(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

superbee,
haha thanks!

URGENT - HELP HELP HELP
ask u all ar, my boy has been sleeping the whole day today!! how ar?? no matter how we tried to wake him up, he jus wouldnt wake up!! and my breasts were engorged with colostrum and had to pump it out! and i cried cos i was so depressed, he jus wouldnt to suck my nipples and keep spitting my nipple out and keep rejecting me! den he jus continued to sleep no matter what we do.

den at 1pm+, after i expressed out, gosh, i had 60ml for both sides. think it's still colostrum? cos it was like yellowish? den hb bottle fed him, took like 25min lor, but he din finish the 60ml!! and he only had 2 feeds today so far only!!

how how how???

ok annie, later i go add u.

im actually quite depressed now, cos i dun wan to keep expressing out milk and feeding or force feeding him milk... i wan him to latch on and haf the bonding with me!!

cry and cry jus nw until my hb also scared i will get postnatal depression.

it's so sian staying with inlaws

wonder wat went wrong after she bathed my boy this morning at 8am... made him wake up for bath, den after dat my boy jus fell into a concussion the whole fucking day!!!

and my boy din even bother to open his eyes the whole day, only when i used my hand to block the room light, den he will try to open his eyes a bit and den he will just fall back into sleep again!!!

argh!!!!!!!!!

ahnetsan : dont be upset.

my girl had problems latching as well.The LC told me this is the honeymoon period where baby will be very sleepy and not cry very often.

Once baby's lungs kick in, you'll be wishing he would just keep quiet and go to sleep.hahaha.

even now when my baby is 3 weeks old, i have problems meeting her demand.my milk supply isnt very high like some of the lucky mummies here. but LC told me must not give up hope. it takes weeks for some babies to learn how to latch.it also takes some mummies 6 to 8 weeks for their milk supply to be in so that its on par with baby's demand.

i also feel like giving up and have cried so many times.but milk supply will only increase if we keep trying our best to get baby to latch.no matter what food we eat or how we massage / pump, latching is nature's best way of increasing milk supply.

and also, we as mummies cannot get angry with our babies if they dont know how to latch at first.like what cassey said before, it's not the babies fault.they're not doing this on purpose to make you angry.if they could, they would already be latching onto you at this moment.but we must help our babies to learn.

i'm sure this time is very trying for you.it is for me too.so dont be sad because the rest of us who have already given birth to our June babies are going through the same thing...

sometimes i wish i was still pregnant.hahaha. baby still inside tummy but getting enough food and i still can go out shopping and to meet my friends.

as i'm typing this, i'm drinking hot milo and praying my milk supply will kick in asap.

sigh...

i dont even have the heart to pump because my breasts arent even engorged!!! what if i'm halfway pumping and she wakes up for a feed.then i'm dead because she refuses to drink from the bottle or pacifier.

hi ahnetsan,

your son just like my son, sleep all the time and didn't bother to wake up for milk. According to nurse, no matter what, we must wake him up every 3 hrs and feed them, even spoon feed also must. For the time being, no choice hv to express milk, when he is more "awake", he will latch on eventually. For my case, we ever tried to feed only 30ml for one hour.

congrats to the new mummies!

i'm back from hotel stay with hubby. quite nice la. did nothing except watch tv, eat, sleep, relax.

ahnetsan, try to take it easy. maybe u wanna check with hospital how to deal with sleepy baby? maybe he's too comfortable so keep sleeping?

i'm 2 weeks away from EDD... waiting waiting...

tiny bubu / capriho,
den like dat how?? no matter hw i wake my boy, he jus wont wake up! how to latch him every 3hrly?

capriho, wat did the nurse say abt waking him up every 3hrs? so u also been expressing out now?
i read dat each feed is 30-60ml and has to haf at least 7-8 feeds leh.. but like dat den how???

my idiotic fucking irritating mil keep saying never mind one, jus let bb sleep, despite i already say dat need to feed bb every 3hrs!!

argh

baby must definately feed once every 3 to 4 hours.but dont let baby sleep beyond 4 hours.

try tickling his ear and chin.also try massaging his hands and feet and unswaddling him.

he might be too comfortable in his current position and hoose to continue sleeping so we must try our best to wake them up.

you also need to adjust the lighting in the room.if it's too dark, baby's eyes will not want to open.if it's too bright, baby might shut it tighter and therefore, go back to sleep.so you need to make the lights brighter but not too bright...

does that make sense?

die lah, my bb has been sleeping for more than 4hrs nonstop le!! now it's been like almost 8hrs!!!

i tried to call up TMC parentcraft, apparently, no answer lor!!!!!!!!!!

Hi ahnetsan,

Ya, i am still expressing out the milk and bottle feed him lor.

The nurse ask me to try to burp him whenever he is not sucking, I can do that like 5 - 6 times for one feed. They said there was a case where the mother didn't bother to wake the baby up for feeding and the bb have to refer to KKH and has affected the brain. I understand how panic and stress it was when come to feeding time, but no choice, may be bb still think that he is still in the tummy.

now there are relatives in the house and it's damn noisy lor, yet with all the noise, my boy stil can sleep soundly leh!!

ahnetsan,

this is what the nurse told me and i also very worried, i even use the medicine feeder to "inject" the milk into his mouth, i tried all the ways i could. May be you want to call your PD and see how?

also try calling tmc's main line instead and asking to speak to an LC on duty as its urgent.LC will have lot of experience and advise you correctly on the spot.

i jus managed to call up the parentcraft centre and she said it's dangerous to be still sleeping for 8hrs!!

wah capriho, u even bot the 'inject' thing to feed? i dun have leh!!

i jus went out and i dun care la, jus unswaddle my boy and let everyone in the living room looked at me like in a daze lor, wondering wat im doing...

he has to wake up !!!

Ya, bo bian, can't let the bb sleep like that without milk, have to do it that way lor. And is very important to feed him breastmilk now because is easy to digest, so must continue to pump out the milk every 3-hour

Ahnetsan,KKH got 24 hour call service,you can call them and check..

Annie,I will not bring my hospital bag on Monday,still can ask husband go back and take my bag if needed.yersterday night didn't sleep well so morning 11:30 just woke up,afternoon hv nap again.neibour got serious flu but don't stay far from me,come to my home and give me1 bowl dessert somemore while she cough..

Ya ahnetsan,

According to the nurse also, some babies are like that, and the bb can suddenly "wake up" and latch on just like other babies within one day. So we must be patient lor.

Ahnetsan: The 3rd to 5th day is when colostrum changing to milk and your hormone is changing. So it's the time for us to suffer from depression, just dun let it get into you

MIL: Looks like she's trying to comfort you not to be too worried, maybe she sees you cry she also scared?

dolly,
well, apparently, my hb said i scared all the relatives away, dats y suddenly all of them go off le.

i jus managed to bf my boy on my left breast. for abt 20mins den he spit it out. den i pumped out my right breast.

Hi ahnetsan,

That's good, at least you manage to let your son latch on, I still expressing out the milk and bottle fed my son...

capriho,
i hope i can continue to latch him later. i took quite a while to let him latch on... and finally he latched on, i was very happy... though the position of my hands are a bit weird and i was like a bit numb le, but must persevere despite the wrong positioning.

and my hb jus passed the just pumped out milk to my mil for her to feed bb. and oh im glad, he finished too! so i think he has drank a total of at least 50ml.

well, hope this will teach those old folks dat never assume that things are ok, their generation is their generation! gosh, i was so scared jus nw... my hb tell me cannot cry again le, cos today i alrdy cried many times le.

will continue to latch bb and pump out.

so all of us jiayou together ok!

im very thankful for tiny bubu, capriho, amk_gal, dolly... im so glad that when im in urgent need of help, there's you all around to talk to me in forum.

thanks gals!! really appreciate it.

sorry abt being so depressed jus now, i hope i dun affect you all.

ahnetsan
dont worry. for the first few days, bb sleeps alot and very hard to wake them up. cuz they still dunno they are alrdy out of our womb. dont worry abt bb not getting the milk, because they are hungry, they will sure wail out loud. prob your boy is not hungry yet as he still have the 'reserves' in him. once the reserves are used up, you would be busy latching him on already!

try waking him up by unswaddling, tickle the ears, the chin and the soles of the feets and also keep stroking them ie burp them. and keep talking to him while doing all the above.

hope you are feeling better now =)

crystal,
thanks. me feeling better now le.

but now my breasts still feel hard and heavy.. and the nipples and areola are making it difficult for baby to grasp it to feed successfully.

so mine is engorgement right? but i thot for the colostrum, i shouldnt be feeling engorged right?

ahnetsan
your milk supply is coming in, thus the engorgement. i tink now it's the milk liao, not colostrum already. cuz colostrum only the first 2-3days. do some nipple pulling before latching on. i know how difficult it is for the bb to latch onto a engorged breast so some nipple pulling will help in a way.

Hi all i've given birth to my darling princess Celestia on 4/6/09 Wt: 2.595 Hd: 33cm Length 46cm

3/6
12.45pm: went for gynae chkup..put on CTG n as gynae was checking for dilation water bag burst was 1.5cm dilated
1pm: admited to observation ward at TMC..change to gown,enema inserted and afterwhich epidural administered hehe cos i scared of pain even though contraction not that pain
7.25pm: Gynae came down chk dilation..only 3cm..
8.45pm: Midwife came did VE alreadi 8cm!
4/6
12am: Gynae say can see baby head n get ready to push.Pushed for an hr..still unable to push her out n feeling very tired
1am: assited delivery needed..forceps used.
1.13am: Baby Celestia out finally!
Complications set in after that as baby's head was quite big.had a tear quite high up in vagina n burst a blood vesssel,,Had excessive bleeding and as my gynae have to call in another senior gynae to assist as 3hrs passed n stitching still unable to stop bleeding..was half unconscious n weak n feel like i'm dying..

4+am: Wheeled to operating theatre n GA given

5+am: operation done finally..wheeled back to ward n had blood transfusion used abt 3 pac of blood ..

Now back at home feeling so weak n still on urine cathether as i'm unable to urine when they remove the cathether..feel so depressed..aso having constipation
nxt gynae chk up on wed n they will have to see if i can urine on my own or else still can't remove.

Any mummies having these problems after delivery n also there's a very strong heavy pulling force near the perinuem area making it diff to stand upright n walk..

crystal,
but no matter hw i pull the nipple, it's still like cannot leh.

but when i pumped out, it's still yellowish colour. i thot tat is colostrum?

anyway, during hosp stay, i din really latch on often, the nurses din bring bb to me every few hours leh.

so i also nt sure whether nw is still colostrum or milk coming in when my bb is alrdy 3 days old now.

doglefox,
wow, ur cervix opened from 3cm to 8cm in such a short time!

omg, dat means you had natural and den emer c-sec? are you feeling a little bit better now?

me also nw feeling difficult to stand from sitting position too.

ya lor im also surprised dilate so fast..my complications set in after i delivered my baby not c-sec..mine is assited delivery with forceps

Hi Ahnetsan,

you are doing so well, don't worry. I guess we will all go into panic state if we encounter situation like yours. And it's really not easy when mil around. Jia you! Do seek advices from all the ready mummies. I am so glad I am in this forum too, hearing all these will prepare me for later days. BTW, don't cry too much if you can, apparently no good for you. I know it's very difficult to control, but pls try. All the best!

Doglefox,
wow, yours' such an event! Congrats and hope you are feeling better now. You must take care and rest more. Crucial now!

papaya123: Might want to find those contactless or forehead kind instead? Some babies dun like intrusion such as putting something into their ears

ahnetsan: That's a good start right? I remember the hind milk (the richer one) comes after 20 min, so you might still want to pump your left for a while and to avoid block milk duct. Colostrum should be 1st 3 days only.

tinybubu: Maybe she don't like THAT pacifier? Can try other brand?

doglefox: Hope you are better now, is the tear by the forceps? Celestia head looks like normal size compared to other babies.

hi all, gynae say my vagina tissues are those overly sensitive kind that y blood vesel burst so easily n baby head is consider big for my size..

Any mums who pop having prob urinating n passing motion? i'm so worried i may nt be able to urniate by myself n also cant pass motion..

ahnetsan,
glad that your bb is drinking well now

doglefox,
sorry to hear about your complications.. hope you get well soon..

mummies with confinement ladies,
can I check with you whats your arrangement at night? I would like to latch my
baby on at night and is wondering if I should let baby
sleep in bed with me so that I can feed
lying down..
these are some of the options:
1) bb sleep with confinement lady in bb room. confinement lady to bring bb to me for feeding at night.
2) bb sleeps with me in bed and hubby sleep on the floor of masterbedroom
(3) bb sleeps with me in bed and confinement lady sleeps in masterbedroom too. hubby sleep in other room.
pls give me some advice.. thanks

doglefox: No wonder, there's old saying that bigger buttock make birthing easier. Forgot whether it's tinybubu who has problem passing motion after birth as well? Maybe you can check with your gynae. But given the complication, you might need to rest for a few days first, just wonder if normal urinating might infect your wound. Hope you get well soon!

Chidori: I am thinking of option 1, but just wonder if this will work, at least the CL can sayang the baby when she wakes and I don't need to look out for her in between feeding. But of course, that depends on how alert the CL is, which I can't tell also

dolly,
I also have the same concern. some more we will need to get her to bring the bb into masterbedroom and then feed..some will just say why not feed formula, easier for them..
and hubby also gets disturbed with all the movement..

Hey mummies, i will be delivering tmr morning liao, cos have concern on baby movement today again and since doc say im ready anytime, so i shall go in, dun wana baby too big

Ahnetsan, Dun worry, im sure your Jarius will be alrite
cos you are a brave girl too w/o goin thru epi, so will your boy! He is probably feeling too sleepy and wana sleep more. Keep cool and monitor again. There are some hotline dat hope can assist you when you need help jus in case parentcraft one is engaged.
http://www.dumex.com.sg/our_careline/call_us (I have tried live chat with them before jus to try out)
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/contact-us/index.php

Congrats to doglefox! Hope all is well..

I am selling my Medela Mini Electric Plus, bought in late Feb 09, so warranty till late Aug 09. I still have the receipt, and the warranty card is still not filled.

My baby gal was born on 29 Apr 09, and I had been using the pump to express for about 2 weeks.

After a while, I realised I prefer latching, and had not been using the Mini Electric Plus. Also, I had bought a new set of PIS, which make the older set redundant, thus selling.

Letting go at $180. Interested mums please sms at 97551142 (Irene). First come first serve basis.