(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

SkylerMum: Thanks for the list!
Just brought out to Paragon on Tuesday for checkup, the nursing room is at level 3 and level 5. And I was nursing him 3 times! Once in nursing room, once when talking to PD and once at the PD clinic.... then on the way back, baby hungry again! So nurse him in the car too! It's actually quite easy with latching on, really on demand kind. But I'm thinking now I should bring a book with me, cos it's quite boring to nurse him in the nursing room for 30 min just staring at the walls

<font color="aa00aa">jetaime21 >> hubby went there himself.. paid $100, got 10 characters each for 1st and 2nd characters, for us to mix and match..
also comes with baby's character analysis, 5 elements analysis, things to avoid in baby's 1st 3 years etc..
think only met the disciple.. not youlongzi.. Youlongzi seems to only do for adult name change while his disciple does for newborns.. dunno is use computer or manual but when hubby went there all alreay done, they gave us a printed paper which we have to burn once the name decided..

dolly >> hee now i feeding bby Javen every 2 hourly.. any cry in between means something else.. cos he quite on schedule so far, 1 hour 45 minutes sure wake up for milk.. in between sometimes shit and pee or just needs a cuddle.. every feed about 20 minutes on one side only.. but he seems quite contented..
i'm reading Secrets of the Baby Whisperer now.. really a great book, trying to follow the recommendations in the book.. yesterday total BF for my boy, really tired me out.. hahaa..

Ahnet >> hee so coincidence.. i stick to 5 sessions leh.. if not quite siong.. hahaa... today last session liao.. yup she take measurement every time before wrapping.. now every day is 0.5inch loss lor.. 1st day is miracle.. lost 1.5inch.. after that become 0.5inch le..
so far lost 3.5inch.. weight down 2kg.. i got 5kg more to go!!</font>

11_beans: Just finished latching on for 1hour and 10 minss! And I got to change breast because he sucked until gosong, the 2nd breast got to forced unlatch cos it's too long!

During your wrap, do they massage the are below the naval as well? Cos I did c-sec and gynae asked not to touch that part yet

dolly- ur boy sounds like mine exactly! He can go for marathon sucking competition on both breasts...

At night, he wants more nursing then ever. I remeber on Sat night, our 1st night back, he wanter nursing every 1hr but tt could be because my bmilk was in yet.

These few nights he nurses for at least an hour and refuses to sleep sometimes.. after nursing, i put him back into his cot, and sometimes he wakes immediately and wants more! Daytime he sleeps through 3-4hrs before nursing...

Hello Mummies :

I am from JanMTB thread.

If you ladies are looking for a nanny, you might want to consider me. I am hoping to earn some pocket money for myself. I am quitting my full time job to stay at home to take care of my baby. Reason being my mother in law threw the white towel and hubby request that I stay home to look after my baby. He oppose to the idea of putting my baby in infant care as he is afraid that baby will fall sick easily (zzz)

Experience: Handled my baby single handedly during my maternity leave and current from evening till morning. Good hygiene standard. Am fluent in both English and Chinese. Definitely loves babies!

I have a helper at home, thus I am able to provide washing service for your baby clothing (no soiled nappy though) and bottles.

Will only be able to take care of one more baby, thus ladies if you are interested please drop me a private pm or mail me at [email protected]. Salary is negotiable, about 600 per month. Ratio is 2 adult: 2 babies as my helper is also experience in taking care of infant. Staying in Bukit Panjang Area.

deerdeer,my bleeding not heavy already.

Dolly,my massage lady said she help 1 gal c-section massage after few days and she recover well,but my gynae said if c-section then need to wait at least 1 month.I will try to massage breast.see how.

Any update from annie?how is her boy now?I SMS her but no reply yet.

Thanks 11_Beans

U mentioned that when hubby reached the place, it was already done? Can u advise what was already done? Did hubby call them beforehand to provide the details (time/date of birth/etc)?

Looking forward to hearing from you

i like to check if any1 encounter this b4...

my hubby say that sometimes he will feel that there is many things in his chest, and the feeling gets a bit sour and full to below his throat, feeling is like a bit wan to vomit and is happen frequently..

do any of u noe y and how to cure?

anyone know where to get those barrier to put at room entrance, so dat it's out of bounds to another child or dog or cat to the room?

today my gal is finally discharged from hospital. her jaundice level went down to 7 and she looked totally fair n rosy now. so different from 2 days ago. pray hard it never goes up again. will bring her back to PD for review again on Sat.

dolly
how fast r u intending to start yr massage? i delivered on 17th n the massage lady says earliest is 5th Jun (abt3 wks). dun know if shd check wif gynae cos he's the type who doesn't believe in all these massage n stuff.

btw, ur gynae cleans u up during 1wk visit? curious how he does that. my gynae also told me he cleaned up a fair bit during c-sect.

ahnetsan
u can also get the child gate from IKEA.

BbEthan:Yes, he does that by putting something like cotton into my vargina and scope out those blood. But I still have some blood coming out now, not much though. He also change my c-sec dressing.

Thinking of starting massage only after the 4th week. Gynae said he stitched 8 layers! Including the fat, so it will take a long time to heal. Yoga only after 6 weeks.

wow finally got time and laptop to cm in cos hb on leave today. dont tink will have time cm in oftn, any kind mummies update me if got gathering by hp leh. my boy keep dozing off still haven tried whole day latch on without topping up btl milk. sian so deprive of slp. at nite on formula to slp longer still have to wk up pump double job, store so much exp milk dunno 4 wn use..then he daytime like to slp night time very hungry i too tired by then to let him latch on

sweethalo, last time with I dropper fed EBM as supplement, I also noticed bb getting lazy at her next feed. Like when nipple entered the mouth, she just lie there and wait for something to drip out like that. I used the feeder twice so far. The 2nd time, I latched her on straight after, and she continued sucking like normal. I like the feeder, cos bb really need to suck to get the milk out. You can control the flow of milk. If u feel that she is sucking very hard and not getting any milk, u can twist the bottle a bit and allow some drops to come out, so bb is rewarded for sucking, and will suck more. Quite flexible I feel. No regrets buying it

To add on to Skylermum's list, Raffles City has new nursing rooms in the basement, where Shokudo is. Spanking new and nice!
(Obviously, I went in to kaypoh haha, but didn't use it).

Ok, must go nurse again. today keep nursing, I'm getting sore again...

tinybubu, I wanna get the one with lullabies in it (is that you are my friend?) for baby, and a couple of the happy active ones for my niece
Oh, and I'm wanting to order the canvas as well. Just not sure what size or how many hehe...

BbEthan, great that your baby's home! Maybe if you're scared, just continue to "sun" her for 15min every morning? Must make sure got consistent intake of milk and consistent output, she should be fine. Happy for you

Ahnet, for child gate, I know can try Ikea, Pet Lovers Centre and Giant (saw at Tampines hypermart)

Wah, finally placed my order for baby full month cake package. Took up with Sweetest Moments. Hubby's office etc, I just ordered boxes of cupcakes, no need to give eggs etc lah. Then hubby decided he didn't like ANY of the babycard designs. WTF. So we're not putting babycard inside each box, even though it's FOC. He'd rather design his own thank you card. Oh well, let him do then. Now my close friends say they wanna come my house for a small gathering or something. ARRGGHH!! Shall make everyone use disposables also, so I don't have to worry about cleaning up. Maybe just feed everyone cheese and wine, even better, no need to think about what food to serve (we're not home buffet type people...).

ahnetsan, yeah i think i saw at kiddy palace too the gates. about 100 dollars? me need to buy oso cos my new house got balcony and i'm not installing the grill windows at the moment

tinybubu, i got you are my friend! really love the samples i heard. only bought 1 though cos recently i am like ordering too much stuff

bought these too...
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2580415.html?1245914076

gg to order the canvas prints too for baby and my wedding photos. such a great bargain to ignore ^^

tubbymummy
really glad she can be home. but found her sleeping the whole afternoon. fed her at 1.30pm, slept all the way till now still sleeping. woke her up at 5.15pm to drink milk. n she was sleeping while sucking. is this normal?

yes... the nurse did say we shd cont to sun her every morning.

i'm also thinking of getting from sweetest moments for my colleagues. their packaging looks nice.

ahnet : you can buy the gate 2nd hand if you want to save money -
http://shop.ebay.com.sg/?_from=R40&amp;_trksid=m38&amp;_nkw=baby+gate&amp;_sacat=See-All-Categories

tubby :seems like "you are my friend" is quite popular.i want to get that and the nursery rhyme one but not sure if sophie is old enough at the moment. i think the lullaby one is called angel something??

i just delivered the first month cupcakes today i ordered from www.yummyumkins.i did 2 big cookie monster cupcakes in a see thru box with a personalised tag of her photo (one of kelly's shots) and it simply said - hooray!baby sophie turns 1month old!cost me 44.50 per box.and the cupcakes were nutella flavoured.

skylermum : arrgghh, tubbylitis still going on with us.i actually ordered 1 with sophie's photo so i can hang it over her cot.the prices are really attractive....and the other bp looks attractive.i love beanies!i actually ordered online this particular beanie that was shipped over to me.i ordered it from here -

http://www.babysgotstyle.com.au/catalog/baby-bear-beanie-pink-p-6672.html

if i find anymore good BPs,i'll let you guys know!!! so sick and tired of the usual BPs.these ones (the cd one and the canvas one) actually stand out...

tinybubu, the beanie is so cute!! i'm very into beanies and caps too haha.. which BP did you order from? wonder whether will the seller organized again.. let me know k? *grins*

RE: Jaundice

AJ was warded for phototherapy due to high level of jaundice. His reading today is 19.6, quite a big increase fr monday reading of 12.6. Nw I m back in RH with him cos wanna continue to provide BM for him.

Welcome back Sweethalo.

My boi's details:
DOB: 19th June 2009
Wght: 2960g
Hgt: 49cm
Head: 34cm
Name: Arik Jerrell

Congrats to all new mummies and many thanks to mummies that feed back on the pumping pal handsfree and super shields. I going to go ahead and order them as the shields on my pump are causing my nipples to be quite painful after a while and i have to keep leaning forward to prevent leakage. No joke when u have to do this like 6-8 times a day.

Annie, congrats on Nesher's discharge.

feel a bit depressed today. baby won't latch as i haven latch him at all since yesterday cos need to go check up at the gynae. I think he has gotten used to bottles and I'm worried he wont latch properly now. He scream for a long time the last time I tried latching him.. quite a temper he has..haiz..

with the increasing no of people with H1N1, not sure if we shd go ahead with the full month celebration.. baby still so young and not much immunity leh.

Hi deerdeer, I just gave my boi pacifier yesterday cos he keep putting his mittens in his mouth. he is now 11 days old. he must have thought it was the bottle and spat the dummy after a while when no milk came through haha.. we let him try again today when he got cranky and he seems to like it a little better

<font color="0000ff">dolly >> I think she does massage that area..just that for me, the part where massage the tummy area is quite painful I feel.. cos my bump was pretty big and sharp, sticking out like a rocket head that time,so now major muscle ache..
I think c-section need to wait a while b4 can start massage..
Latching – waaa 1 hour of feeding.. so how long did he sleep after that??

Re : pumping
I’m using Ameda dual now.. manage to pump 100ml combined this morning.. day 10!latching baby every 2 hourly all day long, and instruct CL to feed the EBM at night.. hee stocked up a few bottles in the fridge liao.. so better use up.

Re : breastfeeding pillow
Great tool !!! started using one today (2nd hand from my sis in law),works great!!

Jetaime >> yup my hubby called them and gave them time and date of birth, answer some questions, and they go work on it.When my hubby met them, they gave him a sheet of paper all calculated and explained it to him.. that’s all.. after that we just come back and ownself mix and match the name..

Deerdeer >> best not to start pacifier now.. cos baby sucking reflex not strong enough yet, if he suck halfway and it drop out, baby will cry for it and u will be so busy putting it back in !!

11_beans: Just finish another latch
Total like 1 hour too, cos he slept half way, try to put him down and cry again... haha
after that one hour feeding he didn't need another feeding until 2 hours more.

Tried pumping again with medela pump and still only 2 drops comes out even on leaking breast, wonder WHY!

OK, got to sleep, else later he wakes up again

LovelyTulips - yeah long time didn't come onto msn..hehhe... Definitely will call go gai gai.. :p

BbEthan- glad your bb is back home with u

Ahnet - wht happen to KTB? Does he keep coming into ur rm to disturb ur bb??

TubbyM - the feeder certainly sounds interesting! but I wonder are the spares easily available... hmmz

Also wondering where to get the Soft Breast shields for the Medela Breastpumps.

Cassey, TubbyM, Caramelle - just wondering how are your cat babes taking to baby so far?

My Brooklyn was terrified on the first day we came home with bb.. he refused to come into the room... not even for food and water... now he comes and smells around bb but gets spooked easily... the other small one, Storm, is oblivious to the bb although his main aim in life now seems to be to dash straight into the bb room and hide under our bed... beats me why he does tt

I felt really sad for my Brooklyn on Sunday and Monday... kinda cried cos I don't hv enuf time for him and he is such a sweetie pie... i know he misses me alot... and i do too... dono how to split my time now...

so now when i pump, i try to be in the rm where they are kept

Just finish another feed... I dozed off actually, wonder when he unlatched from me

Sweethalo: Dun be sad, guess your cats need time to adjust to this new addition to your family.

hee just finish pumping.. Cos so full abit pain woke up to get it all out.. No wonder so pain.. 3.5 ounces! Haaa

Dolly i think is the angle.. Starting i also not used to my pump, yield very little and painful to pump. Now much better after some practice. Better learn to pump in case of engorgement! Cos engorge le, bb suck also cant get anything out.

Hee can hear CL feeding bb my ebm next door. Ok! Gg to put in fridge den back to sleep! Heh.

<font color="0000ff">argh. I wanna fire my confinement lady! She always take short cut when i not looking. My herbal water, my meals, now, even baby! Saw her change diaper never use wipes to clean bb , just wrap only! And i was in the room, just not looking only. Hubby noticed there's no used wipe to throw and ask her why never wipe, she pretend not to hear and continue tightening the diaper!

Now, i instructed her to feed bb ebm all night, she only fed tat one time i woke up to spot check. Now, 2nd check, she used formula! When i question her, again! Act like din hear and ignore me, went back to sleep!

Angry. Short cut with my things i'm ok. But not for my son!! Argh.

sweethalo,
well, in the day time, Jarius is put in another room where windows can be opened and sunlight can shine into the room... my room is facing the corridor, and window cant really open, even if open, nt much sunlight in the room too...

dat ktb will always walk like a big fat pig and walk into my room and cos he got itchy hands, he will take this take that and i hate it!!! and im afraid he will go into tat other room to disturb my boy.. god knws when my fat mil will fail to notice dat ktb and den let him inside the room where my boy is... then the consequences might be dire lor...

dats y i wanted to get those gates to block my room entrance and the room where my baby is!

NOW, he's in my room again lor!!!

11_beans: Think your CL really bad leh, maybe you tell her when both of you sitting down? So she cannot pretend not hearing.
For me, I never buy FM so nothing for her to short cut anyway, but initially she does wanna use the bottled sample fr hospital cos my boy look for milk every hour at night

Overall my CL is good, she washed my undies as well, no complain.

ahnetsan: How old is he now? Why not just tell that boy not to go into your room? hehe, think I'm rather stern kind, I told my niece (1.5 years old) not to go into kitchen in my house, she really follows leh
So funny, when my aunt (her grandma) is in the kitchen, she only dares to stand at the door. Cos I'll scold her every time she steps in and carry her out if she dun obey.

ahnet: how is he around the baby?my sister's 20mth old son came to visit sophie and kept wanting to poke sophie's eyes and pull her toes because he was really curious.

my sis didnt stop him but kept saying : awwww. he's so cute.so kaypoh.

in my heart, i was going wtf!!!

until i couldnt take it anymore, i took my baby out of the cot and carried her in my arms till they left....

plus being at that age,he kept throwing things around the house and was so noisy that sophie had trouble sleeping....

i know he's my nephew but my sister should have some brains to work out what he shouldnt be doing around a newborn,right???

tiny_bubu: Cool down! Maybe your sis didn't think of that at that time lah. My niece also came to my house, but my CL and others make sure Kendrick is stay out of reach from her in the cot
Plus she also just recovered from flu. Anyway, she seems to be quite gentle and didn't throw things. It was really funny when Kendrick cried, she pace around the room worrying for him but dunno what to do! hahaha

About noise level, sometimes having some noise in the house is not a bad idea, else next time when we bring our baby out, they might not get used to the constant noise.

<font color="0000ff">so how's everyone enjoying confinement food? I'm gg nuts eating sesame oil everyday!! Ah!!

Actually can lose weight. Cos appetite disappearing liao eating the same stuff everyday for lunch AND dinner! Seems my CL not very creative or hardworking, everything take shortcut whenever she can.

Think i will do without CL and let my maid handle. At least she dun shortcut here and there.

deerdeer, gave my boy pacifier too.. cos he really cannot settle down sometimes. If he doesnt want it, he will spit it out.

ahnetsan and tinybubu, don't get too angry. I faced the same thing with toddlers. They get really curious.. i just give them a firm stare (i will look really fierce) and tell them to play elsewhere. At one time, one of them will ask me "Can I beat Didi?"

I told them in a flat manner with the firm stare, you go and ask granny whether you can beat Di Di or not then she never say anything liao ha!

I will just keep carrying him and shield him if they try to be funny. But sometimes kids just love to play and they can be so innocent that they dont know they might hurt the child.