(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

annie, better dun go PC fair... dun take the risk...

my discharge is white but sometimes yellowish... does everyone only get white discharge??

weather is super hot! it is said this kind of weather will last till september! how to tahan confinement??

blurmom,
jus ignore ur mil lah...

my pil side will haf full month celebration,.. but hor, when i ask my mum, she says she got no right to organise full month celebration.... why ar?? so pissed off wif her...

den my mum nt gg to chap at all lah?? she says she can only join the celebration but she doesnt haf the right to organise one herself...

wat nonsense ar??? i dun understand at all lor!!

normally, full month thing is paid by who ar? baby's parents or grandparents??? which side of grandparents??

Dovey- wait he get me no nice one
will see how it goes

yah stretchmarks- after delivery do mummies still having stretchmarks

Dovey,we still can use aircon during our confinement,but don't lower than 25 degree.

Annie,haha... you and your husband so cute.. poor shelisa ,at last she can have a quick shower liao.. hehehe... i plan to visit her this sunday if she conviniant.. you already dilated right?for me,because gynae said not dilated even a little bit.. that's why i need more execise..you already dilated liao and also now got more contraction liao so better rest more and save your energy for labour bah.. You better don't go to PC fair,it's will be supper crowed, every time i go to PC SHOW,half mins walking distant become more than half hour and supper hot!!!

sweethalo, can u update for me too, my boy was born on 4jun, c-sect w/epi at mt A. hubby and i still thinking of name for the little boy. Thanks

Annie,i search some info that how to make 9 layer cake,later try to do.. if you feel boring at home then can try to find those info and learn first.. after you come to pungol then we attend class again ok..

any mum here dont latch bb? I actually only latch my boy for 2days but i cant monitor how much he's drinking and i notice he usually fall asleep very fast when latch and i gotta feed him almost hourly so i start to bottle feed my boy with EBM..he's now taking abt 80ml~100ml every 2.5hr...

Jessma- hubby rushing home now to do his insurance stuff for his friend company & then bring me go PC fair.. later we can take cab ther & back as his car lend to his older bro as we not usin it ..

i wan to walk more so bb will pop out said his 1st hello by crying..hehehehheheehe

ahnetsan: Full month celebration can be very sensitive, your IL side can organzie and invite your side. Baby's surname is bearing your IL's mah, that's why your mum might have said that.

For me a bit more simple, our celebration is only for friends and very little relative of mine. Later when my mum comes then I'll have separate dinner with my mum's side of relatives. My hubby let him settle himself.

JessMa: I drank soya bean, coconut and lots of water too! Just hope to clear up soon lah

Annie: Do take care when you are at the crowded place!

Annie,becareful when go to PC Fair ok.. ya ya,we make our hubby more fat later.. keke..

Dolly,if homemade soya bean without sugar better.Don't worry you can clear up soon.. otherwise you can try spray one,but only use it when necessary.

PeachBB, great to hear that baby seems to have gotten bigger! Ya, I remember I also felt the same way, when her movements were getting bigger/stronger in the belly, I felt that it means she's bigger (and she was). Will you be having another scan before your c-sec?

As for BF, I fed baby asap after I came out of OT. They took her away to clean, weigh etc etc, so by the time I was wheeled back to room, she arrived not that long after (but I may have lost track of time haha). Not more than 1hr anyway. I latched her on, with guidance from lactation consultant. But before my op, I did say that I want to total BF, so they did not offer baby any formula.

For your case, since it's GA, I'm not sure if you will feel awake enough after the op to BF. Or whether you have to wait for the effects of GA to wear off before it is safe to BF. I think you better ask you doc. If doc say cannot BF while GA is still wearing out, and you want to TBF later on, maybe can ask the hospital to cup feed instead of bottle feeding the formula to your baby?

Jessma- be very very very careful.. anywher i walked so slow... hahahahahaha got to get ready wait hubby said i so slow....

he keep laughing at me as once i lie down on the floor i cant get up..
i feel like a hippopotamus... clumsy & fat
then when i look at him so fit & standing beside him in the mirror i feel so unattractive

dolly, do you feel like you're getting any closer to delivery yet? More frequent contractions etc? Otherwise when is the "deadline" before you have to induce?

Annie,ok ok enjoy your fun and happy shopping ya.. After confinement we do gym and cook more nice food to husband then husband will be the one unattractive liao...kekeke...

I am back from TMC! As usual, false alarm! My bb naughty lor! Was put on CTG, AGAIN! Nothing significant and was sent home, arrghh!!! That's why I don't want to go in the first place. Sian! So came home and cook dinner! Ha ha ha! Hubby said go out and eat, but I just want to cook. At least can take my mind off. Tmr will be out whole day. Hope the walking will ease everything!

Re:First month
Ahnetsan, my bb 1st month celebration is decided by hubby and I, from venue to cakes to bb favour. I want to be involve. IL don't bother and my mum is ok with anything. So we settle ourselves. Better this way. Somemore I have to give cakes and cards to office the day b4! Will be very busy!!!

TubbyMummy: Today no contraction yet leh, baby still kicking inside though. Going to see gynae again this Sat, then he might ask me to induce after that. He guidelines is 1 week after due date. But he mentioned I'll need to do surgical induction, breaking of water bag then contraction should start.

LFB: Nevermind lah, at least make sure it's alright.

jessma, i buy 2nd hand online. seems like most mummies will sell bathtub and stand together.

wah LFB u still got energy to cook! i cant stand the cleaning up part...

split
i only latch my boy at night... day time i only tried a few times, cos too hot le. and he keep crying... so mostly i pump out.

wow hw old is ur bb nw? drinking 80-100ml le! wow, dats alot

Caramelle,
better than eating outside! I am so bored at home that at least cooking take away some time. I usually cook and wash, so when I am done, there isn't much to celan up! I even don't mind washing and ironing! lol! Anything to kill time!

ahnetsan, my boy is 1week old today..latch on i dont think he take that much but bottle feed usually abt 80~100ml but night time he seem to take lesser and keep wanting to be carry..

annie, i also hope tat i dun need to induce. if contraction comes before 12 midnite today, i wun need it. pray pray!!! i'm checking in tonite though. it's considered as next day's checkin anyway.

re: bb's full mth
oh, din know tat bb boy can hold full mth aft the exact date but bb gal cannot. thought both cannot do after the exact date. so hv to do earlier if timing not right.

wow, split, my boy is 1 week old today... he still hasnt take 80-100ml yet..

today tried latch him in morning! and woohoo! it was a breeze!! successful!!
so happy...

nw, at this moment, my mil is bottle feeding Jarius... jus nw he only drank 30ml... stil got left wif 50ml... so hopefully nw he can drink a bit more, after burping and changing diapers...
but he so cute lor, keep turning his head wan to suckle me i think, but let him finish the bottle first lah.

hello everyone. have not come in for a while and there's so much to catch up. gave up trying to finish reading all that I have missed before posting. I have given birth to my gal Kate on June 3. Details:
Gleneagles hospital
Weight 3.03kg
length 50cm
EDD was June 13 but waterbag broke on June 3 at around 7am.
7am - not sure if water bag broke but felt trickle of water while lying on the bed
rushed to toilet to check my panties. no urine smell. another trickle again. this time wiped it with toilet paper which turned a little pinkish.
Still not sure and discussing with hubby what to do - Need to see gynae or not to confirm or is it false alarm? To go back to work after going for gynae checkup? i.e. not sure whether to wear work clothes or casual. In the end, decided to go see gyane and then take the day off if it's false alarm.
8am - all dressed up and ate breakfast at home since my gynae doesn't start work until 9am
8.45am - on the way to Gleneagles. Called gynae clinc and was told to go directly to labor ward for VE check.
9 plus - went into the delivery ward
10 plus - gynae came and did my first VE which was quite a struggle cuz I felt that it was painful. Gynae confirmed that I was 1cm dilated and prescribed epidural since I was such a scaredy cat who can't even handle VE pain. Did endema (dunno how to spell) to clear bowels.
11plus - was administered epidural even though i wasn't feeling any contraction pain. Have discussed with my gynae previously on my low pain threshold and he's agreed to let me have epidural in the early part of the process.
3 plus - only 3cm dilated
midwife felt progress was slow and checked that i have full bladder. Did the cathether to clear my urine so that baby's head can descend.
4 plus - dilation was around 8cm. Progressing fast - midwife predicted i can start pushing at around 5pm. at this point, I can feel the contractions pain liao.
Had another dosage of epidural as the first one was runnning low. At this point, the epidural was running at the maximum (think level 13) but can still feel the contractions pain/pressure at the anus area like wanna pass motion.
5pm - dilation was 10cm and gynae confirmed can start to push
5 plus - baby was born.
With the epidural, i felt pain for like only around one hour. Would say this is a wonder drug. Think i can dilate so fast cuz i was totally relaxed since i can't feel any pain. Was watching TV in the delivery ward until the last hour.
Both baby and I were discharged after 2 night's stay.
Baby won't latch on so I am now expressing my BF. Supply is very very low, no wonder baby doesn't want to latch on. but will express and feed her with whatever BM I have. She's been on formula since the day she's born. haiz.

split,
u also gave birth on 4th june?

yeah lor, this morning i went to see Ang le. he checked my wounds... den going back in 6-8wks time for papsmear and review... u leh? u went to see him yet?

btw, ur bb will finish the 80-100ml at one sitting? or need to stop and continue for a few times den can finish?

mine jus nw managed to finish 80ml, from 5pm until 6pm... in between, got burps, and change diaper and den continue feeding...

congratulations to the new mummies!!! wah most on our thread have popped!! yee tomorrow i count down 9 days to EDD... a lot of BH today. very uncomfortable. hee just did laundry. some exercise is good...

talking about baby full month celebration, i'm still quite undecided... dunno if wanna invite relatives for buffet or just send cakes to them... can share how you ladies are doing it?? here are my options.

1. invite friends, colleagues AND relatives for buffet at home. give cakes to relatives and close friends.

2. invite only relatives and give cakes. give cakes to friends who visit me at home.

3. invite only friends for buffet at home, give cakes to relatives

my house quite cramped so dunno if can handle the large volume.. my ILs not keen on full-month celebration cos they think very troublesome, and expose baby to lots of germs. my parents chin chai one.

any suggestions??

ahnetsan, yeah i went there this morning too my appointment was 1035am~ i going back on 6aug for the paps~maybe got see u this morning lol..

my bb also take abt that time to finish milk, must bulp him at abt 60ml wait for him to poo finish den change dipper and continue again..

amk_gal,
if ur parents and inlaw not keen to ask relative to come den pick opt 3. friends come visit more fun =x

split,
omg, i din knw u gave birth on 4th too!! where? TMC or Mt A?

hey, im also gg back Ang on 6th Aug leh!! mine is 1030am. urs leh?

today my appt was 11am... i reached there at abt 1115am. dunno whether got see u or not leh.
mayb we did but we din know.

<font color="cc0099"> SORRY SORRY! Didn't realise that no one else informed...
<font size="+1">Jam75 popped 10th June!!</font> Baby Aston was born 7.07am, weighing 3.375kg and measuring 50cm!

<font size="+1">Congrats, KateLee!</font> I've been wondering if you've popped or not!

dolly, actually I'm always up at about this time... his middle of night feed is usually between 3 and 5 and I'm up for about 1.5-2 hours. Just that I don't go online cos I'm concussed!!

LFB, oooooohhh! Is it time? Is it time?!?! Aiya... anti-climax.
By the time you're REALLY ready, you'll be dismissing it as false alarm! Heehee...

Tubbym~, it's SO good to have you back! Glad Skyla and mummy are both doing well

ahnet~, Re: Full Month Celebrations
I think it's really up to the parties involved to decide who pays. For me, I'm very blessed cos my parents are holding it in Kyle's honour so they'll be footing the bill. Especially cos they're invited about 80ppl whereas ILs only inviting a handful and I'm only inviting a couple of close friends.

split, there's no need to stop latching just to monitor baby's intake.. just ensuring that there are plenty of wet and dirty diapers is enough to assure you that baby is taking enough. They definitely take more during bottle feeding cos it's so easy to have the milk drip into their mouth instead of them having to suck hard as they do on the breast.

+ I latch Kyle on every time. But still pump in between - especially if he hasn't emptied either boob well. One hour after latching on today, managed to pump a whopping 120mls! I surprised even myself. Anyway, so I can roughly gauge how much Kyle's actually drinking cos he drains my boobs very well at the end of each 40-80min session.

amkgal, actually if either set of parents were ok with not doing the celebrations, I'd prefer to just skip the whole shebang! I'm only ordering giftboxes for relatives and parents' friends - not for colleagues nor friends. I guess it's Option 3 for me too!

Mika~, GlenE was not strict on the 2 visitor rule when I was warded.

Sorry to interrupt. Anyone keen to purchase Avent IQ Bottle and baby food warmer ? I've a brand new one unused . Willing to sell 30% cheaper off the usual selling price in the market. Pls PM me if interested. Thanks.

Kate,
Congratulation! Your labour not that long leh, so good! Now I am reconsidering Epi or no Epi!

Congrats to Jam75!!!

Cassey,
sigh, really anti climax! I was like unwilling to go down, due to last incident, but nurse insisted! Even text my hubby told him no need to panic cos most likely false alarm! Was talk to bb and asked him hurry hurry, then hubby told me cannot rush bb to come out, if not next time he grow up "mang chang"! So funny! Anyway, tmr going lunch with niece and parents, so more R&amp;R!

Hi gals...

Congrats KateLee, Jam75!

I am still out, waiting for hb to knock off ...ahha.. he went back into the IT fair to get sth so here am I sitting in Macs... The place is a madhouse in Suntec... Annie, hope u didnt go to the fair cos it's really crazy all the way from the Convention Hall to the Giordano area.

Today Robinsons started their no GST sale again so less 7% upfront over and above the GSS sale discounts and before cardmember 5% , so I guess it's a good deal! but i didnt get anything there ...hahha...

AMKgal - i don't think i want to invite relatives to the house... especially with all this H1N1 thingy going on... too many old ppl and 'strangers' aka relatives tt I don't kn only my MIL knows... see also sian...hehehe

Maybe hv a small gathering outside with immediate family.

My MIL oredi told all her relatives no need to song-li ie. give those gifts of whatever tonic, wine, dom, milo etc... hehe... so lidat no need to bother inviting them

Jam75,
congrats! hope to read ur birth story soon.

kate,
congrats!! wow, u so shiok, stil can watch tv during last hour of labour... i was struggling in pain like hell during my last hour...

wow sweethalo, enjoying urself ar?
dat's the way!! huh? today got robinsons sale meh??? i din know wor...

btw, those who receive chicken essence or bird nest during hospital stay from frens or relatives, pls pls PLS check CHECK the expiry date!!

i got one box of brands chicken essence, i went to open it jus nw, and before i drink it, i checked the expiry date!! and guess wat??? the expiry date is APRIL 2009!!!

Ahnet- hehe ... yeah counting my days of 'freedom' still and appreciating every moment of it...

Alamak.. which chek ark relative give u overdue essence of chicken!! heng, my very smart MIL tell all the relatives don't give and don't need to visit... Hhahahhaha

i haf no idea sia! heng i always will check for expiry date... damn chek ark right? dunno who lor...

mika,
jiayou!! wish you a smooth and fast labour!!
update us soon.

Have not been coming in for sometime. Read thru the archives. So many mummies has pop. CONGRATS!

I have given birth on 6 June at Mount Alvernia. My boy weighing at 3.6kg, 50cm, head circumference 34cm.

Birth story:

5 June - 7pm
Was told to meet up at MAH for induction. Had dinner &amp; a good bath.

9.30pm
Broke water bag (super painful &amp; sore) and inserted enema. Was on oxytoxin drip

11pm
Increased oxytoxin dosage as contractions was minimal.

6 June - 1.30am
Could feel slight contraction, asked for laughing gas. Contractions 5mins apart. Dilation 1cm ONLY.

3.30am
Contractions intense. Dilation stayed at 1cm. Called gynae if by 7am still not progressing will need to go emergency c-sec. Midwife predict that high chance of going c-sec as dilation can't progress to 10cm in few hrs. Disappointed thou as hoping for natural birth.

4.30am
Asked for epi as can't stand the pain. Was told no point since going for c-sec. No choice but to bear the pain.

6.30am
Midwife came to insert cathether &amp; shaving. Opt for epi c-sec. Push to operating theatre.

6.45am
Epi adminstered. Baby Noel was born.

Had a hard time latching as I had short nipples. Pumping milk and feeding bb on bottles. Milk supply ok but still not enough for bb 3hrs feeding. Supplement with formula.

Cassey,
Intending to get from sweetest moments too. Dun mind can update me their quality?

Tubbym,
I got the binder too. You bind more to the abdomen area or the stitches area? I am having constipation, dun kw whether due to c-sec or the confinement food.