(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo,
is ur hubby v fair? cos mine also fair like guni, doesnt like being out in the sun either. but he'll complain if i only visit baby shops for the whole day, ask me why every week see same things not sian meh? i tell him every week got different things to buy mah...

woodlands abit out for me. if i go, i prolly need 4 hrs to get back. must apply for "time off" leh...but hope to join u girls for the end apr trip haha.

adult bathtub so big, abit challenging to bath baby. and by the time the tub fills up, the water wld not be that hot anymore. besides, waste a lot of water.

sweethalo, I have kiddy palace discount card. U buying more things?

eh.. adult bath tub very challenging to bathe an infant n is quite dangerous as well.

My hb is not very fair la... he is on the big side... so maybe body temp abit higher lo...get wht i mean...oops!

wahhaahaha.. my hse got furkids- if not afraid of them then no prob...hehhee.

First Mum- where do u live?? 4hrs to get back??? Singapore not very big leh...ekkeke...

I am very very tempted to go on Thurs morn again...arrghh.. don't think I can tahan until end Apr leh... but need someone who hasn't gone to Ade's place to distract her...so that I can ramage and feel satisfied...ROFL!

bbjun- only thinking of buying the bath tub but still not decided yet. KiddyPalace card must show one isit or just quote contact no./ name can liaoz??

Re: Adult bath tub

I was thinking of getting smaller tub then when he is say outgrown it, just use the adult bath tub can or not ah???

Sweethalo, Think must show the card leh. Ytd, I went down to buy some stuff, they scan the card. If u are coming down to the Toa Payoh Central branch, just let me know in adv lor. I stay next to central anyway. Btw, must be after working hours.

Yes, u can use the adult bathtub, add in a non-slip mat when he is a toddler when he can at least stand or sit in a stable position. My fren's boy is 8 mths, still use bath tub. but just sit inside n she shower him from there instead of filling up the bath tub.

thanks bbjun.. still thinking wht to get... cos I was thinking if can use the adult tub soon enough, then got one less thing lying around... a big empty bath tub in the bathroom like very mafan...

tubbyM,
here's the PD contact.

Dr Low Kah Tzay
His clinic's name and address:
Anson Intenational Paediatric & Child Development Clinic
290 Orchard Road #13-07 Paragon Medical Singapore 238859
Tel 68362802

My fren says to just call and make appt before gg down so that u dun have to wait long.

lovelytuplip, nice meeting you in WBB class today! ;) Am sure we will meet again some times!

Kate, sorry to make you look around for me! Ha ha ha! I joined the class today and met lovelytulip. Next week, I sure be there!

Fatmom,
I know it's cheaper, cos that was what my sis got. But the funny thing is she started ordering from Gmart now, huggies pull pants. I bought Tesco brand cos they are really cheap!

Re JB trip
Yep, I am lucky my sis sent us there. My BIL used to drive in at least 2-3 times in a month, so he is very familiar with the route! The place is Terbrau City(think wrong spelling), and Tesco is just beside. House brand stuff are usually cheaper. My sis is the one with all the experience and so she helped me to stock whatever I need. As for Jusco, good place to shop and eat. Yesterday was good. We went in around 830am and cleared by 915am. Had breakfast in some uncle John's cafe and started shopping at 10am in Tesco. We left at 515pm for dinner. When we reached custom at 7 something, the drive was straight through, no jam at all! Honestly, first time!

Re WBB class
Kate, I agreed, the mat on the floor can get quite uncomfortable after sometime! I had to sit up, lie down and shift here and there on and off. Well, just got to tahan for a while more!

BBjune, can you share the PD's name in United Square? Thanks.

<font color="0050b3">LFB <font face="symbol">®</font> Bet that you have enjoyed your JB shopping!

Fifi <font face="symbol">®</font> Oh dear, pls do take care... Get well soon

Fatmon <font face="symbol">®</font> Got any hand down? BabyAce infant car seat selling at 80++ at OG.
I got this BabyAce infant carseat hand down from my SIL but only can use for newborn - 4months. My 18mths old niece still can fit in the seat however after awhile she gets irritated as she cannot sit upright. My SIL told me that, by the time our bb learns how to sit, they will become very curious - wanting to sit upright and see whats happening outside. SO she advise me to use something affordable first, invest a better car seat after baby reach 5mths.

neecial <font face="symbol">®</font> Medium rare cooked beef is not advisable for pregnant ladies.

Sweethalo <font face="symbol">®</font> I got Kiddy palace discount card.. Paid $10 for the 1yr membership and entitle to 10% on NON-SALES item only.

<font color="0050b3">National Geographic - Inside the Living Body

Part 1/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQT_zXPF3ys

Part 2/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBAQ65Tstew&amp;feature=related

Part 3/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HiWpIdGqSA&amp;feature=related

Part 4/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXEls0QK5OY&amp;feature=related

Part 5/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPDhUjOStkE&amp;feature=related

Part 6/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=klNgL5JfQaI&amp;feature=related

Part 7/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p70ZBW7jmkk&amp;feature=related

Part 8/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ulr7qmMgods&amp;feature=related

Part 9/9 <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9ZR-qvaR0c&amp;feature=related

LFB, nice meeting u too.... see ya soon... :p

the mats at WBB AMK class are quite uncomfy after some time. Not enough cushioning.

sweethalo, i like that jumper too.... maybe u ask Ade if she can reserve any future stock for u? Or wait for better stocks to come in.

Alamak, u must refrain urself from going!!! actually i like such "shopping" as there is no need to walk too much, there are lotsa stuff to look at and if with friends, can talk at the same time. hahaha......

Tubbymummy, oic. guess she has too many bags of stuff.
yea, heard that the gynae visit and PD visit is abt 1 week about u deliver, so can time it together and make it a trip. then dont need to run here and there....... but guess u check with ur gynae to cofirm.

these days, after walking a while, i feel like my legs are gonna give way...... oh man.....

Katelee, my sis lives in Vegas too! Such coincidence!

Fatmom, hmm, maybe u need to tell your hubby it's not his own driving skills that he should worry about, but OTHER people driving on the road that he can't control. Don't get too upset about the whole thing for now lah. Maybe u can do some research on prices etc, and show him that it is not as costly as he thinks? If u get the type that can use from newborn up till toddler 3-4yrs old, think I saw one at Mothercare that was about $250. If you spread that over 3-4 years, it doesn't seem THAT costly anymore. Maybe baby first few months don't go out much lah, but at some point when baby is bigger, sure will bring out more often what right?

FirstMum, yes yes, going Ade's house machiam go JB. Some more, as I was studying the street directory on how to get there, I was confronted with the options of so many Es - PIE, CTE, KPE, TPE, SLE. I had 3 options of getting there, each with 3 different Es involved! Faint! I saw some good reviews of Dr Vasanthi on this forum as well. Ok, busy scribbling all these names down. Heard Dr Terence Tan is good too, but also heard his waiting time is also ridiculous, so I don't think I will consider those that has too long waiting times.

bbjun, thanks for the contact. Am also scribbling down details of this one. Think word of mouth may be the best way to choose one, especially since we can't go there and interrogate them hehe. Then at my next visit to my obgyn, shall also ask him if HE has any recommendations, and see if match any of those on my list hehe. Yes I know, I'm so KS. Wahaha...

sweethalo, yes true, if u wanna go again on Thur, must bring along someone who hasn't been there before, who wants to buy quite a fair amount of things, then can distract Ade, while u go and rummage everything else. I don't think I'll go on Thur lah, imagine if u and I go only, spend lotsa time rummaging, and end up each person only buy 2 items, think she'll be pretty pissed off haha. Besides, I really wanna stop buying for a week or 2. Take a break hehe. Then wait for her new stocks, hope got more toys. End Apr if u wanna go again, I'll go too

hehehe tubbyM- how how how, must find another newbie kaki leh to go while we do our stuff... I need to bring the gerber to exchange (but I kn that's an excuse)

Lovelytulips - end of Apr macham so far away... now oredi hving v v bad backaches since ytd leh... dono end apr how...sigh

Think no more that jumper liao.. unless i just grab and keepstk?? hahahah...

thnkz Blurmom - is it worth it to get the card?

Sweethalo, the sales person advise me to get the card, for long run use?

Most of their items are either "OFFER" or "NETT" so the card cannot be used. Shop around and see if you will be their frequent customer. If kiddy palace things don't attract you, then no point getting the card

For my personal view, I think its a waste to pay $10 for card which I can hardly use on.

hiya fat mom, me staying at serangoon north, very near amk.. thats y i choose to sign up for WBB class cos very convinent just a few bus stops away.. you should really call &amp; ask for the change in class, no point travel so far &amp; TMC parking is a nightmare! hmm.. think got ERP charges somemore right?

sweethalo.. I havent decided on the timing to go ade place cos duno if she be home this sat.. will pm her tml &amp; check with her... let you know again?
fat mom.. let me check with ade &amp; let u know also ya.. thx for your offer~

Kiddy palace.. i also have the discount card.. card must be presented upon purchase.. so far have bought a few items from there.. card is valid for a year so was thinking sure can recover cost ba.. so many things to buy for baby.. haha

sweethalo, what is the item you wanted to get from kiddy palace? let me know? maybe i can help you buy then pass to you or something?

<font color="0077aa">ARGH!!!! Another tiny new red stretchmark appeared today while 1 of the 3 existing seems to have conquered more land up north. ARGH!!!

Tubbym~, someone mentioned that on this thread... vaccinations causing autism and the such. I replied at that time that I'm very skeptical of this take on it and wonder if there's really scientific basis for saying this cos the observable manifestations of autism can set in all of a sudden. All the psych reports I've seen do not indicate any such thing. I'm not a scientists/medical officer specialising in special needs, but I still feel the same way and think it may be a case of a mistaken association.

Ade Tubbilitis gang, yeah yeah.. ok. So you all didn't turn her house upside down *cynical eye roll* Even better! You all helped her do some clearing out and she didn't even have to pay you... got paid instead! WHOA good deal! I must think abt tt.

> Hey, do you all think preggie women are an especially easy sales target? I know of some budding entrepreneurs using us and this forum as a launching pad for their sales business already. Hmm...

bbjun, in one durian session, I usually eat much in excess of 10 seeds! In fact, hubby and I have actually polished off an entire 3 fruits between the two of us during a sit-down session at Geylang some years ago. I just went to buy some just now. But only 1 square styrofoam box this time instead of our usual 3. Kekeke!

LFB, bbjun, I asked mum and she said can dilute red dates longan drink as much as I want... so I'm thinking deprived of water not that bad ba. Just super dilute the drink lor! No rule we must have it thick right?

KateLee, YES! I kept fidgeting non-stop from the onset. Tried all kinds of positions and even lay down on my side in the end... but AIYO!!! TAIL BONE HURTS HURTS! Makes me dread the next lesson. I thought the last lesson was pretty boring, to speak the truth. Was telling sweethalo it's SO sleep inducing. Need popcorn next time.

> I think by the next lesson, MTBs know to go for the mats along the sides of room so must reach early to bag myself a good spot!! Ling rang me to try to meet up between our lessons but I was late... so didn't get to see her.

fatmom, infant car seats are for infants. It's only ppl here tt keep saying so small, how to put inside. But a good infant carseat is built to support a little babe! Not that we intend to get into an accident but sometimes things just happen. Bb is def safer in a car seat than in mum's arms. Definitely a worthy investment. Google infant car seats / road safety for infants and show hubby the findings? Maybe that'll convince him. My friend just spent $380 on a carseat.

sweethalo, I've got a tub too, but we'll still need small bathtub exclusive for bb's use - hygiene purposes as well as for your physical comfort cos you can place it on a surface of suitable height, instead of bending over a tub. My colleague was reminding me don't even just rinse a big basin and use. Get a new one for bb.

TubbyM- oops ! u mean the bf class starts next wk?? Faintz! I forgot... 2pm at waterloo isit?

Xuan - thanks! Still deciding
Let me know when Ade replies u...hniak hniak hniak hniak

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1"><blink>Confirmation of Central Gathering</blink></font></font>
<font color="aa00aa">
Date: Friday, 17 April 2009
Venue: Shokudo @ Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
Time: 6.30pm til late

RSVP via PM pls!

<u>Confirmed Attendees to date:</u>
Bbaugustine, Bbjun, Cassey, Creamer, Createjoy, Fifi, Innocentwar, Jackie, Jam75, Jess Ma,
Katelee, Kikismom, Ling, Shelisa, Tubbymummy

<u>Tentative Attendees to date:</u> (Pls confirm attendance soonest possible! Thks)
Ahnetsan, Audreyaw, bbPotato, BlueDream, Blurmom, Caramelle, Fatmom, FirstMum, Jetaime, Lovelytulips,
Mika Rei, Neeciel, Nozomi, Sweethalo, Vibe, Xuan

<u>Pending Responses from:</u> hapeverafter, tiny_bubu...

<u>Apologies from:</u> Bing, Chidori, Dovey, LFB

<font color="ff0000">*Note: ONLY June MTBs <u>currently / recently actively posting</u> on this thread are invited</font>.
(If I don't know you, I cannot be inviting you. Do organise your own gathering if you like, please.)

<font color="ff0000">**<u>Gatecrashers NOT WELCOME</u> as reservations will be made.</font> Gatecrash: to attend an event without an invitation

Organiser: Cassey</font>

sweethalo, eh, that dover thing is a bit weird, what with the 2 versions of who lives in the flat. So strange, and sounds a bit dubious. It's nice that the ladies on that thread came forward to offer donations so quickly though.

And yes, the workshop starts this Sat, 2pm - 3.30pm at Waterloo St. I'll prob call them sometime this week just to confirm that the workshop never change date/time/location. If any changes, will update you.

Anyone else here signed up for the breastfeeding workshop??

Cassey, my views are like yours regarding the vaccine and autism thing. Came across the thread talking about this yesterday when I was doing forum research on PDs and vaccines. Till now still boggled and have no clue what is a 5in1 and what's a 6in1. 5 WHAT and 6 WHAT? Against what diseases?? No energy tonight to go search some more to find my answers. Will save it for next week

Ok girls, I'm outta here. Gonna go lie in bed and read. Last night only slept at 4.30am, hoping that tonight I'll achieve an earlier timing. Nite!

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, something like we just popped bb so womb is bloated with air which "came in to take bb's place"...
Water causes retention of air so belly stays bloated, apparently... So don't want belly = don't drink water!</font>

Nite nite TubbyM ... sigh no nightbirds again... I think Nozomi mentioned she was interested in the clas that time but dono got sign up or not...

Cassey- huh so wierd... maybe can ask WBB this Sat?? ahhahahaha

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, actually read article abt bb's first vaccinations and there's 5,6 and 7-in-one!! I'll try to reproduce it here if I come by it again. Haven't been very diligent with keeping up with my reading.
Have a number of things in book I came across last evening and today that I mean to post here... no doubt I'll be flooding in a few moments. Heehee...

> Enjoyed your Idol?! Justus Jr's been SO SO active today.. I keep seeing my bump blob like magma lamp!
Both sisters marvel tt my bump is so compact I don't look anywhere so near delivery! *happy but sometimes concerned*

Nozomi, where are you? Remember the bb leaning heavily to one side thing you mentioned at Westies Meet-Up? I keep getting it now. Justus Jr favours the left of navel so tt keeps getting rock hard and I have to tap tap smack smack many times before he shifts his lazy bum!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, can... just that I'm usually STARVING by the end of class and don't want to linger. *oops*
Meant to ask also abt walking (aka mobile) epidural cos I'm keen on it but have heard tt Sg doesn't offer it..</font>

ohhh... my legs are swollen again! haha... toes like sausages
Cassey, thanks for the explanation

I've been trying to find all the myth busters to show my mum and my aunt ... like cannot wash hair, must wear long sleeve

hmmm... not really, on Fri, walk around 2 to 3 hours.... Sat didn't walk much, maybe just one hour ...
Today didn't shop around leh, went tim sum only!

BTW, I have the dark vertical line (it's like more body hair only) on my tummy from 1st trimester.. you mean your tummy is clear?

<font color="0077aa">Excerpts from Your Pregnancy Week by Week, (Lesley Regan, DK, 2005) from Third Trimester section,

Weeks 26-30 - Re: Itchy Skin (i.e. 7th month)
By the end of pregnancy your skin will have stretched by an extra 77-155 square cm (1-2 square feet) and become dry and itchy as it becomes increasingly taut over your enlarging tummy. Stretchmarks - which often make their appearance about now - can make the problem worse. Expensive creams marketed specially for pregnant women, to prevent or reduce stretch marks, are unlikely to do more than relieve dry itchy skin temporarily. I can promise you that cheaper remedies - simple, non-perfumed emollient creams or oil such as baby oil or olive oil - are just as effective at keeping your skin supple and well hydrated. The other practical step you can take to reduce itchiness is to start wearing cotton clothes, as these help the skin keep cool.

BlueDream...
Weeks 30-35 - Re: Varicose Veins (i.e. 8th month)
If you are going to be troubled by varicose veins, this is the stage in pregnancy when you are most likely to notice them. Varicose veins are dilated veins just under the surface of the skin, most of which occur in the legs and anal region. Wherever they pop up in pregnancy, they are caused by an unavoidable mechanical problem - the weight of your enlarging uterus pressing down on the main veins in your pelvis. These veins feed blood back to your heart and lungs, but they are now very dilated by your increased blood volume.

When they meet a large obstacle in their path, such as your expanded uterus, the back pressure that develops forces your blood to pool in the dependent (smaller) veins in your legs, vulva and anal margin. Since your baby is going to get bigger over the next few weeks the discomfort from varicose veins is likely to get worse. Symptoms usually improve after the delivery of your baby but for some women varicose veins become a long-term problem.

TIPS FOR DEALING WITH VARICOSE VEINS
- Buy some good support tights For maximum relief, put them on in the morning before you get out of bed.
- Rest with your feet up as high as possible whenever you can. This will help blood to drain from the veins in your legs.
- Walk briskly. This will help keep the muscle pumps in your legs working and help return blood to your heart.
- If you have to stand for any period of time, keep shifting your body weight from one leg to another, instead of distributing it equally between both.
- Keep a check on your weight gain. Carrying extra pounds puts even more pressure on your legs.

hmmz... some of them said must drink alot of water to prevent water retention. Somehow I started to get a really really bad backache since Saturday. Maybe I cos I was out all day. Today at NTUC, I almost wanted to give up walking...so painful.

Now then realise that these days our shopping centres don't hv manny resting places or chairs for ppl to sit.

I don't hv the black line yet, so wondering when it happens.

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, belly button may or may not pop... That linea nigra (dark pigmentation line down middle of bump and around navel) starts appearing as early as first tri and often continues to darken as the pregnancy progresses.

> Walking epi is not as 'strong' as standard. Standard epi usually can't walk around cos no feeling in legs. Apparently walking epi. allows you to still "feel" the contractions and pushing response while it blocks out the pain. Sounds like having your cake and eating it too, doesn't it?! But WBB said available in Sg but not so successful.

dolly, info abt what huh? Ermm... no worries! Aiyo, many of the books say that these Chinese old wives' tales originate from mainland china, where the weather tends to be COLD!! So body needs to be covered up to prevent chills... wear long sleeve and pants, avoid wind, avoid washing hair, etc. etc.

> Thankfully my modern mum doesn't subscribe to it. Just tells me I must shower and/or wash hair when sun is up and it's warm... and blow dry my hair after washing.

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, OH! HOW BLESSED!!! Maybe you're one of those whose little girl doesn't cause of lot of pigmentation.
Goodness, the pigmentation on me is going crazy. Areolas, linea nigra, even on my neck and armpits...
Sis said her armpits worse than mine... Sigh!! Enjoy your pigmentation-free pregnancy!!</font>

aiyo I rather not feel anything... waited after class to ask her when should we ask for epidural when we get to hospital... she asked me which gynae I was seeing... then told me, my doc will prob say, let's wait and see progress!! FAINTED!!

Cassey, the info about drinking water lah ... at least now I can convince myself to tahan not drinking water during confinement

Finally signed up for hypnobirthing at Parentlink! Hopefully won't need any form epi...
If anyone interested, better sign up now cos the course is 6 lessons AND you've to practise everyday... just nice before we poop

<font color="0077aa">Excerpts from Your Pregnancy Week by Week, (Lesley Regan, DK, 2005) from Third Trimester section,

Weeks 30-35 - Re: Your Emotional Response (8th month)
... Another common feature of late pregnancy is that women often find it hard to concentrate on specific tasks. Many of my patients tell me that their minds repeatedly wander off to baby-related issues and for those of you who are still at work, this can be quite a problem. It may come as a bit of a shock to find yourself dreaming the days away and unable to focus on the job in hand. Tasks which used to demand high priority may no longer seem very important and pressing.

I think the best way to manage this situation is to try and identify the key tasks and ensure that they are finished, sideline non-essential jobs and make sure you do not take on anything new that is challenging or unlikely to be accomplished within a short time span...</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, does your husband agree there's no linea nigra at all?
Cos mine was noted by hubby dearest first. I never noticed.
In fact, he's the one who notices most new developments... darkening of areolas, linea nigra setting in, rounding of belly.
Goodness, he was even the one who noticed the stretchmarks...!

dolly, oh that! I was relieved too. Told my mum won't I thirst to death? Can I add lots of water to the longan drink? She said can la. Just boil with a lot of water lor. *PHEW*!</font>

hahaha ur hb so attentive... studies every inch of yr body hor...ROFL!!

yeah mine agrees no line yet..but i hv been feeling some itch on my belly

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, moisturise moisturise moisturise! Wanted to jio you out for half-priced waffles...!
But I'm still working Tuesdays for 3 more weeks yet and not willing to pay full price for what I can get at half that. *grin*
Hope to get my neck and shoulder massage again tonight. Yest so shiok!</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, who me? Ermm.. no. Completely no interest at all. Feel quite sian abt get bb toiletries and lugging them home.
Also, SIAN abt having to pack hospital bag (someone said GlenE advised standby by wk 32)
SUPER SIAN abt getting organised as to what I'll need to bring to mum's for confinemt and what to get doubles of to leave there.</font>