(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

<font color="0077aa">Re: Audreyaw
Being a forth-coming person myself, I am raising the topic again as I feel burdened to clarify this matter.
If you're still reading, audrey, I think "quitting this thread" is a sad and extreme response. But of course, it's your choice.

Ahnetsan, answering your question, I am the "idiot who told audrey" that she may want to consider giving the gathering a miss this time round as some MTBs have highlighted their concern to me abt the spread of chicken pox.

The concern about the risk of pox spread was raised back when audrey's daughter was down with chicken pox, but the MTBs were willing to overlook it then. However, recently, I believe audrey's husband got struck down too. I've had my bout of the pox back in pri. school so it's not a concern for me. BUT I can fully understand why a MTB who has never had it would be concerned about the risk of catching it during her pregnancy - whether it be at our stage or any other stage.

I remember several posts here earlier in the year lamenting: Why do colleagues think it's ok to come into the office sick as dogs? Do they think they're doing everyone a favour by passing the virus around? The same ladies also raised the issue of parents sending ill children to school, disregarding the other children. Therefore, if I had caught a stomach flu or fever, I would think it appropriate to send my apologies, unless I checked in with the attendees and they said they didn't mind.

In this case, frankly, I can't say that one who has had the pox can still spread it to others.
On the flip side of the coin, neither can I confirm that such a person will assuredly NOT spread the pox.

As such, I felt it a reasonable request that audreyaw "perhaps give the gathering a miss this time round..?". My message got the brief response "ok", so I thanked audrey for her understanding - relieved that she understood where these MTBs were coming from. Sadly, I now realise that wasn't the case at all.

When I further suggested that perhaps we could meet up either just the two of us or in a smaller group (perhaps with MTBs who've had the pox already), my message met with no response whatsoever.

Audreyaw, if you're reading, pls realise this wasn't personal. Objectively, it's simply considering others in their 'delicate' state.
Even if you don't post on this thread anymore, perhaps you'll continue to keep in touch with some you've come to be friends with.
I hope you don't let this trivial incident get you down for too long. Night for now.

Morning Ladies,

Cassey, thanks for the effort for organizing the central gathering. Hugz!!

Central Gathering Mommy, Sorry that I did not talk to some of the mommy but it really nice meeting up. Hope you ladies enjoy too.

Kikismom, tubbymummy &amp; innocentwar, after you left, while waiting for hubby to come, im trying my very best to see any dessert store that is still open for me to grab a cup of drink or ice cream. Too bad, all shutting down. Ended up I reach hm, imm open the fringe and have my chocolate ice cream.

Ling and sweethalo, hope you recover soon. Take care.

Something to show off again, another kind soul.today wanna take a cab to work, there a man queuing in front of me. offer to let me have the cab first. Then I was so shocked, I ask him you urgent?? He say no!! then I give him a big smile and say thank and hop into the cab. Brighten my day. Dancing.

mornin ladies!

yep thumbs up to Cassy for making the effort to organize the dinner... was glad i made it.. got to know so many of you and thanks for all the hilarious jokes n laughters..keke

sounds like u all had much fun and laughter yesterday night.. and still can wake up so early to post in forum.. peifu

i just went to visit my doc.. 32nd wk now.. bb is more than 2kg at 90percentile.. doc said if this continues i may hv difficulty giving birth

realise my STM is getting bad.. i cant seem to recall a lot of stuff.. and i think my hubby is taking the opp to sneak in things that he think i hv forgotten.. haha

fat_mom, my bb is estimated to be 2.1kg @ 32 wks... but on contrary, my gynae say still within normal range leh... din mention anything about will have difficulty in giving birth or watsoever... other mummies can't imagine i'm having such a big baby in my small small tummy... hahaha....

innocent,
i think it was the weight gain issue rather than the bb weight per se.. cos my bb put on half kg in 2 wks.. so if this is to continue.. then 40 wks will be 4kg.. and now i am 71.8kg.. hopefully i can cross the finish line at below 75kg..

does ur bb move a lot.. mine does and the movements are very strong... sometimes i wonder whether she sleeps at all cos there is always movements every one hr..

<font color="0050b3">Caramelle <font face="symbol">®</font> Any kind soul offers a seat to you last night?

If I'm not blur/wrong, I recalled that some MTBs did mentioned that their seat was offered by indian chap? Yesterday, my seat was offered by a indian young chap and he actually sort of usher me to his seat. I cannot stop smiling at him as he is really so so sweet! Then after few stops, a china national seated beside and was talking Loudly over the phone. Then somebody BREAK-WIND!!! *SOB*

Innocentwar / TubbyM / Shelisa / Kikismon <font face="symbol">®</font> CONFESSION! After I left Shokudo, I went to breadtalk to buy my breakfast. On my way back, I already started munching on a steam marble cake! Only 1, I swear!

Cassey <font face="symbol">®</font> Yah, they should have round table as we are all round in shape! *Cold Joke*
Btw, upon reaching Shokudo main entrance - The man already start smiling at me and asked, "Reservation under Cassey? Hey, we are easy target, hahaha...
Now my memories are falling apart! Even more blur then usual!

Shokudo girls <font face="symbol">®</font> Sorry that I didn't manage to catch up much with the ladies on my left

Just hope that you girls have enjoy too...

Fatmom <font face="symbol">®</font> How are you lately? Better? Pardon me for my ignorance, what is STM arh?

Innocentwar <font face="symbol">®</font> Seriously! I can't wait to know my baby's weight soon.. Realising that my bump is quite small leh... But my waist measured 42 inch leh... My mum keep consoling me that my belly is good at hiding baby... *Very Lame right*

blurmom,
thanks for asking.. much better already.. just slight discomfort cos of the bubble feeling in the ear and blocked nose.. stm is short term memory..

how's the food at shokudo.. actually i never been there... i only tour once after a dinner at raffles to reccee the place.. but never hv the opp to eat there

mummies, i hv a query on bird nest.. for the pregnancy, i used to eat bird nest every 10 days or so.. those boiled type.. 2 pieces enough for 3 servings.. once a day.. but my mom say too much already.. need to cut down.. cos bb is developing lungs.. bird nest can cause asthma.. is this true or just myths? i still got about 8 pieces to go i think.. dont know whether i should continue or eat during confinement

<font color="0050b3">fatmon <font face="symbol">®</font> Oh yeah! STM, heehee... Sometimes I do have blocked ears, so always cannot listen properly. Drink more water, avoid eating those heaty food
Hope that you can get better soon yah...

I would say that the food at Shokudo taste average, pricing like foodcourt standard... Its my first visit there too, but would love to go back try other dishes with my HB. With him around, I got more variety as he can eat quite alot! I'm those fussy eater who loves to eat few mouthful of lots of variety...

RE: Birdnest- Many reactions to Bird Nest soup
http://www.entusa.com/food_allergy.htm
http://www.cfps.org.sg/sfp/30/303/303_diagnosticissues.pdf</font>

Fatmom, me have the same worry as you. My bb 2.4k at wk 33 (increased 0.5 from the previous checkup which is 1.9k, 2 wks ago). However, my gynae did not mention anything. I am wondering whether can ask for induce when bb reach 3.5k :p

Happy SAHM- aiyoh... 10kg is alot... i be straving myself to lose tat 10kg if i wil u..

Cassey- it was really brave of u to post wat u meant &amp; somehow it caused a misunderstanding.. really hope audrey will understand tat u meant well..

Dolly,
Yup I went to TMC lactation twice, 1st time coz blog duct, 2nd time want them to see if I latch my girl correctly coz I keep fuss when I latch her.

I also see breast surgeon twice a mth for 3 mths for observation coz I have 2 lump on my right breast. And cant clear.

Annie,
Must eat to have milk, when you pump milk, you will notice the difference within eat less and eat more.
Eat more = milk more thick
Eat less = milk very dilute

hello all,

wow, the system down for so long!!!

Re:WBB classes last week
Just to ask. What did WBB taught during last week classes? I missed it, wondering whether is it necessary to make up for it. Anyone can fill me in?

This Tues seeing that doc that my OB recommend for my GD and also my OB after that. Can see bb again, so happy! Have a good week everyone, we are all counting down now! Yippee!

Morning Ladies,

Blurmom, wahahaha. High five, i also need to CONFESS!! i also wanna grab something to munch but too bad mostly shop is closing. Ended up reach home i have my chocolate ice cream 1st, then supper is curry chicken + braised pork leg and a bowl of rice!! Then ZzzZzz

Fat mom, recently i just started to drink those double boiled bird nest. So far i eat 1 week 1 time and 1 serving. I also heard before too much might cause phlegme or asthma. But tubbymummy mommy say is those bird nest feather that cause phlgme. I think moderate shld be ok.

Wow, the site is on maintenance for sooo long!
Just went for checkup on Sat, my EDD is brought forward again! baby is 2.15 kg and at 34 weeks. So yeah, it's smaller than innocentwar's baby. But I already gained like 15 kg
Happy SAHM: hope that your bf experience this time is better

LFB: Hope your GD is gone this time!

LFB, the counting down sometime so happy but also nervous. Still got something need to prepare and buy. Hope ur GD is under control, do rem to update us.

morning ladies..

fatmom,
i also take 1 piece birds nest, double-boiled type, once a week. i checked with gynae. not medically proven birds' nest causes asthma, nor does she believe that there is really any tangible benefit for the foetus. but she say can take in moderation.

morning ladies..

fatmom,
i also take 1 piece birds nest, double-boiled type, once a week. i checked with gynae. not medically proven birds' nest causes asthma, nor does she believe that there is really any tangible benefit for the foetus. but she say can take in moderation.

First mum: Yeah, I was asking my cousin who's a ob, she says bird nest is just proteins
Nevertheless, guess just eat it cos my mum ask me too... Bought 1-2 tael the other time, she double boiled 3-4 pieces into concentrated birdnest soup, I just scoop a few tablespoon each day.

Good morning !

SAHM,I see.. did you told your gynae about you got no appetite this time?I read from book that it's normal in this third trimster.

LFB,you woke up so early..can i have your email address so i can sent the meal plan to you?

dolly, shelisa,
Ya, I am super duper good now with the GD scare! I am off carbs in the night, no sugar in my diet and started taking wholemeal and wholewheat pasta and bread. Added extra greens too cos fruits are full of sugar. Can be quite frustrating but I thank God for the last 30 weeks of indulgence! I can withstand the next 8-10 weeks!

Jess Ma, thanks. Will PM you my email add. Thank you so much!

Yesterday I did my 7 point GD test. Dunno how to read the figure, waiting for Tues appt to see whether my effrot paid off! But anyway, eating healthy is added bonus already. For those who can, go ahead and eat man! I was dying for chocolate muffins and brownies last night! Will try to find a recipe and bake this 2 days!

LFB,already sent the details to you... don't blame me too slow... because i manually typing for you as didn't scan it.... hehehe~~~ hope it's useful to you ya...

<font color="aa00aa">Re : parentcraft lesson

Hey i missed a lesson on sunday - any idea how we can arrnage for a make up lesson ah??</font>

LFB, the last class is about breast feeding and bottle feeding. I feel it is quite useful.

Dolly, just fear that I may end up c-section, although doctor did not say anything :p

BlueDream: that's great, at least he's not those gynae who anyhow go for the C-section. Anyway, in my class, was told that c-section mostly happened around 5pm or 11pm... it's like more for the convenience of the doctor rather than circumstances!

Happy SAHM- i scare to eat more.. i afraid to gain weight..

Re- appointment for today

My baby boy is 1.68kg in my 31 weeks 3 days today..
asked must i do for GTT doc said unless ther sugar in my urine then they will drag me for the test..regarding bout the 3D scan he also said as bb be coming out soon do not waste the money for the scan &amp; my bb is growing well (average wt)so save it for the bb stuff
tat mean no pic for me.. nvber mind loh so today i bought 3 sleeping suit for my little boy..

Shelisa- my bb head still not down yet guess must go caseran
but gyne said still got time &amp; he will move downwards..
be MC for two days as my blood pressure is high so can sleep late tomorrow..

Annie, do'nt worry as we still have ard 8-10 weeks thus you still have time. I think talking to bb is useful. That time i was told bb head is still on the top, then within that 3 weeks, i keep talking to bb, tell her she must move down. Then last appt, she really move down liao. But it great to hear ur bb boy is doing great. MC 2 days!! i also want leh. hoe come blood pressure high?? gynae got say anything?

Shelisa- everytime use the auto machine to check blood pressure sure fail one.. my las time was 143 &amp; gyne told me go take the blood pressure again...:p only if they use the manuel type those pumping one then wont be so high...

hopefully bb will go down soon.. i packed my nursey bag next mth book my ward...

Annie: RELAX! Anyway, my gynae always have me lie down and take the blood pressure using the manual type. My blood pressure has been 100 70 and it drop to 90 60 last week, but gynae never say too low though. I got this OSIM blood pressure monitor, the measurement is quite the same too. Maybe you can get one and check your blood pressure constantly?

3D scan: Actually very hard to make out what's showing, cos the image quite blur, so you are not missing much lah!

11_beans,oo i see... thanks

Annie,don't worry about your bb's position now.. it's still a bit early to said that... just do some execise to help your bb turning to headdown position will do..

LFB,your mean you don't know how to read GTT result's figure right?last time i did asked the nurse.. she said the second time result if >= 13 then consider diabetes in pregnancy.good luck to you.

Dolly,how you ask your gynae that what's her usual practice?i just afraid that later gynae feel offend..

Jess Ma: I just ask him casually during the scan
Anyway, I also need to ask if he's OK with me trying to do a natural birth (using the hypnobirthing technique), it's good that he had attended the lunch time talk which was given by my instructor
At least he knows what he's in for! hahaha Anyway, if he's not confortable with it, I might consider changing gynae ;)

Caramelle: Less than 2 more weeks and your hubby will be back!
Tiny bubu: how's your weekend? Happy 1st week anniversary!

Dolly- thks but i got even a better machine.. hehhehehe my dad have to eat 80mg for his high blood so Jurong medical centre ask him to purchase the machine to monitor his blood pressure.. &amp; he used it on us(children &amp; mum &amp; grandchildren) but too bad he kept inside the cupboard as we r lazy to use it..

guess high blood runs in the family as we r those kaisu type..cannot wait one

i wan a 3D scan is becos can see how bb look like but gyne got a pt.. anywher he comin out soon so save the money &amp; buy things for bb..

Jessma- now getting lazy &amp; don wish to travel far cos leg swollen up &amp; today jus take cab to KK cos too far to walk frm little india MRT to kk... ooohhh forget to ask doc can i apply tiger balm to make my leg relax.. think must really climb up &amp; down the staircase to make bb head go down..

capriho88/shelisa- thks..okay frm today onwards keep talking to my boy &amp; pray tat his head will go down on my next appt in 4 weeks time.

Jessma,
I am more than grateful to you for giving me the list! Thank you so much for typing it out, I am so thankful for your kind thoughts! Muack! Ya, GD test is that stupid gestational diabetes test. I had to prick my fingers 7 times yesterday to get the blood sugar readings. The figure are all single digit with one decimal point, so I really dunno. Anyway, will see doc on Wed to confirm my level. Still on strict diet for my baby sake!

Annie, the last time I saw my doc, baby already moved down, but he said he may move again, no guarantee. So I will see this week how. I am approaching 32 weeks this Sat, so hopefully he can tell me someting. I am really going to press him to tell me the bb weight! Everytime I asked him, he will say good size, ok, whatever! So fedup!