(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

TubbyMummy,thanks,you jiayou also.. don't think too much,your bb shld be fine.. just follow what gynae said eat more durian and see how is the outcome when next checkup.. Wish your bb can wait until full term then come out!!!Not only these 2 days,you need to take good care everyday and stay thinking positive always!

Annie,ya bugis area very crowd even in weekday... don't worry,even 34 weeks still got chance that bb head turn down.. as my friend's bb head turn down at 35 weeks.. happy for you that you got such a good friend willing to accompany you when you needed..

Cassey,do you want the diet plan that my dietitian give to me one?i can sent it to you by email.your bb position is good.. i got to wait until this satuday checkup then know my bb's position..

Ling,ya they pay me a little bit but "open one eye close one eye",they treat me quite good these few years anyway...so try to help them also.. it's good for you to work half day now... can relax a bit and also will not boring.sometimes if you really need the seat then just tell the student that you need the priority seat... don't let them stare at you and without give up the seat to you... why your EDD changed to 31st May?For KKH,they will stick to the same EDD...

Jess_ma- so tat mean i got 2 more weeks for my bb head to turn... aiyah but how to know tat bb head turn cos my next appt is 4 weeks time.. was told tat next appt be in 2 weeks time but gyne said he see me in 4 weeks time tat be 18may as bb & i gain wt nicely for my size.. & it the due date i be booking for my ward so nid to ask gyne for the yellow tag as to confirm tat he be delivering for me

hi mummy,
today took urgent leave.. didn't go to work cos of the cramps.. on and off.. got me so worried that i called doc and he said it is prob braxton hicks.. not an issue..

tubbymummy,
don't worry abt ur bb size.. i think bb will now grow faster.. so u just eat healty and regularly should be fine.. big babies also have their cons.. as long as the baby is heathly, i dont think u should worry abt underweight..

Annie,.there are exercises to help turn the baby to a more favorable position for birth,you can try it out.. but don't know whether suitable for all preg woman or not.. maybe you can call your gynae/nurse to ask them..

Jess_ma- exercise? mum told me to climb up & down the staircase to let the bb head turn down.. if only can go swimming in this hot weather.. long time didnt go swimming since i got pregnant

wonder how long after birth can we go for a swim...

I read from forum dat the one of e ger'sgynae advise to bend e upper body down and do like an inverted V like for few mins each day, then e bb actually turn down.

thanx for the welcome, Ling. yup, am leaving the heavy and bulky stuff to my hubby.

tubbymummy, bb at 37-38 weeks is good enough right? before week 37 will be considered as premature?

hi annie, my boy's head too is still not dwn at 32 weeks.. haiz.. hopefully he will turn soon so that i can go thro natural delivery and embark on my slimming plan asap! haha...

Annie,but my friend told me don't climb up and down the staircase leh... but her EDD is 16-Apr,maybe our stage still can...

pigletgir1- oh at least not jus my bb head not down..
we will pray hard that they turn down soon

Mika, yup, wk37-38 is good enough. I was just hoping my baby would have grown to more normal size by then, since she's small now
Think full term is 36wks? So born at 37 weeks it's ok le... Let's hope everyone here hangs in there till past 36wks!

<font color="0050b3">Ling <font face="symbol">®</font> How are you already? Take care yah! Btw, Here is my list

Water Thermometer - Comtemplating still! - Avent will be a good choice as can be used as in water and room temperature.
Baby Thermometer - Gift from SIL, her own company branding
Baby Barrier Cream - Desitin Creamy
Baby Shampoo - Pigeon body and hair wash 2 in 1
Baby Powder - Pureen brand / Constarch powder
Baby Wipes - Pigeon travel pack / Tollyjoy family tub
Baby Bottle &amp; Veg Wash - Mama Lemon?
Baby Laundry Detergent - Pigeon liquid detergent
Baby Infant Formula - Weyth - S26? But haven't get them yet

Kikismon <font face="symbol">®</font> My next appt will be on 29 Apr, already looking forward to see bb again heehee! I just got myself a new dress again, as my pants are pretty tight now. Looks like they gonna "Pit Chia" anytime.

Mika Rei <font face="symbol">®</font> Where you gonna have your scan done? TMC or Gynae's clinic? I still got a pending scan - to check if there's any cord around the neck? *Choy Choy* Hopefully I will pass that test!

Capriho <font face="symbol">®</font> Wow! that bill is very scary doh'! Hopefully none of us will have to go through that! *Praying for all*

TubbyMummy <font face="symbol">®</font> Cheer up and Jiayou Dear! Talk + Sayang your girl, tell her to hang in there and absorb more from mommy! Hope that you and baby are doing fine now *Hugs*</font>

tubbym,
i can totally empathise with you. im also very anxious abt bb's wt at every gynae visit and its getting a little stressful. i agree that some of the babies here are BIG!!

i remember i wasnt as preoccupied abt bb's wt for my first pregnancy and she turned out fine. i delivered at 39 wks and she was 3.1kg. i guess its because im so dying to have a BIG baby this time round and this has inevitably caused stress to myself.

so i guess we have to shift our focus. as long as baby is growing fine, we shldnt read so much into the weight. many babies are born 2+kg. my niece was born 3.6kg, but now at 18mths shes quite petite. so i think birth weight does not determine whether the child would thrive later on.

last nite i also had cramps. was quite painful, and i couldnt sleep for 2 hrs then i woke up to take panadol, which was what my gynae instructed if they are not contractions. after that was ok and i managed to slp. my baby also too small, cannot come out! today the whole day still feeling queasy. i wonder if such cramps are normal. v worried, am praying and praying baby stays inside til full term.

Yup, Annie.

But i think quite tedious for us to do it with such a big tummy.

Just keep fingers crossed dat bb will turn by itself.

Mine also hvn't turn as at last checkup, hope this coming sat will get good news.

Ling,

my list...

Water Thermometer - not buying. personally i think not nec.
Baby Thermometer - Braun ear thermometer
Baby Barrier Cream - Desitin Creamy
Baby Shampoo - Aquahor Baby wash/ Jason Natural 2-in-1 wash
Baby Powder - Not recommended for infants unless talc-free. going to try Burts bees.
Baby Wipes - NUK for cleaning poo/ Pigeon for quick use
Baby Bottle &amp; Veg Wash - Tollyjoy
Baby Laundry Detergent - Pigeon powder detergent/ kodomo liquid detergent
Baby Infant Formula - Enfalac A+

Mine is 22 Jun.

Gynae said just wait and see, since #1 is normal delivery, bb shld b able to turn by himself.

Until nw, I m unable to differentiate whether it's e hands punching or legs kicking, cos this 1 is more gentle as compared to #1

JessMa: My mum has been telling me that when she was pregnant with me, she walk up and down the staircase with equal weight on both hands as exercise. And it's really easier to give birth to me (I weighed 9+ lbs, more than 4.5kg at birth)
For me, I find walking quite tiring, so I swim instead.

Just managed to find time to come in! Tmr not working, seeing doc. Still in office and will join hubby for dinner tonight! I am baking wholemeal banana chocolate chip muffins today! Yippee! So happy!

Thanks to all of you who updated me abt the weight of bb. I am looking so fwd to see bb tmr! Nothing makes me happier!

Tubbymummy, just eat the durian and bring the weight up! Don't worry, everything will be alright! Jia you!

Re:walking
Yep, I heard that. It seems to be true as that will make delivery more easy and smooth. I will start my walking end May, giving myself 2 weeks earlier than the 40weeks.

bbpotato-lucky for u my maternal grandma passed away when i was 21.. sure miss her cooking..
nvber get to see my paternal grandma as she was gone when i was abb..

well got to get ready ..hubby coming home soon..

Went to see gynae last Friday, bb grow normal, same as jiejie, 1.9kg @ 31weeks, gynea said most pro bb will be 3.5kg @ born but jiejie turn out 3.75kg. hope didi not too big.
Since bb not affected even I eat durain twice a week, so I had my durian wafer again just now. yummy yummy.

sad... gynea want me to go for c-sec as my first was emergency c coz my pelvic too small for bb to come out. So likely this time will be the same, gynea advice dun go thru the same pain again juz go for c-sec

Annie,
Dun think too much blur vision is normal during preggie and wanting to black out maybe you not enough nutrition, juz eat more nutritions food.

Jess,
Juz KPO, why you resign during preggie? You not entitle to ML right?

Tubbymummy,
Jia you, bb will gain more weight faster during 3rd tri one. just eat more durian as gynea advice.

Dolly,
What you eat bb grow so fast is 4 week? Your’s really big.

Ling/mummies,
You may want to stand by a can of formula at home, in case your baby is a big eater and you have not enough BM. Not to demoralise any1 but it is normal that 1st week BM is less as you need time to stimulate your milk flow.
For my case my girl is big eater, I have been straggle for the first week to total BF her but fail she keep wanted to latch every hour till my nipple crack and bleed. No choice we supplement her with formula, every1 at home happy then.
I only get to total BF her after 4weeks and my milk flow come after 8weeks.

bb head turn down,
actually dun need to worried now as bb head will turn up and down anytime, gynea said it still early now, even bb head down it might turn up near to labour too. so mummies dun worried too much at this stage. Just my 2cents.

tiny_bubu, i'm starting my maternity leave only when i deliver... dun wanna waste..

has anyone heard of a saying that wearing skirts and pants will cause baby to be in breech position??

i've washed quite a lot of baby clothes already and packed them nicely into the drawers... getting ready.. and getting very tired very easily as well...

Hey tubbymummy, dont worry too much. The baby should gain weight very fast in the last few weeks. I was told that my baby was slightly small also at abt 32 weeks so I began to worry a little. However when I went for my gynae appt yest, he says baby's size is average. I just try to eat healthy and eat whenever I am hungry. Can't go for durians because I am usually rather heaty.

Gynae wanted me to start counting baby's kicks today so I am trying to keep track. Hopefully we all hold on till full term so that baby will be a good size when he comes out.

Ling, I m gg to sound pathetic here that even as I am going to start my ML earlier, it's only in the midst of my week 38 then I get to be on leave. I just told my boss earlier today that I will most likely start my AL and my birthday leave (supposed to be in Jul but take earlier lor) on 15 June and let my ML start on 22 June. She was like, why you don't want to wait till you pop then go on leave? Don't ppl do that to maximise their leave? I was totally speechless n my colleague was speechless as well. I really need a break lor. Dunno why she intend to keep me putting in so much at work till I pop. I really need time to rest and get mentally prep for BB's arrival leh. Have been telling my bb that I will be prep for his arrival at week 39 for the longest time, just in case.

Hey gals, thanks so much for all the encouragement
I believe I was too fixated with wanting a bigger baby, and things come out opposite instead. I just kept thinking c-sec at 37wks, then baby shld try to be bigger so that come out early by 3wks should still mean she's an ok size. Now I'm forcing myself to shift mindset and to just focus on her being healthy. Like split said, her no.1 was born at 34wks 1.8kg, also no need to stay in nicu, so also wish the same for mine, that small is also equally healthy. I shall stop wallowing in self pity!

Firstmum, how are your cramps now? Mine are quite mild actually. What causes them anyway har? Doc didn't say, and I stupidly forgot to ask. Doh!

LFB, your muffins sounds good!! Share leh... heehee

HappySAHM, since gynae say like that, think it's quite confirmed c-sec for this round right? I mean, if 1st one c-sec for other reasons, still can try VBAC, but if pelvis too small, then I guess can't change that... Have u set the date?

bbaugustine, I'll continue with durians hehe, cos I don't seem to be that heaty, for now at least. My gynae didn't mention anything about baby kicks, so I'm not really counting. But every now and then, I just sit still and make sure she's moving. Tends to be difficult if I'm out for the day, cos don't feel movements as obviously as when I can just sit down quietly at home...

amk_gal, I've not heard of that saying of pants/skirts causing breech position... I don't think that should happen lah, cos I mostly wear pants/skirts, and my baby has been head down since 28wks. I assume the "theory" is that the waistband of the skirt/pants is preventing baby from turning, but I don't think we wear anything that cinches in SO tightly to be able to cause that, don't think anyone can breathe like that anyway!

bbjun, your boss is mad. Just go ahead with your plans. You mean u get leave for your birthday..?

bbjun, your boss don't understand since she has never gone thru it b4. Just tell her you need to prepare for baby's arrival as you still have to purchase some things and make all the necessary arrangements like hospital registration and the baby's nursery etc. Just be firm abt it and she would have to let you go on leave.

for all mummies, thanks so much for sharing the list..
something I conclude, water thermometer is not really necessary, baby barrier cream, either Mustela or Desitin, Infant formula mostly recommend Enfalac, or S26..

kikismom, precisely, my concerns is that if bb can't latch, then after that our bm production is not so much, then no choice but to use infant formula.. walking around guardian earlier today, saw a few infant formula, S26, Friso, etc.. but based on what you said, think I'll stock up and stand by Enfalac..
thanks..

dolly, my mum told me not to drink ice or eat ice cream as it'll have the same impact as durian, which is grow the bb bigger
and you had durian ice-ceram.. it's a two-in-one thing I guess..
kidding..

JessMa, it's good that you and the company has good understanding.. been having horrible heartburn since lunch time today.. JessMa, cannot la.. the students really bo chap one.. the auntie was smart enough to wave and signal to me to take over her seat as she's alighting, if not, there were two school girls in front of her who prepared to run after the seat before me.. my gynae never told me the date changed, but in the scan since wk 16-17, I saw it's consistently showing 31st May..

fat_mom, please take care and get some rest..

Mika, that's good, I'm sure it's still quite tiring though.. but so nice, welcoming baby in a new home
wish I could too, but we agreed that we'll start our house hunting in June, after bb's born.. (I gave up balloting liao.. 2 years, and nothing so far.. I've had enough..)

Blurmom, thanks.. the diarrhoea's gone, but the cough remains.. so I'm staying away from ice cream, durian &amp; cold drinks for now.. I also bought Pigeon laundry detergent, just realized it's more expensive than other brand hey..

FirstMum, try to have a warm drink on the table side, hope it helps with the cramps.. it's getting harder and harder to sleep these day hey.. feels like every positions also wrong, plus in between going to toilet to pee..

HappySAHM, oh dear, you're going for c-sect.. have you decided when and where..? yah.. I'll have the infant formula ready at home, I've friend who just gave birth and like you said, it took a couple days before the bm flows..

bbjun, hmm.. is your boss a human..? my goodness.. yes, most of my colleagues here still working until 3 days before delivery, or even a day before delivery.. but usually, boss would be quite concerns with us, preggies, I was discussing with my boss on my my maternity leave plan, etc, he even offerred, that if I needed to take ML earlier, just to let him know.. I felt very blessed with the support and understanding from my boss &amp; colleagues here.. but I told him that I'd prefer to take a little bit later, my house is so far away from anywhere, so, once at home I don't feel like going out at all, at least, by working, it kept me active, and I had to walk, in which they said is very good and important in the late pregnancy, it helps with the labour..

Tinybubu,
I won't stop work until I pop. Not that my boss is a slave driver, but I want to. Boss allow me to work half day or take leave(not counted of mine) anytime I want. I just need to pop into office as and when I like. He is leaving for overseas trips, so is my vice chair, so sometimes I may need to stand by to assist. Have to sit in the office.

tubbymuummy,
when I am back from NTUC with the raw ingredients, I am too tired to bake! lol!!! WIll do so tmr! Hubby left with some ripen bananas, will use them.

LFB, I threw out some ripe bananas the other day lor, then my friend mentioned she was baking choco banana muffins, and I was wondering, eh how come I didn't think of that? Then today you mentioned also! Sigh... My brain not working very well of late haha. If you're tired just rest lah, put your feet up and relax, can always bake tomorrow

Oh ya, not sure if I recall correctly, you were the other one who had numb hands/arms right? How are your hands of late, still manageable? Mine got a bit worse in the last month. Sian.

Tinybubu: like LFB, will try to work till I pop! Moreover, I can work from home as long as I dun have customer meetings...etc

HappySAHM: Thanks for the link. The expression bra makes the model looks like a milking robot! But come to think of it, looks useful leh
Still thinking if I should get one

baby growth: hmmm... now I start to think maybe my bb rapid growth is because my mum was here for the past 4 weeks to boil soup for me
Opps! It really helps huh?

Ling: Yeah, I also feel that sleeping in whatever position also wrong! I'm most comfortable on my right, but it's not the recommended way and then my right side will go numb (including tummy, arms...etc) sometimes even my left hand which is on top will also go numb!

wow you guys not bad. After work still can come home and bake. I am usually flat out after work. I will just have dinner, watch a little TV and get so sleepy after. Yep nowadays the bump getting bigger very hard to sleep. This little fella in me will kick if the position not right so I will change cos i scared he not comfortable.

hi tubbymummy, don't be too upset on the size of the baby.. in fact its only 100 - 200g diff from the avg size.. thus not way too light.. to be frank, i was hoping my boy will be lighter so that he will come out easier and i don't hv to go thro epitosomy if i can go thro' natural birth(sry not too sure of the correct spelling) haha ..

SAHM, i may hv to got thro CSect too, cos my bb's head yet to turn dwnwards, if i really hv to go thro CSect, i will choose 3rd June 09 cos its a Wed and i am born on a Wed.. my ger is born on Sat same as her dad..

Looks like many mummies is choosing 369 as the birthdate! Does it mean the hospital will be full of new born that day? Actually 969 also not bad huh

TubbyM, yup, I get one day leave for bday. Plus I have been saving up my AL to use on top of ML to just go on leave earlier before EDD.

bbAugustine, I am definitely not changing my plans since my colleagues are going to be around. No excuse for her to say that I can't go on leave.

sleeping position: I wake up a few times each nite just to find the next comfy position to sleep. Sometimes, no position seems right at all n it's so frustrating when I m so desparate to get some sleep.

Tubbymummy,
I wanted to bake, but I am afraid that I will start eating those muffins non stop! So I tell myself better not do it!

Re:Numb fingers
actually, I have them since first tri. They have been numb for the longest period that I am use to it! They are constantly numb, so am I. So nothing different. Tubbymummy, did you check with your OB? What did he said? Mine just shrugged his shoulder and said,"pregnancy syptom lor!"

Re:Sleeping position
I also got lousy sleep these few nights. Just cannot find a good position. Moreover I am a light sleeper, so when I hear noise, I will just wake up. Last night, or rather this morning, I woke up at 4am to cook my brown rice so that I can bring to office. Xiao right? But no choice leh, have to eat healthy.

tubbymummy,
ya pelvic small can’t change, I’m not big size dun understand why I got small pelvic.
Now I understand why the olden day ppl like to have a big butt DIL.

ling,
We will confirm with gynae again next week, if really have to go for c-sec we will go check what is the good date.

dolly,
wahahaha you cute milking robot. ;P

pigletgir1,
try to talk to your bb, he might turn down soon.
never think abt the day, I also like 369, 669 or 969, hb want to go and xuan and get a good date.

Btw is you boy or girl this time?

<font color="0077aa">Ling, WBB class was beneficial to some extent, I guess... although niece didn't burp!! But haha.. it's been useful I guess, together with all the other reading that I do. I reckon it's always useful to be armed with information as long as you can recall them at the right time.

> I haven't been very on the ball huh. Still puzzled as to why EDD was brought fwd but ok, I'll leave it at that. and YES! I WAS talking abt Gelare's waffles... ended up having waffles with a friend at Siglap. Yummy yum yum. Only thing is that it's always such a rush to gobble everything up before ice-cream melts.

JessMa, thanks for offer of meal plan but I don't think I'll be needing it.

Tubbym~, technically a number of publications I've read define a full term baby as one born <u>after</u> 37 weeks is considered full term. Before that is still pre-term, even if not premature. Apparently there's a diff between the two. Just keep monitoring and telling bb to hang tight!

Re: Getting bb to turn head down
I've read in a number of places that going on your hands and knees, rock your pelvis left and right... it encourages bb to shift into correct position. ALSO, sitting with your knees below pelvic level helps (as opposed to sitting with knees higher up). I don't know but it doesn't seem too difficult to do and no harm trying, I guess...

LFB, I think walking is to be more regular exercise than a final fortnight prep for delivery thing leh..? I wish I had one of your muffins on hand right now to stuff my face with. *hungry*

*Off to devour my late dinner*

Cassey,
yep, but I was told that more of that will smoothen delivery! Dunno how true, but my colleague swears by it! Her daughter went through 2 deliveries and she walked more during her last 2-3 weeks! No muffins, cos I am worried of muffin over-dose late at night! I am very discipline, so will be good till I deliver! :D