(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

LFB: I'm like you, will be alone too when CL leave. Extending her stay though, hopefully for the next month. Then at least I can transition slowly. Me worst, so far cannot pump, so have to latch on whenever he needs. At night it's between CL and me, I latch she sleeps, when baby finish, we pass baby back to her. Then when he cries and she cannot coax, she pass back to us
Guess when CL is not around, we'll put the baby cot in our room for the next few months.

Anyone know what's the market rate for nanny?

Dolly,
I can't extend lah. Don't think she wants. Though I would love to have her stay for longer! But I guess I have to face the situation myself. No choice! Honestly, I think working easier! Sigh! But I thnk I must be there for my son! So will still tahan!

Yesterday I suddenly I have this thought. Many of my friends commented that their children grow up so fast! So I tell myself I must treasure all the time I can spend with him, cos he may be a big boy soon, and I will miss his baby look.

capriho: Doc says no scientific explaination as to ginger and wine will make juandice worst but breast milk still best for baby and do not stop.

My girl jaundice stays at 131 last week, and she is reaching 2 mths old. Doc say nothing to worry about since it's going down, but slower because I'm giving her BM.

Suntan timing: 8-10am, 4-6pm... afternoon sun is no no because of the UV rays.

Annie: my girl drinking 70ml (you know la) she premie and her belly is the only part fat! but when she cries for milk, i can hear her tummy growling! Why you giving FM?

Re: yen ping
She is ok la. She ask me to use the madela pump at KKH and my first pump I got bleeding around my breasts. I complained to her because I prefer my avent manual pump that time. the madela is too small for me.

I still prefer her superior, the Senior LC, Cynthia Pang. She saved me! She massaged my painful swollen breasts and then ask me to latch Kaelyn on and she cleared my engorged!

LFB: Pump 6 hr supply confirm drop, cos demand=supply. Maybe can try 4-5 hrs? Pump before work, lunchtime, tea time and when you go back?

I am lucky I got my mom around to cook for me and wash both mine clothes and kaelyn's nappies...

I tanker, I pump 3-4 hrly and feed my girl, change nappy. No one help me day and night. Anyone wanna see my panda eyes?

I'm super worn out but happy since I choose to give birth and seeing kaelyn's smile after her milk just before my sleep is perhaps, my energy to carry on. Sometimes at night I fall asleep while feeding my girl... hee... my secret!

Qi: Sometimes I fall asleep too, especially those 2-3 am feed, and suddenly wake and found that baby already unlatch. One good thing about latching while lying down. In fact, I can feed longer that way, cos dun need to hold baby.

hi mummies!sorry for not updating.been so busy.hubby came back on sat.we moved house on sunday and hubby flew back to melb on monday!!!

oh my gosh, - did i tell you.my right boob is bigger than my left boob.i dunno why???and when i pump for 15 mins on each side - i get 80ml from right boob and 20ml from left boob. i feel so retarded......

anybody else have this problem?

Tinybubu, my left breast also smaller than my right breast but both can give about the same amt of milk if I can fully drain them. 70-80ml from each. I think there is blockage on your left breast, that's why u only pump out 20ml. That's what happened to me previously and it took me a long time to find the blocked duct cos it's hidden within the breast tissue.

Tiny bubu: when I first started, I also 40 left side, 20 right side... then my girl keep unwanting to sleep in the noons so i just latch her on my right side, now its 60-60.

Dolly: I put my girl on my bed and lay beside her and hold her bottle. When I woke up, the bottle's on the bed and she's looking quiety at my room light. ha ha!

Qi: haha... my boy is latching on, so no bottle to hold though, even easier! I'm more scared I'll knock my boy accidentally, think I just kinda elbow him not long ago
He startled a bit then sleep again.

caramelle, is it normal if baby nurse for 2hrs 40 mins during growth spurt?? my baby is 21 days today. the poo is mustard yellow so hindmilk is not an issue.. it's tough not to supplement now cos i can't be sleeping 20 mins or even 10 mins at every 3 hour interval. i dunno wat to do now..

amk_gal: I'm not sure if my boy is having growth spurt... but for the last few days, he has urge to feed for hours... for the last 5 hours, he latched on 60% of the time. He just did a 55 min latch before finally doze off again.

I'm watching the : Jackson's memorial service at the Staples Center in Los Angeles Live and pumping milk hahhahahahah! entertained!

hi all!!

MIA ever since i give birth cos mom's plc no internet access!

tot of giving up bf le! ever since i give birth no engorment at all! even pump out onli 10 or 20ml even take supplement oso doesen't seem to help!!

btw will u gals brig yr bb go vaccination at polyclinic or GP or PD??

qi7,

how often do u go clinic to check ur baby's jaundice level after turning 1 mth? I've been going 2-3 times a week. Last week her reading was 211 at exactly 3 weeks old. Today going again..

Hi Jam75,
I will bring to PD. Apparently, some jabs must be indicated in the health booklet for schooling purposes in future. You can check this out. Why not consult a LC abt the milk supply?

Jabs
Are you pple going for 6 in 1 or 5 in 1? I am still deciding which one. Sigh, headache!

qi7,
I started increasing my no. of pumping today. Don't want my supply to drop. Now I am getting 480ml/day, so hopefully with the increase in no., I can yield more. BB eating quite abit. This morning he took 110ml, and 1 hr later, another 60ml.

Storing of milk
Can I ask. For those who pump more to keep, how do you keep your milk? Milk bag of bottle? I am running out of bottle now! Milk bag quite wasted cos use and throw. May have to go get some cheaper bottles(Puku or Pigeon) to store. Sigh.

Jam75: polyclinic

styliciously: every week cos my gal's a premie and till now after 1 mth plus she still having jaundice. Sigh... doctor say not to worry thou...

LFB: good to hear you are keeping with the supply. My girl also drinking funnily this morning. 730am she had 70ml. She seem not enough, I latched her on and she drink hungrily till about 9am. Then at 10am she had another 70ml!

RE:Storing of milk
I using bottles, I got about 30 over from KKH. 10 before I discharge, 20 from the senior nurse at special care unit. (I begged her and told her 10 not enough.)

I used milk bags when time to go up freezer. Otherwise is VIA cups, bottles, and puku milk bottle.

LFB: Good to hear there's supply! Why not try milk tray which Tinybubu has suggested?
http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=44&Itemid=31
I bought it during the fair, but yeah, haven't used it yet cos nothing comes out! hahaha
But then I just talk to a friend, she has exactly the same problem as mine leh! Can latch but cannot pump, and her problem just resolve like that aftr she went to work,so she can pump at work place in the end. I hope I'm the same

Jam75: hihi how are you? So you are doing total latch on like me?

dolly, I heard of this syndrome from a fren as well. It's called something like intelligent breast. Apparently, the breast can recognize the different between the pump and latching,and hence, not able to let go of milk when pumped. Heard that some are successful at pumping milk out after diligently letting the breast get use to the pump. Others resort to manual squeezing of the breasts to express milk.

Alright our breasts is smart!!! I also heard that the breasts coordinate closely with the brain to work out the milk flow. No matter latch on or pumping.

Can provide babý milk, can seduce men!

But er... manual squeezing for me will take days to squeeze out 120ml!

bbjun, qi: Wow, my breast so intelligent huh? How to make it dumber huh? :D
Yeah, manual squeezing will take ages and our hands will be exhausted too!

Anyway, I've no let down feeling when pump, but when baby suck, "ZOOOOM" I can feel the rushing sensation!

caramelle- i give Nesher formula milk too so tat sometimes he dont have to wait so long for us to heat the breastmilk kept in the fridge

qi7- almost 2mths... wow time really flies..now i dont even know the day & time as i looked so untidy & always felt so tired..
sometimes even imagine tat nesher cry but take a look & he still sleeping..
gave formula milk then he sleep longer & jaundice will go down fast but breast milk always not full for him.
yah yr mom is a very nice lady
helping u wif yr confinement & taking care of yr son too

I bought a mumsfairy supershield (m), but it dooesnt suit me - less supply cos I already used to my PIS funnel and got certain methods to extract more milk. Used twice only.. bought at $29.90 ($34.35 after adding postage)

Reselling @ $27 (absorbing postage)

Anyone interested?

<font color="0077aa">LFB as long as you pump your supply wont drop. principle is as long as you get the milk out of your boob, your body will replace by making more. you can do every 3 hours and this will only increase your supply (vs every 6 hours). don't worry about your work routine, as 3 weeks before you go back to work you can slowly decrease your pumping sessions eg from every 3 hours to every 4 hours until you get to every 6 hours. also consider tandem pumping which is pumping while feeding baby on other boob. this way you can increase supply and don't waste time. all the milk you pump now can be frozen and stored for up to 3 months.

you may want to consider buying milk tray from mumsfairy to store ur milk http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=44&amp;Itemid=31. after pumping you pour milk into the tray, it has tubes of 30ml capacity then put in freezer for 3 hours. after that, take out the frozen sticks and keep in a ziploc bag. if you're buying this, you may want to consider getting the pumping pal handsfree strap - will help when u pump and feed baby at same time.

dont be scared, when you pump you should do at most 30-45min (5min on each side and then 10min. alternate btwn boobs to get more milk so you only pump one side each time). after that you can still have about 1 hour rest in btwn feeds. at night, can ask hubby to bottle feed EBM so you can get additional 2-3 hours sleep. i havent bottle-feed yet, waiting for her to pass 1 month then will start this routine.

amk_gal, yes very normal for baby to demand for feeds throughout 3 hours but just make sure you're not giving from only 1 boob! later pain. so give one boob for about 15-30mins, burp and change diaper - to give you a break and baby a change of activities, then after that go back to same boob. maximum 45min per boob then must switch. if got EBM can ask hubby give that too while you rest.

Annie, you give FM because of jaundice is it? are you using warmer to warm up BM? i believe this is faster. and what about latching on? easiest and quickest

hi all.

been feeling very sian these days...

everyday has been washing and washing bottles, sterilising and sterilising bottles, pumping and pumping, latching and latching, soaking baby's clothes, washing baby's clothes, hanging baby's clothes, changing diapers, cleaning poo and pee, listening to dat 1yr+ old boy's noise, all he knows hw to say is "er er er" all the way all day long!! it's so sian...

sibei irritating and 'fan' everyday... i find this life worse than working life.

looking for jobs recently, still no interviews... times are really bad.....

everyday feeling so tired and sleepy...
everyday find dat time passes so fast, yet the days passes so slow...
everyday scare/worried dat ms will suddenly stop!

my boy is only 1month old...
everyday must feed him wif zantac, hopefully his reflux, colic, protein allergy will get better.....

everyday i must take note of wat i eat.. cannot eat milk, dairy products, cheese. ....

cos of bfg, cannot go dye hair.... getting sian of it...

feeling so sleepy again... and everyday aching all over... back, arms, shoulders....haiz...

caramelle- i try latching on but he don wan ..he used to bottle feed &amp; it be easier for my friend to take over once i went back to work..
no i didnt use warmer...

Annie: Since baby still less than 1 month old, can try latching, no worries about your friend not able to bottle feed, your baby sure know how to do that! But just afraid of nipple confusion because you are the one feeding bottle and latching at the same time for now. My friend whom I just mentioned just now, her babies very smart, whenever mother is around, they will refuse bottle, but when mother is out at work, they take bottle! When she reach home and baby happens to be feeding, baby will reject the bottle straight away and go for mum!

Ahnetsan: You can try latching also, save time sterilizing

After reading the posts, I'm lucky to have my CL w me now, cos I only need to feed and try to find time to sleep. She'll do the rest, but of course she's not going to be around forever lah

dolly- its okay for me whether he latch on or not as long he is healthy i m happy..

ahnetsan- my MIL more jialat...my baby sleeping she go shake him to wake up...

Cramelle,
my freezer got meat stuff, can use milk tray?

qi7,
I got some glass bottles from TMC, but no cover cos supposedly to put the teats on, so cann keep the milk. Now have to decide to buy bottle, bags or tray. Think tray may be more cost saving. But I am worried abt hygiene level.

<font color="0077aa">Annie, oh yah u mentioned before about the bottle feeding. but give him EBM if you can so can build his immunity in future. and as what dolly said, try latching again. im also going back to work in few months, but my plan is to give total BM for as long as i can, so until the 3rd month i will do latching with bottle feeds at 10am slot so as to get her used to this. in 4th month i will increase bottle feeds for remaining hours in the day when im at work and also pump during those timing where i know i can pump at work i.e. lunch time 12noon and 4-5pm. not sure if i can pump on the way to work cos i take those private bus so if 8am can pump will be good but see how cos pump pump need to sterilise which i find very troublesome. else i will try to time her feed at 7am so i can BF her before i go to work and at home when i get back also BF her.

we all want the best for the babies and can only try our best right? hope it works for you

Netty, thanks for providing the info. Actually baby is much better now. yesterday he was awake in the evening to play and he slept well at nite, going back to his routine of waking up about 3 times to feed, abt every 2-3 hours then going back to sleep straight after. But I will still look out to see if there is this link btween the overstimulation and the crying.

Caramelle, now I am more familiar with his temperament and his crying patterns so I am better at calming him down so he doesnt cry that much anymore. Whenever he starts the colicky cry, I will hold him a little more upright than usual and rock him a little. He will usually burp and fall asleep after. I will only feed him after he calms down cos feeding him when he cries makes it worse. When he is colicky, hubby and I do take turns to soothe him or else it is really tiring for 1 person cos it can be quite persistent sometimes.

<font color="0077aa">LFB, should be okay because the tray has a lid to shut. looks like ice cube tray but it's made of BPA plastic. if unsure can call mumsfairy to check with them. mine also have meat but i have a separate "drawer" to put ice cube trays so i will put mine there.

btw, what's the deal with BPA? does it mean no need to sterilise?</font>

<font color="0077aa">LFB forgot to mention that this milk tray no need to sterilise one. according to the brochure it's because it's made of BPA plastic. hygiene i think cleaner than using bags because it may spill during the transfer? but if use milkbags/bottles u must remember to only pour out what you need and put the bag/bottle immediately back into fridge after that. this is to prevent wastage.</font>

Caramelle,
my milk bags are all on the top rack, away from the meat. Thinking of getting the tray as can be use in future.

I am into breastfeeding cos I think our milk are easier to digest and can save money. With FM, got to spend more money. Moreover, diapers also need money. Sigh. Really alot of output. But when I see his face, I think all worthwhile, esp the pumping! That's the worse job of the day!

<font color="0077aa">bbaugustine, good for you for having discovered baby's pattern! now you can better handle him. agree that baby needs to calm down before we can give them anything else everything in vain!</font>

Being really tired.

Baby having colic. I also having problem when pumping. No much milk. N baby very sleepy. Not sure he has enough or not. And I don't have milk letdown feel as dolly described. Now letting baby to drink fm with bf.

ahnetsan,
hang in there! get some time out doing something u like at home. the chores can wait a day. Y don't u fully latch on.. saves the trouble handling the bottles!

annie,
it takes time for ur baby to learn to latch.. better start now or never. bottle is the easier way for baby. what dolly say is true. I usually let someone else bottle feed. Ur baby recognize ur smell, once ur baby knows how to latch on,he will prefer latch on than mummy bottle feeding

milk storage:
i use both bottles and medela milk bags. previously, I even use 250ml milk bottles to store coz can fill up til almost ard 200-250ml from 1 session. Milk bags i try to use only when my breast are full so can pump both side/2 bags at one go and when no more bottles.

bottles - can't write/no space to write date/time (impt to know date/time esp when freezing), limited bottles unless u collect free glass bottle but re-usable

milkbags - can write date/time and especially medela milkbags, dunt need to transfer milk after pump, just seal and freeze. will cost more than bottle but u already saving money when not using FM. Lanoish milkbags are popular among mums. Its cheaper if u get from online/someone else, than buying off the shelves. I managed to get 100 Medela milkbags at $0.50 each. will cost $1.40+ if i get off the shelves. I think I will use more milkbags once Aisha is in infantcare. For now, I'm fully latching on.

Milk trays - personally i find it expensive and troublesome, make u do extra work. Need to pop from trays and keep in separate bag. Won't the milkstick stick together? and from frozen to warm milk, will take longer to warm up. I rather defrost 1 milkbag then go thru the extra steps and wait even longer to warm up the milk.

caramelle: BPA plastics does not mean dun need to sterilize, but for the milk tray it cannot be boiled, the sales lady said just baby detergent and hot water to clean.

LFB,
the glass bottles from TMC, u can use the nuk coloured covers and teats. and den can use le. dun waste. cos those glass bottles can be used to store milk one.

hi mummies, havent logged for ages since childbirth 12 days ago!! And it os an awfully sweet but LONG and slow 12 days! .. I think everyone of us who is a first time mum is tired, myself am really really tired.

I was literally washing my face with tears for the first week.. My mil is doing confinement for me but she dun stay with me, and as usual, anti breastfeeding. In the initial days, i was latching my boy every hr cos he's always hungry.. N my mil ll make cynical comments abt him nt gettg enuff frm hi mum, ie me. .. "so poor thing,. Hen ke lian hor.. No milk to drink...".. This goes on for a week.. Until i cant tahan anymore and resolve to solve the problem by doing exclusive pumping. To some mummies who are doing this as well, just an encouragement, my milk supply is slowly buildg up i guess, pumping per interval of 3hr each, with each session output of abt 4 ounces, sometimes can reach 5 or 6 ounces.. but the tiring thing is the sterilizing part... Then bottle feed him, burp him, then hopefully he sleeps.. Then rest for a while, really just a while, then the cycle repeats... Sigh... but this resolution had settled my mil who can see hw much her grandson is drinkg.. Plus it allows my nipples to take a break! .. nowadays i only latch him at night before he goes to sleep.. Or at times when he is really cranky where he will find some confort at the breast then..

my review on the handsfree sling and the shields frm mumsfairy, i find them v expensive for the quality .. BUT they serve their purpose tho.. Pumping is now less tiring,i no longer have to hold my milk bottles while slouching! .. In fact, im typing this on my hp n pumping at e ssme time! Heh ..

im currently also using blue egg milk bags. They r cheaper than medela and lansinoh... N i think e quality is nt bad too... For storag w/o freezing, im using 3m posticks to label e pigeon bottles.. And btw, for those glass bottles fr, hospital, e caps can get frm hospital pharmacy i think,i saw them at mt alvernia yest..

Btw, is anyone still experiencing lumps in e breasts?? .. Im concerned.. My lumps r alwasy there in e left breast, tho they get smaller after pumpg. n nipples tho have healed, r alwasy still sensitive... called lactation consultant, she told me its normal. Anyone experiencing this nw?

Tts abt all... cheers to all mummies here.. its really nt easy eh? .., jia you!!

called LC this morning to update about my blocked ducts and infection. no more fever, lesser lumps. LC say can go back to pumping, cos baby always hungry. she suggest i supplement with FM first to tide over the growth spurt.

did a pump. PATHETIC OUTPUT of 25ml combined after pumping for 30 mins. no letdown at all. very depressed. dunno why output can drop so drastically just by not pumping for a day. not even enough to feed the baby so now supplementing becomes mandatory, not a choice anymore.

Dolly,
thanks for the link. Will take a look.

Mummy Ash,
yes, can be tiring. Many went through this phrase, jia you! Mine not yet cos CL still here. Think I will experience in 2 weeks time! I saw the caps you mentioned b4, but now dunno how to go and buy! Sigh!

Noise
my bb will make "urg, urg" noise when he drinks milk. The last time thought was phlegm so I asked doc. But doc said it's k, cos not in lungs, will be out. Now the noise still there. I wonder whether I should bring him to PD. Quite heartache to hear this noise.

amk_gal,
don't be dispair, this happens. Pump regularly and the supply will come back. Must be optimistic and rest well. I read that our emotion plays a big role. DOn't worry, jia you! You need to rest well to have supply coming in. Take care!