(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

good morning mummies!
greeting from mt a! zach has arrived yday 10 jun at 12.41pm weighing 3.33kg, length 50cm. here's my birth story.

12.00 arrive at mt a
12.15 did VE (most painful VE, make me sore the whole night!!!) and was discovered to be 1.5cm dilated. put on CTG and found to hv contractions but i dun feel anything yet
12.30 put tablet for induce
3-4am can start to feel contractions
4.30am did VE again and dilated 2.5cm
5.00am ask for epi
5.30am epi administered, after a while, staff nurse commented lucky i asked for epi as my contractions are very fast and fierce at 1 min apart
9am dilated 5cm, at 10am hb say wanna go bk and shower and gynae said bb shd be out only in afternoon so said ok
10.30am dilation 10cm! midwife called hb to come bk
11.00am hb back and try to start pushing, push very hard and long and only managed to see bb head after 1 hr
12.00pm no more strength to push anymore and midwife asked gynae to come for assisted delivery. midwife din increase dosage of epi so that i can feel it to push bb out for the final time
12.30pm gynae arrived, after 3 pushes, zach came out, assisted by forceps

<font color="cc0099"> <font size="+1">Congrats to Fifi, Chidori, innocentwar &amp; Chris!</font>,
innocentwar, love your little girl's hair!

Chris, WHOA! Your dilation progressed at lightning speed! Good on you!
Whoa... it seems emergency Caesarian is more common than I thought. Teaches us not to take things for granted!

Kyle starting to recognise his environment and getting clingier than ever. Doesn't like to be put down after his aftnn feeds. But in the morns, he's happy to just lie in his sleeping basket and look around.

Tried nursing lying down on Mon night and it is SO SO relaxing and comfy! Hubby said we look so sweet, tiny little bub snuggled against mum. It feels very nurturing too
Kyle nursed well 4 times from Mon night through to Tue. But then decided today that I cannot do it all the time cos he tends to spit up more milk after.

SIGH, had him lie-down nurse for his evening fussy period last night and he sucked the life out of me from 10.20pm to 1.50am this morning. The 2 times he fell asleep and I picked him up to swaddle him and put him in his co-sleeper, he roused and started kicking in protest. He likes to be all snuggled up against me... I like it too! But afraid I'll squish him. Finally put him to bed close to 2 and once I turned off the nightlight, I heard a strange but familiar sound. Turned it on again and true enough, he had possetted milk down his right cheek and shoulder. The regurgitated milk smells but I wasn't going to risk rousing him. Thinking of how to clean up a bit without waking him. Ended up patting and squeezing milk from his top, swaddle cloth and sleep cushion with a washcloth. Then did it again with wet wipes, hoping it'll help with the smell.

<font color="cc0099"> ahnet~!,
Re: feeding while baby asleep.
I pick Kyle up, unswaddle him, ruffle his hair and stroke his cheeks, then when he's awake but slightly groggy, I latch him on. Usually once he feels the nipple, he'll suddenly lunge at it. According to my lac'con, sucking from a bottle uses a different set of jaw muscles from sucking on nipple so it's best NOT to intro, at least until 4th week.

+ Keep persevering with the latching-on. Hubby and dad both kept telling me to just bottle feed with ebm. I know it's easier and initially when Kyle was a crazy kicking, howling thing, I was sorely tempted to give in. Both of you are still learning and it'll take time. After the fast flowing teat of a bottle, it's going to take a LOT of work to convince your bub to suck hard for slower flow of milk. But keep going! Hold out, I believe it pays in the end. *JIA YOU!*

+ Read in a book that I supposedly NEED to intro a bottle by this week (Kyle's 4th) if I want him to take a bottle some time in the future. Apparently some exclusively latched on babies reject a bottle by the time they're a few months old, making it tough for mum when she wants someone else to take over for a night or when she goes out.

+ Re: How long to nurse
As baby and mummy are both still learning, about 30min per breast. Lac'con says often baby will want to continue for longer, but any longer and mum'll start to go crazy. Main thing is that baby should be content, producing a good number of wet and dirty diapers and your boob should feel lighter and softer once it's "emptied". As you both get better and baby gains more strength to suck more efficiently, feeding times can go down to 10-20min on each breast.</font>

<font color="cc0099"> sweethalo, you're being so conscientious with the popping table! Thanks for updating!
This 'tin' of popping mums is almost halfway to being all-popped!

caramelle, Re: NB Diapers
Kyle used 4 packets (abt 28 ea) in <3 weeks, plus about 10 pcs of samples. I try to change him if I know he's done a biggie... but with wees, it's a bit hard to tell. It's almost impossible to change diapers according to how many rounds of pee and poop they've done. Generally, the guideline is to change their diaper once every 3 hrs or so. So good to do it with every feed, I guess.

dolly, THOSE quotes are HILARIOUS!! Thanks for sharing them..! They made me smile this early in the morning...
Hopefully the rest of the day goes well too. Kyle just feeds BEAUTIFULLY i the early mornings but fusses more in aftnns and evenings wrt being put down to sleep.

bubu~, that's what my hubby meant! That drinking from a bottle is like being on drugs! Super high in a super duper short time! Haha... Glad she could be put down in the end. To keep milk supply up, you have to constantly empty your breasts... Either by latching on or pumping. When I did lie-down nursing, often I'm too lazy to change sides (involved turning over,switching baby over to other side and rearranging all the pillows and towels and stuff). So 1 side emptied, 1 side still very heavy. In the end I got up to pump both sides, taking more time to knead the unemptied side. Got 6 ounces sitting in the fridge... worried I can't use it up in 48 hours, so froze abt 5 ounces pumped yesterday...

+ Re: cupcake momma
If not mistaken, heard from Tubbym~ that their cupcakes look fantastic but are wanting in taste. Kyle's full month bash is Sunday. I'm ordering from Sweetest Moments... love their cupcakes &amp; babycards. Sis used them too and their boxes are quite nice as well!
Their website: http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/fullmonth/default.aspx
Their 'cupcake portfolio': http://sweetestmoments.wordpress.com/category/cupcakes/baby-full-month/
Don't know about taste, though. I guess I'll find out on Sun!</font>

<font color="cc0099"> useful article http://babyparenting.about.com/od/sleeping/a/sleepingbaby.htm

An excerpt to whet your appetite:
... I discovered that I was responding to Coleton so quickly and intuitively that I'd put him to the breast before he even made a real noise — he would just fidget, gurgle, or "sniff" and I would put him to the breast. I began to realize that, on so many of these occasions, he would have gone back to sleep without me.

I am a follower of the “never let your baby cry” rule, and I took it very seriously. What I didn't understand, though, is that babies make sounds in their sleep. And these sounds do not mean that baby needs you. Babies moan, grunt, snuffle, whimper, and even cry in their sleep. Babies can even nurse in their sleep.

The first step to helping your baby sleep longer is to determine the difference between sleeping noises and awake noises. When she makes a noise: Stop. Listen. Wait. Peek. As you listen attentively to her noises, and watch her, you will learn the difference between sleeping snorts and “I'm waking up and I need you now” noises.

<font color="0050b3">Morning MTBs and Mommies <font face="symbol">®</font> Congrats to those who had just popped!

Anybody have any idea how to count the Full month thingie? Haiyo! I'm been torn apart by my Mom and MIL! Mom say cannot do too early but can do it late! Then my MIL say can do early but cannot do later than exact date! SOB!!!!</font>

cassey
u r rite on the cupcakes.. i used one of them for my girl's bday last yr.. looks wise, they are tops, but for taste.. hmmm..

tinybubu
i will be using choz confectionery for zach full mth.. used them for my girl's full mth and many pple complimented in their packaging and taste! you can see from their webpage a lot of mediacorp artistes used them b4
http://www.chozconfectionery.com/2007/home.php

<font color="cc0099"> Blurmom, I think they count using lunar calendar... exactly the same day of the following month.
Hopefully your exact day falls on a weekend...?
Else HAIYA, you &amp; hubby decide whether do earlier or later and just let either mum know?

*back to bed!*</font>

<font color="0050b3">Chris38 <font face="symbol">®</font> Congrats and welcome to motherhood!

My mom say cannot too early because the house is till not clean yet! If people come and attend early full month celebration, they cannot go temple! She say can only be 3 days early, not earlier than that! I know that Teo chew pple celebrate on the 40th day of Birth...

HELP! I'm been sandwiched!</font>

<font color="0050b3">Cassey <font face="symbol">®</font> Daylon was born on lunar 10th May then the full month falls on Thursday! So its either 4 days earlier or 2 days later...

Cham lor! After delivery - depressed with folks commenting on my milk supply! Now milk supply is doing fine then now they wanna find problem with the full month thingie! Whenever my MIL come up, she will keep asking my CL if I got bath, eating well, learning to take care baby, use those "Chinese" stuff on my baby and keep waking my bb up for milk! As she say my Bb is TOO SKINNY! Seriously, baby and I got no rest whenever she's here! Feel like screaming at her already! Ended up, I sobbed to myself in the room!</font>

morning mummies... i just reached 38 weeks today and some of u are already planning for your baby shower! i can't wait for my gal to arrive!!

congrats to all mummies who have popped and tks for updating the table sweethalo...

My contraction slowly fades off last night! Huh, but it does wake me up at night. Thot I can go hospital already, so anticlimax!

Cassey: Wow, you woke early, or is there any schedule?

chris38: Thanks for sharing, really speeding dilation! 5cm in 2 hours

Blurmom: Think of the bright side, count yourself lucky that she's not there all day! Perhaps you can let your hubby know about it and let him deal with her?

morning mummies and congrats to mummies who popped

dovey, we r all waiting for bb to arrive hee =P
i m in my week 39.

dolly, my hb will b outstation most of the time sigh, really dunno how to deal with mil!

Congrats Chris38

Been really tired this week... especially after hitting my 37th wk ytd... wonder what the gynae checkup on Sat morn will reveal... getting more nervous too..

Today hv to go out to meet my primary sch friend for lunch who is back from US... 3 wks overdue oredi... hahha...woke up early had breakfast but feeling so tired, i can fall asleep now at the keyboard...

annie and jessma, i still see gynae weekly leh. my next appt is mon 15june. he said most mummies pop within 10days of their EDD so maybe after next appt, no more already.

yah i notice so many mummies finishing their confinements and i havent even start!

had a dream last night that i was at hospital going to deliver but hubby said im thinking too much that's y have funny dreams like that.

thought of going out today but weather too hot! yest night went to ikea with hubby and after 30min felt very lightheaded, like want to faint. so now a bit scared to go out alone.

re MIL: if i deliver within next week i'll b quite lucky cos all in-laws family going for holidays and wont come to visit so early. at first i was quite sad lah..esp for hubby cos he's the 1st son and 1st cousin in the family, and yet when he's expecting his 1st child nobody is there to visit. he even take single room to accomodate more of his family coming to visit. in the end, might be only me, him and my small family. i wanted single room so he can bunk in. hehe

ok sneaking off for MY first feed of the day: BREAKFAST! ttyl!

sorry b4 i leave i have a qn..should we get something for our colleagues in the office after baby's first month? im not very sure but before i left office last friday they all said they'll be waiting for goodies soon..what's the custom?

Caramelle... think usually either buy a big big cake and some mini celebration in the office, or give those who gave u gift those Bengawan Solo cake vouchers or bring each of them one small box of cakes...

Dogglefox noted, will update later when I am home... dont hv the excel file in this laptop :p

caremelle, the practice in my office is get big cake or assorted small cakes for everyone... post on common noticeboard.. for those in ur dept/ section can get individual cakes.. (if they gave u something too la)

for those who visit me during confinement, i will either give them a nicer cake or invite them for baby 1st month...

check wif u mummies... is it normal to b experiencing more discharge now? good thing there's no blood... else i'll freak out!

CONGRATS CHRIS38!!

split, for me I felt that the binder helps leh. Cos with the binder on, I can walk like normal person, without it, I feel like my tummyy wobbling around like that. But then again, I got excess fats, so maybe that's why wahahaha.... My wound doesn't hurt anymore too, but something inside still hurts a bit, think it's the internal stitches??

Mummies who have brought their babies to the PD, your PD's clinic got separate waiting area for newborns or not har? That day when I brought my kiddo to the Kinder Clinic, it was all one big waiting area, and there was some kid coughing badly, got me a little paranoid, cos our newborns have hardly any immune system to speak of right?

tinybubu, I think Cupcake Momma's cupcakes are pretty, but I read some negative reviews online about her, not sure can believe or not? Stuff like for smaller orders, her quality suffers, sometimes she doesn't even entertain your call or does not quote, cupcakes are very dry, etc. Maybe these "reviews" were given by competitors, not sure. Let us know which you go with, ok?

ahnet, I BF one boob per feed only. Skyla always falls asleep within 5min of latching (regardless of how I try to rouse her, she's VERY good at sleeping at the boob), and her suckling slows down, and even after 45min on the same boob, when she takes herself off the boob and doesn't wanna drink anymore, the boob is still not emptied out, so I figured there's enough in one boob for a whole feed.

Blurmom, just ignore your MIL! A lot of newborns look "skinny" anyway, look at mine. Besides, babies on BM are usually trimmer looking. Let her say all she wants, try to learn to "ear in ear out" ok? Older generation people are very much like that, they gauge everything based on "fatness". It's probably also her way of showing concern in a twisted sense lah. If she doesn't have anything to nag about, maybe she's scared people will think she doesn't care. Relax ya? Don't let her get to you. You're doing great, and Daylon is doing great too, even PD says so, right? Jiayou!

Full Month celebration: Relatives &amp; friends all ASSUME I'm gonna have one. So fed up, make me even more likely to purposely not do a celebration!

Dovey, I had more discharge at the late stage of pregnancy. It was quite irritating actually haha...

morning to all mommies

me still countdown..
Mika Rei- hope i don have to induce....scare tat might end up go c section if i kana induce

caramelle- mine no more so jus waiting

agree wif mommies here..jus get a cake for yr colleague

Dovey- i also had more discharge tats y i keep changing my panty liner

caramelle: Yes, count yourself lucky that the mil &amp; co are not around to fuss over you!

For my company, colleague will poll a fix sum of money for the new born, then we just give them back a cake card from Bengawan Solo on the first month. Those colleague who are closer to me will be invited to my first month party as well

Dovey: I've white discharge, is yours white too?

Dolly,mine also about 1 week liao.. at night difficult to breath.. Monday gynae give me a spray medicine to use when necessary,i only use once on monday night,yesterday felt better so didn't use it already.. today seem like ok liao.how about you?oo.. i also drink a lots of water.my gynae appointment card didnt indicate mobile no.,if need to call her then i need to call call center first then ask them transfer the phone for me.Maybe she will give her mobile no when next visit??

Talking about bath tub for our bb,i brought 1 bath tub with inner supportor but i'm looking for the bath tub stand but don't have suitable type one.

Annie,bring laptop too heavy,if i can use hp to surf net there then i will not bring laptop liao... hehe. so at night if can't sleep then we can go online and chat with family or friends..keke..ermmm .. who know later after labour sleep like pig.. hahha..

Caramelle,ya me also still see gynae weekly.My EDD is next tuesday liao..hehe..These days very hot,you can go out around 6pm,go out walk walk and breath fresh air..hehe.. If you felt lightheaded then sit for a while and eat something then will be better.
RE:MIL,our situation quite similar.. initially i was not happy too,but since we can't do anything about it then let it be..you can have more rest and more private time with your baby.;D

Hi Tubbym

Glad to learn u have pop. I was hospitalised for bedrest last friday due to waterlevel issue.

My gynae has scheduled me for c sec on next week with GA. I am worrry about the pain aftereffect. How do you cope with the pain during that time?

Jessma- gyne gave his no. to us cos he said normally KKH dont practice in given out their number but as since i been wif him frm the start &amp; hubby always got so many question &amp; since we r 1st parents &amp; due to my medical history he jus write his number behind his name card
jus in case we nid help..
the laptop he getting for me is a small one can only surf net..kekekekekeke

have some pain from morning. Then the pain became like stitches like on right side. Tummy feels very different and the cramp getting more. Pelvic also got pain. Called my clinic and they suggested going down. My concern is what happens if it's another false alarm? Like the last time, strapped onto the CTG and kana sent home. So sian! Should I go?

Annie,i see.. nvm later let nurse contact my gynae,hehe.. your husband getting a netbook for you is it?My edd is next tues,This monday did VE still not dilated yet a bit worry liao.. as my friend already dilated since last monday until now she still waiting game.. If all condition ok,i still want natural delivery.

JessMa: Mine running nose getting thicker though, harder to sneeze
Was given normal medicine, no spray though. As for mobile number, is it because the call center is 24x7? My gynae clinic opens only during office hour. So his appointment comes w his mobile and home phone number.

LFB: When I feel my tummy tighten yesterday, it doesn't have stitches pain, but I have pelvic pain. I just wait and count how long each last and the interval of each pain. In the end, the tightening last more than 3 hours and it fades off, I didn't call my gynae though. Was waiting for it to get more intense, and walking around the house as well

Jessma- las nite i had contraction &amp; my hubby time for me.. every 5 mins i will have pain then stopped .. getting nearer so excited bout it &amp; told him better go sleep or else no strength to push if bb really come out.. now i know how contraction is.... still having on &amp; off..

qi7 mum said if the contraction getting closer maybe my boy be out soon..

dolly- ohhh yr flu getting bad to worse..

PeachBB, I had C-sec with spinal block, so I was conscious all thru, didn't have to wait for GA to wear off. So for your case, your recovery process may be a bit different from mine. But here's mine, for your reference

For c-sec day till next morning, I was on drip for glucose + sodium + anti-nausea medication + painkiller. So for first whole day, I felt no pain. I was also on catheter for urine, so did not have to get up to go toilet etc. When they stopped my painkiller drip, they gave me painkillers to pop orally, namely 2x paracetamol + 1x synflex &amp; antacids to prevent gastric. The painkilling effect is less powerful than the painkiller in the drip (not sure if that's morphine?), but the wound still doesn't hurt, more like an ache. For me, after the op there was a pressure bandage pasted over the wound, which was removed on 3rd day morning. I requested to buy a binder from the hospital, so they put the binder on for me after removing the pressure bandage.

On 2nd day, it's best to get up to try to walk, cos blood circulation makes the wound heal faster. I got up to pee, and each time I went to pee, I walk around the room a couple of rounds, then go back to lying down. My doc saw me sitting up on the bed cross-legged, and told me that was a bad idea, cos sitting like that causes the wound to stretch, and said I should lie down instead when not walking around. When getting up, my mum (who had womb surgery last time also) told me that nurses taught her to get up sideways to a sitting position on the bed, then use one hand to press/support the wound, and use other hand to press yourself off the bed, try not to use your stomach muscles to sit up and stand up. Avoid laughing, coughing and sneezing, as all these will hurt. I practised all these, and found that it's effective for me.

I stopped taking the synflex and slowly cut down on paracetamol, as I didn't want to depend on the painkillers. By the time I discharge, I've stopped on the pills already. They let me bring home for just in case, but I've not touched them cos the pain was really quite minimal. There is a waterproof dressing over the wound, so you can still shower as per normal. Till now, I wear my binder for most of the day, only taking off when I shower and for a couple of hours after shower to "take a break", cos like I mentioned to Split, I feel more secure with it haha. First time I got up to pee in the hospital, I was walking hunched over and at granny's pace, but now walking straight and not hunched anymore.

I think my c-sec experience was really quite ok, cos heard some other horror stories before, for both the op process and the recovery, but mine was nothing like those horror stories at all. All the best for your op, stay positive!

Sorry to the rest for the long post

Annie, maybe better don't lah, you do your research online on which one you want, and then just tell your hubby to go and buy? But if you still feel perfectly fine to walk around, then go ahead ba
Just be careful and don't let people push you &amp; belly. But how to time contractions like that?

Dolly,if getting thicker then means will recover soon,maybe tomorrow you can recovery already ;p Did you took the medicine?my gynae ask me whether want medicine eat one or spray one,i don't want to take eat one so i choose spray and only use once,after spray,that's night i can sleep very well.after that i endure and don't use it liao as felt better..

Annie,yesterday night i also had contraction(i think,as suddenly my tummy will tighten but no pain),every half hr but not really pain.Yours with pain right?So now how is it?still on and off mah?Yesterday i clim staircase until level 10 then take lift went back home.

Annie,why cannot be more than a month?i heard that if baby boy then can more than one month.If baby gal then within a month.

Tubbymummy- wait he buy for me not nice one...
will see how it goes

Jessma- mine still bearable but las nite when i lie flat.. it was really painful..&amp; it stopped ard 2+am come &amp; goes every 5 mins.. hubby said if he doze off &amp; my pain is unbearable pinch him hard..kekeke
don know but jus follow our traditional way

Tubbymummy- wait he buy for me not nice one...
will see how it goes

Jessma- mine still bearable but las nite when i lie flat.. it was really painful..&amp; it stopped ard 2+am come &amp; goes every 5 mins.. hubby said if he doze off &amp; my pain is unbearable pinch him hard..kekeke
don know but jus follow our traditional way

Tubbym

Thanks for the detailed experience sharing. certainly hope mine is not a painful experience as well. I did learn from my gynae that GA means just knockoff. but not sure whether the pain medication will take effect when i woke up. I must ask him again before the op.

finally i feel my baby more active and could feel her bones structure in my stomach. remember i was telling u that she is small size.. i felt like she has grown bigger this week as i could feel her "big movements" at night. Hopefully she has is now of a better size.

Hope things are doing well for u too. Congrats to all Mum who have popped!

Just back from lunch! So hot... went straight to bath after that

JessMa: I alternate the cough drop and running nose medicine, but sometime just dun take altogether if I can tahan all the sneezing, cos it's just curing symptom anyway.

Wow, you climb a lot of stairs leh! I only climb 1 storey... then take lift liao

thanks for info abt the big cake. should have asked as well when i should send the cake? is it after delivery or around 1st month?

jessma, i bought those bath tub stand also (can find at mothercare but i bought 2nd hand) but find that when i open it up, it takes up the entire space of my bathroom. so need to open close after each bathing session..like quite troublesome. the support to put in bathtub my mum say good to have because it keeps your hands free. she said otherwise you cannot leave baby in tub if you forget soap/towel/cotton etc...so i just bought. that one also can get 2nd hand because wont use long i think..

re discharge: me having white discharge too, sometimes jelly-like. i hope it's normal?

re gynae's hp: annie, think u very lucky. my gynae also no contact number. if need to ask anything must go through the call center and the nurse will ask him. so far never spoke to him on the phone.

re weather: yah nowadays weather is very hot! that's the only thing i miss abt being in the office..hehe..

re small laptop: annie, would suggest you ask him get at least 8 or 9 inch screen otherwise too small and it heats up very fast. plus eye pain after use so long. im very into small laptops and my current one is from HP, get for free when sign up for starhub. can put inside handbag but like i said..after use a while..eye pain! hehe

caramelle- dont worry bout the white discharge as it is normal
but is the discharge is itchy then u nid to go back to yr gyne

will see how it goes cos i don mind having a small one as at home i can access the big one

Annie,but pain or not is very objective,maybe to you bearable but to others is unbearable.. I think you can see your bb soon liao .. if pinch your husband when painful later our husband end up become rainbow,colorful ya... kekekeke....

Dolly,you try to drink more water,yesterday i drink about 2000ml plain water.. and also eat watermelon and "ju hua cha" and soya bean... so today almost recovery liao..ya lor,Monday i did VE still not dilated yet,and i prefer natural delivery if condition is allow,that's why i clim 10 storey and walk around the pungol park.. hehe.. think execise more can helps bah..

Caramelle,all the stand come with their bath tub,right?where you brought the 2nd hand one?i also plan to get 1 in these few days,it's true that with the bath tub stand will be more conviniant to us..

jessma- he ask me to pinch him cos he really tired ...jus had my second cold bath... so nice.. shelisa sms she had a quick warm wash when her grandma go out kekekekekekee
poor she cannot take shower

i didnt climb staircase leh..lazy walk already below pain so jus use lift even though i staying at 3rd flr.. anywher the lift go up to every flr..hahahahhaa