(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

dolly- wow so nice i wish i got in law tat dont bother me much.. as i having a boy so they always asked my hubby bout our boy checkup.. his SIL they nvber ask cos she got two daughter...

wah so much OT to do since I login...ehhehe.

Caramelle - no wonder u are feeling restless waiting for your fren to come back... giggle...

Bing- admire u... walking to AMK hub everyday for lunch... macham v hot leh...hehe... is ur MIL staying with u?

sweethalo, yeah i am staying with my ILs. =D wa, the weather is super hot la. i am perspiring like mad lor. lol. but the subway lunch is worth it. hee.

any other mummies signed up the package ar? aiya. i missed the good deal of having 25% off for 4 mummies sign up. *sob*. now left with the $30 off if sign up b4 1st June. haha.

bing- ya we signed up tog that time when TubbyM posted... so enjoyed the package discount.

Actually I wish Carl's Jr got delivery...hehehe so yummy!

bing,
dat time when tubbym was coordinating, i also want.. but my idiot hb dun wan!!
im gg to let him see cassey's photo and let him drool and regret!!!

bing = maybe hb is concerned that newborn don't want ppl to disturb? esp now got H1N1 ah??

ahnet- u so funnie! hehhe... tt time i wanted to sign up for preggie shots, my hb also look at me and said "For what la?" then later got this bb shot, he said ok...then now towards ending liao, he said why u dont go and take pregnant shot? *fainted*

bing/ahnet, I think the photos are nice leh, how come your hubbies don't like?
I didn't care whether my hubby like or not, I decided I was going for it, then told him "Eh! I'm signing up for this hor!" then just show him the pictures on the website hahaha... I wasn't very democratic
Thankfully he was quite happy with what he saw.

Cassey, oh ya, I remember the peanut shot already. Did you do that? Off hand now I can't think of any photo ideas too, will give it a thought this weekend. Wonder if I have anything at home that will make an interesting prop... Doubt it. Have you gotten/chosen all your shots?

sweethalo, you still have time for the preggie shoot! Oh ya, forgot to pass you the number for Cassey's one. Wait ah....

sweethalo,
wah can really faint lor!! but at least ur hb okay wif the bb shoot leh... mine simply say for wat, i can take photos myself too! faint lor... i even say he's nt professional enough leh, he stil insist he doesnt want the shoot.
can bang wall lor

harros TubbyM- think too lazy to go take preggie shots liao lah...hehehe..

I seem to be getting more and more easily tired these days..hahaha

Re: Setting up of Cot

My cot delivery was yesterday and tt's why hb was at home but I wasn't told to keep away when the cot guys were setting it up... so I even sat there and watched them ...hahhaa...since the cot is beside my bed, hb moved our bed towards the side to give them more room to setup the cot... hehhe..

hi cassey / tubbymummy : thanks for the nb photographer intro.i got a slot with her tomorrow morning.hope sophiedoes well for the shoot.

i took the $228 package less $30 discount, so i'll pay $198.

kyle looked so cute that i couldnt resist doing it for my sophie.

=]

hubby went out to get the snugglenest today.
sophie gets really fussy in her cot because i think she's lonely.
so she ends up sleeping between hubby and i.

btw, drinking hot milo really helps to increase milk supply.

skylermum,please dont give up hope. it'll definately come in.you just have to give it time.my milk supply is slowly increasing.it's not as much as cassey's but it's getting there.

i'm thinking of getting fenugreek to help with the supply....

tinybubu - thanks for the tips about the pre-lbr pains thingy... will be looking out for those feelings...

hmm maybe shld stock up on milo too...hehhehe

cassey
i gt keep the cord for memorial lei. for my #1, i also gt keep. then when full month shave some hair off, then will keep tgt in a red packet.

sweethalo
i drink alot of milo during confinement. one day thrice. tgt with red date longan drink. cuz cant drink too much plain water though i still do. cuz when bf-ing, we nd to tk in alot of fluids. i tink im like a fluid barrel man! haha.

agree with tinybubu that drinking milo really does increase supply!

hehhe crystal - u so funny... kekek.. liquid barrel.. i oredi feel like one.. nvr been drinking so much water a day in my life until these past months

Wah, Milo really helps increase BM ah? Oh good, I have milo at home. I just bought choc flavour Quaker instant 3-in-1 oats (those one big pack inside got 20 small packs kind), cos I also heard oats can increase BM. Then I also bought a bottle of fenugreek supplements liao. And have ordered nursing tea, waiting for it to arrive. Wahahaha!! I am super KS!!

If after all these I still got no milk, then at least I can honestly say I REALLY tried my best.

Btw, who was the one who was saying she can't find the Australian milo anymore? Was it Dolly?? I saw it at Jelita Cold Storage. Got several sizes. And of course more expensive lah, but don't remember the price

bbjun and dolly, i thought only my family will be like dat.. seems like all grandpa, grandma all the same. See their grandson cries, very sim tia. My dad scolded me lor.. for giving him Breast Milk and said things like he dont want to take lah.. just give him formula, he's very hungry aredi! Why give him breast milk?? blah blah blah blah
haizz.. it's like i try so hard, 2.5 to 3 hours even in the middle of the night i wake up to pump, all i hear are not words of encouragement but machiam my breast milk got poison like dat.. makes me very demoralized.
Just hope that my supply builds up soon. Will try my very best for these 1-2 months (latch or pump or fenugreek or milo or watever) if supply still so low, guess i will stop before i go back to work.

TubbyMum, drinking stout hahahah. now you gave me some hope wor..that just relying on pumping can actually bring up the supply. If i so hardworking pump so hard, still so low supply means there's really something wrong with me liao. 100ml is really alot ler! Bought fenugreek just now and will start from tmr =D
Think i gg to get another pump too.. the medela single mini electric takes up alot of time.

ahnetsan, you bought the single mini electric? or the mini electric plus? yeah that one is painful nor.. Min is the lowest suction, usually start from minimum first.. maximum is the ultra "mother-sucker" manzz.. but i find the mini electric quite slow.
Tried the Medela PIS advance at TMC, that one is better, i dont find it as harsh as the mini electric. There's this simulating function as well but freaking ex nor at 700

crystal, that's what my friend told me too.. asked me not to be so "zhi2 zuo2" otherwise wait fall into postnatal depression. Thanks dear for your encouraging words!

Cassey, yah!! i agree! didnt know you faced the same problems from family.. thought it was only my family who will be so unsupportive. Yah once bb starts crying, grandpa wah... panic, scold me for not carrying him properly, scold me for giving him breast milk. Looks like all granddads are the SAME lar!ha!
Thanks for letting me know that i am not alone and your success story. will persevere. =)

tinybubu, yeah i oso find drinking milo brings the supply up slightly. Just stocked up on holicks and milo oso hee

Skylermum, could it be that the Mini Electric is not the ideal pump for you, that's why can't yield much? My friend is using Avent Duo IQ dunno what, something like that hahaha... If you wanna buy the Medela ones, like PIS or Freestyle, go to The First Few Years at KKH or Paragon. Think the Medela is going for $599 or something like that there. Maybe got further discount cos of GSS?

And yes, my friend drinks one can of Guinness on alternate days. She loves the excuse to drink alcohol hahaha... But don't pump for 2hrs after that lah. Breakfast is oats and mug of nursing tea. At some point, she swallows her fenugreek supplement, but not sure if she's eating that everyday. I read online that in order to see any results from fenugreek, you should be taking at least 3500mg a day. Here's what kellymom website says:

http://www.kellymom.com/herbal/milksupply/fenugreek.html

And continue to take fish and papaya soup
JIAYOU!!

skylermum,
actually i dun even know which one is mine... i think it's mini electric plus. how is single mini electric like? cos mine is nt i buy one, fren passed to me de, somemore without box lor... din wan to buy cos i dunno if i will haf milk or not.

so u mean the mini electric plus is painful is it? somemore i find the min and max like no difference leh. i think it's spoilt alrdy!! think haf to buy one myself.

smack ur dad and other family members lah,i hate it when ppl say nasty things abt our breastmilk not being enough lor... dun be upset ok, must persevere! it's for skyler's good!!!

skylermum
im using avent electric pump. so far so gd. maybe you can try too. jiayou !!

tubbym
im taking 1 capsule per day. cuz the instructions at the back says 1 or 2 capsules daily. so i started off with 1 first. dunno how much is tt 1 capsule in mg?

sweethalo
im drinking DOM everyday before i slp. cuz for the nxt 2-3hrs wont be latching so the alcohol wont goes into the bm after 3hrs when bb latches on.

actually drink DOM is for wat purpose ar?

my mum bot DOM, she say can pass to my mil for her to cook confinement food... but y must cook in food? or why must drink?

crystal, I think one capsule is usually 500-600mg. So need to take around 6 capsules or more a day to have better results... I checked mine, from GNC (green bottle with light greenish label I think), each capsule is 610mg.

ahnet, think it's just to "bu" is it? My mum today also asked me if I want her to add DOM to the confinement food, I looked at her and said "Er, you want to add then add lor" haha. I also dunno what it's for haha...

DOM
i also nt very sure. but i tink it's to 'bu' our bodies. i just drink la. haha!

tubbym
so means i gt to tk more ? oh dear! but i feel gt abit results just nw. or just my illusion? haha. mine is also from GNC.

Cassey, Skylermum,
ya, my friend's MIL also told her she should just change to FM when she got problem latching and producing milk. She was so depressed that she cried a few times! Luckily I am not having my mum or MIL here. I will just do what I deem right and good for my son! Just hope that hubby will be supportive, though he mentioned b4 if no milk, take FM, don't go crazy over lack of milk!

Looks like I need to get the big tin milo soon! Have already bought sesames oil, red and black dates, dried longans and black beans! All for confinement!

Tmr got seafood dinner, yeah! I am buying my family a meal, looking fwd sinking my teeth into the crabs, fried squids and other yummy food!

skylermum, my fren who uses both medela and avent, found the avent isis duo one works better in terms of stimulating let down. just some feedback for you so that you can compare also.
Besides that, her BB just can't latch properly at that time preferred to use bottle. So she diligently pump every two hours to stimulate milk supply and have enuf EBM to feed him.

Don't take what your parents say to heart. One ear in, one ear out. Ask ur hb to give u more encouragement. I believe your MS will be established real soon.

crystal, if you already getting some result, then by all means continue with your current dose
Maybe it works differently in different bodies? Otherwise eat 6 a day, very fast the bottle will finish. I bought bottle with 200caps, 6 a day will mean can only last 1 month wor! I wonder if still must continue once supply is established...??

LFB, wah, you're well prepared with ingredients already!
I just told my husband that regardless of how much problems I have with BF, and regardless of how it appears like I got no milk, he is NOT allowed to be discouraging, or suggest anything negative. He has given his assurance. Yippee!

yo Tubbym, yah i hope it's that case. The LC oso asked me to change to another pump cos they say mini electric takes up alot of time and cannot adjust speed.
Thanks for the lobang. 599 really sounds very attractive. Thinking of going to the breastfeeding organization, i think they have different pumps to try out before deciding which one to buy. Yeah i heard about Avent one as well, heard it's good too.
Where to get nursing tea, any idea?

ahnetsan, mini electric plus is the dual one if i'm not wrong.. can pump both sides at the same time, if yours is only a single pump, it's mini electric.

crystal, i oso have DOM, but havnt started drinking.. cos i have been pumping quite frequently like 2-3 hours once, really scared that it will go into the BM

LFB, yes! do what it is right! to be honest, i oso cried this morning.. dont know why.. but i think crying releases the stress which is good in a way too =D

Tubbymummy,
actually I also dunno what to buy. THose were actually bought or recommended by sister who went through confinement 2 years ago. She went to some medicine hall and got me the dates and some chinese herbs. Honestly, I owe it to her cos she came over 2 weeks ago to decorate my bb room. I not aesthetically incline in home and deco! Ha ha ha!

BreastMilk
My hubby will prob not ka jiao me if I insist on breastfeeding. Hopefully my confinement lady will be pro breast feeding too! Have to be persistant and persevere!

Skylermum,
crying do release stress. Think we will be very emotional during confinement so nothing wrong. I guess sometimes it's the pple around us that stress us, rather than ourselves! Not easy to insist on total BM, but demand=supply! The more we pump/latch, the more we will have. I read from other threads our milks will come if we persist! Only those who uses FM will face decline. Dunno whether true or not!

Skylermum, I ordered nursing tea from Moms In Mind. I ordered yesterday or Wed, they haven't confirmed my order yet. Wonder why... Here's the link:

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/milktea.html

Yes, Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group has trial pumps, maybe you can find one that suits you best. They can give you BF support/encouragement too. I also think they sell the pumps, but not sure if their prices are good or not. Maybe go check out The First Few Years' price first.

LFB, your sis is so sweet!
Baby room must be lovely now hehe... My hubby still haven't paste up the decals on the wall yet, the baby room looks like a mess haha. Maybe the first day your CL gets here, straightaway sit down and talk to her about your expectations, including BF plans, in a nice way?

TubbyMummy: I also show hubby the photos from internet, but he says he can also take photos leh

THANKS! It's me who lamented Singapore no more Australian MILO leh... Jelita Cold storage, okok, I'm telling my hubby now. *BIG HUG*

SkylerMum: Yeah, my cousin also bought her PIS pump at MyFirstYear (or some name like that) at Paragon 4/F and it's cheaper. She passed me hers cos she only use for 2 months or so. So I just need to buy the spare parts (cost around $100) from spree.

Moms in mind sell the nursing tea:
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/herbalteas.html

LFB: The medical hall which process placenta also sell those confinement food, wonder if I should just from them, they have a list of items for confinement

Tubbymummy,
Think my sister's friend is the vice chair of some breastfeeding club/grp. If need be, think I will consult her. At least someone to help!

Yes, my sis really nice! She even brought me to Ikea and Giant to shop for stuff! Very caring and thoughtful! I have to say the bb room looks so different after she visited!

Then I told my colleague I am looking for those alphabets with clown/animal/toy, so that I can spell my bb's name and put them on the wall, over the cot. I couldn't get a set the last time as they ran out of A. Then she remembered and when she was at Taka today, she got my bb's name for me! I am so happy!

Confinement lady
Yep, will tell her my expectation. Honestly, I think DH and I dunno how we can live with another stranger, but think we will just have to lor! I am not that particular when coming to food, but she must respect my desire to breastfeed and also to let me rest amap! I want to really have good recovery and rest b4 I can take care of bb!

Dolly,
my BIL bought some tonic for his wife when she was in confinement. Apparently, they are individually packed, for different uses each day. Not cheap, think abt $2000 plus he paid! MIL asked me whether I am getting them, told her no. Cos all my sisters and SIL didn't take. Moreover, I think fresh produces like fish, veggies, meat, chicken, eggs etc are better. If the stuff they sell at the medicine hall suits you, you should get, since you may also be like me, dunno what's good and what's not! Hee hee!

dolly, no prob!
Tomorrow can cheong there to buy liao hehe.

LFB, so nice, your sis actually remembered! Ya, I think I know what alphabet you're talking about. Good idea to paste baby's name over the cot! Hubby and I also can't tolerate idea of stranger living with us, so I understand how you feel. But I guess not much choice lah, cos u really need some help in the beginning lor, so must put up with it for 1mth. Hope u get a good CL

Ok, I shall stop chatting here liao, back aching badly, need to go lie down. Have a great weekend girls!

<font color="cc0099"> Tubbym~, yup I did do the peanut. Did basically everything she's got on her portfolio, I reckon. Haven't chosen yet. Must find time to...
Hope your back feels better soon! Get as much rest as you can.. it won't be much long before Skyla puts in an appearance and then your back will start feeling the strain.

bubu~, I think it isn't just milo right? Any hot drink before a nursing session improves flow and hot compresses do the trick too. Let us know how your shoot goes! I hope Sophie's good too! Dress cool cos it's gonna be REALLY warm seeing that baby needs to be kept warmest of all and she's gonna be wearing NOTHING. So the rest of us stew in the heat.

crystal, haha... I'm not very into these symbolic or ritualistic things so I won't miss his cord stump. Pity it didn't happen yesterday while daddy was around though. The first milestone... and it happened on the exact day dad returned to work.

SkylerMum, my parents drove my sis nuts when she stayed here with niece too. Niece is a bit of a fussy sleeper and she was on 2nd floor - same floor as my parents. (I chose to room on 3rd floor so baby can fuss without me getting bugged by grandma and granddad). Whenever Chanessa would cry for an extended time, my dad would grumble and grizzle... my mum would go into the room and want to take the baby from her. *sigh*

+ Thankfully, they pretty much leave me alone now when Kyle J cries cos I've been pretty firm. Dad used to come into the room and say AIYA! SO NOISY. FOR GOODNESS SAKE GIVE HIM FORMULA IN A BOTTLE LA. Contending with Kyle's kicking and thrashing and crazy howling, it was a struggle to not lose it. One evening, I allowed mum to take him cos he seemed pretty sated after 40min of nursing and mum was saying "come come, ahma carry, ahma carry!". I gave in... she took him all the way to the first floor and within 5 min, he started fretting and she passed him to Justus to bring him up again. So now they know to leave him with me when I say he's not ready.
To be fair, on my part, whenever Kyle J. is done nursing in the morns and evenings, I'll bring him down to granddad and grandma. Or sometimes if they're home in the aftnn, I'll put him down and leave him with them to spend time with. So all in all, it's worked out. God is good.

LFB, I think it's quite silly. It's my child, my decision, my problem to deal with. We should be assertive enough to just tell them that we will be breastfeeding, thank you very much for not suggesting otherwise lor. In everything else, they tell us not to seek the easy way out, so why when factor in a baby's howls, suddenly it doesn't pay to persevere leh? Chey... Must buy ear plugs for them as a gift. HA!</font>

Sweethalo,
ya lor! I also thinking, "wah, shen xian bu!" I asked my own TCM abt it and she said she never heard of it! She just told me to eat well balanced meals, don't get chilled and also have plenty rest. The reason I scared also bcos I want to breastfeed, so the lesser tonic/medicine/herbs I take, the better my milk will be. So I save $2000! Can go buy the LV bag, ha ha ha!

Tubbymummy,
the alphabets bought by colleagues.
Have a good rest! Good night!

Cassey,
yep, but easy to tell our parents off, not our MIL! So I hinted to hubby I need not MIL to come over and stay! She is most welcome to visit if she is keen, but I doubt so cos she is taking care of BIL's son during weekday. Yipee! I rather handle things on my own! My mum will only visit when my sis wants to come. So with this situation, I think I prob can handle on my own! Just hope DH don't mess up my plan! I want to BF amap, this is why I am taking the year off! Why then do I bother if I want bb to take FM???

Sweethalo,
ha ha ha! I won' buy LV this year lah! I got to save $$ leh. Actually I am a real LV fan. I will get a product every year with my bonus! But this year, I will save $$ for BB. Moreover, next year jobless, better don't try to be funny! I will reuse whatever I have. Anyway, think with bb, lesser chance to go out! Oh, for the $$ save, I am buying the massage and slimming packages. Think I rather get my health and figure back lor! Wa ha ha!

Dovey ,
It Never come into my mind to ask where he go, think too late to ask, he left today.
Now worried. I will have my c-sec on the day he back.

dolly, my hb same reactions as ur hb lor. when i showed him the cute and lovely nb photos online he said he alr have a v.good digi slr and he can take those photos too. (-_-)"

dolly,
yes, he have two one @ Mt E and one TMC, my gynea told me no need unless I got emergency.

wonder should I discuss with hb whether we let the back up do the op.