(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Hi tinybubu, I am using that - borrowed from a fren. Helps a lot in supporting the baby in the right position but troublesome if u are a small size person. I have probs putting the baby down on my bed from the pillow so that I can remove the pillow. Just a little difficult to manuvre when I have short limbs. Most of the time, I have to ask my hb to help.

thanks bbjun!!!! think i shall buy the pillow as well!!!

oh, caramelle / ahnetsan : can you pm me Mona's contact details?i want to book her for massage as well!

tubbym,
i also dunno wat lunar calendar or ang moh calendar.. jus asked my hb, he also dunno. so bo chap lor.. jus dun care can le. haha

tinybubu,
i haf breast fren pillow, but still cant seem to master using it...now im still using the cradle position and must sit up to latch lor. so poor thing, cannot do like some of u, do the lying down position, so shiok.

btw, anyone of u experiencing pricking or poking pain sensation in the breasts at certain timing of the day? and also when latched on one side, do u all feel pricking or poking pain sensation in the other breast?

thanks,ahnet.

recd your pm/just senther an sms and she said she's fully booked.hahaha.

dunno if it might be too late to start my massage now?i finish confinement tomorrow...

my breasts also used to have this problem.somebody told me that it's my milk coming in.dunno how true...

but the pain went away after a few days.

ahnetsan & Tubbymummy
Im so scared n excited leh.. My first birth so its like im quite lost wen doc told me today as hubby was not wif me at the clinic today.. If appt falls on Mon he normally be too bzi at work..

So i actually call my hubby in doc room askin him if its ok to induce.. Doc was laughing saying "Sylvia im not giving u a choice!! so do not ask ur hubby ok or not rather tell him u r admitting in at 6am" wahahahahaahahahah

I was so embarrass... but he knows im quite lost from my look...

Yan: All the best tomorrow! Have a safe and easy birth!
Actually I cried in the clinic when doctor advise that I should go for c-sec.... was very lost also

any mummy interested to take over 1 pack of pampers new baby S size (66 pcs), my girl can't reali fit S size diaper liao, letting go at cheap price, pm me if interested..
2599202.jpg

<font color="0077aa">ahnet, i do burp alya after feeding cos while latching, we tend to wait for baby to open wide then we bring them in so got air trapped mah. sometimes she burp twice.

re sleeping on tummy: my mum also put alya on her tummy few days ago and i so scared cos she can turn her head against the soft mattress. so from now on, no more on her tummy. it's a cause for sudden cot death also - easy to imagine why!

dolly, i scared to BF lying down cos she may choke. i read that it should be practised only when baby abit older cos now their swallowing muscle coordination not so good. but if it works for you and baby not vomitting milk, should be ok ba..

Tubby, im also scared of the day when mummy stops coming cos she got to go back to work then it's just baby and me. hopefully by then i'm less tired. cos nowadays keep feeling tired and achey. went to polyclinic for jaundice check and i felt very faint. realise i dont really remember to eat nowadays cos im so occupied with alya. agree with you that it's good to have someone watch baby while we sleep. if i have to be alone, then alya will probably need to sleep with me in an infant positioner and ALL SWADDLED tight so she cannot move much. hehe

i air dry also especially when feeding with other boob, so put on purelan then leave one boob hanging out and the other feeding baby. feels a bit obscene. now my right boob is fine already, only left nipple still a bit pain. i will cringe when i latch her on. hope it'll heal soon.

re diapers: i find pampers NB very thin, prefer to use Fitti or Huggies. Drypers also not on top of my list.

re BFing position: i only do football hold. now can do without any pillows. hubby a bit annoyed cos he just bought me the pillow 2 days ago then yest i told him no need liao. mine is like modified football or whatever i invent myself. as long as comfy and her neck supported i dont care lah!

annie, must press hard! did the lactation consultant show you the massage where you press into the areola area and squeeze outwards to form the nipple? that one sure to bring milk out. my tummy also a bit big still but empty. supposed to start massage tomorrow so going to confirm with ML later.

lovelytulips, you tried the traditional papaya and fish soup recipe? pump regularly. as a last resort i'd suggest fenugreek to be taken for 3 days only and let the supply kick in, from there must maintain it. this supplement can get from GNC or any pharmacy. 3 tablets 3 times a day for 3 days.</font>

Caramelle: So if your nipple is sore you still breastfeed until it's no longer sore is it? Cos now my right nipple is getting sore!

Just taken the fish and green papaya soup today, now my right breast is a bit pain... maybe it is working?

caramelle- jus now manage to pump out milk frm my breast but my boy warded in kkh as he got jaundice... cried in the hospital as i felt sad leaving him ther &amp; cried all the way back home...
doc said it a mild jaundice but wan to keep him to shine the blue light so if he is ok tomorrow i will have him back tomorrow at 1pm if not the most is 2 days
.. hubby said take it as a rest day &amp; then we will have more energy to look after him

caramelle- jus now manage to pump out milk frm my breast but my boy warded in kkh as he got high jaundice... cried in the hospital as i felt sad leaving him ther &amp; cried all the way back home...
doc said it a mild jaundice but wan to keep him to shine the blue light so if he is ok tomorrow i will have him back tomorrow at 1pm if not the most is 2 days
.. hubby said take it as a rest day &amp; then we will have more energy to look after him

sharon_limb,
congrats &amp; i m also in MT A now. delivered yesterday with epi c-sect. which ward r u in? i just got the drip off today and couldn't walk long distance yet but maybe can pop by tmr to see u &amp; ur darling if u r still around?

chris38,
u r rite abt the green liquid but i was very disappointed when gynae told me that i cannot try natural birth &amp; need to go for c-sect then i started to tear... anyway, i wont want to trade my bb safety vs the after effect pain from c-sect. so far thank god, i can manage the pain better this time n can get up and walk on 2nd day as compared to my 1st c-sect.

my birth story :
3pm to 6pm - contractions started but didnt bother to time it cos busy looking after #1
6pm - went to parents house for father day dinner and too busy eating so never bothered to time contractions again
9pm - reach home and felt contraction happen between 5-10 mins. got a little worried n told hb and maid to standby
12am - cannot tahan liao cos keeping getting lower backache. called gynae and he say wait for another 1-2 hrs then go hospital.
12.30am - told my sis to come over my place to look after my #1 cos she was sleeping since 10pm. 1am - sis reached and hb changed diaper for #1 then that was the begining of trouble! #1 woke up and was looking for me. she refused to sleep unless i lie down nxt to her and hold her hands to sleep. she was never like that and when i attempt to sneak out, she will wake up n cry. this whole thing lasted till 3am.
3am - i cannot tahan the contractions anymore and #1 still couldnt sleep and cry when i tried to leave so end up i cry with her cos i pain until i want to cry too. sounds silly ya? hb got fedup and decided that all of us to go hospital.
3.30am - check in to delivery ward and took enema to clear bowels while my "troops" are outside entertaining #1 until they knock her out at 5am.
5am - contractions get closer and they offer me gas. ask for epi but say wait for gynae.

7.30am - gynae came, check cervix abt 1.5 cm dilate and break waterbag. green liquid came out and he told me cannot try natural as too dangerous. i refuse and tell him that i want to discuss with hb. senior nurse came n tell me cannot try natural n better go c-sect. midwife came in also and start telling me abt her personal story of green liquid affecting her bb brain cos she delivered her bb naturally. then i get worried and decided to give in and sign the consent form reluntantly.
8am - Outside Operation theatre and the door got stuck! Wah really suay rite? Waited abt 10mins then the door open and they administer the epi on me.
8.15am - they keep using the knife to poke at me and ask if i can feel sharp thing poking me. i told them yes so waited for another 5-10 mins b4 the epi gets into me totally n hubby came in
8.30am - heard baby cry and they start cleaning her up then passed to us to take our first family pic. afterwhich hubby went with them to take bb weight n etc while i knock out and only awake when i reach my ward at 9+am.
9.20am - brought my bb to start breast feeding. so far she can suck well, seemed to b better than my #1.

<font color="0077aa">dolly, yah the lactation consultant told me to continue nursing even if nipples are sore. if you latch on correctly it wont be sore/painful.

annie, dont be sad. tomorrow you must go and see him and stay with him. feed him if possible from the expressed milk. i think if you stay home you'll be thinking of him all the time. i hope he recovers quickly.</font>

Hi moms

May I ask if it is necessary to on aircon for baby in the day and night? My concern here is I scare my boy will be too reliant on aircon...

I realise my boy sweat when only the fan is used.. so poor thing.

caramelle- tomorrow i wil call up the nursery 1st then check his status 1st as the more i go ther carry him the more he be delayed frm discharge as the nursed said let him under the light more then he recovered faster &amp; be discharged sooner

tinybubu,
so in the end, did u manage to get a slot from mona? she mentioned before massage is still ok within 40days.

y u went to see LC again?

yan,
haha ur gynae so cute! jiayou tmr ok? wish you a smooth and fast labour.
update us ur birth story soon.

dolly,
go pump now!! haha the papaya fish soup effect kicking in le.

annie,
dun worry. ur boy will be fine.
think it's normal for most babies to haf jaundice. mine also got.

superbee,
wat green liquid in waterbag? why it will affect baby?
OMG! dats how they test test whether the epi taken effect or not, by poking knife at u?? gosh...

and OMG, ur #1 is so adorable lor.. and she capable le, can carry her little sister le.

bbpp,
sad to say, my boy cannot really sleep in aircon room leh... he seems to haf inherited sinus from me.
whenever he slps in aircon room, he will start to make alot of noise and becomes edgey and uncomfortable after some time.... so bo bian, haf to on the fan only when he slps wif us.
deprived us of the aircon luxury. damn it.

superbee,
thanks for sharing ur birth story. My mum and relatives always say that it is very dangerous once baby has pooed while in womb. Once baby swallow the fluid, can cause brain damage to baby. When baby has pooed, means that baby is in distress! Must do emergency c-sec. Quite suprised that it took 1 hr from time discovered ur waterbag fluid is green to baby being delivered. I always tot that it will take minutes only. but ur case door stucked!?! aiyoo.. I would be stressed waiting 10 min just for door! Once read an article in ST saying KKH can emergency c-sec within minutes. Can't remember how many minutes but is definately below 15-20 mins.

dolly,superbee,sharonlimb..
dr says i may ve to go thru c-section tdy..i was devastated tdy in e clinic. she'd been expecting me to ve a smooth natural delivery all along as my baby was engaged long time back. im moving on to 40weeks in 2days time n still less than 1cm dilated! Initially inducing tmr,bt due to this,decided to wait till thurs hoping tt cervix wld ve dilated to at least 2cm. Cant afford to keep e baby longer in e tummy cos my placenta is getting too calcified,its older than what it shld be at 40weeks.. im getting v worried abt e c-section,i dunno if i shld do it with epi or GA..i wonder if i can take e stress w epi,bt w GA i ll miss baby's first cry.. But i wonder if i can sustain breastfeeding after e op with e painful wound.. cos i had a surgery at e ovary before n e recovery was so traumatic for me then.. *sob*

So it seems tt my dr still wants to try inducing on thursday..then if nt successful then perform c-section.. I wonder if i shld take e risk n go along with it,takg into consideration of e extra costs n e extra hrs of agony ive to go thru.. bt i realised tt dolly n sharon are choosing c-section staraightaway w conditions similar to mine.. Sigh.. So hw mummies? Shld i take e chance of a normal birth? Im quite stressed n feel abit depressed.. N it doesnt help tt tdy is my bday for knowing this frm gynae!

I guess i can only pray to God for the best for me n baby.. Tho i dunno what ll come..

Just finished a 50 min feed... must quick quick write before my boy wakes up again!

Caramelle: Thanks for the reply, but only one side sore, the other nipple is OK, and the one that's sore is the good nipple (not the inverted one) .... huh maybe just wait for a while

Superbee: You mean they use knife to poke poke you? For me hor, the anesthethist ask me to lift up my right leg, I told him cannot lift up then he's OK already. In my mind I was thinking, huh you mean like that OK liao?

Annie: Yes, when my boy was under phototherpy, he's only let out every 3 hours for milk, after that have to send back to the light again

ahnetsan: I very scared of the pump now leh. suspect it hurts my nipple in the first place

MummyAsh: Yes, it's indeed hard to choose, but to me, safety for baby first... so forget about whatever hypnobirthing class, those perineal massage, those relaxation exercise every night, I went for c-sec w Epi

tinybubu, I am using the Brest Friend Pillow and it's great for me. I would like to suggest the Boppy pilow though as it can be breastfeeding pillow and pillow to help baby lie down at an incline when she/he is stronger but not strong enough to sit on her own. I used it at my friend's place and liked it alot.

thanks dolly.. i dreamt of my delivery again last nite!

Dolly,sharon,superbee, how much was ur hospital bills (including bill for baby) for c-section in mt A?

Mummy_Ash: the hospital bill is around $7k+, but after medisave, we paid around $2.5k, and still got to settle w gynae fees which is around $1.5k (inclusive of deposit) I was in the deluxe room (we asked for single room but all ran out) and hubby stayed w me for all 3 nights.

Superbee: Wow! What a drama night! But it's all worth it right? The photo of your girl and baby is SOOOOOOO cute!

Annie: Wow your baby already have double eye lids! That's great!

long time never log in here cos was surfing around to buy stuff for my boy ha! Great to see so many cute baby pics here.. all babies are heavenly creatures and so adorable!

lovelytulips, dont be sad k and jia you! my boy drinking 90ml now too every 2.5 hours, i oso cannot keep up. Tried fenugreek.. frankly speaking.. it just increased slightly. not like from 40ml to 100ml kind, but 40 ml to 60 ml or 80ml kind. I got a medicine from Dr Chan to increase milk supply but havnt started taking. It's called metochlpramide.

she said it's safe so i trust her on it but that will only be my last resort. =)

finished distributing cakes to my colleagues and i ordered from cupcake momma. Very satisfied with the design and taste plus service! The cupcake is not dry.. but soft and moist. The cream not too sweet too but maybe i love sweet stuff.. Family members love them, some of my colleagues say not bad, some dont like say abit on the sweet side but my boss adores them say it's very good. So it's mixed reviews lah but i love the taste plus design!

Getting ready for the first outing to visit PD and gynae. Hope Kendrick jaundice level is under control.... keeping my fingers crossed

Dolly- Nesher got double eyelids &amp; dimples frm me &amp; yah a tag on the ear same as me but can go laser it off if we want ..the father also got double eyelids &amp; Nesher got nice eyes lashes frm his daddy too...

called KKH nursery &amp; he cant be discharged today as his jaundice is not under 250 so go visit him then bring my lap top along so stayed mcdonal ther to wait for the visting hours at 6-8pm

Mummy Ash,
Trust ur instincts! May u make ur own decision with an easy heart. At 40 Weeks, usually cervix should be ripe enough even though not dilated. If u feel confident that u and baby are strong enuff to take the stress and pain of induced natural delivery, go for it! The doctor and nurses are always there if there is need for medical intervention.

Just went to PD today, jaundice is mild so didn't even need to do blood test! Yeah.. so my bm is OK for him, and PD said my breast looks like got enough milk anyway.

Trying not to give him pacifier after reading up from Kellymom's website, because latching on can stimulate milk supply too

Annie: Good for Nesher! I'm still hoping Kendrick might have chance to have double eyelid, cos I had single eyelid when young, but it changed to double when I was few years old

mummy ash,
no harm giving a try to induce. whether need to go for c-sect in the end depends on many conditions. there r mummies here who induced and successfully delivered via natural. so regardless what, bb must be born safe &amp; healthy. as for epi or GA depends on urself. do u dare to stay awake to witness ur bb first cry? also for epi, hubby can go in operation theatre with u. for GA, is total knock out and only awake much later. my #1 and #2 both epi c-sect cos i want hubby n myself to b witnessing my bb 1st cry and take our first family pic!! :p as for breastfeeding, if u epi c-sect, u can start breastfeeding 1-2 hrs after operation. also not to worry, the nurse will help u esp on the first day but i m not sure abt GA though cos fren who went thr GA say they like whole day gone means cannot breastfeed at all cos they are knock out and only awake much later. btw, i m still @ MT A &amp; dunno how much is my bill yet. i m staying at double bed ward but hor no "neighbour" in my room leh so it is as good as single bed loh! wahahhaaaa.....

dolly
ya they use knife poke me... hmm.. lift up ur leg means ok? i can feel my leg numb but i can feel the poke thing also wor... ;p

styliciously
ya loh i took so long to decide rite.. :p maybe green is still safer than black? for black, is confirm emergency c-sect within minutes. for me, it like arrange to go for c-sect that kind. my fren whoose waterbag show black was from KK and immediately c-sect, no discussion/negotiation is allowed. well i think i super sian abt c-sect n when i m stuck outside the door, i only tell myself - damn suay!

ahnet,
green liquid in waterbag means bb poo poo. it will cause brain damage in bb if they consume it during the delivery process. ya they use knife to poke me... during my 1st c-sect, they never do "testing" on me and i can feel something cutting me b4 the epi effect takes place ah... so this time they more cautious after i tell them i dont want c-sect becos pain &amp; blah blah reasons.... :p oh #1 is not exactly carrying #2 but with some help in the background...so kinda camera trick effect. ;p

Superbee: It because I can't lift up my leg, so he says ok... But I can't feel the knife though, just feel all the tickling sensation and I'm not loving that!

hihi ahnetsan,

i got doc ang contact thru my colleague. it seem a bit far from pasir ris though... hehe

n yes doc ang is anti epidural. he do not encourage. I heard if wan to request epidural during the delivery, the midwife hv to ask Doc ang permission.

my 1st boy also delivered without epidural, hopefully my 2nd one can also endure too.

tmr will be see doc ang and is my week 39, will keep u all update soon.

Hi Annie, hope your boy gets discharged today. understand u must have missed him dearly. I already missed my boy muchly when they bought him back to the nursery during the nites when i was in hospital.

Congrats Superbee, both # 1 and #2 looks quite alike

Dolly, maybe u can also try smearing some BM on your nipples and air it as and when after u BF or pumped, i find that helped me a little recovering from the pain.

bbPP we went to the PD sat and he said its ok to let the baby sleep in aircon over 25 degrees. I also scare baby will be reliant on aircon later so let him sleep with fan for now. may change my mind later cos also heartache to see him sweat and see how his rashes go, not sure if its due to the heat.

btw spoken to ML Mdm Mona and was also quoted $35 for her service. she is due to confirm my apointment later this week.

dreamy,
yeah lor, heard dr ang will give very low dosage one. so might as well dun use. if ur #1 can dun use epi, this #2 sure also can dun use epi one.
yeah lor, from pasir ris to sembawang, it's very far lor. but ok lah, dr ang very good, so its' worth it.
he's back tmr right?

chidori,
haf pm-ed u le.