(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tinybubu: Wish you have a good birthing experience!

Better dun put up Ling experience first, else frighten tinybubu

cassey, milk supply sounds plentiful to me.
wah 75ml, dats so cool lor. dun worry, things will get better.

dunno wat's wrong wif me today... i haf completely no appetite at all the whole day... only had 2 cups of milk...was a bit hungry at 2+ so ordered mcspicy meal, but after finishing the fries, i haf no room for the burger anymore...
only managed to force down the burger and apple pie jus now, after realising i din eat anything the whole day!

<font color="cc0099"> ahnet~, Ooooooohh... burger and fries... YUM! EAT UP before you can't eat anymore!

createjoy, KateLee &amp; others..., I think it just takes going with the flow to "cope well". I had a weepy moment on the first day I got home when I had a bit of a row with hubby abt him taking a work call and neglecting our Cassey princess while I was busy with Kyle Justus. Mum says she 'admires' the way I am when Kyle is screaming his head off when nursing. Says if it's her, she'd be running around like a headless chicken (her exact words were "mang zang", but to that effect la.)

I told her I don't want to put pressure on myself. Things go nasty very rapidly if we can't see the bright and/or funny side of things. So I laugh at his Whitney Houston cry and his frog leap launch off the nursing pillow... I laugh at his wild thrashing and stepping (like he's trying to play table tennis or swim)... I laugh when he farts his smelly farts.

I trust you'll do well too. Just don't have too high expectations of yourself and end up berating yourself when you fall short.</font>

CONGRATS SKYLERMUM!!
Glad to hear that everything went well and that Skyler is healthy and strong!

Jackie, stay calm, things will work out ok. We'll pray for you.... Just stay focused on happy thoughts - seeing your baby very soon!

Tinybubu, ooh, just as well you saw the doc! Good luck, and update us soon ya?

Mika, glad to hear from you, it's been quite a while !
think Cassey mentioned she had several loose bowels a day ever since like a week or 10 days before she popped.

Blurmom, I had a friend who took baby to Bali at ONE mth old, no problems. Personally I'm a bit more kiasi than that, prob won't fly baby till 3mths... Let baby BF or suck on pacifier at take off and landing, to prevent his ears/nose from hurting (caused by air pressure changes). Easier to travel when baby is young, cos airplane vibrations will lull them to sleep. Older babies and toddlers are the worst nightmare, cos some cry their heads off when they get bored. Some airlines have limited bassinets per flight, so it's first come first served. Make sure you request for one when you book your tickets, and check in early too on that day, to secure one.

Jackie n tiny_bubu, both of you will get to see your little one very soon! Wish both of you smooth delivery tomorrow!

Yesssh!!! Today is my last day of work! Woo hoo~~~ Will be resting at home from now on...

regarding travelling with babies... it's a nightmare not only to the parent... but also to the passengers on the same flight... i remembered last sept i was on a 14 hrs flight to London with hubby and just 1 row behind us was a baby... he was crying non-stop thru-out the entire journey... and i couldn't even catch a wink... *sob*

congrats skylermum!

blurmom
think u missed my update..
Nick : chris38
BB# : 2
B/G : B
Hospital : Mt A
Gynae : Dr Douglas Ong
EDD : 12 June 09
ADD : ?
Delivery Via : ?
Wt : ?
Ht : ?
Hd : ?
BB's Name : Zachary

innocentwar, last year I was on a 17hr flight from New York to Bangkok with a wailing kid NEXT to me. I wanted to cry together with her. Sometimes she was crying so miserably that her sister across the aisle would cry along. *bang wall* I'm so scared to travel with my kid next time.

skylermum,
Belated Congrats on the safe arrival of your bundle of joy.

Thanks everyone for the well wishes, will try to sleep early cause need to wake up super early tml. N will update once i have a chance

Tubbymummy,
So touch to receive your sms. Muark, muark.

tinybubu,
We gg to deliver on the same day. Good luck and have a smooth delivery

<font color="0050b3">TubbyMummy <font face="symbol">®</font> Thank you so much for highlighting about booking of air tickets! Does bb need to pay visa and airfare?

Jackie/Tinybubu <font face="symbol">®</font> Best of luck, Ladies! We shall wait for your good news soon ya!

Chris38 <font face="symbol">®</font> Updated!~ I don't really frequent Lot1 but occassionally will go there for luncheon and library

Blurmom, airfare for infants is usually 10% of adult fare. For visa, I'm not sure... If baby is tagged on in your passport, then maybe as long as you apply for visa it's enough already...?? This is my own speculation only, this one you better check with authorities hehe...
Your hubby got work attachment ah? When wor?

dolly, yup yup, not more than 41w. 40w4d, tat will be good. haha! ok, i'm asking too much.

cassey &amp; tubbymummy, thanx for your wonderful replies. about a week or 10 days is a very good answer for me. *muacks* at least i know what to expect, although of cos, must give room for variations. every situation differs.

tinybubu, all the way!!!!

<font color="cc0099"> thank God. Latest nursing session went a little bit better... still as much wailing and thrashing about, but he suckled more than previously. Once he's sated, he goes completely limp. So cute! Then when I lean him fwd to burp him, he's all cheeks and his entire forehead creases with wrinkles when he opens his eyes to look around "drunkenly". Heehee!! *swoon*

sweethalo &amp; ahnet~, have! All the time... and they're seriously stinky. I get to inhale the "aroma" all the time when he's nursing. *gag* you'll be surprised leh. He pooped again. Wonder if it's diarrhoea. How can have so many dirty diapers a day? I hope it's as simple as the two sessions of overfeeding this morning.

Jackie, oh! Really? My sis said 4th day 75ml is a LOT. I don't know... 75 doesn't sound like a lot leh. It sure doesn't LOOK like a lot... But after the other two pumps, I realise it probably was. Thankfully boobs are not engorged. *PHEW*

Tubbym~, you're going to be flying with Skyla at 6 months old right? Admire you that... I was nervous about even bringing Kyle Justus out for the first time today even though it was just a PD apptmt. An entire long flight... *faint* Must start going to Equinox to train her little ears to get used to the popping. *keke*

Bubu~'s already in the hospital by now... wonder how things are progressing. *excited*

Cassey, don't actually need to go Equinox, just keep taking the lift up and down wahahaha.... Great to hear Kyle's suckling a bit more now. ANY progress is good! I'm not looking forward to flying Skyla at 6mths... but what to do, need to see the rest of the family. Er, which is another thing that I don't look forward to haha, don't like big gatherings... 14hrs... can die.

TubbyM- but at least it will be a holiday... I also feel like going somewhere in Dec... dono can or not... macham so long nvr take holiday oredi... *sulk*

Just back from gynea visit, he said I got slight contraction but I dun feel pain lei. he said dun want to have surprise so ask me to take utrogestron **faint** everytime I took this med also make me vomit.

huajing, Utrogeston was the hormone that I took in 1st tri to prevent miscarriage... u mean at this stage it also works ah??

<font color="cc0099"> Tubbym~, yeah. That's what I keep telling myself. Else I'd get discouraged. Had another little disagreement with Justus today about that. Dropper-feeding expressed milk vs latching on. He was quite insistent on just pumping and dropper feeding. I know he fears I'll be exhausted by the latch-on saga going on and on day in day out... but he really didn't put it across that way and I need whatever encouragement I can get - esp from him.

sweethalo, whoa... that's not called true mama.. that's call irony!
I think it's 8 WET diapers, not dirty diapers leh.

EC_Mum, posted. Check the archives!

*another downer.. episio site is sore when I sit down

Cassey, yeah, think he's just worried for u, and maybe also worried for Kyle... But just tell him nicely that it is important for you that Kyle latches. I agree, if Kyle can latch, it'll be better, compared to many months of pumping, storing, feeding, pumping again... Easier to establish supply for now too. But hey, if Kyle really really doesn't want to come around to it, then at least pumping and feeding him is better than nothing. It's still TBF, just not straight from the source

hello!!! i'm home....

thanks for all the well wishes!!!

and Cassey, yes, the episio is so so sore.... sob. and i wonder if i aggravated it by pooing this morning. argh. how how how???

no time to check archives yet but think a few popped... congrats!!!!!

havings tonnes of questions now... ahha

just came back from hi tea, followed by karaoke session and supper! Guess the karaoke will be my last b4 I pop!

Tinybubu,
the bras were sent to me, but she forgotten the bra cups that I paid for! Urgghhh! Just reminded her and hopefully I get them soon!

Congrats Skylermum! Another one pop! Getting nervous and excited! Tmr will be in my 36weeks! Yippee!!!!

Welcome back lovelytulips!!
How's mummy and baby doing?

LFB, I miss karaoke! No one wants to go with me... Sounds like u had a good time today!!

Cassey: Please hold on, you need to have perserverence! I was taught in my class to let baby suck for at least one month, it helps bonding for you and baby, also might prevent them from becoming too lazy to suck. If you wanna bottle feed, let daddy do it so that the baby can differentiate - Mummy=suck, daddy=bottle

LFB: I also love karaoke! But hubby and I sing "oldies" most of the time

Ops I din check archive too many already, ok I go and look out for photo.

Sweethalo,
Ya I told him but he said it the side effect, alternatively I can insert form below but I feel uneasy.
No choice have to endure, told hb we must prepare all pending things tomorrow. hope my little one give me sometime dun give me surprise tonight.

TubbyMummy ,
Yup I still work, for first pregnancy I took duphaston (another hormone pill) for the entire 3rd tri, end up my girl overdue, have to go for induction.

Cassey &amp; Lovelytulips - My friend says that sitting on a Float helps... for sore epi

Wow LFB!! U painted the town red ah?? hehehe

Come to think of it, tinybubu was enjoying her bubu day just not long ago and she pop, is that nesting instinct?

hehe, LFB, is it your turn soon?

Huajing, ya, I also heard that insert from below will cause less nausea. That time I was so desperate, I tried that method once or twice, but later still revert to taking orally, cos was afraid maybe insert from below it's not as effective or what... Hang in there!!

Sweethalo,
I did paint the town red! I wore a bright red blouse, walking along Orchard and had hi tea at Carousel! Ha ha ha!

Tubbymummy, dolly,
I only go karaoke with my boss! He is darn good singer! Today we celebrated his birthday, so a suprise hi tea session for him, followed by the karaoke. Nope, don't think I am next! Too fast! Next week I am super busy at work, so I don't think I should pop! Must wait till week 37 and after!

Cassey,
actually, when I read posts from other threads, it is natural that baby won't latch on successfully for most mother. It seems common. But I think we should hang on and try our best. I have agreement with hubby that if I really cannot latch, I will pump out. If no milk, then formula will be compliment BM. No choice!

Tubbymummy,
According to my gynea insert is better, if take orally only abt 20% will goes to the worm the rest will be wasted in our body.

BF: Hubby went for the same class with me and he also understand that bf is not going to be easy. And since my mum cannot come to help me now for the first 2 months, I actually have 1 less person to "discourage" me from bf. It's definitely going to be a challenge, just hope I can hang on! And of course, cannot bf is NOT a sin also!

Cassey, no surprise your supply is good because you didnt give in to FM. keep it up! your supply can only increase if you continue like this.

re dirty diapers: seldom BFing babies have diarrhoea. i think 6 is normal. he should be passing every 3 hous so 8-10 is expected.

re latch-on: nvm, get support from us. if im there, i'd be rooting for u every time u successfully latch on. it helps with mummy baby bond instead of using bottle/dropper. so KEEP IT UP. *does a little cheer for you*

wow, doing my research on BF is really paying off and helping to prepare me mentally for what to expect..hehe. Cassey you're my role model when it comes to BFing. when it comes to my turn, i'll rmbr to persevere just like u.

bubu and Jackies, good luck and praying for a smooth delivery for you both! keep mummy and baby in good health!

Blurmom, baby needs visa (if got own passport) but airfare only pay 10% of what mummy pays. where u going btw?

my colleagues at work are beginning to annoy me asking me if i excited or not baby coming. another one asking if im scared of labour. i said NO. because this is a gift god has given us, what's a bit of work to bring new life into this world right? millions of mummies have done this before me. anyway i practise a lot of visualisations so i roughly know how i want to do it...when it's so planned, quite hard to be afraid i guess..having a baby is good religious deed so i pray that everything will go smooth. for me, baby and all other mummies and babies

<font color="cc0099"> l'tulips, welcome home &amp; to motherhood! How's your little one? My episio didn't hurt too badly until today. I think cos I'm a little slack with the antiseptic lotion and have gone off the painkillers since yesterday that's why can feel. I was cut on Mon, first poop in hospital on Wed morn and it wasn't painful. I don't think it's the poop that is causing worse pain... perhaps you pulled a little too hard on the area when cleaning up after the biggie?

dolly, I take whatever BF'ing theory I hear with a pinch of salt - cos I know that if I have specific expectations of myself - that just puts pressure on me. Do I want exclusive breastfeeding? Yes. Latch on? Yes. But I'm just going to do my best and pray for strength and wisdom to decide what's best for our circumstances, I guess.

Breastfeeding with expressed milk is so mafan. Like tubbym said, have to sterilise bottles and pump too. But formula will be even more intensive and I'm thankful supply is good. I still have 30mls in the fridge and just pumped another 50mls after a long hot shower plus boob massage.

sweethalo, the soreness isn't all that bad. Not excruciating pain... just perhaps like sitting on a major acne. Haha!! Anyway, I asked nurse at hosp if they had an episio pillow. She said no... but advised me that pressure on it actually helps wound heal faster than if we sit on a donut pillow. I was telling Tubbym~ and she asked me WHY?! I have no idea. But aiya, it's not that bad. Just irritating and have to sit down and get up slowly, and wipe carefully after every toilet trip.

dolly, I don't think that's nesting instinct lor!! Nesting instinct is preparing the NEST for baby bird to come home... not flying out on a holiday before the egg hatches leh!

LFB, same on my side. I'm pretty determined to breastfeed exclusively for at least 6 months. But I'm not going to be stupid about it. Hubby and I recognise that we've been so blessed - It's not even 5 days since we received the gift of little Kyle Justus and he could latch on within 24hrs of birth, was pooping nicely in the hospital, milk came in, no engorgement, now supply is plentiful and pumping is working, Kyle is still open to latching on and doing better (VERY S.L.O.W.L.Y but surely) with each nursing session. I'm just going to attribute it to the re-adjusting hormones that are make me testy sometimes.

caramelle, thanks for the vote of confidence! *grin* I'm actually thinking whether it was diarrhoea cos expressed milk can be stored at room temp for 4 hours. I kept bottle in the air-conditioned room for 4.5 hours before feeding it to Kyle. *oops! sheepish grin* But it seems to have cleared up now so I guess it's just the overfeeding this morning of a WHOPPING 95mls of milk in a 3-hr window!!!

+ I do agree that being well-informed and prepared to expect problems help with coping. Ling was quite discouraged too and wondering if Elena didn't like her breast milk after having been fed formula. I was sharing with her it's not about the milk, it's about EXTRACTING the milk. Once they've had lots of food served without effort on their part, why would they want to work so hard for it - only to have it come SUPER DUPER slowly!? I like to think that it helped her to know that it was the initial start of cup formula feeding that is kinda twarting her plans at the moment.

Cassey: Yeah, why pressure yourself when in fact you are doing very well!

Hope everyone has a good sleep tonight

Think Tinybubu might have popped already?

**Nite**

Cassey,

yep, Kyle is doing great and so are you! It's really a great blessing when you have plentiful! Nothing beats breast milk and I won't give up. My only test will be hubby, who told me he don't want me to suffer and feel depress if latching and pumping fail. But I know I will press on. Will draw inspiration from you when it's my turn! Will con't to pray for BB health, smooth delivery and plentiful BM to supply little one!

Re:Sleepless
Another bad night. Woke up at 6, dispite a late night! Anyway, decided to come in and chat. Going Ikea with my sis later to buy some more stuff.