he got scared &amp; nid to shou jin(collect thread frm mine &amp; nesher's clothing) to clear the green veins on his forehead...

told hubby jus now &amp; he very angry