(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

<font color="0077aa">chidori, thanks for advice. im using football hold cos got big boobs but i dont think my hold is correct and baby tends to slide behind me. im thinking of getting a BF pillow to help support instead of using normal pillows. have applied mustela nipple cream but dont think it's helping much. so now i found a buyer for medela purelan - any brands mummies have tried which works really well?

mum make noise when i say i want to go KK to see lactation consultant. hate this..hate hate hate this cos i need help and cannot even ask for it!

EC mom, you're right, i try to relax when she latch on and after a while the pain is lesser. doesnt go away completely but not nail-biting for me. is this normal? when your babies latch, do your nipples hurt? if not, how long does it last for the first few days? i need to know if there's light at the end of the tunnel.

ahnet, firstly thanks for your well wishes. and also re the massage lady. in this case i just wait till tuesday. my mum was saying that right after delivery uterus very soft so easy to shape back, but as the days go by, it will start to harden and may retain that shape. i feel it a bit now..very scared but cannot do anything lah. cos the lady only come back on tuesday which is day 8 for me. pray that it will still be okay.

feeling that my breasts starting to harden. will knead them when in shower later...hope nothing gets serious. i should be worrying about babycare...not BFing!!

sorry to be ranting, im just very pent up right now...</font>

ahnetsan, is ur massage lady mdm mona also? i've arrange with her my massage on 27th jun, if we same massage lady den very qiao liao, same delivery date, same gynae and same massage lady =]

innocentwar re:confinement catering
i ordered from newbaby, the food soso only and the soup not very nice very plain..i ordered for 14days only so might be trying natal essentials after the 14days..

split,
yes!!! it's mona!! haha... i jus finished massage with her... shall tell her tmr dat u seeing her on 27th!! yah lor, super qiao!! heheee
only thing different, is we deliver at different hosp... u mt a, i tmc.

ahnetsan, ya loh. My no.1 massage also by her and i find that slim back super fast hopefully this time can slim back that fast also..but the tummy massage is painful though..

Congrats to bbPP &amp; Sweethalo!!

bbPotato,
Congrats to the arrival of your baby boy!! Wow wow... u only took 2 hrs... ur bb very guai &amp; decided to come out today than weekend huh...
so u get to eat ur gelato or not?? hehee... mine is stubborn &amp; still lazing inside...

annie,
jia you &amp; hope to hear ur good news soon!

hmm... now i wonder who else is left waiting like me...
singing ***lonely.. i m so lonely... i have no body to wait with me ahhh***.... :p

split, ic... my arms, legs all aching lor.. but today massage quite ok, nt so aching le...really slim back super fast ar? u planning to do more than 5 days mah?

ya the last time i start after 2weeks cuz i c-sect, by the day my bb full mth i already can wear back my jeans b4 pregnant one..i trying 5days see how first but hubby said i this round fatter so maybe go for longer..wanna look nice nice on my bb full mth leh..

caramelle, don't be disheartened. My nipples were very sore at the beginning as well. But I think it improves with more practice. Gradually you will be able to get the right technique and it wouldn't hurt so much. Even now, sometimes I get it wrong and it hurts very much. I think its like a tango thing. Latching technique has to be right and baby has to be cooperative also. Sometimes baby don't open mouth wide enough and he ends up chewing on my nipple.

thanks, blurmom.
Hard to do not let nipple touch his face when he is so frantic at the beginning of each feed. Will try to clean his face after each feed then.

here's my birth story.

315am - woke up to tend to my elder boy cos having bad cough, feel like i pee on my short. go toilet pee and check, panty abit wet, so put some tissue paper to confirm whether leaking or not, reach bedroom, tissues is wet with pinkish discharge.

320am - called hb on his mobile as he's still outside, told him i m leaking. meantime go take shower while waiting for him

330am - he rushed back via cab and ask e cab driver to wait.

400am - reached RH, check-in @ A&amp;E then go up to delivery ward, no contractions nothing, so just waited

530am - was given enema while hb went to get breakfast, had hotcakes and abit of contractions, but still bearable.

630+ - contractions starts coming in @ 10mins interval, still bearable. hb enjoying his sleeps

730am - suddenly contractions become more intense, can't tahan liao, ask nurse for epi, signed consent form.

800am - nurse checked already 6-7cm, still waiting for my epi, but nt here yet. keep feeling very hot and pain. asked me to use the laughing gas, but i felt very breathless with that, no choice but to use it. nurse said nt to push while waiting for gynae. suddenly already fully dilated, they said still can administer, will seek gynae advice. nurse said may need an hr cos bb still moving down e birth canal. feels dat i m leaking below with every contractions

820+ - gynae's advice dun need epi, can start pushing already. e nurse setup e leg rest etc, ask me to try pushing, think with 6/7 pushes, @ 833am, bb is out already.

didn't expect it to be a short labour

Superbee,

nope, didn't get to eat e gelato yet, was telling hb abt it while on e way here also, then he said it's ok, he and my boy shall eat it on my behalf.

sob sob

<font color="cc0099"> Whoa! Took a super duper long break from thread &amp; computer use

<font size="+1">Congrats, sweethalo!!!</font> on the arrival of your little bub! Super long labour lor!
<font size="+1">Belated congrats to dolly</font> (FINALLY!!!) <font size="+1">styliciously, baby_Sara, JessMa, bbPP &amp; bbPotato</font> too!

2590069.jpg

Kyle's a month and a day old today!
Saw PD yesterday, jaundice still not fully abated... BUT! he's grown 4cm and put on 1kg.

Breakthrough yesterday!
He finally took to his dummy the 4th day (or is it 5th?) of it being introduced to him. He sucked until he slept, then spat it out. YAY!! Hopefully the evening fussiness will be easier to deal with once I chuck the dummy into his mouth after nursing him. Heehee!

Tmr we shift everything back home and have to set things up.. I hope Kyle does well and we adapt quickly too. Much to be done... No more meals prep'ed, cooked and delivered to my room, no more chores and laundry taken care of, no more babysitting service for Kyle J. while I shower &amp; pump &amp; nap! Uh-oh...

bbjun, no worries.
I'm glad. I've been reading up lots. Whenever I nurse, I read. So that's a number of hours in a day. Haha! I think that's why I haven't been coming online. I used to come online during aftnn nursing but now I read, so use non-nursing time to catch up on stuff, esp sleep!
+ Does your bub cry a lot? When they wail and cry, they take in a lot of air too. Of course, if bathing or changing them, then no choice la. But otherwise, once again, we have to try to catch them before they start crying for a feed.

Tubbym~, Desitin Creamy is an absolute dream on Kyle leh... it disappears from his skin each time he wets/soils his diaper. I've never had to wipe CREAM off. I think you're meant to apply it on the bum area... perineum and further backward, not to the vaginal area. I don't apply it on Kyle's genitals!

hey ladies,

congrats to all the new mummies!

i delivered my boy this evening at TMC natural with epi. he weighs 3.4kg and measures 49cm. would be back with birth story tomorrow.

goodnight!

firstmum
congrats! looking forward to ur birth story soon.

cassey,
BIG hi hi! you've been mia for a while... how's everything?
cool, now kyle is one month old le..

btw, im having pains nw on my bottom part of right breast... dunno why leh... suddenly very pain. touch a bit only, ouch, it hurts lor

ahnet, ur breast feel full? cos i had the same pain earlier and went to see lac con at KK and she helped me to massage it. also tried for first time to pump my milk. medela freestyle is a dream! but since im on total latch on i didnt use the milk i pumped out.

mummies, i have very leaky breasts. how can i control this? i bought medela breastshield but it was more to prevent chafing of nipple against my clothes. also bought purelan to help nipple heal quickly.

but i cant be sleeping with bra and breastshield cos very hot...advice please!

btw, happy to report that im making very good progress with BF-ing. after the massage at lac con's, i learnt how to latch on correctly and now i dont feel pain anymore! but have to deal with leaking breasts...urgh! on a good note, my supply is kicking in and alya is benefitting from it. so happy..going to sleep now before next feeding session in 3 hours.

morning mommies-

it now 4+am...
had a good rest yesterday after the deliver..
my boy was born yesterday wif wt. 3.156kg ht. 49cm..head 33cm...

congrats to mommies that had popped... bbpotato u sure had short labour

a long labour..

6am- checked baby CTG &amp; cervix
7+am- informed hubby he can come as i m opened 3- 4cm
9am- gyne came &amp; broke my waterbag...
10+am-had contraction &amp; keep breathing in &amp; out.. nurse gave me a lauging gas to breath.. not much help as in pain &amp; keep shivering..
11+am- told hubby i very painful &amp; he said dont be stubborn &amp; in the end had epidural...
12+am-3pm- had a long sleep.
4+pm- midwifes called gyne i m now 10cm open...
20mins later- i push my baby out...

he cried so loud

no strength to breastfeed &amp; i started having the side effect of the epidural- vomited no. of times, blood pressure went up, heartbeat become fast, giddy, &amp; having fever 38.2

midwife called for on duty doc to gave me a jab...
felt terrible &amp; suggest no breastfeeding for me so let my boy bottle feed 1st....

ahnetsan... i salute u can go without epidural...
thks all mommies for the well wishes...

jus had a shower at 7am.. feel fresh &amp; clean..
pop over to see baby but doctor checking on the babies.. maybe wait for hubby to come then see our baby

Congrats Annie.

Hope you are feeling better now.

Congrats Firstmum on the arrival of yr boy also.

Finally managed to hv a few hrs of sleep after delivery yday.

Cassey, long time no c. So nice now Kyle is 1 mth old already, u can hv all the freedom where I just started my confinement ordeal.

Congrats to all moms who popped!

I have been trying BF but have been only partially successful because of incorrect latching, sleepy baby and then not too sure how long to feed. Wonder if any of the more experienced moms have anything to guide me please? Appreciate all your help!

Congrats to all mummies who had popped! - Sweethalo, dolly, annie, styliciously, baby_Sara, JessMa, bbPP &amp; bbPotato!!

It is such an exciting month for all of us here, and tho i didnt much participate in the postings, I had been logging in fervently morning and night to check on the mummies' postings!

It had been very encouraging to read all your posts here, and to those who had popped, jiayou in raising your babies!
To those who are still waiting like me...
... let's pray for smooth delivery, what to do?..

i have delivered on 17 Jun at 1445. My baby boy is 2.935kg at birth, 49 cm, head circumference 33 cm.
Currently haven't choose a name yet..

anyway, this morning i tried to pump out breast milk.. so sad.. only 10 ml... 3rd day already.. i'm using the ameda pump. any idea how to adjust the setting such that it's more effective??

My bb is 6 days old. Would like to check with mummies here if these are commonly experienced:
1) passing lots of gas
2) how much does 6 day old bb drink each feed
3) is 50ml each pumping session now the 'normal average' amount

<font color="0050b3">Congrats Annie

Tinybubu <font face="symbol">®</font> I love Sophie Ann's photo shoot! OMG! She smiles alot! Such a princess

Ahnetsan <font face="symbol">®</font> Really Heng no need to go! So over here I still can get advises and help from family and friends!

bbPotato <font face="symbol">®</font> Wow, I envy your short labour! Thats cool! Take care dear and rest well

amkgal <font face="symbol">®</font> Don't get despair or stressed up as milk supply will comes in but need some time k! My supply also come in on the 4th day... Whenever I stress, My supply drop! Relax, pump every few hours... THats what I did! Eat more fish dear! Take care

babysister <font face="symbol">®</font> Passing of wind is good! My Daylon isn't drinking that much initially, so he only drink 20ml each feed but it will increase! I was so concerned and worried till I went PD! The PD says, just feed and burp him every 3-4 hours... Hope this help! About milk supply - Sorry I not very sure
Jiayou and increase supply k...

Baby Feeding Guide
http://www.nal.usda.gov/wicworks/Sharing_Center/NJ/infant%20feeding%20guide.pdf
http://ucce.ucdavis.edu/files/filelibrary/1808/18274.pdf

Gosh! I just on my computer nia then got to go liao, Daylon whine again! Chaoz!</font>

Tinybubu, nowadays augustine is also more alert and awake. It seems like he wants to participate in what is going on around him. Yesterday daddy also had to try different ways to make him sleep. He tried playing music to Augustine. Or you can try putting her in the living room and let her look around. Once she get some form of stimulation, she may tire and fall asleep.

Congrats to Annie and First mum with delivery of their little ones.

Annie, finally its your turn to pop. Have a good rest while you are in the hospital and if you need any help dont feel shy to ask the nurses. You should clarify any doubts you have while you are still at the hospital cos when you go home, you and hubby have to manage on your own liao=)

thanks to all the mummies for their well-wishes...

birth story
3.30am irregular contractions but managed to go back to sleep at 5am
7am woke up, mild cramps and pelvic pain
1230pm routine gynae check-up, did VE and gynae said 2cm dilate can admit for delivery liao, burst water bag
130pm inserted enema clear bowels and wheeled to birthing room
2pm requested for epi
3pm contractions 2 min apart
3.30pm 5cm dilate
4.30pm fully dilated, delivered my boy after a few pushes

I guess everyone's trying hard to breastfeed! Good job! Don't give up. Babies must learn to latch on properly, so its ok to let them cry for milk. So far, I've been able to total breastfeed since day 1, no formula milk at all. I bought a tin of Friso 1 just in case but have yet to open it. Its been 8 days of breastfeeding.

Aisha had a 3D/2N stay at hospital for phototherapy. She already got slight jaundice when discharge but got worse when at home. I think my mum put too much ginger (ie. 5-8 slices) in my food and also let me drink ginger drink. Plus, her feeds are so irregular and she sleeps alot, thus didn't drink enough milk. I guess that's make it worse! Day 6, we went polyclinic for checkup coz I know they will do blood test for jaundice. It was 289! Anything above 260 need to admit. 2nd day after being under and above the blue lights, it was 223. Upon discharge on 3rd day was 176.

Moral of story, don't take ginger and make sure baby gets lots of fluid. Luckily, my breast was engorged on the Day 4-5 and I kept pumping and pumping until I had 8 bottles and milkbags of breastmilk. So brought it along to the hospital.

amk girl,
My third day also get very little, abt 10ml each side. Ur supply will come in when ur breast gets engorged. Make sure do hot compressions so that the lumps will soften then after that just kept feeding baby and pumping as long as ur breast feels hard and full.

babysiter,
passing gas is ok as long as baby pass motion regularly. My baby's fart is very loud and also when she pass motion, can hear the prrroot sound! haha.. Day 6 baby, my guess is around 90 ml? Coz at the hospital, the nurse said my baby drank that amt in 1 feed. As for each pumping session, it depends whether your breasts are very full, ie havnt pump or feed in 3 hrs or more. For me, if its very full, can get about 100ml each breast. If its not full, will get only 50-80 each breast. Also, depends if ur pumping session is very long or not. Sometimes, I'm too impatient so as long as my breasts are relieved from being full, i will stop pumping. My breastpumps cannot totally "empty" my breast and i will squeeze my breasts while pumping so that can "empty" my breasts

<font color="0077aa">CONGRATS ANNIE! you rest well so the after-effects will go away quickly. dont worry abt BF-ing..first few days also not much supply yet. if latch then not good results, you'll be disappointed too..so something good can come out of this. don't worry

and CONGRATS to all other mummies who popped, looking fwd to reading your birth stories here. altho with sweethalo being away, not sure who will update table?

bbPP, are you at KK? if yes, can ask lactation consultant how to correctly latch on and what other things to expect. otherwise most hospitals also will have. ask them to check when you do it yourself. don't be disappointed if not much supply, that is normal. but get the technique right. if there is a BF pillow, you may want to try with it. i find that it's very helpful. ask them also what are some common problems to expect and how you can solve it e.g. sore nipples, engorgement, when supply kicks in etc. jiayou..dont give up! your baby deserves the best.

Mummy Ash, soon will be your turn. for now, if you're planning to BF, read up online and prepare some items you may need. knowledge is the best way to deal effectively with the unexpected. read up also on babycare eg cleaning baby, change diapers, feeding times etc. keep yourself busy.

split, thanks. i put breast pad but the cotton sticks to nipple leh..i bought medela breastshields yest to collect milk. so far today no problem with leakage...so havent need to put it on yet.

babysister, my girl is 5 days old today. yes she passes gas and poos A LOT! she also hiccups a lot..that't all normal. i can't say how much baby feeds cos im on total latch-on so i dont know how much in ml she's consuming. but she latches for about 30 mins per feed on 2 breasts and feeds every 3 hours. i pumped yesterday due to slight engorgement and also got about 50ml from both breasts after 10mins of pumping.

Blurmom, so happy you no need to go Korea liao..now can stay in SG and recuperate!

tiny, why sophie not sleeping? is she wanting a feed? maybe try rocking her? alya is still in early days so she feeds quite a bit..sometimes every 1-2 hrs, but once my boobs empty i will ask daddy take over to rock her and she will fall asleep.

going to have lunch now..hungry.</font>

Annie,
wow.. i didn't know side effect of epidural can be that bad!! Have a good rest ok! Congrats!

First mum,
congrats to u too! Ur labour is quite short!

styliciously, i only 10ml from both sides.. will try to pump again later.

my baby stays on each breast for 15-30 min... i suppose there's still breastmilk inside even after i pump?? cos he still managed to drink after that...

nipples sore now from constant latching.. plus can feel throbbing pain from the whole breast sometimes. is it cos the milk is coming??

i keep checking the latch but cant see wat's wrong!! but still sore nipples. using lansinoh nipple cream after every feed and offer one breast per feed...

my boy is going to kkh for juandice check tomolo. today reading of 249 at day 4...hope no need to go photo therapy tomolo.

Caramelle,
Congrats for your successful in BF.
I dun have sore nipple this time but my left nipple also painful when Cayden start latch, it goes off after he suck for a while. Try to air your nipple after latch then apply some nipple cream, I personally prefer avent nipple cream as it more creamy and not so dry.

For leaking breast, try to pump after latch, 5 or 10min will do. It help to clear your breast and stimulate milk as well.

For harden breast, think it a good news coz it show that you got milk just that it might, take hot shower or use a hot (real hot) tower wrap and massage pump your breast to soften it. Frequently latch and pump also will help to clear the breast.

Split,
My massage lady call mona too, I will start my session next mon.

Annie,
Congrats.
Btw me KPO what is the link within bb kidney and extra skin on his ear?

Amk_gal,
Dun adjust your pump too strong it might hurt your nipple and cause crack.
Done be disappointed, is it common that dun have much milk for first week. Try to latch and pump frequently. For my #1, it took 8week for my milk come. So jia you.

caramelle,
i jus asked my ML abt the pain in my right breast..she say cld be due to more milk production..to her it seems like engorgement... but i had engorgement once, it doesnt feel like this leh...

anyway, i only latch my boy a few times in a day only..most of the time i pump it out, cos weather so hot, and i always catch him too late, he will scream and wake the whole world up and i cant seem to latch when he's alrdy in such a temper...
so i try to latch him at nights.

good to hear that ur supply is coming in.. remb to pump it out too, so tat there's more milk supply..

yeah buy tollyjoy nursing pad from kiddy palace, now $6.90 for 48 pads. maybe you can rub a bit of breast milk on ur nipple after u finished latching or pumping, so that wont stick to the cotton pad?

annie,
congrats!! ur labour not very long leh.
it's ok with bottle feeding one... when you are better, you can breastfeed ur boy.. do rest well in the meantime.

erm, no need to salute me for going without epidural lah..
i wanted to save the money mah. haha. and practise deep breathing, so it kinda helped me, but not good lor, cos i had 10hour labour counting from the time waterbag burst on its own lor.

amk_gal,
congrats!!
no worries ba, 3rd day only, think it's still colostrum? dun worry, drink more soup, milo, sure got milk come in one.

yeah me too, i also can feel pricking pain in my breasts at certain times of the day... sometimes also throbbing pain.. was told dat it's cos the milk is producing.

if u latch and u feel pain or discomfort, dat means latching the wrong way... if latch correctly, u shdnt feel pain or discomfort.. mayb sore nipples due to more than 30min of latching on each breast? if stil sore nipples, mayb u shd pump it out instead of latching, so dat ur nipples can rest, if nt will be even more sore.