(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

thanks LFB... my family keep saying that not everybody will have a lot of BM one.. i dunno how true is tat.. nature so unfair meh??

maybe i too stressed la. have not enjoyed my confinement at all. everyday stress this stress that. hai! maybe just bo chap everything and things will be better.

amk_gal,
well, I spoke to many friends, not all have BM. One of them is a pastor wife. She is mother of 3, and none is fed with her BM cos she don't have. When I asked her, she said,"don't have, what to do?" She took it very well and used FM for all. Her kids are so healthy and strong! Even took part in kids marathon recently! So you see, it's fine. Just do things within your comfort level. I give BM in the day, FM(2x) at night. Now got time pump more. Hubby told me. If I am stress wuth pumping, he rather I stop and give FM. To him, being stressful and taking care of bb is no joke. So he rather I am happy and taking care! I try my best to pump cos I want to give my bb as much BM as I can, and also save him some money! FM expensive lah. But honestly, still affordable lah. So don't stress yourself. Babyhood is very short. Yesterday I told myself I will try to enjoy and be a part of his babyhood, b4 he becomes a toddler. If I am stress, I will not be able to enjoy and witness that. Let's give one another support!

amk_gal, LFB
I also belong to your group. Pumping of milk supply different everyday. Making me worst when baby demand feeding every hour at night.

Now latching baby at 2/3 hours feed at day time and give the 1 or 2 FM at night.

Baby now nearly 6 wks old but very sleepy. Will seek advise from PD when I bring him for the vaccine on friday.

Bluedream,
my baby is only 3 weeks old, but he is taking a lot of BM. Per feed, 2 hr interval abt 120ml. Sometimes not enough! I asked doc whether this is ok, doc said to feed by demand. As long as he can eat, let him. I therefore try to pump as much as possible for him. Somehow or rather, I am quite afraid of latchin, don't ask me why. So I exclusively pump. My worry now is when CL leaves, whether I can do it. Also the night feed and taking care of bb alone! Need to pray very hard and ask God for strength and wisdom!

LFB, I have the same concerns as u when CL leaves tomorrow. Not sure if I will have time to pump. I dun mind latching but somehow I prefer to pump and watch the amt my boi is taking. Besides that, due to his excessive built up of mucus that blocks his nasal passage, he is now on medication to clear some of it. So I need to add the medication to his milk to let him take that. Latching wldn't allow me to do this. I have been keeping records of the timings and amt that my boi drinks for the past one week (including the time he poo poo) and plot out the trends. Using that to plan my schedule and his so that I can still pump milk for him. Hopefully that works out fine.

As for milk amt, every baby has growth spurts at different point. My boi is 4 weeks 1 day old today. Brought him to clinic to check his lungs as I was so worried if he has asthma when he started to have breathing probs ytd. Weigh him and he gained a whopping 1.8 kg in just one month. He drinks about the same amt as your boi but can sometimes drink at 3hrs interval when we manage to coax him back to sleep, instead of 2hrs. There are also times when he just finished 80ml. So just feed according by demand. BB will not eat if he is full.

amkgal, I agree with LFB. Don't be stressed about BM supply. I was stressed about it at the beginning, cried and had borderline post natal blues as my boi also has colic. Soon, I realized that there is nothing wrong with supplementing with FM. Even though I have enuf to give my boi BM through out now, I still continue to supplement him with 2 FM feeds at nite as well. Take it easy and with less stress, your BM ss may increase as well. Remember to eat healthily, drink lotsa soup, fish and longan red dates tea. For the past one month, I have been stuffing myself with all the good food just to bring up my milk ss. Now that it has been established, I can now focus on having a more sensible balanced diet to lose wt liao. All the elders keep nagging at me not to eat too little during confinement and not to lose wt during confinement. So do try to build up your strength and health so that u and your body is able to provide and care for your baby.

bbjun,
I kept a schedule eversince we come back from hospital. I realised that there is no schedule at all! He can drink anytime and everytime he is hungry! There are days he will sleep through the afternoon, and there will be days he is awake. So I decided that only pump after he sleeps. My pumping has to follow his sleeping time, not his feeding. Ha ha ha!

I realised that BM didn't increase when I increase my number of pump. Will do it for 2-3 days. If still like that, I rather do 6hr interval. Like more milk leh!

I'm a second mom I'm tired too!

Correct! Pumping, steralize, feed... no time to rest. I feel like giving up breast milk!

dolly200906: keep pumping even blank will trigger let down esp with pumps with petal pattern.

annie: yes but this girl she don't care so i'm tied up iwith my girl and no time for my boy when he comes over the weekend.

LFB: pump longer time even blank no millk nvm. Keep doing this the brain will tell breast: make more milk cos baby keep drinking =increase volume. or latch baby on after/before pumping works!

bbjun: you see doctor regarding mucus that blocks the nasal passage? I told the doctor at kkh my girl have that, she say nothing to worry!-_-"

qi7,
usually when I pump 6hr interval, I can get at least 480ml/day. Today I do extra cycle, only managed 380ml so far! Even with another 90ml at 12am pump, I also have 470ml. Sigh. Hopefully this is the start and the breast will take hint and start to increase in supply.

Dunno whether is it due to pumping more, I am more tired these 2 days. Slept in the afternoon and now I am still tired. Will watch CSI and do the 12am pump. At least I can sleep till 6am to do another pump!

can someone explain to me regarding baby bonus and CDA? Are they the same? I understand there is a cash of $4000, but what is it abt the top up by govt under CDA? If we use the CDA, can we still draw out the cash? I am totally lost and dunno what is going on.

lfb : cda bank account is where for every $1 you deposit, the govt will also deposit $1.you cannot withdraw the money in this bank account but you will be given an ATMcard where you can use whatever money you have in this bank account to pay for baby's doctor's appointments etc etc. Once your child is6 or 7 years old, the money in the cda will be transferred to his edusave.

baby bonus money is like a thank you gift from govt.they will deposit the money in your own bank account.you can use the money for anything you want - diapers,formula,dinner at a restaurant or even a new handbag. hahhaaha.

qi7, the mucus is so bad that my boi has difficulties breathing. He actually screamed when he can't breathe. PD did the check up today and realized that the right nasal passageway ends up a little swollen and with the mucus, my poor boi of cos cannot breathe properly.

The mucus thingy - PD says is normal for bbs. Unless it is affecting breathing, there is nothing worry abt and it will take as long as a few months to clear up.

LFB, try to pump more frequently like what qi7 says. I did that for a few days and my ss went up. Of cos, it's super tiring when doing that. But it's the approach to take if u want to increase supply. It just don't happen within a day or two.

Tinybubu,
thanks for the explanation. Ok, that means I need to open a OCBC or Stand Chart acc, put in a sum of $$ and govt will match that amt, right? The I just bring my bank book to any bank and the $4000 will be credit into my acc. Right? I was told for the $4000, I have to wait for govt letter, is that so? Then for the CDA, can use for paying for Stemcord, right? Sorry, so many questions. I am totally lost! TIA!

bbjun,
ya, will con't and see how. BB drinking more now, so must produce more to match his intake. Think I have to be patient. Thanks!

Mummy Ash: What a good way to show your MIL that you've got milk!

amk_gal, LFB,BlueDream: Are you all being too obsessed with the amount of milk which you can pump? I dun have the privilege to have EBM yet, so I just let my boy suck whatever I have. And I really have no idea how much my boy drink
Dunno = nothing to worry

LFB: My hubby did it altogether at the ICA when he's making the birth cert, the form for CDA account is submitted via ICA leh. And for the cash gift, there's a form to fill up and put down the account number, also submitted to ICA at the same time.

Qi: Thanks for the advice, I skip the pumping today though :p Will try again tomorrow.

Tiny bubu: I like your idea! new handbag! I'm trying to add another LV to my crazy collection! YUMMY! but I'm trying to exercise self control... oterwise my money gone easily... having difficulties finding job... anyone wanna employ me? hoho!

I'm trying to stay awake for the next pumping at 1130....otherwise ask me rest on bed=sleep=likely to skip pumping... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Qi: Managed to stay awake? My boy manage to make me awake by coming over before I even fall asleep... now hope he sleeps a bit longer

my poor boy has been vomiting many many times today...

cry and cry and den vomit...
stretch and stretch and den vomit...

vomit alrdy, den after a while, hungry...
latch him or bottle feed,...den after a while, vomit again....

haiz.....

Dolly,
sigh, we didn't do it. Now I guess I have to get hubby to read and process.

Pumping
Actually I am ok with any amt, just as long as I have enough for the baby. So what I did was to add 2 extra pump now. Obsessed with amt? Not yet! Ha ha ha! I am just more worried abt container than milk amt!

Ahnetsan,
think you should get a second opinion for your boy. He is drinking only BM or you add FM? If you add FM, he may be allergic to it. Monitor and if need be, bring to the PD. Baby can only communicate through crying and PD should be able to know what's wrong. Take care and hope he is better soon.

ahnetsan, I think you should bring your boi to see PD. My PD just told me that all that stretching my boi is doing, more than half of it is due to the wind in his tummy. When he stretches so much until he uses so much strength, he will vomit some milk out. Do monitor the amt of milk vomited out. if it's small amt, it's fine.

<font color="0000ff">re : EBM amount

yeah the amt i'm getting out suddenly dropped drastically after the recurrent episodes of lumpiness and clogged ducts.. from 4 ounces now max 2 or 3 ounces.. but good, now no more lumps liao and perpetually soft soft.. feels better at least..

now i'm trying to get the amount back up so my boy got enough to drink during the night feeds.. but tough lah, so supplement with FM..

i read that if also latching, the most you can get out of a pump may be 1.5 to 2 ounces.. cos that's kind of "extra" out of what the baby actually reuqires (the supply/demand thingy).. and of cos bb gets much more from latching because latching can trigger multiple letdowns (whether we feel it or not) whereas using pump maybe at most 1 letdown..

i guess it's more stress on the amt if exclusively pumping ba~ cos that's all there is huh.. now i'm trying to pump more so that combine a few pumps can have enough for ONE feed for my boy.. LOL..
so yeah.. also worried about containers right now..</font>

<font color="0000ff">ahnet >> is it like projectile type of throwing up?? in large amounts?? Need to see PD leh.. at least have some peace of mind?? else u will worry yourself sick!!</font>

MORNING TO ALL PANDA EYED AND LOVELY MOMMIES!!:p

dolly200906: yes i stayed awake. Did a pump at 1130, 4am, 8am.

11beans: i think its all to do with body and pumps... my avent duo i can get 3 let downs in a single pumping session of 20 min. my sis got max 2 with the same pump.

both my sisters have tons of milk tofeed their kids till almost 1 year w/o giving FM. so my mom LOVES to compare but that does not pull me down! At least I know this time I can feed my girl at least 6 mths, and when my 3 yr old boy comes over the weekend, i'll still throw 60ml BM to mix with his FM.

RE: throwing up
my sister's kid also keep throwing up. When to see PD, PD says her stomach is very shallow. So her feeds is like half of her usual feed very 1/1/2 hr.

Qi: Good perserverance! For me no choice cos my boy will wake us up for the feed.

My boy has quite a number of pimple like stuff on his face, any other babies facing the same thing? Anyway to cure?

Pimple will go off on its own... DO NOT POKE IT!

dolly200906: my BM is my best gift and make up for giving birth to her when she's premature. So no matter how hard I will squeeze time to express my milk...

If forehead have dead skin and oil, i see doc and she gave me hydroderm for it. work wonders!

Since day 1 i jagga my girl on my own, everytime I pump if she's awake and crying, i will put her to lay on my lap while I pump, dangerous but it seems to quiet her down if she is crying...I think my leg's warmed her. hahahahah!

Q: Any hubby try to taste your BM?? Mine did and he says it sweet... I didnt try so I dont know.

bbjun, didnt know stretching is due to wind in tummy.. my boy always stretch till face red red oso then vomit milk out too.. sometimes a little bit, sometimes quite an amt..

have put him on medication for wind, but dont dare to let him eat everyday. Is any baby taking gripe water or wind drops everyday?
hopefully things improve soon.

LFB, storing of milk, i used glass bottles from hospital. Apparently, my sister in law went to get or beg alot of glass bottles from the nursery free so they bought just caps for storage of the BM. They gave alot to me, but i only used less than 10 bottles cos not much milk then after drink aredi wash and sterilize can use again

My boy has pimple on his scalp too! But yeah, my CL say dun poke it, though very tempted to

Qi: Your gal just wanna be close to you lah
You very good! Can jagga your girl all by yourself!

skylermum, ya lor. same same.. stretch until face and body also red. Yet these elders are telling me he doing exercise to grow bigger. duhz. I was surprised when PD told me. Then he put his hand at my boi's tummy and beat.. Super hollow sound. Poor boi. My boi is on wind drops everyday now. No choice. Else he is so distressed that he can't sleep properly. PD says it's best to give him than to create a vicious cycle for him to continue to take in more air through crying.

BM: ya... it's sweet. I licked one drop of my hand once when one breast leaked while I was pumping the other one. kekeke..

bbjun, my mum oso say they doing stretching exercise.. i thought it's normal and didnt ask PD or think otherwise.. poor thing, so much wind in tum..i hope they will grow out of it soon..

thinking of changing his FM to mamil gold oso.. if things dont improve.

yeah BM is sweet. cos i always taste my BM before giving to my boy. hee but sometimes it's bitter

bbjun: Take a cup and put under the other breast when pumping the other one. Don't waste any drop man! our BM is precious!

I always bring my kids to polyclinic... sorry but I'm a cheapo mom... sigh. NO MORE LV!!! ahem...

*hide*

Haiz, my boy's jaundice level still very high, 15.6, during e checkup yday. Did blood and urine test.

Blood test passed, liver is ok. Nw waiting for e urine test to b out. PD asked to give full FM for the next 3 days to bring down the jaundice level. Bb just had his 1st FM feed. So far ok. Hope monday, his jaundice will b down and can continue BF-ing.

Hi LFB

i'm selling my pumping pal handsfree strap, used only twice. Bought at $27.90($35.90 including postage). Selling at $25, pls let me know if you are interested.

With the glass bottles, u can buy the covers or caps at TMC pharmacy (comes in pink and blue) at abt $1 each.

i also try to keep a feeding schedule for my boi but PD advise to just feed on demand for now.

cocoswirl,
thanks, but I am looking for something cheaper. Thanks anyway!

I am very sad and angry today! While looking for clothes for my bb to wear, I saw some greenish powder stuff on one of the shirt! It was mold! I was wondering how does the mold get to the clothes and lo and behold, I saw the whole back board of the cabinet covered with mold! I mean the entire board! I was shocked to the max! My first reaction was to remove the clothings and wipe the back(stupid me!). Then I looked into the drawers and saw the internal all with mold! Tell you, I was so disgusted! Then fear came in! My boy been wearing clothes from that cabinet! His mittens, diapers, wash clothes, napkins all inside! I was really very angry and agitated! Imagine the mold my boy get in contact with??? I called up the company and told them what happened. Apparently, this is common. They have received complaints of moldy furniture before! They promised a credit refund, but what's the use of money!!! I called PD and he told me to check. Wash all the clothes in that cabinet. Then monitor my boy to see got rashes or cough. I felt so bad, that I allowed such incident to happen!!! So mummies, pls be careful. I won't state the company name, but trust me, all of you bought someting from there before certainly! It's a affordable and trendy place to shop for furniture!!!

LFB,

so sorry to hear that.. hope your boy is ok..luckily you found out today..
meanwhile, you can get those plastic storage drawers (abt $27 for 4 tiers) from ntuc hypermart to store ur bb clothes..

Sorry to intrude. My wife is selling her Medela Freestyle breast pump. Still brand new. Seldom used.

Please PM if you are interested. Thanks

------------------

1. How old is the unit?

Bought this year. Can't remember which month. Also, the battery is brand new. Never charge before.

2. Any warranty?

Yes still have.

3. Local set (bought locally)?

Bought locally.

4. How much r u guys selling it?

Please PM me. Currently market price is $998. Robinson is giving 15% discount. I think the cheapest you can find will be at CK Tangs. 10% discount plus member 12% rebates.

5. I assume its a full set with the carrier?

Yes. It is a full set. The one that you see at the store. My wife is giving away the mum fairies super shield also. I think she has 2 sets of it.

hayoki: It's alright... the nurses generally have to be trained nurses to give injection. Usually very fast will be your turn. Polyclinic will assign their own queue numbers specially for kids below 8 and elderly folks so the waiting time and see doctor time also very fast. Everytime I went to test janudice i spend about less than 1 hr there... blood test and wait to see doctor.

LFB: Sorry to hear that... like what dolly says does it starts with I ends with A? I have a cupboard bought from there to store my clothes. My boy's clothes are in toyogo box. Girl's in a small toyogo box and trolley. I love toyogo to bits, never fail me.

BBpotato: Huh your PD said to give FM ah? I heard from doctor FM can bring down juandice faster. But still she ask me to carry on give total BM. Mine that time was about 131, 2 weeks back. That stupid CHINA nurse (*&amp;^$#%%^&amp;&amp;(_)_O)*&amp;^from KKH squeezed out 2 big tubes of blood from my girl's small hand and she cried until her voice become hoarse. And thankfully liver and urine passed too.

MY girl already so tiny... 2 weeks back still weight at 2.5kg still want to squeeze so much blood and make her cry ... Me heart pain man....

Erm... I'm the only mom who deliver 1 mth earlier than EDD here huh?

Just finish another feed, baby managed to sleep for more than one hour after the marathoon feed... but I think he's starting another marathoon again

Qi7: Look at my records, SkylerMum also around 1 month before EDD leh. Premies are smaller, how's your girl now? More then 3 kg?

Dolly, qi7,
sigh! I just cannot believe what I saw this morning. Anyway, will leave it alone now. Will monitor bb, praying hard nothing will happen!

Think due to the incident, I am like into depression! I suddenly so worried that whether I am going to be a good mother! I am so, so worried abt my ability to care for my bb! I doubt I can handle him alone at home! This fear is really so overwhelming that I just can breakdown and cry! Anyone like me????

<font color="0000ff">dolly

marathon feed ?/ how often u feeding?? these few days my boy every 1 hr drinking leh.. but he like no stamina one, at most 15min and he will fall asleep.. so when i desperately need a rest i give him EBM (like now).. wah but you very steady.. i feed 15mins i also become sleepy like my boy.. lol..</font>

<font color="0000ff">aaah LFB..

u wanna ask ur mum come stay with you like at least for the beginning after your CL leaves?? Then u got time to orientate abit ma..

i was so worried too.. so end up got a maid.. cos my hubby travels quite a bit for work..</font>

11_beans: Today my boy starts at 10:30am, feeding for 10, 20, 15, or 30 min, then rest for 10, 20, 15 or 30 min and feed again. It goes on like this till 3pm, then he sleeps a bit longer, like an 1.5hour... then start again, he's already fed 2x30min since he wakes and he's about to cry for milk again! Interval is less than 30 min ;)

11_beans
cannot get my mum over cos she has her business and also help taking care of siblings kids. Dunno why I am so agitated today! Just felt so hopeless and helpless, like it's a wrong idea giving birth! I just cannot phantom this problem! Think I should just pray very hard for God's strength! I am used to frantic lifestyle and suddenly the boredom and lonliness just eats into me. I am like so fearful of the coming months!