(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

jam75, yah lor. Once the stock finish we sure to stock up 1. My hubby also love to snack chip & chocolate & biscuit. Usually i act blur, dun tell him wanna finish liao, he will auto go to sheng siong to top up.

that y my hubby say unless i leg cramp he will help me lift up the foot but he dare not massage liao. sob sob

Morning everyone!

Blurmom, Seeing the measurement of your bump i went and measure mine. Haha.. My bump is 39.5 inch now.

Shelisa, I used to have swollen feet during the whole of my last trimester when I'm having my girl and it lasted till the day I give birth. That time near EDD, grandma was telling me that if my swollen feet disappear mean I'm going to give birth. True enough, that day I could wear my own shoes back and that night I went for delivery.

jam, so sweet of the the mrt staff. I had been avoiding taking train as nobody seems to notice my bump and i got to protect my tummy everytime i take train as some people really knock here and there.

Sweethalo, im lucky that my MIL is very trendy, she go casino gambling type, she go coffee with her frenz type. But she very bias 1, she cook the food that her son like, never ever cook before her DIL like. Haha.. my mommy ‘pan tang’ la, she say last time my uncle did that, then ended up my cousin leg dunno slanted or what. They y she insisted no massage.

audreyaw, my mommy also ask me to prepare that the swollen foot will last me till I give birth. But I need to change shoe as some of my shoe design will touch the swollen part and make me even hard to walk. Hmm, I shld monitor the swollen from now on.

Ladies, I know this topic is spoken last week. But I still need to ask some help. I tried my disposable panty last night which is 40” but it is so damn tight, nearly cannot pull up. Any ladies, buying bigger then this size and have tried and feel comfortable? Thanks

Shelisa, I was wearing flip flop all the way cause I can't wear covered shoes at all.
I did, I bought XXL cotton disposable panties from NTUC and feel comfortable. Still got abit of room for me to grow fatter. Didn't want to buy just nice panties as I got another 2 mths before delivery. The size stated is 42"-49" waist but got to consider if the hip can go in or not rather than waist lo. Haha..

audreyaw, the Packaging is like? pack of 5 or 6?? Or how much?? As im gg my grandma house to do confinement, so it is bad if i need my grandma to wash my panty for me

shelisa & audrey, i oso notice my cotton disposable panties is onli up to 40' tink i can't fit in liow....hmm will go & get XXL liow!

shelisa, hi5 yr hb & mine the same oso snacking king huh! hhaha...so bth hb & wife is snacking king & queen like dat how to ctrl leh!

Shelisa, is pink in colour in a pack of 5 and cost $3.50.. Brand name is "Hi Jean" and measurement is 42"-47" instead of 49". Remember wrongly, hee..

jam, when i first look at the packaging of those smaller size panties, i already know i can't wear it since before preggie my hip is 3x inch liao. How to squeeze in after so much fat has gained during the past few months? Haha..

First Mum,thank you.. hope my GTT result is good also... ;-)

Dolly,walk staircase with some weight on both hands?so is it means we buy something from supermarket and then carry back to home also consider a execise ? I prefer to stay active too if can.. as nowadays walk to supermarket also feel a bit tired.. need more execise liao..

Shelisa,thank you.. My foot swollen,i can't wear my shoes now,so now i start wear slipper everyday and with bigger size ... suggest you can try to put your legs up... Where you brought the green coconut,how you feel after drink?I don't know whether my body can take "liang" food as i never eat any cooling/cold food since last year until now..

Cassey,hehe...... "fat reserve"?? you are so cute...hope your bb can fully take nurition from your fat reserve and both of you still keep in healthy.. you can buy a weight scale to record by yourself everyday... Wish you stay on 6KG total gain!! i saw one June MTB sit beside me,but she disscuss the core blood things with someone else so i don't have chance to talk to her... blurmom,is it you???For spider,mine still red + purple color,so yesterday start apply strech marks cream.. hope can fading off as yours too...

cassey/ blurmom,
yes i read abt ligaments softening to prep for birth. but still not v sure why it happens and how to make it better. yday in the middle of the nite when i woke up to pee, it hurt like hell lo. luckily this morning the pain was bearable.

cassey/ BUGIS BABY SHOP,
i went to the bugis shop recommended by 11_beans this morning. the stuff they have is VERY VERY basic type, plain and made in china type. button-down, side ribbons or round-neck, towels, mittens and bootees, towels and washcloths. clothes come in sizes from NB to young kid 5-6 yrs old. and they only sell in half-dozens. but cheap lo. 6 pcs for $8-10. didnt get much, just tops and long pants in newborn sizes to try out the quality.

shopping at mothercare is alot more fun. but alot more painful for the pockets too haha.

blurmom,
so does the cream help to allevaite the pain?

jessma/ dyva,
do u girls experience pain in the lower abs/ pelvic area? i wonder if my low placenta had got to do with this condition?

tmr is my gynae visit. hope the placenta has not moved lower, pls lord!

<font color="aa00aa">hee firstmum ya it's the super basic stuff, good for bb to wear at home and salivate all over it ma, only abt $1+ a piece, esp the towels.. then can buy many many and dun need keep washing also..

so far my bb nothing to wear out yet - dun think will bring him anywhere happening too soon anyway.. haaa

compare to the basic stuff (exactly the same actually) sold in kiddy palace etc, the price is much cheaper.. so it's quite a good place to stock up on basic things..

hee that's why i say is chor cheng type lor... heh</font>

ahnetsan, i experience lower abdominal pain since last mth. Asked my gynae about it and he told me nothing to worry about, it's baby pressing against me as his head has turned down. Oh yah, that will come on and off till he pops out.
He mentioned unless is the whole uterus in pain, then need to go hospital.

Jess Ma: Yeah, it's my mum who told me about carry stuff (of equal weight) on both hands and walk up staircase, but at that time, swimming is probably not the common things

abdominal pain: so far no pain yet, but bb head already turned down quite long ago. However, I do experience pain on my right lower tummy when I start walking for 10 mins, it will go off after I take a rest and I can start walking for the rest of the shopping / journey. Kind of needing warm up

giving up seats: So far I try to take train when there's less people, and usually someone will offer their seats to me. Maybe because I look really pregnant?

Jam75 *hi five*!! That y our weight also cannot control. Haha

Audreyaw, I shall buy a pack and try 1st.

Jess Ma, yup yup. Im wearing those slipper to work too. So far I tried last week with half green coconut, I drink and eat the flesh. So far so good. If u scare, I will suggest try on week 32 onward with half coconut 1st. Actually when I found im pregnant I still take those liang thing like chry tea, barley, watermelon, pineapple, cold dessert and ice cream.

First Mum,i experience uncomfortable in lower abs/pelvic area too~~ i ate some yam ginko dessert that day...so don't know whether because of that or other reason.. as long as the pain same like "good friend" visits pain(it's could be contraction) and regularly then need to go hospital liao... So this trimster we must more careful... Gynae didn't said this uncomfortable is related to placenta so don't worry.. Hope your placenta move up already!!Keep us update ya...

Dolly,thanks i will try it out... hehe..

Shelisa,thanks for your suggestion.maybe i start from 32 weeks as i don't take those liang things until now so maybe body also need to slowly used to be those food... i got one food everyday ate ice kachang and she said no problem at all but for those MTB like me,don't think can directly eat like that bah...

Re: liang stuff, was told not to eat grass jelly drink during 1st and 2nd trimester, only can start to eat towards the end. And I'm encouraged to eat them before bb born, else bb might be very heaty when born (with pimples and all) wonder if this is true!

shelisa, i oso took liang things leh...even grass jelly i oso took!

audrey, hmm dat ntuc disposable cotton panties prc sound reasonable leh...cos usuali i bot fm watson when there is sales tink oso 3+...since ntuc wan bot size i oso will go there &amp; chk it out!

Jess Ma, my mommy say diff ppl diff body. Doesn’t means I can eat, you also can eat. I really have frenz eat pineapple and green bean soup then ended up ‘lost’ but I ate so much time but ok. So depend on individual too.

dolly.200906, my mommy say we cant eat heaty and dun eat liang thing totally as scare bb come out very heaty. She say 1 or 2 time a mth is ok. But I still eat as normal. But now stepping into 3rd tri, I almost alt day eat those liang thing as mommy say will help in smooth delivery.

Jam75, grass jelly u also took?? So far dare not leh as million of ppl tell me not. But now 3rd tri, I will drink one of this day as that my fav drink. There only 3 times I follow the old ppl ‘those ntuc banana, grass jelly &amp; mutton’

Shelisa, my next 2 growth scan is included in the antenatal package of $642.

jam75 the mrt staff so nice,ya lor must be sweethalo her complaint ganna circulated internally to all staff so he try to be nice hahaha..

i also notice i tend to get seat only wn nt very crowded, too many pple i ganna block and pple also act blur no see.

createjoy, wow, urs package quite attractive. Mine package $856 but excluded those test test thing. The growth scan on week 32 is $80 w/o gst.

createjoy/Shelisa, my doc didn't even mention gotta do growth scan... Wonder why... I don't mind doing leh. My next visit on 18th, it's around 32wks liao.

shelisa, my colik oso asked mi not to take grass jelly lo but dat is oso my favourite drink &amp; my mom hv been making it so often so i can't tahan so drink a few time le!

createjoy, ya lo we oso tink is sweethalo effort lo but not sure dis gracious thing will last how long...hahaha

I didn't dare to take grass jelly, mum don't allow. Even duo hua also cannot eat lo, lucky i'm not fancy of it.

Not only my gynae didn't mention abt growth scan, he didn't even ask me abt hospital stuff also. Till now, I also don't know when he's going to tell me abt it. We supposed to pay deposit right?

shelisa &amp; audrey, y grass jelly cannot take?? my mom nv say cannot take grass jelly leh...duo hua i oso take leh!

audreyaw, Must pay deposit now ah?? My doc asked me which hospital already, and after a few days, hospital sent me pre-admission form to fill in (which I haven't done so). I don't remember the form saying must pay anything. I thought pay deposit only when checking in haha. I go and study the form now, read the fine print.

grass jelly too liang i guess. That time i bought it and my aunt was scolding me saying i can't drink and end up gave it to my cousin to drink.

As for duo hua, my mum say cannot cause of the chemical it used to make duo hua harden de. However, duo hua shui can drink la.

Tubbymummy, u will b delivery in which hospital?? i juz heard my colik said fill in simi pre-admission form! but i onli rcvd sms fm mt A said got cfm my booking but din rcvd any pre-admission form leh!

Tubby, i saw at other forums that some mummies had paid deposit before delivery. That's why i am thinking are we supposed to pay now or during delivery.

Why i got no pre-admission form?! Then where am i suppose to give birth? zzz..

TubbyMummy, maybe u can ask ur gynae?? She told me next visit if is another 3 weeks from last appt I need to do growth scan and that need additional charge. Then I was ok, then she told me cannot do on weekend as her clinic will be crowded so need to make appt on weekday. As I ask the nurse she told me growth scan is the same like detailed scan. Maybe for those who do detail scan at hospital then wont do the growth scan ba?

Jam75, you are tempting me man. Hmm, if I happen to walk pass those Mr bean store, I shall drink grass jelly instead of soya bean milk. For grass jelly they old ppl say damn damn liang as the powder they use dunno from which plant and it is damn liang. They old ppl say 1. So a lot of ppl knew im pregnant, they sure say banana, mutton, grass jelly &amp; pineapple confirm cannot eat.

Audreyaw, beancurd I dun often eat is bcos mommy say they put some chemical for the bearcurd to be harden. But those famous store will indicate, they didn’t add in so I still carry on to eat it as it is my fav.

audrey, hee tink my mom chin chai wan she say last time she simi oso eat onli now u'll dis cannot dat cannot...but she say cannot eat those big bananas! my sis when preggie she oso simi oso eat coke &amp; pineapple!!

Audreyaw, I also same with jam75. Received sms when im ard week 22 just stated ‘delivery booking at Mount Alvernia Hospital is confirmed. Thank you’ also didn’t receive any pre-admission form! But I rem that time I did call up Mount A and ask them whether I need to pay deposit, she told me when Im admitted tat day then need to pay 50% first. I ask her can use card?? She say cash, net or Visa all can.

I chose MAH, but I nvr receive SMS from them. Instead they mailed me package containing:
1. Delivery Booking Confirmation letter
2. Pre-Admission Form
3. Hospital brochures on "Admission Guide", "Maternity Packages" and "Childbirth Education"
4. Other marketing brochures on free Great Eastern baby insurance, baby hair paintbrush, and Dumex.

The pre-admission form requires my full details, next of kin details, Medisave account holder's details, and choose room type.

But no mention of deposit. Still searching, see if it's in super small fine print anywhere...

Shelisa/Jam75, could it be because your clinic fill up all the info for you already? Did they ever ask u about the Medisave part?

audrey, which hospital r u going f delivery?? did yr gynae's nurse help u to book le ma??

sheilsa, heng u same as mi if not i oso tot y no admission form?? cos my colik oso going to deliver in MT A dis mth she said she hv already snd out pre-admission form i stunned! hmm regarding grass jelly tink drink abit should b ok ba...so far i tink i drink at least 3x le! my mom knew i like to drink dat day still purpose kip 1 glass f mi leh...so i tot since my mom still let mi drink so should b ok ba!

tubbymummy, tink my colik same as u leh rcvd those things leh but at the same time she oso rcvd sms confirmation....hmm i dunno whether the clinic fill up f mi leh they oso nv asked abt medisave thingy! weird!!

I told my gynae i'm choosing TMC cause nearer to my house and easier for my hubby to go, straight bus from my house to hospital. But after that, no more news from nurse/gynae/hospital so I do not know if i am confirmed or not.

Tubby, your hospital so detailed got package for you somemore. Unlike mine...

jam, i don't know leh. Should i ask the nurse the next time i go checkup?

audreyaw, just ask the nurse/doc at your next appointment. Better be safe than sorry. Maybe all the arrangements are made, but strange lor, confirm also must tell ppl what.

jam75, maybe u can also ask your clinic, said u got confirmation, but never receive pre-admission form, is it because they submit details for u already? If they say no, u should have received the form, ask them to call up the hospital to arrange for u lor. But if they already submit everything for u liao, then better for u too, no need to fill in another form

audrey, ya tink u beter chk wif the nurse lo...at least chk le if they cfm then u r at ease lo!

tubbymummy, ya tink i will chk wif the nurse when my nx visit!

Extracted from MAH's Admission Guide:
"You will need to make a deposit on admission. You can pay your hospital deposit by cash, NETS or credit card. The amount of deposit varies with your room type and also whether you are using your Medisave."

Extracted from MAH Maternity Package brochure:
"A deposit of 50% of the selected maternity package price will be collected at the point of admission."

So I guess this means no need to pay deposit now. I spoke to the Business Office staff before also, she said that when we arrive and pay our deposit, if you want to take advantage of DBS promo, you must pay this deposit using your DBS card, and the discount will be given to you. If you have balance payment when u check out, u can pay with any other cards/methods.

btw, last week there was some discussion about whether MAH provide baby's clothing during the stay. In their Admissions Guide, they said we are to bring:

For The Newborn
- 2 pairs of mittens
- A set of baby clothing to be worn during discharge

Since they only say to bring the clothing for discharge, I won't be bringing any baby clothing for the duration of the hospital stay.