(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

talking abt bubble tea.. i had 1 today also but i want to rant abt this taxi uncle.. afetr buying my bubble tea.. i headed for the taxi stand & got into the cab.. halfway thru the ride home with me slurping on my ice blended lemon tea happily, the uncle ask if i'm going to be a mummy soon.. i said yes (well, i do have a 40 inch bump)
Guess what he says? He says.. I should stop taking cold drinks & then he starts coughing all the way in the cab until i reach home!

<font color="0077aa">e-Filing income tax. Sian.

Xuan, huh? Real cough or fake? Ok la... it just affirms to us that we're going thru a special time and everyone's concerned abt us. But ermm.... you're the one drinking ma. Why is HE coughing huh?</font>

Xuan: Oh my! Why is he coughing all the way... maybe you should wind down the window

Was drinking milk tea (with less ice) from MOS burger .... satisfying

Haha, I've 40 inch bump BEFORE I was pregnant... dun care liao

Xuan- think Ade can't cope with the amt of stk she has ...dnt think she posts all that she has..definitely more to choose from when there

erm.. real cough? ay.. to me.. he's the 1 that had too much cold drinks &amp; is coughing.. so he should stop drinking cold water.. nt me..
cassey.. u nice lah.. i dont tink tat way.. was quite upset with the uncle just now.. haha

<font color="0077aa">Xuan, it's what I read in the DK book and I agree that it helps makes things a lot more pleasant for us.
This is a very special time in our lives and ppl around us affirm that, just like when they give us a seat!
My older colleagues sometimes stifle me with their over-concern. I just keep reminding myself of this &amp; am more appreciative.
In one ear and out the other ba! Ask uncle, ermm, are you ok? Why you cough cough huh?</font>

hmm.. just check mrt map.. didn't know woodlands is only 6 stops away from amk.. ok.. maybe i check &amp; see if she's free next week &amp; i can go before or after WBB class.. heehee

<font color="0077aa">Xuan, I'm glad! It's like how we chat here... we nag at each other cos we care ma.
If don't care, we won't bother responding at all. And that'd be really tragic - if no one bothered.</font>

sweethalo, think she had too many things to bring out for show and tell already haha. She showed us when caramelle and I first got there. Then the bag kinda got pushed somewhere else when we all started digging thru other more fun stuff hehe...

<font color="0077aa">Naughty caramelle, l'tulips, Tubbym~ &amp; sweethalo!
Sounds like you bunch went and turned Adelene's house upside down!!! *spank!*

Goodnight, ya all. Time for hubby to use laptop for interpretation work tmr. *CIAO! &amp; sleep tight!*</font>

hehehe.. no think it was upside down with stocks liaoz before we got there... ahhhaa... we just rearranged all the bags to other postions nia..kekeke..

TubbyM- i really hv urge to go again.. *whack my head*

Cassey, was just reading on another thread, some woman was saying that she worked under a therapist before, and learned that vaccinations is one of the causes of autism and ADHD. Is that true??!

*fainted* got such thing meh... lidat then everyone also become autistic oredi.. isn't it genetic??

anyway wana koonie liaoz... 99 girls
2nd shift nightbirds turn now...ehhehe

tubbym , ya.. Ohh! that means 5 stops.. liddat must go liao.. sweethalo.. wanna go with me next week? haha

hehe.. cassey, i understand but was just abit harder to accept cos total stranger &amp; his coughing.. OK! *close topic*

haha.. tubbym, cassey's really like our thread adviser.. any questions will think to ask her first de

Xuan, hehe... Cassey very resourceful

sweethalo, if u go next week, what will u be looking out for? Or just go there dig thru everything again, make sure never miss out anything? Hehe

Think I also go koon liao. I seem to be getting some kind of pain on my side from my sitting position. And started yawning already hehe. Nite!

Hi Tubbymummy,

Re: PD
When my son was born, my gynae recommended Dr Heng (not sure if there are the same Dr Heng) to me, I don't like her at all because NB babies need to go to clinic for vaccination and blood-test (for jaundice) quite often, when we brought our son there for blood-test, we waited for 2 hours just to get the blood-test done and see her (within 5 mins), unlike other PDs who will give privilage to NB (because clinic full of people who are sick). Imagine my son was only 1 week old then and he has to stay in the room full of virus for 2 hours...

But this is my own experience lah.

morning!! u ladies are sure nightbirds. i KO ard 11pm yesterday after a filling buffet Dinner at Sakura.

Nice to meet u ladies yesterday morning at Ade's.

Tubbymummy, where got mittens???? i thought i saw very nice hair clips nia.......

Sweethalo, ur hb super gd lor...... and he's real interested in toys..... hahahahah u should ask her when her Apr stock is coming in - Apr's just a few days away. hope she has it in beginning Apr.

PD - bbjun, i was thinking of taking Dr Ong at TMC for the stay at hospital. Then if need be, will just go to the PDs she recommend that is near my place. That Dr Ong is also very popular - friends and sis use him but gotto wait very long for consultation. From what i know, got to bring the bb to the PD for check 1 week after birth which happens to be also our gynae check after birth. Am still considering.....

Cassey, we didnt turn Ade place upside down la.... she merely had to chase us out of her hse.. wahahahahahah

sweethalo, forgot. the bath tub i got is under Les Bebes. Costs 22.90. i measured the sitting area and it's about 22" x 12". there is a side shelf which u can put bb toys i think (just like we will probably put soap on an adult's bath tub). it also comes with a removable bath support for newborns.

btw, i think toyogo has no bath tubs that are big. the last i went there to find, i did not see anything.

Tubbymummy and Sweethalo, I woke up early yesterday morning and went JB with sis and bro! Tell you, I nearly went crazy buying. We went Tesco and Jusco. Tesco is good cos their stuff mainly low price. Imagine baby home top, button type, I paid RM3.15 each. Mitten and booties RM2.50 each pack. I bought also lots and lots of packs of Tesco baby wipes. Sis said good and thick. I got 4 packs of diapers(House brand), for 3-8kg baby, 21 pieces for RM5.60. The trip is promised by sis to let me get as much baby stuff as possible. The milk powdwer also cheaper, so I grab 2 cans of Nan. So I saved alot when I was there. Bought 3 maternity tops also in Jusco. I also managed to buy bermudas for hubby, RM15 each. Oh yeah, I bought my nursing bra, one pink and 1 baby blue. Soft material, RM19 each. Very comfy. So yesterday's trip was really good. No jam to and fro and I got great deal from it!

I slept shortly when I came back cos the night b4 I didn't sleep well at all. Today afternoon attending makeup lesson from WBB. Another week ahead. Sigh!

Re:Drinking water during confinement
Hubby went to see our TCM today and I asked her whether can we drink plain water during confinement. Apparently many said we can't(including my sis and mum!). My TCM said no problem drinking, but we must accompany that with lots of soup(papaya for milk) and red dates drink. Thought I post this for our reference. I cannot imagine not drinking water for 1 whole month! I will go crazy man!

cassey, durians has always been one big culprit for any of my wt gain before pregnancy. Not sure if that goes to my boi. in any case, I ought to watch alittle since I have extended family members with diabetes. I definitely hope my boi is not as big. Want to go for natural birth!

tubbyM, thanks for helping me getting extra info on the PD.

capriho, is the Dr Heng u are talking about at Toa Payoh Central? I m the one trying to find out about her.

LFB, sounds like u had fun shopping at JB.

Tks for sharing the drinking water thingy during confinement. I was going to break a little of that rule as well. My mum says try not to drink plain water but she never say totally cannot. I cannot survive without plain water.

mornin!....slept earlier last nite..I'm officially sick liao..keep sneezing..blocked nose n sore throat..argh...

hey tubby n sweethalo which blk is ade staying?cos my PIL stays near admiralty mrt too..maybe i can bluff my hubby there..kekeke

bbjun,
fun was there, but more impt was getting all those needed stuff, with cheaper prices! The amt of clothes we need to prepare is madness, so I try getting stuff cheaper to cut cost. Can imagine all the expenses after that.

ya...trying hard to refrain fr heaty stuffs and churning myself w water..

but guess wat!?? i had my 1st leak when i ahh choo so hard..omg!!!*O* help! I'm afraid it keeps comin!

fifi, Ade is at Block 681C if I'm not wrong... Is that close enough for you?
But if you're not feeling well, better stay home and rest lah, go next weekend instead hehe. Must let her go before going though, cos she may not be home. Just go to any of her "Querida" BP threads and PM her. I also kenna my first leak! PUBLIC leak! Ok, it was a very small one, but so traumatising, some more while grocery shopping. Ran (ok, brisk walk) to the loo immediately. I didn't even think and just sneezed, and it happened. Now when I sneeze, I make a conscious effort to squeeze muscles. Hai. I had just recovered from cold couple days ago too, that explains the sneezing (and running nose, and cough, and sore throat).

capriho, ya it's bbjun looking for info on Dr Heng
But I believe there's another Dr Heng over at Jurong side, while she's looking for the one at TPY central. Not sure if you're talking about the same one.

lovelytulips, Nice meeting u yesterday! Sorry didn't get much chance to chat with u, Ade's stuff were simply too distracting hehe! She had a small bag of mittens, but I've never seen her posting it online or whatever. Just that she happened to walk past it when caramelle and I got to her place, so she just picked it up and asked if we wanted. I got 2 sets for $5 (meaning 2 pairs mittens, 2 pairs bootees). Didn't get more, cos I actually wanted to buy mittens on it's own, cos intend to let kid wear socks instead of bootees. Hmmm, maybe if I can't find cheaper outside, will buy more sets from her. Oh, or maybe as per LFB's tip, buy in JB! Oh, follow up for baby is also 1wk after delivery, same as for mother is it? Then maybe I shld find a PD that's also situated in Paragon, can visit both my obgyn and the PD at the same time, no need to run 2 places...

LFB, you got very good bargains! But I don't dare to drive into JB myself leh, and I don't know of anyone else who will be so nice as to drive me in just to hunt for baby stuff, so I think I no chance liao. Think I'll just tell my parents that in case they do go in with frens (they do that once in a while), they help me look out...

LFB, I kept looking around in WBB class yesterday hoping to identify u. So u were not in class, chey. Good to know that you enjoy your JB trip. Is Jusco near the Tuas link? Haven't been to JB in a quite a long while. Used to go there for the food but got so turned off with the traffic jams that we stopped going.
For those of you who attended the class yesterday, did you find it very uncomfortable to sit on the floor/mat for so many hours? My back ached big time and i felt so tired after the class.

tubbyM, one of my fren has her PD at Paragon and she did highly recommend the PD. Let me check it out with her and let u know.

Kate Lee, ya, her classes at AMKhub is physiscally tiring on our backs. U can get hubby to use the pillows n sit behind u to support u or look for positions at the back or side where there are walls to lean on.

LFB, understand. I am really lucky to get so much hand-me downs from frens and cousins whose kids have outgrown their BB clothes. My hb is now complaining that our boi has more clothes than him. I only bought around 10 pcs for him!

Hi bbjun,

Ya, the Dr Heng that I mentioned is at Toa Payoh.

Now I change to Dr Ellen at Hougang Mall. This doctor not bad, willing to share knowledge with mummies and she could talk non-stop (sometimes I find it a bit lor soh).. but still good lah..

TubbbyMummy, yeah me too, can never be brave enough to drive to JB myself. There are a lot of crazy/aggressive drivers out there and all the scary stories I hear about JB makes it so unsafe for us girls to go by ourselves. But i think there is a good FOS shop and another shop called Reject shop in City Square or City Plaza (can't remember the name, always get confused with the one in Singapore) near the Woodlands customs where u can find nice Baby Gap or Old Navy baby/kids clothes that are really cheap. Much cheaper than Gap or Old Navy online. Guess they are factory rejects that's why cheaper but to the unprofessionaly trained eyes like me, they look perfectly fine. Hope that I can make a trip there soon to stock up.
Have been shopping online from US sites lately. Ralph Lauren was having sale so the prices were good compared to Singapore. Similar baby dresses were going for like S$120 at Taka but online it was like USD20-30. Also bought some Gerber pyjamas (zipper suits), socks, hanky, bibs, bumper and sheets for cot bed from target.com. The Braun thermometer is also cheaper than Singapore. Like USD30+. Should be receiving my package next week. So excited. They have nicer designs for cot bumpers than BabySafe (which so far is the best I have seen) at Robinsons which we saw the last time. Price is good too, especially the ones on sale.
Husband going to US for biz trip next week so he is on mission to buy more baby stuffs there. Think he should suck at buying baby clothes (for baby girl somemore) so he has been tasked to buy toys, or stroller if he can find one he likes. The LeapFrog toys are really much cheaper than singapore. Used to buy them for my nieces and nephews when we lived in LA. So will ask hubby to stock on the toys from infant till 12mths old. So kiasu right? really miss the shopping in US. they have really much nicer baby stuffs and they are much more reasonably priced than Singapore. Wish I can make a trip there soon after baby is out.

good morning mommies.. slept in today.. feel so good..

tubbymummy,
thanks.. i think i should take GTT cos i got family history leh.. my grandmom and my aunt all got diabetes.. let me ask my doc this sat..

thanks re the bebesound, it was a gift.. so i didnt bother to do research.. think it is just a gimmick.. my mom was so excited.. keep on pestering me to show her.. i told her it is useless

neecial,
u can try taking more beef and other red meat to boost ur iron intake.. currently i make it a pt to eat medium steak once a wk.. heard the bloodier the meat is, the better it is for iron intake.. but dont eat too rare cos it may have bacteria

audrey/tubbymummy/blurmom/sweethalo,
re car seat, my friends hv been advising me no need to get one so soon.. their logic is bb is too young to put in one and when they are few mths old.. then u buy the bigger one.. now i am so confused.. i havent shop for one yet.. hv u all bought yours? what did u buy? btw, i actually quite bochap when it come to seatbelt when my hubby drive, i dont put seat belt one.. so didnt see the need to buy car seat until now

bbjun,
re PD, i tot ur gynae will recommend u one.. think i will go with my gynae recommendation.. anyway i think i will use PD for the first few mths.. then GP afterthat.. no point paying so much for PD i think

xuan,
thanks.. haha i felt so cheated now.. cos when i sign up i ask for amk hub.. and i was confirmed for amk hub.. then they call me and say mine is brought forward by 1 wk at the thomson training centre.. and strange thing is.. i also receive call and sms that remind me to go for amk hub class.. will call them tmrw to see whether i can change.. it is not that my lecturer is not good.. it is just that the parking at thomson training centre or thomson hospital is crazy.. yesterday we took close to half hour to get a lot..

sounds like u gals got so much fun at ade place.. i also want to go.. are the stuff there cheaper? i am barred from buying things for bb now.. but if i can justify that it is a good buy.. maybe i can get some.. haha

bbjun, think same as ur bb, mine was growing pretty fast during the 1st and 2nd trim, now is like a normal bb's weight, see how dr chan advise me weeks later.

oh u visited hatemenot, i hope she can discharge soon, i sms her to check on her there and then, poor thing got to stay in hospital for a month!!

Cassey, i am quite optimistic i can do it naturally looking at the weight gain for my bb at this 3rd trim =)

fat_mom, can eat medium rare ah?? i alw have it well done cos i tot cannot eat anything raw...now baby is absorbing more iron from me thats why my iron level is lower than my blood test @week 20. Now i try to eat more iron pills with a glass of orange juice, hopefully it helps cos my gynae says low iron will cause bb to have lower IQ.

xuan,
if i get to change my venue to amk hub.. and if i recover then (dont want to spread any germs to u).. we can go together ade place after class or before class.. we drive so can give u a lift.. where u stay? i just told my hubby the good news that i am going to request for amk hub.. he is so happy.. cos my current lecturer has very strange accent.. e.g. cramp = camp, foetus = feto, placenta = blasenta.. we had a hard time listening to her

LFB,
sounds like ur jb trip is fun.. just want to check.. is the pampers there cheaper than the website that the mommies here rave about (think g something).. my mom insist it is cheaper in jb..

re drink during confinement, i think we suppose to drink more of the red dates, blue prunes (lan mei) and longan drink.. must remove the seeds one before cooking.. on top of water and papaya soup

fifi,
take care.. it is definitely not fun having flu on top of a growing tummy... take more vit c.. and water.. it helps.. i been waking up like 6 times a night cos of the blocked nose and ear.. cannot really sleep and my poor hubby also suffer cos he say i snore like an elephant becos of the blockage.. haha

neecial,
i took medium all the time.. my gynae say ok leh.. even sashimi and half boiled egg he has no probs.. do take more spinach too.. but dont worry.. ur iron tablets should be more than enough.. cos orange juice helps to absorb iron better.. occasionally i do take some liver stuff, like pork liver and foi gras.. think should help.. but these cannot take too much becos of the vitamin A and high cholestrol

capriho, thanks! Really needed to find out more about this Dr Heng. Now, reading your comments, I decided to use another PD at United Sq, not too far from my plc, parking easier than TMC oso. Many gd reviews abt him n my fren raves about him.

Fat mom, no leh. My gynae give me some listings and want me to decide on the one that I am most comfy with. I think she did this cos she dun want to reccommend one that may end up that we bui gum or not convenient in terms of location. I m fine with that as well cos I prefer to find one that I can trust.

neeciel, yup, visited her to also catch up with her since haven't seen her since our antenatal class ended. anyway, was oredi at TMC for gynae visit, so shun bian also.
Ur recent blood test was done during the GTT? they also check our iron level during the GTT?

Kate, I also like the shopping in US! Sigh. Was there twice last year, had i known that I would be pregnant, I would have bought lotsa lotsa stuff to stock up haha. Ya, the BabySafe stuff we saw was quite nice, but I do believe the stuff in US will be even more exciting! Ooh, I mentioned a couple of weeks back that I fell in love with this Ralph Lauren baby dress, but I couldn't get myself to part with... don't remember how much it was, but I felt it was too costly. Ooh, now so tempted to check it out online! I could ask my sister to bring over from US for me, but knowing people like her, she would ask me why on earth I would need branded stuff for my kid, seeing as they outgrow it in no time. All of which I know haha... but I'm a first time parent lah, indulge me...

fatmom, I bought infant car seat already, prob my first baby purchase hehe. Infants are not too young to be placed in one, no worries. I bought the Maxi Cosi Cabriofix, which is for newborn up to 12months or 13kg, so actually no need to change car seat within a few months
Based on my research, the age/weight guideline is that your child must be BOTH at least 12 months and 13kg before upgrading to toddler seat, meaning that if my kid is 12 months old, but not yet 13kg, continue to sit in the infant car seat. If 13kg already, but not 12months old yet, also don't upgrade yet. The Maxi Cosi comes with an additional (removable) padding for the baby's butt/back area, so that baby does not have to "sit" at 90 degrees. With that padding, when u put baby in, they are half lying down, slightly inclined position, which is still an ok posture for their new bones. There are car seats called "convertible" seats that you can use backward facing for infants, then when they reach the weight/height limit, turn it around to face forward for them to use till maybe 3 yrs old. U can consider that if u want to kill all birds with one stone. Just that this seat may be too upright for newborns, though some claim that they can be tilted backwards. Maybe can put some padding in or something (not sure if this interferes with the safety of the seat though). Mothercare house brand car seats are quite affordable, can check them out at Harbourfront level 3.

If u go to Ade's house, she will give you prices that are lower than her online prices. Each piece maybe cheaper by $0.50-1.50. If she got excess stock of some small things, she may also throw it in as freebie

bbjun, thanks for checking with your friend, let me know the PD's name. Searched around the forum, and came across Dr Kenny Ee at paragon that is supposedly highly recommended. Wonder if your friend is using this doc.

TubbyMummy think i saw some shopping spree for the Ralph Lauren sale. Wonder if it is still going on. I got my SIL living in Vegas to send me the stuffs I bought online.
The RL dresses are simply irrisistable. I got 5 pieces. One of them goes for as low as USD14.99+tax. What a good deal! It will be such a pity to miss out on this.

tubbymummy,
i made my hubby read what u wrote.. tell him we should buy the same one as u.. he scolded me for being indulgent.. he always think i buy a lot of unnecessary stuff.. now he said we dont need to drive.. take public transport, mrt or taxi.. no need to buy car seat.. say bb not going out so often in the first few mths.. me so angry now.. irritated.. he always think his driving skill very good..

bbjun,
oic.. think i better check with my gynae this sat.. i so lazy one.. when i see him.. i just ask him whether bb is healthy or not.. dont really ask much..

Fat Mom- the infant child seat can last for 9mths to 1 yr depending how big ur child is before you upgrade to the bigger child seat.

Lovelytulips - nice meeting you ytd
I just sms Ade and see if she really getting in new stk for Apr since she oredi has so much new stk...

Xuan - wht time u thinking of going on Sat cos not sure if Ade is avail or not also...

TubbyM- feel like ramaging through wht she has leh..ahahha... not really looking for anything in particular liao... got most stuff

sweethalo,
kekes, ur hubby so cute. seldom come across fathers who are as crazy shopping for bbs as the mums ley. ure one lucky woman! then he wont scold u for splurging on the lil one.

i also wana go ade hse ley. but sure kena fr hubby, woodlands is almost like another JB for me liao lor.

Tubbym,
my gynae assigned Dr ang ai tin fr TMC for my girl, then i did my own research and changed to dr ong eng keow instead. we saw him for the 1st 2 yrs, i like him and find his meds effective. however the waiting time is crazy! sometimes we can spend 2-3 hrs waiting and the consultation is very rushed.

now we see dr vasanthi at Kinderclinic at parkway. in my opinion shes v gd, but v expensive. everytime we see her, at least $130 gone, even if its just the common ailments. but waiting time is only 20-30mins and near my place lor. if u prefer male, heard that dr terence tan is v gd too.

i intend to let no. 2 take all the vaccines/ jabs at kinderclinic this time although prices more steep than most PDs. a hassle to go all the way to TMC.

First Mum - yeah he doesn't mind shopping with me the whole day type... he likes aircon...ahaha but don't ask him to go to the beach... he will frown cos too hot...hehhee

Lovelytulips - yeah, hb likes soft toys alot... I really like the Osh Kosh jumpers we bought yesterday, too bad no more beige one liao... sigh...

..thanks for the bath tub measurements.. too bad that Toyogo doesnt sell.. quite surprised since I thot they shld..hehehe.. anyone has Kiddy Palace discount card???

Re: bath tub
Is it really necessary to get a bath tub if we hv an adult size tub in the bathroom?

Caremelle - wah how come she MIA since the shopping spree at Ade's ytd huh?? hehehe

Ahnet - Today I also happened to find the bundled 2 pack special for Sofy Night Guard at NTUC selling at $8.90 so don't hv to look for it at Watsons...