(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

i've been having constant diarrohea these past few days.and increased BH contractions. this isnt a sign of labour,i think...... but starting to get worried because hubby away and if i go into labour, he might miss everything.

If you get diarrohea you should avoid milk... Do you carry on drinking milk? I remember pigging out on buffet the 4th month and had diarrohea. I check with my gyne and he said it's fine eating the black charcoal pill.

What is BH?

i had diarrohea last week and also fever. my hubby sent me to KKH immediately. they found contractions and admitted me immediately. you can eat charcoal pills, they gave me when i was admitted. if u feel feverish or pain, you can take panadol. the doctor say its ok.

I don't drink Coke hehe... Maybe Coke Light would work too...

But anyway, kiddo started blobbing around right after I made the comment that she doesn't move much these days. Oh well. One of those things I guess

blurmom,
wow.. u put on so much.. is it becos u smaller build so put on more than the rest during pregnancy

i am going to see my gynae this sat.. if bb is going to be big at edd.. think i will opt for c rather than induction

just came back from robinson... it was so packed.. queue from car park start from heeren.. but i nasty.. cut queue right at the taxi staand.. and most of the stuff at 30% disc.. now i totally drained.. even though i only shop for less than 3 hrs

tubbym, i b0ught the britax car seat already.. usual price 459.. less 30 so super good deal.. sorry wont be getting urs

<font color="0050b3">fatmon <font face="symbol">®</font> I'm not small build but I used to be skinny before my pregnancy
I heard alot mum who rather avoid induction but why is that so? Care to share? Kekeke, I'm just too crazily happy to hear that I"M GONNA SEE my bb real soon... Cannot stop smiling today, heehee... Btw, you getting better already?

LFB <font face="symbol">®</font> So long you got 10 kicks per day then everything will be safe
Keep counting dear...

Dolly <font face="symbol">®</font> I know which type of trolley bag u are talking about, Hey thats very good! I saw quite alot preg mum roll their bags to labour ward...

Dolly <font face="symbol">®</font> I got latex mattress with holes too but its the baby cot house brand... I was told that with Holes are more "cooling".

Tinybubu / Qi7 <font face="symbol">®</font> I agree with packing of bags now! Don't worry, you are not being KS but well prepared and organised. I don't know why I keep saying "packing bag for holiday", should be "packing bag for hospital"! Hahaha *Crazy me*

Blurmom: my first boy I DUMBly induce 3 days (each pill can insert once every 24hr) until I give up and went for ceseran.
1: waste time.
2: waste money prolong hosptial stay.
3: spend more money on the hospitalization stay plus induce medicine+ epidural.
4. If like me, C class, different doc come and touch me down there, imagine their big finger if it's a male doc?

<font color="0050b3">Qi7 <font face="symbol">®</font> That consider one horrible and scary experience doh! Haiz, think I should consult my gynae again and more advises... Hey, tks for sharing! Really wakes me up, kekeke</font>

blurmom, I also heard that contractions tends to be more painful when induced. At least that's what was shared to me by a couple of colleagues. They said that perhaps it's just not the right time for BB to come out and we are forcing him/her to do so, that's why it's more painful.

Not to scare any, JTS...

Let me explain why...

1: waste time- boring to stay there 3 days nothing to do after first epidural, first pill. Hubby stayed with me and wasted his paternity leave of 1 week.

2: waste money prolong hosptial stay. - plus in the end I went for ceseran so my hubby cant catch any excitment anyway because I went in operating theatre, the nurses annoyed me with 5 same question: Are you MDM (full name) IC number: S82XXXXX???

3: spend more money on the hospitalization stay plus induce medicine ( i wasted 3 pills) + epidural(2 times. First time during first induce, second time when I do Cesar).

4. If like me, C class, different doc come and touch me down there, imagine their big finger if it's a male doc?- I dont mind male doc so long as they are experienced. BUT A different male doc keep touching me down there. HOWever easy going I am but I'd rather to be touched by my hubby. Thank you.

<font color="0050b3">bbjun <font face="symbol">®</font> I experience induction before, I know that how the pain is like. That time, I even suffer 6 hours of contraction without any painkiller nor jabs. Yes its painful (Ladies don't freak out cos I can handle - so can you). So I wonder if I can still "dong" like last time (which happens only last year)?
If my bb still too big, then I can either induce or Ceasar him out. Well, both methods are already not natural already right? I would love to try vaginal delivery if possible... I heard some good and bad experiences from different mum today. So now I got this mixed feeling - Happy, kan cheong, scare, insecure?</font>

Blurmom: My first boy I also went for induce then ceser. I too, feel curious about natural, which is a cheaper and better way for hubby to watch how tiring it is to deliver.

But I heard if after birth the vargina tend to be looser. Need to eat nutritous food to make it tighten back otherwise the hubby won't have any good feeling when making out. How true is it?

I had a fren who got induced and was in labour for 24 hrs! The most scary one I heard was from a colleague whose baby has some adverse reaction to the pill inserted. BB's heart rate dropped dramatically and was immediately pushed in for emergency C. Doc cannot figure out why cos it's really rare to have BBs reacting this way to the pill.
After hearing all these, I wld never want to induce birth unless there is a medical reason for me to do so.

LFB, TubbyMummy: Do you baby kick more when you drink cold drink? Try to stimulate a bit and see if got response. TubbyMummy: Good to hear that baby actually signal you!
Mind normally stretch instead of kicking

qi7: I need to confess! I just had a ice milk tea today at Ya Kun..

tinybubu: I'm also worrying about my electricity bill next month, cos this month is an estimate only!
diarrohea: My gynae gave me Kaomix which is very good for diarrohea, can ask your gynae for it.

Blurmom: On inducing, I'll want to leave it to my baby, if he feels like he's ready, he'll come out ;) unless there's really medical condition. Our body is designed to give birth, baby should grow to an appropriate size also. I'm a 4.5kg baby myself, my mum didn't have me induced out, no epidural at that time. I believe I can do the same!

OMG!! dolly I wanna snatch your ICE MILK TEA! So envious!

I just bathe and now sweating again. Is it me or the weather???

I'd better rest and starting putting my boy to bed first

Tomorrow see doc and scan...
wish me luck.

Good night all lovely mummies

hi blurmom,
thanks.. i think my hearing now all recovered.. re induction vs c, i also not sure what is better.. just that my mom thinks induction is not 100% guarantee good.. cos according to her if induce and still cant deliver, still need c.. so she say double pain lor.. apparently when she delivered me.. she had to go thr a long induction process.. which she said if can avoid should avoid.. i also not sure lah.. will check with gynae which one is better and safer for bb.. c is definitely more costly.. so if both are effective, i may do induction

<font color="0077aa">bbAug, I've kinda packed my bag.. the preliminary round anyway. Haha! I'm not packing any diapers, wet wipes or breast pump. Don't forget to put in your discharge outfit!!

Tubbym~, I do weigh myself in at home from time to time... but I only compare ob-gyn clinic weight!
Maybe no weight gain cos you're losing while bb's gaining. Don't worry... oft for me, bb's gaining on all his measurements even though I'm losing weight or there isn't any change. A fortnight to next visit! Keep up the durians!

> Hey, mum told me not to eat too much durian at this stage of pregnancy. Said too 'heaty', bb's skin won't be nice. I just had a moderate intake of durian just now... my mum and sis both small eaters so no binging unlike hubby and me. Followed up with coconut. She's been asking her domestic help to serve coconuts to me about twice weekly.

Re: Bb Heartbeat
Seriously, quite oft I think I feel it. Sometimes when I lie in bed, I feel the rhythmic thump-thump, thump-thump. I feel the 'heartbeat rhythm' on the underbelly, under the ribcage, even along the sides of bump and lower back. BUT it's the same as my wrist pulse and not twice as fast as a foetus' ought to be. So I reckon perhaps it's our increased pulse and circulation causing blood to be pulsating thru our bodies.

LFB &amp; TubbyM~, I've had lotsa B'Hicks, but still feel lots of movements from my little guy too. Maybe there are certain times they are more active... or perhaps you were distracted and didn't notice the movements as much. They sometimes aren't as pronounced KICKs as before. I get some of those sudden blobs, but also gentle ripples across the bump or little glug-glug's here and there... It's especially uncomfy when he knees my boobs right at the top of the bump and I can't even get to the place to rub him unless I push my melons out of the way first.

dolly, GRACIOUS ME. 4.5kg? They say our bb's weight usually takes after dad &amp; mum's birth weight. What was your hubby's birth weight? I hope it's smaller than you else you'll be very likely to pop a little sumo! *scary thought*

BlurMom, apparently if birth is induced, the different areas of the body don't work together as well as if labour begins spontaneously when bb is ready to come out. Typically contractions get under way but cervical dilation is retarded. I think less commonly, it's the other way round. So labour tends to be longer and be more prone to medical complications. Induced labour have higher rates of mum ending up needing a emergency Caesarian.

Cassey: Yeah, my hubby had smaller frame, so hopefully even out. However, I'm also born with big pelvic bone, that's why baby can turn comfortably at 26 weeks mah!
Thanks for the information on induced birth, I'm equipped with have more reasons not to induce.
Now just need to convince my gynae dun anyhow induce me. I wan my natural birth!

Annie,
i was excited too when i thought i felt my bb's heartbeat during my last preg. went to check with gynae, she told me it's the bb's hiccups, we can't feel bb's heartbeat from outside..and my bb has been hiccupping almost everyday.hahahha.it is the loud thump..

Cassey,
your niece sounds cute..glares at you? hehehe. Have she started smiling already?

blurmom, dolly, cassey,
I was told by my doc don't do the 10/day thingy cos he said will set of more panic. Anyway, yesterday bb decided to dance after hubby coaxed him to move, so now I am ok. But really must make a point to feel him. So scary hor?

I didn't count.. are we suppose to? hahahahaa! My boy's case I also didn't count. (OPPS!!) Just occassionally feel her moving will do.
I'm wide awake after fetching my boy to child care. Must be the supper yesterday night... make my tummy have tons of wind... Now I'm too scared to drink milk! What's for breakfast everyone?

<font color="aa00aa">re : baby heartbeat

my hubby says he can hear it through my tummy - i think he's imagining it though hahaa

i'm thinking could it be the sound of blood pumping through the placenta though??

Hubby says it sounds like the babyplus!! hahaaa

anyway, i also see the right side of tummy gently bobbing up and down.. dun seem like hiccups.. and it's on one spot.. so nice to see.. hahaaa... got "calming" effect... =)</font>

morning...

think it's very common to have BH at our stage.

and, gynae was saying that even though bb is bigger, that doesnt mean lesser movements cos of limited space. in fact, their movements (whether kicks or them stretching) should even be stronger cos they are supposed to have more strength now.

these days, when bb move, i feel that it's hitting my groin area. can feel tummy getting lower. backache is another problem that makes it hard for me to turn/toss in bed.

a couple more weeks!!!

Any mummies have a good way to reduce heart burn? It's irritating and I've been having it very frequent these few days...

Should complain to my doc later *sigh* Now don't dare to take breakfast!

Cassey, yes, that was the other thing I was gonna say about the heartbeat thing, that it could actually be your own heartbeat you're feeling, but didn't say it cos thought some ppl may think I'm mad hahaha.... But yes, I've felt my own heartbeat from the belly many times before, especially when I used to lie on my tummy still (I did that till I was about 6mths preg). Like u said, it's not going at super speed, so it's definitely my own, not baby's (it lasts too long and is too regular to be hiccups too). Ooh, after the other day's CTG, I also know that my baby's heartbeat is between 150-160 (books say 120-160, so guess my kid's an excited one haha), and everytime she kicks/punches, the heart rate goes up to 170-180. Hehe... That was pretty fun

Hmmm... Maybe I'll do durians for 2 more weeks, then stop already. Just had some yesterday, and chased it down with barley drink. Hope that helps with the heatiness.

nozomi, baby hiccups quite cute right? Hehe... Mine hiccups almost after every meal. Think she's a greedy one too haha

qi7, breakfast is cereal and cold milk... everyday the same, very boring one...
And yes, tell your doc about your heartburn, he should be able to give you something for it. Mine gave me something for reflux that time I complained about having it. Once he prescribed to me, the reflux stopped, so I didn't even open the bottle.

LFB: Wow, you starts work so early! OK, mine is kind of office hours... so shall not complain

Heartbeat: Yeah, our baby heartbeat should double the speed of ours

Qi7: breakfast depends on whether I'm going to office to work or not. If going office, got to eat something first, then bring some bread, else will get hungry again very fast! If nothing to eat at home,then I'll take cereal w cold milk like TubbyMummy... TubbyMummy, dun you find cereal very tiring to your teeth? hahaha

Good morning mummies,

Getting rather paranoid now, gotta share with you all.. a friend of mine, just gave birth this morning. She supposed to go for C-sect some times next week, while her EDD is still about 3 weeks away.

My EDD is around 31st May, my maternity leave will start on 26th May, I'm a bit scared now, couldn't really predict, all these EDD, even planned C-sect, doesn't really assure when baby decided to come and see the world..

Ling: Is your friend having natural birth?
Dun worry when the baby wants to come, just let it come
We can't do anything to stop it!

dolly, thanks.. just over-anxious I guess.. I can't even distinguish what is a contraction like.. had tightening, had tummy (menses like) cramps, had uterus pulling, which one is the contraction, which one is the BH.. baby seems to kick more and more too these days..

dolly,
if coconut husk mattress costs $139, i think i rather fork out a bit to buy the babysafe latex one then. babysafe latex is abt $143 if im nt wrong.

kikismom,
thanks for the recipe!
but i tot ur mum cooks it wif codfish? those fishbones best to buy at markets instead of supermarket is it?

hi qi7!
hey, wat's 'operation' fish, to eat for natural birth? "kai dao"?

tubbymummy, ok updates on checkup ytd... gynae says bb's weight is still good, nw 1.9+, abt 2kg at 32 going 33wks. done my 3d scan... not in a very good position, as bb was facing the other direction (he's forever not cooperative!!). Although gynae point here point there say this is wat part wat part, i still cant really relate.

next, updates on my swab test (which i did last month), im a GBS carrier. GBS - Group B streptococcus

apparently this happens in 1 in every 4-5 preggies. and most do not even realise it. and gynae says im born wif this infection, though i dun realise it at all.

gynae even showed me TNP article where this woman sued KK hospital cos her newborn died due to GBS, and she blames the gynae for not even doing any swab test on her in the first place. Upon hearing this, i almost wanted to cry, i thot die liao la, i can pass the infection to my bb and he may even die??? den gynae reassured me this is harmless and not contagious, jus tat before labour, he will haf to give me a jab to prevent it from passing to my bb. And now im on antibiotics for a week.

Here's the link abt GBS -
http://pregnancy.about.com/cs/groupbstrep/l/blgbsfacts.htm

gynae also discussed with me between tmc and mt a rates. Initially i wanted to tell him i might take up mt a as my choice. but his advice is stick with tmc, cos wif the swine flu now, should it really break out, it's safer to deliver in tmc instead of mt a, as mt a is a general hospital(meaning there will be all kinds of different viruses) whereas tmc is just women/children hospital. he also mention dat some of his patients haf alrdy switched from mt a to tmc.

Robinsons closed down sales-
was there ytd at centrepoint, the sales were actually very good... but i only managed to shop at the nursery dept. most items were going at 30% off!! managed to get some miscellaneous bb stuff but cos was rushing off, so din manage to shop the whole of robinsons.
but the carpark was terrible, too many cars fighting for lot. haha

coconut &amp; chicken essence-
my gynae says there's no scientic proof abt coconut drinks... says i can go listen to my girlfriends' advice or comments... but he did mention dat dun take chicken essence before labour as it will cause more bleeding during labour.

dolly, yes sometimes I feel that cereal is very tiring to eat hahaha... so lazy right? But I also don't like my cereal to be the kind that goes soggy too easily, so will buy the crunchy kind, but need to chew more... Ok, I'm hard to please
But the cold milk first thing in the morning is very shiok!

Ling, I can't really distinguish between all the sensations either. I just hope that by the time the real thing comes along, it should be more PAINFUL, so we'll know for sure "uh oh, think this is IT" hehe. I hope I don't pop before my scheduled c-sec. I even asked my obgyn already, that if I do pop before my scheduled date, will the charges be more expensive since it's now an emergency c-sec. He said MAH won't charge more, it will still be same charges as my scheduled one. Phew!

I am still suffering from the cough. It had get from bad to worst. Last nite i couldn't sleep laying down, end up got to sleep upright
. N hor, the prolong coughing have cause my rib cage to hurt.

So i went to see a specialist this morning. Heng rib cage not facture. Dr change all my medi and assure me that everything is fine. Really hope i can 5 5 recover....SIGH

ahnetsan, i also did the swap and found out i kena infected too. I forgotten the name of the virus. But same, gynae put me in antibotic when im on week 33, then she say before im gg to give birth, she will give me drip and this drip have to stick on my hand thru out the whole pregnancy. She say by doing this can prevent bb when gg pass our vaginal and breathe in the bacteria or germ. If serious can cause '肺炎' or even die. That y she insisted then i must put on drip, she ask me cannot scare of needle at that time. So i tell myself regardless how huge the needle, i will get rid of my phobia. i dun 1 my girl to suffer. ahnetsan let hugz together.

ahnetsan, great to hear that baby is doing well! Dun worry about the GBS thing, think that KKH woman's baby died only because it was undetected etc etc, whereas for yours, you're taking antibiotics now, some more will have jab before delivery, so everything will be ok.

If your gynae think it's safer to stick to TMC, then maybe just heed his advice, you won't feel so stressed about the swine flu thing also. For me, I'm sticking to MAH lah, no point changing now (even though I haven't submitted my pre-admission form). My own "theory" is that more ppl walk into govt hospitals for treatment anyway, not so much private hospitals. And when ppl call 995 for ambulance, these cases are only brought to govt hospitals also, and never to private ones, so I think private hospitals in general still rather safe ba... TTSH is usually the hospital base for contagious diseases, and TMC quite closeby to TTSH anyway, so I shall console myself that MAH is a bit further away haha. Hopefully we all give birth before Singapore gets its first swine case...

How come chicken essence will cause more bleeding leh?

yesterday I felt the hiccups too and let hubby feel them. Lasted quite long. Quite fascinating.

Yes now the weather is getting rather hot. I have been sleeping with the aircon on every night. think my electricity is gonna increase!Hopefully it will get cooler after baby is born.

Now I am experiencing the hunger pangs like 1st trimester. This morning woke up at 5am to eat! Think baby is trying to fatten himself with the food I am eating. Anyone has the same experience?

Have all of you decided if you are going to go with the private or public cord bank? pros and cons? I am still thinking...

Jackies, that sound bad leh!! did u monitor the food u eat? Pls do rem more plain water, eat more vit C fruit and have a good rest. hope u recover soon.

kikismom,
3 bowls of soup a day or at one setting?

shelisa, i think urs is also GBS like mine. yeah let's hug together. it's a drip?! oh gosh, my gynae only told me he's gg to jab me, i tot it's only an injection, den i can still bite on and tahan.. but if it's on drip, i've never had it before and i see le i sure faint one.

haha tubbymummy, ok, ur logic is logical too! yeah hope everything is ok. thanks.

abt chicken essence, i also dunno why it will cause more bleeding during labour. my gynae says so. i forgot wat was the reason blurmom was telling me jus nw. i cant remb! gosh! she jus told me like a few mins ago only.

been feeling horrible these days... hate this water retention issue... nw my feet, legs, fingers, hands feel uncomfortable again!

bbaugustine, I'm hungry all the time too
I only got up early to have breakfast this morning cos I couldn't fall back asleep after hubby left for work, because my stomach wouldn't let me! It's been happening a lot. I take breakfast, then by about 11am I'm hungry again, so I ate a cheese sandwich. Then I eat again at 1pm, and am planning my next meal for 4pm. Then dinner better happen by 7pm, else I'm STARVING, and then I still drink a glass of milk before I sleep. Just like 1st tri. I hope it goes to the baby!!