(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tinybubu,
ya i tink none at the mmt except for robinsons...

sweethalo,
kekes. ok, njoy the children bookstore. and maha youyi and popular for chinese books.

tubbym,
thks for sharing.

so burts bee is only avail at kids 21? whats the price diff bet spore and US sites? even aft shipping still cheaper?

im gona try Jason Naturals Earth's Best Organic products this time.

sweethalo,
haha. u will be surprised some of these chinese books have v nice illustrations! being the ahem, shopaholic u r, im sure u'll succumb to their charm!

dear all, i'm a feb thread mum. Anyone I have a breast pump for sale, Philips Avent Uno for $200. Bought tis Feb and have stopped BF so want to sell. Lightly used and in good condition.

Pls email me if insterested. (Still with warranty - 2yrs)

read that some of you were talking abt GD earlier so finally got myself an account. i am also one of those who recently found out i have GD.. i read the links that some of you posted.. wah quite scary wor..

lfb, try not to cut down on your carbo first cos the dietitician did mention that some patients overdo it and got low blood sugar level. as for me i fluctuate between low and high. maybe you can wait for your appt with the OB and work out your own individual meal plan.

my meal plan surprisingly, is to increase my carbo intake cos i had put on too little weight. only 4 kg so far.

This thread is moving so fast!! I can barely keep up!

Thank you all mummies who had responded to my thermometer advice
!! I guess maybe I will get a pigeon digital first and a braun thermometer when a sale comes along!

Btw, is anyone intending to do a full waxing before delivery? I think they may need to shave us down there before the delivery.. I had an ovary operation last year and the shaving was a SHOCK.. and the aftermath regrowing of the pubic hair is painful and itchy! There are mixed comments tho, many mummies are doing it, but e nurses at my gynae clinic advised not to to prevent infection.. hmm.. but i reckon that if the shaving is gonna make me feel so frustrated, notwithstanding the pain down there, baby crying and breastfeeding and etc, I thought I might as well go for a wax first.. sigh. any comments?

OOh.. just today, my colleague s cousin was disgnosed with her placenta providing insufficient nutrients for the baby! .. and she was already at 32 weeks!! .. so she is put under close monitoring and if the baby doesnt move within 5 hrs, its emergency c-section. I googled abe this condition just now, theres no symptoms, and theres no causes, the placenta just decides to under perform, or fail.. which in the worst senario will cause stillbirth.
.. kinda worrying huh.

our babies are all coming soon.. and maybe tts why I am feeling more jittery nowadays.. sigh.

Sweethalo: Thanks for sharing! I heard nowadays SingPost do employ part timers to deliver letters, not sure if that's true! Just few months ago, guess before CNY, we found a stack of letters on top of our mail boxes, NOT DELIVERED yet! Guess the postman too eager to go home

<font color="0050b3">Just done with my OT... WOOH! So many archives hor... Standby for my incoming flood messages!

Tinybubu <font face="symbol">®</font> You are a very organised MTB
I like the way you list down your baby items, heehee I think I will try to do one when I'm free. I started to eat pineapple during 2nd trimester and was told that its safe to consume but at moderate quantity lor. My friend took raspberry tea before her delivery and she just gave birth on 11 Apr. Let me check with her next week then I get back on the outcome...

RE: BEER
I'm not a alcoholic but also crave for ice cold beer, esp Heineken Beer 5 in a bucket! Only can imagine but cannot even try a single sip! What to do? Just endure for another 3 months? Will drown myself with Beer after confinement! Kekeke

Tinybubu / creamer <font face="symbol">®</font> I feel so sad for the malay lady who miscarried too, think she most likely will hate indian rojak forever. We got to be careful with our food now, don't eat if they don't taste right yah?

Dolly / LFB / 11_bean <font face="symbol">®</font> Meiji plain cracker is NICE! I'm having them almost everyday just to ease my itchy mouth...

Caramelle <font face="symbol">®</font> I just wondering what are the good brands for nipple cream and do we really need those? *scratch head*

Shelisa / Jam75 <font face="symbol">®</font> What to do? Cos now always so hot and humid! No aircon = Sweaty and Nasty Mama! Heehee... Just pray that our body temperature will change after delivery so it won't affect us much during confinement period...

Deerdeer <font face="symbol">®</font> You can also check out the estimated baby weight @ http://babymed.com/Tools/Ultrasound/third_trimester/Default.aspx

RE: Heartburn / Breathless nights
My baby is resting on my lungs/inner organs hence I may have discomfort while lying down. I'm sleeping with 2 stacked up pillows, in order to avoid heartburn and breatheless nights! Try if it works for you too!

RE: Thermometers
I got the Infrared Thermometer from my BIL shop!
http://www.shopintimates.com/product_details.php?category_id=93&amp;item_id=400

RE: Constarch Powder
Yes, its recommended by my gynae/SIL, reason being - Does not irritate lungs. So far I only know Pureen brand got constarch powder.

RE: Braxton Hicks Contraction
I had this during the end of 2nd trimester and more frequently lately. My belly starts to tighten then got a pulling/tearing feeling. Its as hard as rock when you touches it. I did not encounter any pain but only slight discomfort. My girlfriend experience is totally different from mine! She said that she had this sharp pain/cramp for almost 5-10 mins and then just go away after that.
The difference between Braxton Hicks and Labour is: *information shared by Mummies/girlfriends*
<font face="symbol">®</font> Braxton Hicks contraction usually last a moment of 5-15mins only
<font face="symbol">®</font> Labour contraction comes every 15 mins (regular/interval cramps)

TubbyMummy / Ahnetsan / Fifi <font face="symbol">®</font> I'm also starting to crave and eat alot of junk lately... Haiyo, how to diet leh? Mouth itchy and stomach noisy then eat lor... hehehe heng my YAMI crave was over! You cannot SIAH me

Sweethalo <font face="symbol">®</font> I'm also not enjoying my big heavy belly now too... Just Hang in there! We counting down already! Heehee... Jia You to you and me, all MTBs too!

Caramelle - wah.. how to monitor bb stop growing unless we keep going back to the clinic??

Re: Postman Woes

And I still can't understand how some ppl expect you to pay upfront for Vouchers that will be mailed to you...

3rd Tri Woes

Just wondering if any of this is pschological since I only officially hit 3rd tri on Sat leh...but not convinced that it is in my mind only...cos the sharp pains when the little fella steps on my pee pee track and the other discomforts I feel are real!!!

Heartburn Woes

How to get rid??? Not sure if I am indeed experiencing it or not... What is it like exactly???

Finally got to see all my past months online ebay purchases last night and today...hehehe

Very happy with all the stuff...kekeke... my dad commented,"how come the fella not here yet got so many possessions oredi!" hehehe

First Mum, the Jasons Naturals, how does it smell? Sorry lah, but I'm very particular about smell haha. Where are u buying from? I bought the Burts Bees thru spree cos it does work out to be a little bit cheaper, and if I like the product, will try to get my sis to buy for me from US when she comes back, then no need to factor in stuff like intl shipping etc. Then should be substantially cheaper...

tinybubu, I don't actually know if it's suitable for NB haha. But I don't intend to use wash/shampoo on the NB anyway, cos they actually only need to be washed with warm water. Will prob only start using a bit later. Play by ear.

MummyAsh, I'm going to do a full wax before my c-sec. I'll prob time it just a couple of days before, cos already need to be careful with c-sec wound, I don't think I want to worry about regrowth of hair as well! And yes, if u shave down there, the regrowth is itchy, bumpy and it can get painful if u have in-grown hair. The regrowth from waxing is not as quick, and definitely not as itchy, and from my own experience, less ingrown hair too. I'm no expert, this is just my experience from my previous wax. Just went for my waxing round 2 today
Next round will be the one just before my c-sec. But the question is, do they DEFINITELY shave u if u're delivering naturally? Is it compulsory? If u can insist on NOT being shaved, then that might be the way to go...

sweethalo, so tell us what is your loot!

hehehe... my poor BIL brought back 3 huge boxes this time for me and other misc...hehee.. think he won't be telling me next time he comes back liao..oops!

1 Quinny Buzz with XL seat and adapters
1 Quinny dreami cot... (hubby's indulgence)
1 Maxi Cosi Infant Seat with base
1 Medela Freestyle Breast Pump
1 Baby Bjorn Synergy Carrier
1 Braun Thermometer IRT 4520
Lasinoh Milkbags...hehehe
Nursing tops fr Gap
Supply of 3M earplugs!! woohooo...

Wah! Did u have lotsa fun setting everything up and testing them??
I know I would! I only have one question: The earplugs are for u to tune out hubby's snoring (does he?), or for hubby (or others) to tune out baby's crying? Hehehe....

hehee... earplugs are my lifeline for sleep and sanity...hehehe

yeahlo... kena cheated all the time due to Coach huh?? hehehe

I wanted to buy these set of $150 vouchers at 10% discount...and arranged for meetup on Easter Sunday but the seller is so kiasu said need me to transfer cash first... my hb said don't do it... then I told her can I go to her hse on Gd Friday afternoon but she still cannot wait... and posted the vouchers immediately on Thurs for sale... wht kind of despo behaves like that.. I am glad I listened to my hb not to transfer...

Till now she kena stuck with $50 leftovers...ROFL!~

Hubby had alot of fun setting up the Buzz stroller... I am glad the colour did not turn out yucky...hehehe

Hv not tested the pump yet... or the baby bjorn..cos no energy...

Mothercare vouchers lo... $150 less 10% only $135 cash leh... why must lidat right?

WOnder if the other buyers got their vouchers in the mail or not...hahha... Now she is stuck with $50 leftovers... kiasu la...

I don't understand lor. Between her reposting on thur and getting the money for it on Fri, it's only ONE day, can't even wait meh?? Crazy. Better off not buying from her. She's prob regretting, cos she missed the opportunity to offload all $150 in one go.

yeahlo.. and she kena waste on postage for 2 sets of seperate $50 deals... good for her...I also don't understand what's the rush that she can't wait one day. If so despo, make me lagi worried

My fren who has been on this forum for a longer time also warned me against paying upfront for vouchers...she said so many ppl kena scammed before yet dono why got mummies still buy like that and wait for postal delivery...phew!!

Oh about, the Singpost thing, I got a little bit similar experience. One of my US suppliers doesn't send the products thru ppl like DHL or Fedex. She sends thru her local service, which when reach Sin, will be handled by our local service, which is SingPost.

Before US side switched to this method, we used to always receive our stock very accurately, no shortage. The first time her shipment arrived via Singpost, there were 2 or 3 bottles of products missing. Now we've worked with the US side for coupe of years already, and know that they are trustable. They also know we wouldn't lie to them about not receiving 2 or 3 bottles.

What we failed to notice, and only noticed after the postman left, was that the box had been opened. We lodged a complain with Singpost, who sent a couple of managers down within the same day to look at the box. But come on, open also open already, stocks we also took out already, what's there to look wor? Not say they came down with CSI team. The airfreight slip was also missing. They could not give us any satisfactory answer, and insisted their staff would not open our box. But they also had nothing to say when we said that if our box was opened by customs for checking, then there's always a sticker that says it has been opened for inspection. We also questioned then how come when it's sent thru Fedex or DHL, our shipment are never opened for inspection, and only when it's handled by Singpost?? They couldn't explain, but the short story is that they denied all responsibility.

Of course, our products could have been stolen by US Postal, but my suspicions are more with Singpost lor, cos something similar also happened to us before when our post was handled by Singpost. Our supplier kindly sent us in our next shipment the missing 2-3 bottles FOC. Stupid Singpost. Cannot be trusted.

OMG after read abt lost mail/parcel I kinda worried now, I await a parcel form US thru Singpost which cost few hundred. keep my finger cross it wont get 'lost'.

Actually from past experience buying on Ebay, there has been no problems for me... Items always arrived perfect and good condition from USA. And I am talking about buying house lightings and fittings when I did reno for my place.. so am quite confident abt it.

Only problems I have had is buying on Ebay Australia! The sellers there don't seem very honest. And one lesson I learnt is not to buy insurance on the package cos it doesn't motivate them to send you the parcel in good order plus, the insurance goes to the seller anyway!!!

So don't worry Happy SAHM

Morning Ladies,

Cassey,tomorrow i can't join the gathering.. my apologies to you and all other mummies~~ Hope can join you all next time.sorry!

Shelisa,we still can meet up another day as we stay quite near.. when you take your maternity leave ?

Waxing : before pregnancy,i used to do it at Strip and even though i used hard wax, it still used to hurt.Then when i found out i was pregnant, i stopped going for waxes. then last week, i asked around on where the best waxing parlour is for preggers and not sure who reccomended it but i made an appointment at Honeypot @ Taka.And my gosh, it was absolutely painless.and they told me a lot of preggers come to them for waxing so they've had lots of exprerience.after the waxing,thanks to the mummy who reccomended them to me.

and thumbs up to honeypot!!!

LFB, Thanks, im trying to eat fruit everyday but my office here the fruit they sell not fresh that y i seldom eat. you also jia you jia you.

Cassey, let us hug together and cry. Tmr gathering i show u mine!! Ytd i took a mirror out to see as it is under my belly, who know??? IT TERRIBLE LA!! i was shivering and was abt to cry that time my hubby walk in and say 'aiya it ok la, not ugly leh' then i told him 'hello, this will not go off after giving birth leh, it will be there for donkey yrs' then he replied 'huh??, like that i also dunno how to console u liao' sob sob.

Welcome audreyaw/Cassey to the above 70kg gang!!

Blurmom, My mommy force me to go grandma house to do confinement! Bcos she know if im gg to do at home, i sure switch on air-con. So she say i must go grandma house to do confinement as there got no air-con. B4 preggie i already canot slp w/o air-con. Confinement so 'pek chek'how to tahan??

Jess, how can u treat me like this?? Sob sob. then i have to go there alone. Err, i start my maternity 1 week ealier only.

Shelisa,sorry sorry!next time treat you dinner,ok? I need to wait my friend at home,she come to collect important documents around 7pm,so i can't join liao~~~ you only start maternity 1 week ealier?? is it too close to EDD?are you feel comfortable when taking MRT these days?

Jess, too bad. Maybe we can arrange to meet for lunch some other time. No choice, as I haven find any any sitter or nanny for my bb yet. Thus I cannot anyhow use my maternity leave. They say usually bb girl will early 1 week. Thus my edd is at 13th june, then I work till end of may. Hope bb pop ard 39 weeks ba.

Waxing:
Honeypot's da best! That's the one I'm going to. But seems to be having staff turnover problems, few of the senior staff left. I got Siti yesterday, who is now most senior at Taka branch (. Hope she sticks around, cos I like her. She's very fast.

Shelisa
There's a infant care @ serangoon central, u might want to check it out if u still cant find a nanny.
Learning Kidz Child Development Centre Llp
423, Serangoon Central, #01 - 342
6282 8390

waxing
tubbyM, u went to wax so early, won't it grown by the time u delivery?

Shelisa- use HL leave lah..
ask yr gyne to give u two weeks b4 yr EDD ..i be pretending to be very very sick then dont have to waste two weeks advance maternity leave..

Tubbymummy- my hubby PM u yesterday nite bout the photo taking for our bb

Annie, that time u told me that. I was quite tempted leh but my mommy say better not. As my this company very calculative one, my mommy scare affect my work performance. Plus i have 2 colleague just go maternity leave and they didnt take what HL. So i scare let HR got chance to sat me. Maybe May i will get more mc ba. haiz..

kikismom, thanks. will check it out.

Jessma,

thanks, not a problem at all! I am really appreciative of your help! Actually, after 2 days of eating, I realised not that bad lah. Most impt is Fri, Sat and Sun, cos I am doing testing on Sun and if my figures are good, I should not be on medication.