(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

ahnestan, the one i bought from kiddy palace is foam mattress with holes. hahah.

kikismom, i am delivering at TMC. edd is 1st june. but not sure if bb will pop earlier. hee.

the orange green papaya is different from the green ones right? the green ones are those unripe ones right? btw, which kind of fish is suitable to be cooked with the green papaya?

kikismom
yeap yeap me too into scrapping. cuz i was reading the scrapping thread in SMH. and they mentioned your nick. so i was trying my luck to ask you. you just joined an event hor. peifu peifu you in your current state!

my #1 only 14.5mths now. so quite tough for me to handle her now because she just started walking. and definitely i gt no time to attend classes and events !

ahnetsan
they're diff..ya those green one r unripe & the fresh r harder.. my mum cooked them with codfish..muz drink the finish the soup good for supply...

bing
maybe will see u here..pm u my nos..my edd is on the 3rd..

crystal
my back ache after 12hr sitting on the chair..
but I did enjoy the event... I'm going for the MWL celine workshop in may but this time round I break it into 2 days...
not so siong... Lucky my MIL & Hb took care of my boi for tat day... u wait till your gal's bigger..laines will organised the event every year i think...

Hi Mummies, Thanks for the info on mattresses:

LFB: babysafe mattress from taka - latex
bing: foam mattress w holes from kiddy palace - $59
crystal: babysafe mattress w holes form kiddy palace - latex
kikismom: babysafe mattress from Robinson - latex
Got my babycot from my colleague, so just need to buy the mattress, but find that there are so many different types in the market! Was thinking of babysafe but like what you said, latex mattress will have some chemical reaction when sun, I believe it will harden too.

So looks like everyone's mattress got holes in it!
Anyone thinking of the coconut husk mattress? Saw it at Kiddy Palace too, it's harder, but can sun.

Ling, no worries. As long as it is that type of coconut then should be ok. Actually some hawker centre do sell those without skin coconut, u can check it out when u go hawker centre eat, look for those fruit juice store, ask them whether they sell? If they sell, tell them u prefer the young type.

Ahnetsan, hope ur bb say hihi to u. Rem to keep us updated.

Annie, ytd did u visit gynae or u at home rest?

Kikismom, I think need to go to wet market to buy. Supermarket not selling. Do you have any fruit store that u very familiar with in the wet market? You can tell them in advance, so when u need it u can call them to get ready for u. I know teck-ka and geylang suria got sell.

annie, ya lor, wat's wrong with drinking lime juice ar? why cannot??

dolly, kiddy palace selling coconut husk mattress? wat's the benefit of it? is it the one dat is slightly more expensive?

kikismom, ok, i shall remember that green papaya are to be cooked with codfish... do u drink the soup only or u also eat the fish and the papaya? and u know must cook for how long?

shelisa, yeah, hopefully bb cooperates and can take 3D scan... every time my gynae says bb nt in good position to take...

innocentwar- don know but auntie said during pregnancy try not to drink cold drink as bb will come out having a lots of phlegm... & then i be crying my heart out seeing them forcing to take the phlegm out frm our bb nose & mouth

innoentwar/ahentsan- so i can only have cold drink once a while or can only have warm almond soya bean milk downstair.. also wan my bb to be healthy...

to all mummies
is it i feel heartbeat below my rite side of tummy mean bb head down???

ahnetsan: Yeah, the kiddy palace at Compass point sell the coconut husk mattress. They claim that when baby is small and soft, a harder mattress is better to support the baby. There are 2 types of mattress with coconut husk
1. coconut husk alone ($139)
2. coconut husk on one side and latex on the other side so that you can turn the mattress to the softer latex side when baby is above 1 year old (now on sale at $199, so no further discount)

Hi all mummies...

This is my second baby.. and my first boy is already 3 years old. And he sleep on babysafe pillow and mattress. No Issue.

My girl is due on June... Gonna delivery at KKH as usual.

I don't really care much about the cold/hot drinks now the weather is sooooooooooooo hot! Doctor also say:MODERATE.

Annie: I thought it's my mind playing tricks on me, I always feel heartbeat on the left side... I thought it's my little girl beating drums hahahaha!

I've checked with KKH regarding the bed and they told me still early. Nevertheless I don't like doing things last min so I guess I'll go book first. Since my second one on strict budget I'll go for C (just like my first boy) If full they will put me at B2+ charging C rate, hee!

I guess I don't need my hubby by my side. He needs to take care of my boy while I deliver and do confinement at my mom place. I'll be lonely but busy with pumping milk and taking care of my girl when I deliver.

Now I'm trying to pack my hospital bag. Half forgetting what to bring,my memory getting bad now that my son is older! hahahah!

Mine's 16th. But doc say if I choose Ceserean again, he suggested me to go end of May because my weight gain is slow and my girl's head, body and bones are all ranged at the 3rd percentile, since 5mth. which means baby is smaller. He said: 37th weeks (end of may) baby should be fully grown. It's better so we can monitor the baby because we do not know what is happening inside.

I seriously got no appetite even till now. I thought it will go off after first tirmester but it never did -_-" And I'm forcing myself to eat everyday.

Annie: I dun really feel the heart beat from my baby, but I notice my gynae will put the scope at lower part of my tummy to listen to heartbeat.

Cold drink: Found that if I drink cold drink, my baby will kick more! Just try to avoid cold drink, cos older people say baby might come out with gastric/tummy problem. But then the weather is sooo hot! I even eat ice-kacang or ice-cream!

qi7- ??? can go for c class?? the nurse told me i not entitle to c class as i in the private suit & my first appt is walk in so they charging me class A rates wif no subsidies..

Dolly- yah the weather is really hot but now cooling here.. heavy rain outside..
i hardly get to eat ice kachang as hubby will pull a long face as he don wan bb to go in & out of hospital & said i must now endure at least our boy will be healthy & dont have to go in & out of the hospital.. so even buy cold drink must get passport for approval

Annie: You cannot walk in dear!

In order to go for C, you must go polyclinic, (don't care you tested at your own GP/bought a kit and tested positive) check for pregnancy then ask them do referral to KKH. So immediately the put me at Clinic C, heavily subsidies by goverment.

I'm an OK lady I guess. I don't need any specific doc/ward like A or B. Just give me any doc + any ward to deliver I'm ok already.

My boy also the same thing at KKH I went for Class C. It seems like A, for I've stay there for 6 days (inclusive of 3 days induce) there are 2 nights I was like staying at A, I'm so lonely in an empty ward,no one to talk/look at. Except for the indian nurses. So I just catch them and talk to them. hahahahha! No matter which class, I think KKH nurses are just fine. Taught me how to express milk and lend me the electric pump because for my son, I'm totally clueless.

Crystal: that's my elder sister you referring to
she uses my nick to do sprees as she got problem with her's sometime back.

qi7- oic.. aiyah too late already lah unless i wan second one but be over 35 if got second one as i 33 tis year.. wait alot of test to be do on me...

in fact GP refer me to thomson but i don wan cos no mcdonal or no much shops below while kk got delifrance ... after checkup can go ther makan..

ahentsan

Fish & papaya soup recipe
Ingredients
• 500 grams of fish bones (preferable to use threadfin - kurau - fish bones)
• 500 grams of green papaya (the flesh of the fruit is white)
• Three litres of water
• Four slices of ginger (this will help cut down any fishy taste or smell)
• Six pips (cloves) of garlic
• Three stalks of spring onion
• Salt to taste

Directions
• Boil the water, then add in the ginger, garlic and spring onion.
• Cut the papaya into small slices. Discard seeds.
• Pour boiling water over the green papaya to remove sap, then drain.
• Combine the fish bones into the boiling pot, followed by the green papaya.
• Turn down the fire, leave to boil for about half an hour to reduce. This should yield about three rice bowls of soup.

Oh I see... I might go for the ligation (tie and cut) after my girl. Prob a little too young but I don't want the 3rd accident. -_-" BTW I'm 27 this year.

Have to raise 2 kids plus feed my MIL and the house, when got enough?

Plus if I didn't go for C, every 2 weeks see doc plus screening at ADC cost me $70+ (after govt grant) 1 month= $150, I'm dried soon!

Yes yes the foodcourt at KKH serve $2 breakfast with eggs, bread and drink. Delifrance can eat the crossiant, and there is even Macdonalds!! YUMMY fillet o Fish. Food smell nice but when I eat a few mouthful, it taste yucky... I wonder why?

Yes, yes, fish and papaya soup good for BM. And if natural birth must ask old folks buy the *operation* fish and cook to tighten to cervix back

qi7- but mine cost me less than $100 per 4 weeks.
rite now they also see me in 4 weeks time.

nvber have problem makan as all along i m a big eater but nvber grow fat til now pregnant only have alot of fat on my leg hip & tummy..

<font color="0077aa">This foodie had supper instead of dinner yesterday. Quarter of a murtabak @ 10pm &amp; the resulting heartburn kept me up til 2am.

Had my Gelare waffle yesterday and just finished enjoying an Egg McMuffin... Yummy!! *blissfully happy*

styliciously, Tubbym~ is already coordinating the Kellysjy newborn shoots for us. You might want to get in touch with her.

dolly, yup. Perineum massage. Can't quite reach... getting hubby to do it is so un-sexy. Plus to do it correctly, you have to stretch it til it feels a little painful. So it all rather puts me off!
If I ever get around to doing it, I'll prob just use Johnson's bb oil...

bing, you ARE SO TINY!! HAIYA! Anyway, after delivery, usually you drop abt 5kg. With breastfeeding and contraction of uterus, should have further decrease in weight in the month(s) following.

LFB, but it's hard to control bb's weight gain cos with Gest.Diabetes, bbs are usually weightier, isn't it? Does your dr intend to induce about a fortnight before EDD? Just eat when you feel like it ba. My dr keeps telling me don't binge, don't diet. Your body will tell you what and how much it needs. I've been enjoying my food... but body's managed to gain only the weight it "should".

ahnetsan, perineum is the area between vaginal and anal opening where the snip is made for episiotomies. Perineum massage is supposed to improve elasticity a little so that vaginal opening can stretch more to allow bb's head (&amp; shoulders) out without or with less tearing.

> As for vaginal examinations, last few weeks of preg, dr will insert fingers into vagina to check for cervical changes like effacement (softening &amp; thinning) and/or dilation. Pre-labour stages can start 2-3 weeks before the first stages of labour set in... and during this pre-labour stage, some women can actually gradually dilate to 3cm without going into spontaneous labour yet! </font>

kikismom,
Thanks for the detailed receipe, was about to ask if it's fishbones or fish meat.

dolly,
I bought the half coconut husk and latex mattress from taka. hmm..was told by the sa,husk is good for bb's soft backbone. anyway, if bb dun like it, will just flip to latex side.

Annie,
It might be ur bb's hiccups that u r experiencing, as we can't feel bb's heartbeat.
but it's cute isn't it?

Cassey,
good that u can keep up to your desired wt gained. I've been gaining like nobody's biz. heheh..+ last rd's wt, i think it gonna be a big mission to 'deflate' back to my original shape..sobsob

Annie: That's so werid. They see me once every 2 weeks. See doc + scan at ADC. Prob for my case, my girl seem to be smaller.

Do you have cramps and bloated problems on legs? I cannot stretch anywhere on my leg. Sure cramp! Plus pillow is a MUST under my leg when I sleep at night. Wash clothes 1 time, leg and back pain 2 days if no proper rest.

It's true when they say: every pregnancy is a different experience. I don't rem the cramp and pain when I was carrying my boy and my appetite was excellant. I gained 22kg. Before pregnancy I was 60kg. Before I give birth I was 82.

Now Before carrying my daughter I was 60kg. Now I'm only 67?

<font color="0077aa">nozomi, you're back! Been busy lately eh? Almost at the end of the 'critical period'.. I hope you're feeling much at ease by now.
You are SO slim to start off with. I doubt you'd be looking like a blimp anyway. Last time you said you gained 4kg in 4 weeks or something, but you still looked just as good when I saw you so I'm throwing your weight comments out the window!

My 3D2N at mum's in the East has extended into almost 2 full weeks!!!
Shall jio you out for Starbucks next week after I return home on Thurs

cassey,
am still paranoid during this 'crucial' period..hey, tt last rd was so so long ago..heheh. how's your niece doing? it's good to get some hands-on practice, it must have been tiring though. okie, do jio me for starbucks when u r back in the west.
would it be close to your duedate by then?

Nozomi- but it feel like heartbeat leh.. las nite i even ask my hubby listen he said y so fast .... pop pop pop

qi7- only have leg cramps in the middle of the nite once blue moon.. dont have the symptoms u mention.. but gyne did mention to me boy bone tends to be bigger &amp; heavier so i be putting alot of wt... my gf has a gal &amp; she vomit all the way through pregnancy &amp; no appetite &amp; didnt gain much wt..

annie: if your husband is going to stay with you, you will need to be in a 1-bedded room in KK. I was admitted last week and stayed in a 4-bedded they chase my hubby home.

qi7: mine boi is also small. I was 43kg before pregnancy and now 49kg only. I dun feel like eating food. Not much craving but being forced by my hubby.

My baby boy is due June 22. Going to book delivery package on my next checkup at KKH.

I have given birth and is planning to sell my pre-loved maternity wear from Spring at cheap price. All pieces are size S and are in good condition. Send me a PM if you are keen to have a look. I will send you pictures of the clothes.

Hope you all have a smooth pregnancy.

I do feel the beats at my left side as mentioned. If it's hiccups, my gal is having hiccups every day then. Because the beats came once in a day. It came yesterday night at about 1am. And just now at about 10am?

Annie: Could not agree more. When I deliver my boy on 2006 mother's day, he's 3.895kg. I rem 1 month back, they est my gal's weight to be 1.2kg only... -_-"

Been asking around and they say these few stuff will beef the baby up, I wonder how true is it?

Durians, Bird nest, Chicken essence.

<font color="0077aa">nozomi, niece has gone back home on Monday once my bro-IL returned from the States.
She's such a good girl and doesn't kick up a fuss unnecessarily. She's been so much more alert at 5+ weeks compared to 4 weeks.
She stares up at you with her eyes and just looks for ages. She ALMOST flipped on her side at this tender age!!
SO CUTE! I think we all miss her already.
Next week is wk 37 for me. So eh, quite close..?</font>

qi7- i did have chicken essence everyday &amp; bird nest sometimes... durian once a while..
must wait till 18 may then know how much my bb weigh.. las check up when i m 31wks 3 days he was 1.68kg

hi ladies..anyone experience tummy ache those like need to go toilet that kind of pain? I check with my gynae he said cuz bb position was touching my intestine and creating the irritation..is it normal? have been getting this type of pain almost daily and especially when i wake up in the morning can feel that kind of pain...nv have that kind of pain during my last pregnancy

Junebabyboi09: hahahahhhaha! Food is not the first item on my list too! I'd rather sleep and rest. And yes, my hubby also everyday nag and force me eat supper -_-" doc recommend smaller meals in many portions. Thus the supper came about.

The package must book at first floor admission department.

In 2006, I went for C class plus stay 6 days with induce 3 days and ceseran, they deduct my hubby CPF $1700+. I'm not sure if there is any changes to charges now. The rest of the class, I have no clue!

My next check up is tomorrow and I hope everything's fine. The ADC dept always gives a *warning letter* to doc because of the percentile is staying at 3rd. And I hate to see that...

p/s: I hope the geylang durian works... :p

<font color="0077aa">split, I wouldn't worry about it. I think it's pretty common cos bb is squishing our 'bowels'..?
It should go away after a bowel movement or when you shift positions
(e.g. lie on your back with a pillow under one shoulder so you're not flat on back).

qi7- i heard durian boost the baby's weight alot but cant eat alot coz it causes heatiness.

annie- den i think a 4-bedded is more affordable.

now i feel giddy.

Cassey, I have been putting off applying the perineal gel I bought from Mothercare as well. I think it is the uncertainty of how to do it. Hubby is kinda squeamish about it too when I asked him to help me massage. He is so afraid that it will trigger contractions. Maybe I will attempt it tonite and see how it goes=p

Annie, sometimes I have this regular throbbing at the bottom of my tummy also but sometimes it could be on the left or the right. I was wondering if it was hiccups or the heartbeat. When I was at the clinic to measure the baby's heartbeat, they put the speaker thing on the bottom right of my tummy so that should be where the heartbeat is.

I packed my delivery bag yesterday with the help of hubby!I had a heard time finding my 2 nightdresses I bought for the hospital...luckily I'm packing early or else it will be a mad rush if I waited till the last minute. I am just short of my own toiletries only.

Junebabyboi09: go and rest if you feel giddy. Me queue for the bus from giant hypermart on monday also giddy. Must be the heat! Yup, I only ate the durian twice during pregnancy.

I don't think they care which bedded so long as it's not disturbing? The lady beside me(when I deliver my boy) had her mom staying with her the whole night. They just pull the covers and keep talking till 4am. The nurses also never shoo them off. Prob tell the nurses you are afraid and just deliver etc etc prob they will let you have your way.

bbaugustine: what did you pack for your bag? I vaugely rem: toiletries, pads, baby clothes, bootes, mittens, recieving blanket. I could not rem anything else. I rem packing 2 sleep dress the last time, but KKH don't allow me to wear my own sleep dress. *pouts*

qi7- i got the letters how much it charge &amp; i even email to caramelle..
wat yr email add i post to u too

junebabyboi- will see which bed my hubby book next mth cos differences by $1k+ only..