(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tubbymummy, tks fyi abt MAH i oso won't b bringing any bb clothing f duration f hospital stay will onli get 1 set f discharge!

i guess if bb stable & strong "liang" abit is fine but if happen to be unstable plus the "liang" stuff esp in 1st trimester will be dangerous lor. for me i avoid all cooling stuff but 2nd trimester i start to drink chry,barley,green bean etc moderately lah.

tubbym u went for MT A tour right? i think wn we go tour they will send to us leh. i think my gynae haven book for me yet. cos i insist want MT A but he now avoiding MT A want me tk MT E. honestly, i'm not working now, hubby changesd job to spend time with me our income drop 3k can hardly survive liao dipping into savings. so think at most 4mth aft bb born have to start looking for job at least a PT job. i really keen to tk MT A4 bedded save $ can eat better confiner tonic. actually through out this preg didnt tk tonic. at most is chk essence but last time old generation also no eat tonic so i guess alright ba as long as i'm eating well and rest alot.

do u gals know after delivery for 1st 2 wk we shd try not to get dwn bed but lie down alot rest alot, dont do household chores. i read frm npaper, womb after delivery sag, need time to shrink back if we carry heavy thing , stand alot (gravity) we may suffer womb drop down " zi gong song tuo") can be mild to serious!

Finally rain, i'm so warm atill i stripped since nobody at home save aircon elect with a fan on... ahhh...i cant imagine confinement..

audrey, i rem we're both using same gynae and he oso nv mention anything on my last visit last sat or rather any visits leh... the nurse at the reception did ask me 1month ago i tink, how many bedded ward i want and which hospi i choosing.. Just tell them then they say will book in adv for me when nearing edd. Maybe u try asking them? as for the growth scan, dr woo oso never say anything.. only last scan (27weeks++) say baby underweight(985g) den leg a lil short but it's normal cos asian got shorter legs??!!?? dunno wanna laugh or feel worried... haha

Hahaha.. I just went to contact my sis who gave birth in TMC previously. She kept laughing at me lo. She say there is no form or confirmation from the TMC de and she only receive a letter on what to bring to hospital when near EDD. Aiyo, should at least inform that is confirmed ma.

diana, yup yup. So you got to eat more to let baby grow bigger. Leg short or long can't control de leh.. My baby just manage get into acceptable weight, he say will continue to monitor baby weight. Make me wonder like if baby drop into underweight how ar?

U also going TMC or u choose Mount Alvenia?

createjoy, how come your gynae avoiding mtA, and want u to take mtE? MtE is more expensive, and for maternity, I don't think MtE is better than MtA right? I mean, so many ppl have given birth at MtA, and everything is good also.

Income drop by 3k is very significant, so I think u're right to go with MtA 4-bedder, can save on these sort of expenses. Pity the DBS promo only applicable to 1-and2-bedder. Otherwise, got 5% discount for u also good. Don't worry about never take any tonic, my mum told me last time when she pregnant with me and my sis, she also never take any tonic, and I think both me and my sis are healthy, and my mum also quite healthy. If u manage to have some chicken essence here and there, that's good already
Oh, and the MtA letter says this:

"Nutritious Double Boild Soup is served during hospital stay if you choose our confinement food menu. You may also order the soup of the day on discharge at $8 per serving."

So at least while u're in the hospital, u'll be well-fed

I'm back from my checkup.."expected" my OB asked me what i've been eating for the past 6 weeks..I've a major gain of 4kg wahahah
..so she took my sugar & blood level today.. she ask me to cut down on starch & carbo food..
bb is having a good size 1.75kg which mean all the kg gain will go to mummy

will be going back in 3 weeks for the next checkup..

kikismom, glad to hear baby is growing well! But 4kg from 1 visit to the next is a bit much I think kekeke... But if so far blood pressure and sugar is still fine, then ok lah. Last preg how much weight did u put on?

Hai, I want a big baby, but looks like my girl very insistent on being average haha. Oh well, I guess as long as healthy, everything else doesn't matter so much.

My gynae clinic in Mt E so he said he there 12hrs a day anytime can go dwn labour ward bt if Mt A, dilation very hard to say anytime pop he cant be there wait few hrs usually nurse call when about to pop but if pop faster than nurse estimate then he might not rush over in time. MT E as u can see is much bigger, they have more adv tech and better equip NICU he said MT A actually only recently then have cardiac equip for bb, blood bank limited, PD experts there only a few, MT E big got few groups...

well he's a fertility doc sm patients's bb are really very very rare & precious.w explain why i have many detailed scans to mk sure bb doing fine, he said he dont want last min any endangered situation to affect me & bb.so he say will help me book both hosp but hope i go MT E. i still thinking over it... after all i pay to get him deliver if bcos few hundred $ deliver by midwives what for...?

11_beans,
ya, no doubt its cheap. at my neighborhood stalls, the kids' singlets cost 3 for $10. i got 6 pcs for $8 at the bugis shop so it is REALLY alot cheaper. thks for the lobang

ahnet/dolly/audrey/jessma,
but the scary thing abt my ab pains is that it is somewhat similar sensation as light menstrual cramps, thats why im so worried! and gynae asked me how far apart the pain, i really dont know, i only know its pain lo.

kikismom,
wow, 1.75kg sounds fanstastic!

kikismom hw many wks liao? 1.75kg!!wonder hw's my bb weight, hope tomolo chkup will know.today bb very quiet... yday GTT test he so active

Tubbym
I gained 22kg for my last preg..so for this round i try to cut down... till date I gain about 11kg when reach 3rd trim my weight increase so much dunno y???

I'm also looking for bb photography..so cute w/ the BW background & they'r so tiny..so happened to see ur nick in kelly's BP..have u decided to use her??

First mum
at first i tot she's huge but my OB say it's average size for 31wks+..

cratejoy
31wks..

there're many cases tat if the 4 bebbed is full when u deliver.. the hospital will automatic transfer u to a 2 bedded room w/o additional charges

ya lor my frd 3 yr ago also got free upgrade.but then if MT A nw got dbs promo think double bed popular than 4 bedded. just 150 diff from 4 bedded is attractive wor....

adurey/tubby
I've to pay my deposit the next appt about $1403 after deducting medisave to confirm the bed. I think it about time so u beta check with ur gynea.

createjoy, I find that explanation very strange leh. There are MANY doctors whose clinics aren't even close to any of the hospitals (e.g. clinic in SengKang), but they can always rush to the hospital in time to deliver for their patients, so I don't quite understand what your doc is trying to say.

Hehe, I think your doc and my doc quite different. My doc is also fertility doc (in fact, I think 70-80% of his patients may be fertility related cases), so he's very 'gan zheong' at the 1st tri, cos his main focus is to prevent miscarriage. But once baby is stable, he will try to help his patients save $$, cos they would already have spent a lot of $$ on the fertility treatment part of things.

My doc's clinics are at Paragon and Tiong Bahru, but he's never mentioned any issues about rushing off to MtA or TMC. He delivers at MtE too, which is just cross rd from Paragon, but he pointed out right from the start that it's more costly.

Have u surveyed around, and see how many ppl actually end up with midwife delivering, cos doctor can't make it there in time? then maybe make your decision from there lor. I haven't heard of many such cases actually, so I can't really comment. Does MtE offer 4-bedder?

kikismom, har, really ah? Why so complicated one... Was just happily sitting here filling in my pre-admission form, and happy that they state only need to pay deposit during admission. Ok, next visit I ask doctor.

I'm discussing with hubby, but most likely will use Kelly, haven't confirmed with her yet. Trying to search around for other photographers doing newborn, but a lot of those who do kids portraits don't post up any samples of NB pics, so I don't feel very confident whether they can do a good job or not, while this Kelly specialise in NB lor...

The other ones I like is Tomato.sg, but they're a lot more expensive leh. In order to get back everything in softcopy, must pay $300, whereas Kelly gives back all the softcopies in low-res. If I want certain shots in hi-res, she charges $13 each. I think that's quite reasonable.

TubbyMummy, no. My nurse didnt ask me abt the medisave before leh. When u receive the mail?

jam75, sice u drank 3 time liao still ok so i think ur body can take it. I think still up to individual. I think sooner or later we might get the mail like TubbyMummy?

createjoy, same this pregnancy i also didnt drink tonic except 2 time weekly on chicken essence. So i also believe eating well and balance is good enough. But so far i think my bb weight lightest, 28 week 1.1kg.

kikismom, great to hear ur bb is doing great.. do u eat durian?? survey abit.. as old ppl say eat durian or ginseng bb will be big.

Question: IF IF when we delivered and only midwife is there. Do we still need to pay our gynae delivery charge?

If im not wrong, if we wanna confirmed the bed that we want like 1 bedded or 2 bedded, we need to advance pay the deposite 1st.

tubbym
not complicated la..but just to secure a room to ease ur mind..

I'm deciding between kelly & studioloft, the latter had just display some samples they had taken for bb..

Shelisa
no not craving for durian...it's true tat by eating durian will make ur bb big.. u wan to try huh??

shelisa i think still pay gynae delivery charge leh.. tubbymummy i think it's his excuse lor.. but he really alot patient i can undersdtd he rather save time see patient in clinic than to go out far to deliver. normally i see him normal consultation wait at least 1.5 up to 3hr...

hello to all mummies,

i a new member here & i saw u mummies discussing bout the ward stuff... i curious to know when do hospital inform us bout which ward we be choosing?

Annie, last time i gave birth in KKH de. Unless they changed from the last time I used it, they only ask u abt which ward you want when u are abt to delivery. So is better to let your hubby know which bedded you want and he can tell the nurse during the admission.

jam75: Same as TubbyM, I recv from Mt A a package with brochure and pre-admission form leh! But I also receive SMS as well
Shelisa: yeah, banana, mutton and grass jelly, all cannot leh

kiki, will ask my gynae on 15/4. Need to know when to pay deposit cause we save $ in an account with no atm so need to go internet transfer it out if want to use $. Haha..

Had been so busy in the office that i cant catch up with all the archives...

Re: Glass Jelly
Was told to avoid once preggie cause it is very 'liang'

Re: Confirmation of hospital n room,
Last visit the nurse ask me how many bedded i want. After that no news liao.
For my #1 hor, the nurse will settle everything than just pass me a envelope for admission.
So tml i better check with the nurse again

kikismom, yup yup. Tho to try leh but scare my weight gain also alot. haha

createjoy, huh? still have to pay?? but she didnt come and help me deliver leh?? Or not they charge Mount A delivery charge?

dolly.200906, so weird?? Err 13th April got appt with gynae will ask the nurse again.

Hello Shelisa,

ok i will check wif kk on my next appt on the 20th april ... tis is my 1st baby so dont know wat to do & i thought jus go for regular checkup & tat kk be allocating for us a bed when we goin to deliver...

Annie, for me is the day i delivered then choose bed de. Usually will not be full cause KKH very big?

Shelisa, yes. you still got to pay even gynae didn't deliver for u. My friend who booked a gynae in KKH but delivered by midwife paid for it. Good thing is you don't get trainee or students in your suite la. Stitching still done by your gynae.

shelisa
ur bb weight is acceptable @ 28wks unless u r craving for durains, if not dun stuff urself...eat something u like ...

audrey
i also have acc w/o atm card to help control my spending.. so hor i seldom deposit $$ into this acc..

Hi Annie
Erm, I think we're supposed to tell the hospital which ward we want. I received the pre-admission form from MtA, which has a section where I'm supposed to indicate what room/ward I want. But not sure what happens after this. And kikismom said above that need to make deposit to secure the room type, I also didn't know, so will ask my clinic. Maybe u should ask the nurses or doc at KKH the next time u go for checkup?

Kikismom, I shall go and check out the Studioloft one. I checked them out before last time, but didn't see any NB pics. Quite interested to see their work

createjoy, wah, wait 1.5-3hrs very long... For my case, if my doc has run off to do delivery, the nurse will call me up and say that appointment postpone by 1hr, cos doc is at delivery.

audrey, yup... choosing TMC 4-bedded.. my bb weight's below ave leh.. though he gained 500g from last visit n i didn't =p gotta drink more milk and eat a lil more durian mayb helps...? haha...

kiki, haha.. my hubby make sure i deposit $ in every month lo. cause every mth he will the one who save in first, then he will ask if i did the same. :/

Tubby, same here. Usually the nurse would call me to let me know my gynae will be late (went for delivery) so she will ask if i want to wait or make another appt. But i always choose wait, who got the patience to wait a week to see baby? haha..

diana, same with me. Thinking only stay a day or two and heard that TMC does not have a lot of 4-bedded so the chances of getting upgrade are quite high.

Dr Woo looked at my baby's weight for quite some time before saying acceptable lo. Cause i went on my 28 weeks and baby weigh 1.005kg, only slightly higher than u. Haha.. if u want, can eat durian to fatten your baby.

Lim Siew Leng Annie, you shld try to log onto this thread frequently as here also alot of 1st timer mommy and also have 2nd or even 3rd mommy. We will share the info as much as she know.

kikismom, actually im durian lover leh. But i increase total 11kg on week 29. That y i dare not eat as scare my weight will increase until i might faint if i see the scale again.

audreyaw, huh? that not fair leh. stitching is cost?? $2k?? fainted

diana, ur bb weight is?? in how many week??

audreyaw/diana, both of u stay where? Maybe we can meet out to have durian feast?? wahahaha

audrew, same lor.. hoping for free upgrade.. next visit i'll ask dr woo bout labour stuffs cos wanna know what's his take on episiotomy and stuffs, i dun wanna kena snipped down there unnecessarily. =p

Shelisa, bb's weighed 985g @ 27weeks 3days. staying potong pasir area..
I've been having durian a couple of times le leh... maybe i ate not enough ah... =X

shelisa, eat durians mommy will oso gain wt leh...so if yr gynae din say yr bb is under wt tink should b ok de! my hb oso wannna to get durians f mi to eat say like dat bb will b bigger but i tell him if gynae nv say bb is under wt i dun eat 1st cos i scared eat liow i put on more wt!

Shelisa, the stitching is already included in our package le. Because KKH takes in interim and student nurses so if you are under subsided rates, you will see them in your delivery suite. As for stitching, it might be interim doctor or perhaps a very inexperienced doctor do for you. But it will be a different case if you book gynae.

I am staying in redhill. Diana, we stay quite near. ^^ Btw, i have changed to wed evening to see Dr Woo so might be able to bump into you if you see him on wed as well.

If your baby is not big, perhaps no need to snipped. But think better ask him. I also thinking of asking him.. I hate taking care of stitches..

Orrrhh... Hehe... No, I'm actually looking to do newborn pictures, and kikismom told me that studioloft also have now. So I go and see see look look