(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

I feel SO HOT!!! I can't stand it. I would go shower now, but then thinking that I still have to cook later, I think I shall wait till after I finish cooking then shower. Sigh.

Bf class:
Wah biang, they are quite lor sor. The trainer for the 1st session was the most cheong hei to date. Hope next Sat won't be so draggy. This was why I didn't wanna take up WBB's class, cos didn't like her cheong-hei-ness, and didn't like the way she spoke. Now look what I signed myself up for. HAI.

Diaper creams:
I also bought Desitin Creamy. What's a barrier cream? I also bought California Baby Calendula cream. Is THAT a barrier cream?

Cardigan:
I think if wear romper, and bring a spare blanket out when u go to aircon places, then no need cardi right...? Having said that, I DID buy one hehe.... Don't remember what size. Either 3-6 or 6-9mths.

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, you're finally back in action! turn on the air-conditioning? Or just step under the shower for a quick rinse and have another full shower later? WBB is quite ok... just quite ermm... 'motherly'.

> Barrier creams form a protective layer on bb's skin in place of the natural protective coating that is removed with the many cleans of bb's bottom in a single day, thanks to all the peeing and pooing action. Contrary to a nappy rash treatment cream, barrier cream is NOT used to counter an existing rash. Desitin creamy is a diaper/nappy rash cream. California Calendular seems like a moisturising barrier cream... Any lobangs for me to get my hands on some?

> I have no idea abt the jackets and what not... I'll check some places out and if I see nice affordable ones, I buy. If not, I use a blanket, I guess... and thicker mittens &amp; booties?

<font color="0077aa">audreyaw, bbAug~, bbPotato &amp; Fifi, can you pls PM me your contact nos in prep for Fri?
Else, do check your emails &amp; drop me an sms on my mobile k. Thanks!

Re: Sex during Pregnancy I must revert on a mistake in phrasing in my previous posting(s).
Ejaculation of semen into the vagina is supposed to HELP induce labour naturally in the 9th month IF we're ready for it.
Apparently, it does not CAUSE premature labour. *Sorry to have ruined your fun, Bubu~!!*

Sorry if I seem a bit obsessed about this topic of sex ok, ladies.

Just that sexual intimacy seems like something that vanishes out the window if we're not conscious of it.

*Off for shower and to welcome my hubby home.* </font>

Cassey, was reading abt the barrier cream u mentioned..
Wonder where do we apply the barrier cream? Cos diaper cream we apply on bb's bottom..

ello girls!i'm officially a MRS now.on sat night, we were trying to politely shoo people away from midnight onwards but nobody got the hint.everybody was more interested in the tons of beer my man bought.so he ended up at the bbq area entertainign his friends and talking about soccer and cars while i sat inside the function room with the aircon and my friends and we all talked rubbish and ate creme brulee till i was full.the last person left at 3am.by that time, all we wanted to do was shower and head to bed.which we did
. then on sunday morning,he woke up and went out on his mountain bike for some exercise while i did laundry.when he came home and showered, we left to have brunch and then came home to nap before he headed off to the airport.he'll be back again this friday evening.

sorry cassey,i wont be able to make it because he's back every fri night and leaves again on sunday afternoons so that's when i spend time with him.my apologies.

i'm starting to fill up my pre-admission forms for TMC &amp; MAH as i cant decide which hospital i'm deivering at yet.i know for MAH, i like the single deluxe room but not sure what ward that is. and for TMC, i like the single deluxe room on the renovated floor but not sure what ward that's in either. i tried calling them up today to ask both hospitals but i got people who either didnt understand what i was saying or werent bothered to help me.

anybody has any idea?

oh, and does nyabody know for stemcord, do e have to pay the enrolment fee the moment we sign up now?or can we tell them to deduct the enrolement fee from the CDA after baby is born?

Cassey, I bought my calendula cream thru a spree www.drugstore.com spree (that I found on spree thread). It's not cheap though, around US$12 per small 2oz (approx 60g) tub. That's like half the quantity of Desitin, at double (or more) of the price. But some mums say it's very good, so I'm just trying it out. I bought it for in case baby has skin conditions like eczema or whatever, it's supposed to be good for that. If used daily as bum cream, it's gonna burn a huge hole in the pocket. Oh! How about petroleum jelly? I believe that's qualifies as a barrier cream. My sis always has a big tub of Vaseline hanging around, which she uses for everything, from baby's face to baby's bum (not in the same smear, haha).

Aha! Dr Sears online says:
- Creams for mild diaper rashes, or just preventing rashes - Soothe and Heal with Lasinoh, or petrolatums like Vaseline.
- Creams for mild to moderate diaper rash - Desitin, Balmex, etc.

I wonder where does Mustela Vitamin Barrier Cream fall under... I shall go buy myself a tub of Vaseline. (fantastic lip moisturiser for mummies too!)

Hi MRS Tinybubu
hehe... Does it feel any different being a Mrs? I remember thinking I THOUGHT it would feel different, but it didn't haha. We still lived in the same place, we still had the same jobs, we still looked the same, and we did the same things. I only had to get used to referring to him as the "husband" hehe

For MAH, not sure what you're trying to ask. The single deluxe room is..... just that - single deluxe. On the pre-adm form, I believe that category (where you need to circle which ward u wanna take) is not listed there, so I wrote it down myself and circled that. Wahahaha. The Deluxe is one class up from Single. The physical location of the deluxe rooms are in the newer wing.

For Stemcord, I'm paying thru CDA, so I'm not paying a single cent now, not for enrolment, not for anything. They gave me 2 months after baby's birth to set up the CDA, and then to give them the bank acc number from where they can deduct the money. If u still have not set up the CDA after 2 months, they will deduct it off your credit card (they ask for a credit card number and your signature when u sign up).

Hope this helps

been really busy that's why haven't vist.

Re TMC tour
we went for the TMC tour b4 my Thursday appt. The tour guide was nice, explaining to us and didn't rush through at all. Guess I am lucky! We were shown only Premium single as all rooms were occupied(as mentioned by other mummies). Anyway, I HAVE to give birth in TMC, so makes no difference to me at all!

I went for my checkup and was told by my doc I need to go for the GTT test! Sigh! He said my weight increased is concerning! So tmr I have to go down and do the test. Have to fast, so fedup! Just to ask, are we suppose to fast for 12 hours?

Tubbymummy,
it's suppose to be at 830am. I thought I heard 12midnight too, but afraid it could be for 12 hours! Sigh, so blur now!

Hehe... don't worry, it's fast from midnight tonight. So you can still eat a small snack at 10pm+ if u like, so hopefully u won't feeling so starved tomorrow morning.

Tubbymummy,

thanks! Will probabaly drink a cereal drink b4 I sleep then. Sigh, dunno how to tahan till 11am tmr! I am sure my bb will protest! Will have to sayang abit!

LFB, I think it's the thirst that will bother u the most, cos not only can't eat, but can't drink water too. But a few of us all survived, so you can do it too, jiayou!
Do keep us posted on your results ya? Good luck.

I seem hungry all the time leh. I just finished dinner at 8.35, had salmon, spinach and potato. Then now got a bit of a hungry feeling again! Just ONE hour later! I ate a small banana and drank water. Wonder why like that.

DIAPER CREAM/ BARRIER CREAM
actually desitin is also a barrier cream. can apply every diaper change to prevent sensitive skin coming into contact with pee and poo, to prevent/ minimise rashes.

calendular cream on the other hand is more like a moisturiser for very sensitive skin/ eczema.

PIGEON WET WIPES REFILLS
shd be $9.90 if i remember correctly.

hi sweethalo! thanks!

no i havent been sleeping well. i usually wake up in the middle of the night for the following reasons -

1) need to pee and then have trouble falling back asleep.
2) baby is kicking violently and trying to move about.
3) while turning from left side to right side, i have to consciously turn slowly.when i turn,baby always gets fussy and starts to find a comfortable position to sleep in.
4) wake up suddenly and start thinking if i've forgotten to buy anything for baby's arrival or my hospital bag...

and they say we should treasure sleep while we can before the baby comes.but how to sleep????

cassey,
hearing is better.. but still got the bubble feeling in the ear.. so everytime i talked, can hear myself very loud.. irritating lor.. doc said need 3 wks to heal cos i didnt take antibotics or any strong medicine.. i just passed the 3 wks.. so should be on track.. just that my nose bu zheng qi.. everytime block.. so ear also affected.. so will tend to take longer to heal

u so good.. can really be tai tai already.. today my boss just told me to handle over my portfolio to 2 more colleagues.. crazy.. i already teach one round already.. now need to go thr another round of handling.. waste my time

bing,
think the barrier cream is from avent.. seems like all products are avent or thomson ones..

re bring bb out, the old folks say must try to bring out once in a while, so the bb will be used to the noise and ppl outside.. otherwise the bb will be very introvert and cry when the env is too unfamiliar

re: barrier cream
I have been looking ard as well. So far, only found avent selling bottom balm, aka barrier cream. Very ex. Think it's $22 for a tube at Kiddy palace. Still looking around for cheaper options.

Re:GTT
just fast from 12mn onwards. If u really cannot tahan without water, I guess one to two sip of water is fine. BUT dun empty ur bladder before u go to take the test cos the first thing they want to get from you is your urine, before getting the first draw of blood from u.

Re:Cardigan/jackets
I don't think it's needed if you are not gg to some heavily aircon areas. Even then, long sleeves/pants rompers with a blanket is more than enuf. Surely, u don't want ur BB to suffer heat stroke!

cardigan / jumper : i bought a few from gap here in sg.they have 0-3 mths.i also bought some online at oldnavy.com.maybe you can try there.

yeah, my fren says she uses Desitin Creamy whether or not there is a rash problem... so I think I will just stick to that...instead of getting so many types of creams...

tinybubu- yeah, i tend to wake in the night to pee too... apparently nature is preparing us for when baby is finally here - to keep waking up at night...ahhaha

How about Mustela Vitamin Barrier Cream? Assume it's not cheap too though... not sure how much.

I'm not gonna buy anymore cardigan/jumpers, gonna stop at just that one. Will be going to UK in Dec, and I'm way panicking more about that than the aircon here. I think it'll be an absolute nightmare!

tubbym,
mustela barrier cream is quite gd, i think its ard $15? or $13+?

ive used it on my girl, alternating wiv desitin cos its more easily available (at all major dpt stores) and comes with 20% discount during sales. comparatively, it spreads better cos desitin is v thick and "dry". but i wld say both are gd.

Yeah... gonna try and make my sis come out to visit me before then, and bring her kid's winter clothing out for my kid to wear. I don't see a point in buying a whole winter wardrobe that she can never wear again. And clothes are just the tip of the nightmare iceberg...

bbjun,
that's the one that wbb recommend.. avent bottom balm.. she said something like she only recommend things that are good.. so i think i will use it.. cos no need to apply a lot right?

re bb position,
any mommies babies still lying horizontal.. i think mine is still horizontal.. cos right and left tummy also hard hard one and both sides also got movements sometimes concurrently.. very hard to sleep..

Firstmum, $13-15+ seems rather ok hor? Compared the Avent one that bbjun mentioned is $20+. Maybe can consider. But I already got the Desitin, shall not buy anything else yet for now, trying to be less KS hahaha...

sweethalo, don't think I haven't thought about it! Wahaha.... But I think hubby will hit the roof, so I decided not to take my chances haha.

fatmom, My belly feels like that too, hard on left and right side, and based on the pushes/kicks, it feels like she's sometimes horizontal, sometimes diagonal. At my wk24 checkup, gynae said she was still head up. But for wk28 checkup, he didn't say anything, so I assume there's improvement. My next checkup is on coming Sat. See what he says then.

<font color="aa00aa">hmmm asked my aunt on bb clothes the other day - she mentioned, for just popped baby, buy size 9months to 1 year !!!!!!

cos if just nice, hard to wear. and bb grows by the day, so NB size vv fast cannot wear. bb wear abit loose is ok, but better not tight..

haiz, means i got NOTHING for my bb yet!!!</font>

Caramella- morning .. i learn the hard way &amp; i have accepted the path god chosen for me tat y i cheris my little one inside my tummy &amp; my current hubby... bb moving very rough nowadays &amp; las nite i dont even have to pee as he god gift &amp; know i having hard time carrying him. but no matter wat he my little precious

tis morning jus measure my waist ..oh no i hit 40".. now waiting in the office while hubby at mcdonal downstair &amp; bringing for me two harsh brown b4 he go off..

11_beans- as bb grow very fast normally i purchased size 6 mths onwards till one year old..
half of my bb clothing r hand down clothing frm my 4 nephews...
then when my bb outgrown the clothing i nid to pass to my sister if they got pregnant..

i tried not to get too many clothing as everybody was saying when i celebrate his 1st mth ther be a lot of sets of bb clothing &amp; milk bottle so during my 5th mth .. my galfriend had already hand me list of things to get

Annie: wow, you hubby so sweet!
Caramelle: Hope your kittens behave! Anyway, think of this way, at least they pee at the same spot, not everywhere! It's dangerous to have "water pond" everywhere in the house

Cassey &amp; Blurmom -> Thanks for the feedback. I would very much like to have the contact of your Post Natal ML. There are so many choices and i am really lost. Thank you for sharing your contact :)

Dolly- hubby worried cos now i cant walk much &amp; tummy getting heavier &amp; heavier.. sometimes i was wondering will my bb pop out anytime..

looking forwards for my appt next monday &amp; wan to ask for 3D scan &amp; yes nid to check y i havent given a form to see which ward i want for my delivery.. tis week is 31 ...still got to endure for 9 weeks +

Here come my harsh brown... go store eat snake now

Morning mommies

I'm having a very bad backache now...after beening a SAHM for the past 11 days..my #1 was like a koala bear kept clingy to me &amp; ask me to "boa boa" *faint* so tiring...but I also noticed tat he's grown up so much &amp; i wish he's still a bb..miss him so much when he's so lil..whahaha..

Cassey
normally will get those long slevees romper from mothercare for going out wear, they're very comfty..jacket/cardin usually for older bb from 9mths onwards

my OB mention before tat by stimulating our nipples @ 36mths or above will also help to induce the process of natural birth faster

Tinybubu
congrats for upgrading to Mrs bubu...

annie
ur hb so sweet, my hb belong to those not "zi dong" type..

re bb position
fatmom..my bb's head is at the bottom now so I'll feel very sore &amp; sometimes I'll experience pain in walking..

annie..hmm hash brown sounds so good! maybe i should get me some tomorrow. today too late cos i lazy to go down!

btw you delivering at KK too right? when i went to see dr in week 28, i was told my bed booking to be done only on week 32 or even later. is it normal?

dolly, thanks. i felt so sad locking them up again this morning but got no choice. to preserve my sanity and so i wont stress myself when i get back, have to make this small sacrifice. until next tues when i bring them to the vet! but was very grateful to my mum who was at my place yest when i reached home. she was cleaning the toilet where i kept the cats cos she said they vomitted and so she decided to clean up. by the time i came back it was so clean that i was so relieved.

Morning Ladies, just update on my growth scan. Bb weight 1.82kg on 31 weeks 2 days. Mommy gain 1.7kg and 700gm go to bb. Bb head have move down. Also done vagina swap, she pretty fast, less then 10 secs and she done. As for report need to wait for 1 week. Gynae say bb is in good size, will see her next sat again. Total weight gain for me is 12kg!!

Nozomi, ohh!! My gynae only draw the chart for me to see on week 20 and week 32 only. Beside that always normal scan. Maybe diff gynae diff pattern?

Cassey, im officially in ur gang!!! Last sat I saw those tiny red fellow under my belly button. I feel itchy then take a mirror to see clearer then I saw them!!! I tho only my both thigh and lower part of the knee cap and hip have those stretch mark. Who know it also crawl up!!

Ok, gg to do my OT now. Got 3 Archives to read.