(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

<font color="cc0099"> oh dear. Straight as I posted that, dr came in n checked me. That was PAINFUL. Already 5cm dilated. Next thing I knew he'd broken my waters. Felt like I'd wet the bed. I actually feel bit scared. Nurse changed underpad... I'll be leaking all the way til delivery.

Asked obgyn how long it'll be. He predicts 3pm. *pause as nurse came to put me on drip. Requested epi.* after painful VE, now I'm extremey nervous. Amnio fluid keeps leaking n gushing in spurts. Feel disgusted with what's going on down under.

Merlyzzz,
Congra on the safe arrival of your BB

Cassey,
So u have check in for the delivery liao. Do keep us update and have a smooth delivery as per your birth plan

I am officially 36weeks today!!!! My V. area is feeling alot of ache recently. Is it a sign that bb is engaging himself??? My whole backside also ache especially in the morning.

Hope BB can be guai guai and stay in my tummy till 38weeks cause i still have not hand over my work!!! PANIC MODE LIAO!!!

Cassey, good luck my dear! im so excited for you! hope i can be just as cool when it's my turn..

starting week 35, better enjoy my last few weeks before life changes as i know it.

Cassey
hang on...u will feel numb after the epi..

Blurmom
Thanks for the nice update!!

Serene
Ya I got the hairband from mothercare..kekee

bing
take care..

Hey Cassey, so excited for you. You are so close to delivery. You will be able to see your precious little baby soon! May the good Lord bless you with a smooth delivery. We are all waiting for the good news. Update us when baby is out=)

morning all!!

so active over the wkend huh...juz finished reading the post leh!!

cassey, excited f u &amp; hope u hv a fast &amp; smooth delivery! so aft the water bag being broken then u start to feel pain &amp; request f epi??

tiny bubu, did u request 1wk mc fm dr adrain or he juz give it to u?? so fast he gave u pre admission letter le...so when is yr nx check up?? guess we hv NO CHOICE but to go TMC f delivery le! sigh!!!

<font color="cc0099"> if no epi, I'd be miserable by now. Nurse/midwife thinks I may progress faster than 3pm. I sure hope so! Won't be allowed out of bed all today. I'm hooked up to so many things!

Using hubby's blackberry... Tough to type.

Jam, it wasn't contractions pain tt made me ask for epi. Haha! It was the ve that hurt...N I got scared tt if I wait, being 5cm already, too late by time I ask for it. As I said, I'm a wimp when it comes to pain la...</font>

<font color="#347C2C"> jia you wor Cassey.. hope your boi comes out soon.. its like watching live soccer match and cheering for your fav team.. haha..

<font color="cc0099"> shelisa, you're finally back!

Thanks to u all for the support n encouragement.
Contractions getting more frequent. Can hear baby's heartbeat in the background.. So cute.
Feeling really weary now. Gonna try to get some shut eye. Hungry! But no food allowed..

God willing, will check back in again later. Zzz</font>

Wow cassey doing live reporting!

Waterbag burst painful ah... now I m scared. BTW, are u actually hving contractions, heehhee??? U seem to be so calm!!!

Jus to distract you abit... how does the labour ward look like??? giggle...

Jackie- me too.. am praying that bb stays till the full 40wks as I seem totally unprepared.. hvnt washed bb clothes, packed hospital bag... and thinking of the birth and labour scares me...yikes!

Worse of all, hb and I still can't decide on the little one's name yet!!!

hmmm dunno y recently always hv to go poo f at least twice....juz now juz back fm toilet...hv diarrhoea! sigh! now tummy pain!

I'm a June MTB and I thought i share the information below with the MTBs on the forum
Take care all!

Having a Baby: Activity May Decrease Length of Labor

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/21/health/research/21baby.html?em

By NICHOLAS BAKALAR
Published: April 20, 2009

Lying down during the first stage of labor may slow the process, a new review of studies has found, but if the expectant mother sits, stands or walks around she may safely bring matters to a quicker conclusion.

The analysis, published April 14 in The Cochrane Collaboration, combined data from 21 studies with a total of 3,706 women.
Women who lay down — lying flat, in a semireclined position or on their sides — were no more likely than those who sat upright or stood to have unexpected needs like a Caesarean section. And there was no discernible difference between the groups in maternal satisfaction or the amount of fetal distress.

But over all, those who sat up, stood or walked spent an average of one hour less in the first stage of labor (strong, regular contractions with 3 to 10 centimeters’ dilation of the cervix) than those who did not, and they were slightly less likely to require epidural anesthesia.

Annemarie Lawrence, the lead author and a midwife at the Townsville Hospital in Queensland, Australia, suggested that gravity helps. “The baby’s head pushing down on the cervix improves the regularity and intensity of contractions,” she said. “Women should be allowed to move around freely. What this study shows is that lying down isn’t safer in the first stage of labor.”

aiyoh... all this talk suddenly make me scared. argh.. me at my 37 weeks liao
I am also having lots of painlike pressure at the v area. cant even walk properly.

<font color="cc0099"> getting intense. 8cm dilated. Legs completely numb. Shivers setting in cos of increased epi dose cos I feel a lot of pelvic pressure on right side. Baby is descending slowly but surely

Dr predicts 1hr. As I type getting contractions every minute so kp pausing to breathe thru it. The end is in sight. Yet it seems so far away. </font>

wow cassey! jiayou!!

ok stupid qn - epi hurts more or contractions hurts more?

wah another hr to go! dats actually quite fast labour right? hang on there!!

Cassey: Do relax so that your perineum will relax also to open up for your baby

Newbie Mum: Things getting excited here with Cassey giving birth any minute! Thanks for the link and yes, it's supposed to be better to be active
And I've written it down in my birth plan, I'll just have the standard monitoring for the first 20 min and after that it should be taken away so that I can sit, squat, walk or do whatever I want ;)

sweethalo, mi is wk37 i juz went diarrhoea again...hmm tink if continue i will c my gynae 2moro morning...my fen oso told mi dat her colik diarrhoea f 2 - 3 days &amp; go f labour le!

cassey, realli fei fu u leh 8cm dilated still can posts here....another 1 hr yr boi will b out le! happi f u!!

Soon cassey's little Justus will b in her hand.

Jia you ger.

Excited for you.

Ahnetsan,

to me contractions hurt more, cos epi is only during e administration, after dat no more pain liao.

jam75 : he knows that i had the idea to take hospital leave so he told me that since i'm so close to due date, it'll be a waste of money to book myself into hospital for 1 day to get 2 or 3 weeks HL.

So he just asked me if i work Saturdays and I told him no.Then he said " i'm giving you 1 week medical leave till Friday.You come back and see me on Sat.Up to you if you want to take this medical leave or not."

But today i just decided to go into office to finish up whatever pending i have.Most likely will take medical leave from tomorrow onwards...

Stupid Question but i'm only entitled to 14 days medical leave a year.If i take more than 14 days,then what will it be considered under??? hmmm....

Cassey : It's like the Elections when I was rooting for Obama and we eagerly awaited the results....

Bet the epi is helping heaps!!!

ahnetsan : me me me!!!! every afternoon,my eyes start to close automatically.maybe we can try not having such a big lunch...

jam75 : are you nervous about the stomach cramps? i would freak out if i went to the gynae and he said "oh,you better go check yourself in the hospital today for delivery."

i still have so many things to do.... wash baby's clothes, set up crib,go for a haircut etc etc.....

<font color="cc0099"> eh?? Felt like I was gonna pass out liao just now. Was bit delirious from the pain, mumbling to hubby that I give up wanna go home. I just want to be pregnant n have a baby, don't want to give birth... So on n so forth...

Nurse saw me pale n weary n in pain, offered to reset epi dosage n gave me laughing gas. I was sucking on it for dear life for abt 5 contractions. Drifting into semi-consciousness...

Then suddenly the clouds seemed to lift and I came completely awake and happy. So strange. So got hubby to get me my make-up kit n started to groom myself. BOY was he puzzled! So was I!!! Now I'm happy again leh. Waiting for full dilation. Seems fewer contractions... ?

Contractions DEF worse than epi. In fact, prick of anaesthesia was even less painful than the drip needle! Ten thumbs up! Heehee...</font>

tiny bubu, ic ic...so now yr chk up is weekly basis liow!! i tink i will drop by his clinic 2moro or fri cos my nx chk up onli on 30/may i find it too long to wait le! since yr edd same day as mi &amp; he already given u a letter &amp; say u will b giving birth anytime....mk mi nervous lo!

actuali i m afraid if i hv contraction i din even know! do u tink we will b so blur till ma?? cos dis few days i hv stomach ache &amp; hv to go poo so was tinking izzit contraction or stomach cramp???

if yr co onli give u 14 days MC so aft 14days MC will b unpaid leave or u hv to take yr own Annual leave le!

cassey, so cute leh aft taking epi liow can relax &amp; put on make up!! tink dis is the 1st time the nurse come across so ai mei mommy ba!

Ladies, check with you. Anyone of you start to tag on to CTG on every visit now? This thurs im having routine checkup, then my gynae told me from this thurs and those following weekly checkup, i must tag on to the CTG machine for 20minutes until i give birth.

sweethalo,
So scary hor.......Let all pray hard that bb is guai guai,

Cassey,
Reporting LIVE from the delivery ward!!!! I tot with epid hor shld feel NO PAIN leh...How come yours is different?

Anyway, i guess Justus shld be in your arm any moment now