(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

hihi cassey
i also have short mipples on one side of my breats so LC suggested doing some nipple pulling exercise before latching on. maybe you can try tt too. if kyle cant suckle well for the time being, you might be feeling engorged, pump up the milk first. it also helps to build up supply. initially i also had a hard time latching on, but trust me, after the 14th day had passed, everything seems to be easier liao. now i m latching plus pumping as well. at night also wake up to pump. hope you are doing well too.

skylermum
try to pump one hr before bb actual feed. it's help to send a message to our body tt bb needs more milk subconsciously. so subsequestly it would helps to build up supply. dont wry abt bb not having milk during the acual feed after you had pump, somehow they can still hv milk though we cant see. thats the power of their suckling! the initial days are very hard to pass, esp night times. super tiring and bb cant latch well. but after 2wks, things will pick up and slowly can see a routine.

skylermum/ cassey
im also using goo.n diapers. cheap and gd for nb. when bb grows older, i will then switch back to pampers again. cuz now bb change diaper every 2-3hrs or sometimes earlier so use goo.n first ba.

sore nipples
i gt that when i was bf-ing in hosp cuz my way of latching is wrong though bb can suckle milk. so LC reticfy for me so im also quite cautious when i latch on now. cuz it's really very painful. if mommies here sore/cracked nipples, can try squeezing some bm and rub ard our nipples. the bm works wonder than any cream.

re:table
who is doing the updating uh? my boy's name is daryl. kindly help to update. thanks!

bing: Wow, the facial package is cheap and a lot of stuff, is it because it's 7 yrs ago? Mine with Estetica, similar services @60, almost finishing and they wanna increase price to @90 just because I bought it 3 years ago... thinking of getting other facial provider cos the location is not convenient if hubby dun drive me there

SkylerMum: Yeah, dun worry too much, see what the LC going to say this Tuesday, is your nipple painful when he sucks?

dolly, bingo! u are right. they increase the package price slightly la. it was much cheaper 7 yrs back. and yes! it is much more worth it compared to other facial boutiq. my mom signed up a 50 sessions ($30/session) with another hdb facial shop (those auntie no branding shop) and it cost 2 sessions price ($60) for the same services. so i dun use her package lor. but my 2 sis are using my mom's. haha. also good la, help her finish that package. if not, 50 sessions, wash until ur skin sore also cannot finish in a yr.

BlueDream: Wow, you faster then me then
Relax and welcome your baby!

Bing: Yeah, probaby will look for those nearer and cheaper one... I like massage and the extraction.

wow bluedream!! jiayou!!

eh hw come u induce? wah induced at 11am but delivery only tmr? gosh...

jiayou jiayou!! update us!!

wow so exciting heehee

Crystal: Wow, time passed so fast, your baby born more than 2 weeks liao. A lot of us haven't even started confinement yet

bludream, wish for your smooth delivery! jia you!! another while longer and your darling will be in your arms =)

crystal, thanks for the encouragment.. maybe i too gan chiong oso.. that day i went to the lactation consultant, they told me breast milk will take 2 weeks to slowly build up and i am only into my 5th day. I have to rest first before taking fenugreek.. ask me to take it easy

dolly, yeah when he sucks, my nipple hurts as he only sucks on the nipple only and not take the whole thing. The consultant say this is becos he is aredi used to the bottle..

bluedream, jiayou!!!!! wish u a smooth delivery.....

skylermum, bb was having jaundice of 15.8. at discharge, it was 7. tomorrow going back to PD. hopefully, all's clear. u brought Skyler home already??

lovelytulips
my bb till now also hv slight jaundice. but tt time when pd checked after brought him back for review after discharge, my pd said he is ok. but till now, still gt abit yellowish but not the serious kind. i 'sun' him at hm everyday using the lights, cuz my area here no sun rays in the morning.

skylermum
try to latch bb more often so he can rem the how to latch. but if really too painful for you, maybe you can try exlcusive pumping but hv to be quite discipline on this. if not, can try one feed latch, one feed bottle and so on. this way bb wont get nipple confusion too if this way is a consistent one. jiayou ok. don give up. we are here to support one another!

Bing- enjoy ur beauty day tmr... hehehe.. glad tt ur little one is doing well

Bluedream - jiayou.. hv a smooth and easy delivery tmr

crystal- wow so soon u are out of confinement liao... tt's nice!

ahh crystal, normal house light also got use meh? mayb can ask ur hb brg him dwn stair for a short walk..? blue dreams, congrats! the exciting moment is finally coming! so excited for u. my cramp seem to come every few hr but i move around it goes off n not getting more intense so guess shd b ok bah.. tomolo got chkup then ask gynae. haha i'll be happy if he say over wkend can deliver heehee. but bb still head dwn posterior dont know if he will cooperate turn leh...

so envy those of u already popped! waiting game is scary!

createjoy: Tell your bb to turn, it might help!

Sweethalo: back from hiding again huh

Yeah loh, 3 more cases, but the alarm didn't raise up so far

Cassey, thanks for the explanation. May have to consider buying the shield cos my nipples seem to be on the dry side and am afraid it may crack.

Bluedream, all the best for your delivery!

heheh hi dolly.. yeah back since after lunch..kekeke...

Not good that all 4 cases are on different planes and from diff parts of USA...

The situation in US like not contained at all cos the govt and the ppl like taking it really easy. My SIL in states says that no one really take precaution. Guess that's the difference when they haven't gone thru SARS like Asia. If the cases keep on coming on, I think the alert may be raised.

<font color="cc0099"> bubu, my newborn photography package is with Kelly Soon... the one that Tubbym~ coordinated for us June MTBs ages ago.

dolly, don't have to buy nipple shield first cos you might not have need of them at all. If you do have problems, it isn't too late to go buy it or send husband out for it. Yes, I'm still touching water. I'm doing everything to do with baby myself. I bathe with the chinese herb thingie and sometimes if it's too hot, I mix cold water in and use that for entire shower and hair wash... the do final rinse with hot shower. If not enough, I just do an initial rinse with herb infusion and take a hot shower as usual. Just that mum doesn't like me taking showers after sundown so I take them in the afternoons when it's nice and warm.

ahnet~, eh... I'm in no position to say neh. I can only say hospitals use Pampers lor... but actually, the Huggies are ok. They do the job, I guess... and haven't given him any rash. Haha! I've heard that Mamy Poko is one of the better ones too... but also quite pricey.

SkylerMum, my nipple DEFINITELY does NOT fill up the shield. Remember my problem is FLAT nipple... so if it fills it up, then I wouldn't have any problems neh!!
Did you remember to pull your nipple erect before you slip shield on? Lac'con did say that nipple shield may cause more intake of air, so to burp baby midway thru feeds. Kyle is doing well with them so far, we just have to burp him after each feed. But he's had some posseting (backflow of milk) even before I started using the shield, so we try to keep him upright/semi-reclined for 30min after feeds instead of letting him lie down straight after.

crystal, thanks! By God's grace, I've never had any engorgement problems and had been pumping plenty before Kyle began to empty my boobs. My record pump was a whopping 160ml!! (all my pumps are only 15min sessions)
+ Kyle's been suckling and emptying my breasts efficiently since he turned 10 days old yesterday, so I'm going to shorten my pump sessions to only 2x10min/day or 1x15min/day. He no longer seems to need any top-up feeds so the expressed milk is not very well used at this pt. Now I pump only to prevent engorgement and to empty out my breasts so as to keep up my supply.

BlueDream, JIA YOU!!!! How come big day TOMORROW?! MAYBE TODAY'S THE DAY LEH!?!?!? Keep us posted!

bbjun, see my reply to dolly abt buying shield now. You sound like you need to standby nursing/nipple cream more than you need nipple shields. Actually after Kyle's been latching on, I find my nipples nice, plump and pink. Not dry at all... *too much info huh*

cassey, yup, just read your reply to dolly. I haven't bought any of those becos I figure out Philips showroom is just a stone throw away from my hse where I can get my ex-colleagues to just help me buy whatever nipple cream or shield that I need under Avent. So decided to see how the situation goes later.
Thanks for sharing!

Cassey: Thanks again, yeah, since Tangs is so near to Mt E and Paragon, think I'll still have plenty of chances to buy even in confinement.

bbjun: Did you try applying your breastmilk on your nipple, let it dry before covering it back up? It might help

<font color="cc0099"> <font size="+1">Picture time!!!</font>
Remember I was talking about my little giantess of a niece...?!
Here's a picture! It's hilarious! Chanessa is 8 weeks older than Kyle J.
2507389.jpg

Kyle Justus Ong - our darling little cherub!!
I LOVE IT!</font>
2507390.jpg
2507391.jpg

<font color="cc0099"> family had a good great laugh just now when they were put side by side.
Sis and bro-IL always exclaim "SO SMALL!" when they see Kyle.
The rest of us are like... SO FAT FAT!!!! HAMBURGER!!! when we see Chanessa!

*MUST run! Must run! Kyle's feeding time! Ciao ladies!</font>

Cassey: Wow, really good comparison and Kyle so alert

The peanut suit is from the photographer is it? haha, Kyle does look sleepy

wow Cassey! haha so cute... ur niece really big sz!

Cassey did u knit the little sack for Kyle to be in? If not where to get it?

Super busy day today. Bought video cam, bought cat food/litter to last at least 1mth, saw doctor, did waxing, bought other household items (like pails so my mum has somewhere to pour herbal bath water thing), bought cheap small tv for guestroom. Ready to peng san now. I didn't walk much cos drove everywhere, chalking up all the parking fees (the Taka one was the worst!), and am ready to peng san now. But I still came in and guai guai did my OT

Skylermum/dolly, I’ve also been told by relatives/friends in BF-friendly countries that even if baby has jaundice, it is not true that BF needs to stop.

sweethalo, both me and my sis, and all the kids that my mum babysat, have never used pacifier in our lives. So I think it’s not idealistic to think about NOT giving one to your kid
But yes, thumb sucking is very hard to wean off, I was a thumb sucker! Hehe… Cos you can’t keep someone’s thumb away from them. It’s ALWAYS there… But there’s really nothing you can do to prevent a kid from sucking thumb/fingers.

kikismom, I also had the suck thumb hold blanket/towel/hanky combo. Picture Linus fom Peanuts, and that’s exactly how I looked like hahaha…

caramelle, the prices in Gmarket has gone up, when I ordered couple months back, they were a lot cheaper. Now not sure, maybe marginally cheaper only, or perhaps same price, but you usually get free delivery, which isn't bad. Ooh, looking forward to your LVs?
I sneaked into Cartier after waxing today, and told the guy I’ll be back in a month’s time to treat myself to one of the bags that I liked there! Haha… He said now still got stock, but not sure if they’ll still have in 1mth’s time, so I’ll leave it to fate.

Annie/ahnet, I also got the same types of stomach/vagina pain, as per Annie's description. Quite frequently
The vagina pain is quite irritating actually. But just “ren” lor… Today Gynae asked me if got more contractions, I told him nothing new hahaha… Hope you feel better now Annie... Did doctor give you something to lessen the contractions or pain?

Add on to Cassey’s post about jaundice: Jaundice is very prevalent in EAST ASIAN babies (perhaps the 80-90% that Cassey mentioned?). Jaundice is not as prevalent in white babies. Tough luck.

Bbaugustine/dolly, the 1kg I put on overnight?? Baby only put on 100g! Baby went from 2.7kg+ to 2.8g+. Sian… Gynae looked at my feet/legs, and said there’s some amount of water retention, so some of the weight gain can be attributed there, but I also “heard” what he didn’t say: the rest went to ME. *cry* I never change my eating habits over the last month (in fact I’ve stopped durian), and I put on weight instead.

Creamer, my doc prescribed me the same cream as yours, the P-something one. And he also told me that I can buy the lactulose solutions from pharmacies, said it’s mild enough to start drinking now, used as stool softener all the way till after birth, so no need to “geng”, which isn’t good for c-sec or episio wound. But I happily left the clinic, and forgot to go to pharmacist to get my cream. Sigh. Wondering if I can ask my hubby to get for me tomorrow…

PeachBB, I asked my doc, he said usually for c-sec, go with spinal block (but he kept emphasizing the effect is not much different from epidural, it's just the patient's personal choice). Answers to my questions: It kicks in within 1-2min, and it’s administered in one shot (no tube sticking out like with epi), and wears off slightly faster than epidural. No difference in cost. So I said I'll go for spinal block.

Bluedream, all the best, update us tomorrow with your good news!!

Cassey, the peanut shot!

Ok, off to sleep now. SO TIRED...

Back from gynea visit, this is last visit to gynea clinic, Bb 2.9kg @ 31weeks
Realise gynea going for holiday tomorrow till 8 June which the day my c-sec scheduled. Keep my finger cross I wont have emergency during this 11days.
Just finish one box of durian **yummy yummy**

Cassey,
Kyle so cute, the pic of him in the cocoon very nice, You knitted the cocoon?
Wow your niece very chubby, want to ‘pinch’ her.

wow Huajing.. ur baby is quite big... congrats!

wah TubbyM - did so many things today.. no wonder didn't see u online... hehehe... I hvnt gotten my Video Cam yet... hb still hasn't looked into it.

Re: Pacifiers
Seems like easier to wean of pacifier then thumb sucking hor.. hmmz.. hehehe

sweethalo,
you also night owl. :p
gynea say should be average birth weight est 3.5kg, hope my boy wont be too big.
my tummy really BIG, BIL wife saw me sunday she thot I having twin.

Bluedream,
all the best today! So nice to be able to see your bundle of joy today! We will hear from you soon!

Cassey,
your niece is really big, comparing with Kyle. But both so cute! Esp the one with Kyle in cocoon! Now I am tempted to get someone to knit something like this if I am getting my colleague to do baby shoot!

I am really not in working mood now. The heaviness from tummy and tiredness from legs and body just seems too much, esp in the late afternoon! Hitting week 37 tmr! Yipee! Just need to clear my work, do the handover and relax! I have even fixed next week lunch! Going to meet up with friends, colleagues and have one last karaoke session!

Annie,
any news from Shelisa and qi7?

Tubbymum

Spinal block is not GA right? so DH can join in delivery suite? Effects wear off slightly faster than epi? errr.. i will ask my gynae when i see him today.

Cassey, Kyle looks so adorable when you bathe him! and they look so cute together, Chanessa and Kyle. Thanks for the info as well! After 1 colicky night after he used the nipple shield, my mum forbids me using that and asked me to feed formula instead.. my family members all like not very supportive of me doing bf since i cant latch him on properly and he is so impatient and keeps crying for milk.. grandma n granpa heartpain when he cries..

crystal, yeah i'm trying to wake him up earlier, latch him for a while then give formula or expressed breast milk now. Have to be abit more systematic ler

lovelytulips, Skyler's discharged yesterday. At discharge it was 6.7. But I will still continue to sun him in case the level goes up again, dont know whether it will go up again or not.. I noticed hor.. the head got like several "dents" where they tie the eye band? i think the nurses tie the eye band too tightly.. so heart pain nor

to all other mums, jia you!

Skylermum, good to hear that Skyler's discharged. Don't give up on BF-ing Skyler. The older generation are usually like that one. even my mum oredi started to tell me to just stop BF-ing if nipples crack/sore, bb not latching properly etc and just feed formula milk. But I am quite determine to make BF-ing a success, at least for 3-6 mths.

SkylerMum: Yeah, most of the time the resistance of BF comes from our own family. Do not show despair in front of them! Vent it here instead. Also try to talk to them about the goodness of BM which cannot be replaced by FM, and breastfeeding will be better after baby is used to it.

so happy to hear most mummies have their BFing problems solved. can imagine in a few days we'll all be sharing success stories.

re nipples: mine has been erect for past 2 weeks and getting a bit annoying cos like super sensitive so when im in my nightgown and accidentally brush against it. im so praying that when baby suckle will have something come out. right now it looks dry. wonder if i should start spraying lanolin on it now?

Cassey, maybe you can start selling EBM hehe
. after all it will benefit mummies who have very little supply and their baby wont miss out on the nutrition! can you imagine an aisle in NTUC that's marked EBM and have glass bottles of (yellow?) milk lined up!

Bluedream, GOOD LUCK AND WISHING YOU A SMOOTH DELIVERY!

Tubbymummy, yah i so cannot wait for the LV bags to arrive and my friend hasn't even left! her flight is on 07th june and she's back on 11th morning at 7am after which she's going off to a family holiday. so i told her i'll fetch her from the airport, take my bags and send her home. cannot wait for too long! must spend some time with my LV babies before the baby comes. if you want anything (from LV, not Cartier) i can ask her if can tompang or not. she'll be thrilled because her credit card get points mah...

re diapers: think im going to get Goon and Huggies but from NTUC at Punggol cos i really cannot figure out Gmarket!

EC_mom, my bump also very big lately. my SIL saw and said she so scared of it! but before that was always on the smaller size range leh..so maybe baby grew a lot recently? hopefully.

re sunning baby to bring down jaundice level: according to the the nurse at my KK antenatal class, there is no scientific evidence that the sun exposure can bring down the level. if anything, the heat can be quite harsh on baby's skin. it's like an old wives tale. but if you're going to do it anyway please cover baby's eyes to protect it.

just finished off a BK breakfast with iced milo. figured i better eat all that i want before i go on one month bootcamp. isn't iced milo just the best? yumz

btw, for the few mummies who asked, (and Cassey hope it's okay i answer on your behalf) the knitted thing wrapping Kyle is from the photographer...i saw it on her website.