(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

OMG!cassey, ur stretchmarks jus appear like dat?? without any warning?

i'll RSVP soon ok?

superbee, u din kenna rashes when u use the palmer coco butter?
wah now im wondering if i shd go robinsons see see look look...wanted to go down today with my mum one leh...

haha, me also using the red bathtub bot for wedding. save $.

There a few shops in Chinatown... you can buy the maternity pads, baby wash, baby wipes, toothpaste, shampoo for normal use...etc

I also found some rash on my belly button earlier, and I didn't know if it's Palmer or L'Occitane. But since I stop using Palmer, I've no more rashes, so I guess the culprit is Palmer!

Cassey,are you still using stretchmark cream?my friend told me that the cream not really can help us to prevent from stretchmarks.. and she said "once you saw your first stretchmark then don't worry.. the rest will coming soon... ",huh... the only thing we can do is.. eat lesser when we feel tummy itchy and try to massage tummy during shower.. hope it's helps..

Aiyoh, saw Fifi talking about durian, now I feel like eating again! Last round was so disappointing, eat machiam never eat like that.

<font color="0000ff">~ Does anyone know which is the best stall in Geylang to buy the Elvis durian?? ~</font>

sweethalo/caramelle/lovelytulips: Sat morning means tomorrow is it? I think I can make it. I keep thinking I got something on tomorrow, but I can't for the life of me remember what it might be. I know for sure it's not doc appt, so I guess anything else is not so impt hahaha... So how, wanna go tmr morn?

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1"><blink>Confirmation of Central Gathering</blink></font></font>
<font color="aa00aa">
Date: Friday, 17 April 2009
Venue: Shokudo @ Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
Time: 6.30pm til late

RSVP via PM pls!

<u>Confirmed Attendees to date:</u>
Bbaugustine, Bbjun, Cassey, Creamer, Createjoy, Fifi, Innocentwar, Jackie, Jam75, Jess Ma,
Katelee, Kikismom, Ling, Shelisa, Tubbymummy

<u>Tentative Attendees to date:</u> Ahnetsan, Audreyaw, Caramelle, Jetaime, Lovelytulips, Mika Rei, Nozomi, Sweethalo, Vibe

<u>Apologies from:</u> Bing, Chidori, LFB

<font color="ff0000">*Note: ONLY June MTBs <u>currently / recently actively posting</u> on this thread are invited</font>.
(If I don't know you, I cannot be inviting you. Do organise your own gathering if you like, please.)

<font color="ff0000">**<u>Gatecrashers NOT WELCOME</u> as reservations will be made.</font> Gatecrash: to attend an event without an invitation

Organiser: Cassey</font>

Tubby, tmr morning i ON!

Just realised Cassey listed the confirmed attendees in alphabetical order. think she has this in excel list. hehe!

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, I got a nice big bathtub from BB Hyperstore... bit far for you. But I've seen some at Kiddy Palace.. not that small ma. U can have my Mt A one if the other *sorry can't remember who* doesn't work out =)

sweethalo, ahnetsan, Re: Stretchmarks. Seriously, they appeared just like that, out of nowhere. Two on the side shown in the picture and 1 on the other. I take measurements of my bump periodically for journal entry and it has stayed more or less then same for a couple of weeks. But when I measured 2 days ago, there had been a 1-inch swell all around. I'm guessing that's why the marks...? I'll go check in the mirror again after posting this to see if any deterioration. *sigh* Now don't want to put on glasses when in front of mirror naked anymore.

createjoy, by "in the genes", I don't mean purely hereditary. I just mean it's pre-programmed. If you're going to get it, you're going to. Not that if your mum has it, you will, if you get what I mean.

Superbee, I'll double check with sister again and post an update on Mt A bb provisions k.

LFB, I never ever reveal my flabby belly to anyone, but that doesn't mean I don't mind not being able to see normal skin on it.

Ling, Snow White your head la! *laughs* It's surely fairer than outside cos my wobbly belly never sees the sun. Anyway, the flash was so strong it turned my skin white, but if don't use flash, can't see cos it's slightly on the underside and in shadow. I actually think I'm a bit tanned.

Jess Ma, DON'T WORRY!?!?! Then you continue by saying THE REST ARE COMING SOON!?! *faint*
Ermm... thanks ah. Very comforting leh. *sobsob* I exfoliate and moisturise regularly. Plus weight gain so far is less than 2kg...!!! So "unfair". heehee... Oh well, nvm. It's not the end of the world. *brave sigh*

Tubbym~, generally Elvis quality is quite good even from various stalls. But tips are:
- You MUST be able to smell the pungent aroma!
- Some ppl swear NEVER buy durian on a rainy day (My take: if you know how to choose, doesn't really matter leh)
- Press flesh lightly (don't leave finger depressions behind la!) to test if texture is good > creamy and lush, not mushy/hard
(Personal tip: if pre-packed, make sure you don't just press the top layer. Check as many seeds as you can without leaving marks behind pls!)
- For fruits in the shell, if texture ok, can even pinch flesh for a taste before deciding.

caramelle, maybe cos I'm a language/literacy teacher?! Heehee...
Of course I have it on MS Excel la!
Then how do you think I keep track with PMs trickling in periodically!?!?! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Re : fried durian
tubby,
bugis temporary hawker centre the side near to MRT, there's a goreng pisang stall that sell firend durian.. quite good 80 cent each nia</font>

caramelle: I like your hearty answer! Confirm fellow tubbilitis sufferer hehe... I suspect l'tulips also contracted the same thing.

sweethalo/l'tulips: how about you all? if everybody on, then we just go tmr morning, and stop keeping ourselves in suspense! Hehehe

Eh, don't see ppl like BlueDream, FirstMum, tinybubu etc on any of the lists. You guys, go to the central gathering leh!

11_beans, Bugis got temporary hawker centre? Where?? this is crazy man, I am so suaku, live so closeby and didn't even know! Can describe to me where the temp hawker centre is? I shall go recce this weekend maybe hehe...

tubbymummy, i think i have to declare myself a sufferer. cos the words "stop buying" has never occured to me. ahah....

i need to cfm with hb cos my stroller's coming in tommorrow. i wont mind if i leave him at home while i go with u gals. hehe

durians.... somebody told me, never buy durians in the morning, as they are most probably overnight leftovers. msia truckers need at least half a day before they reach sgp. always look out for those fresh from the baskets. and those in styrofoam boxes, sometimes they are left in there to "bake" till they are ripe (probably just like how it is not good to leave the food in the styrofoam boxes for too long) - dont know how true though.

<font color="0077aa">Sharp Tubbym~. Mika, I've made reservation for 20pax for the timebeing.

Currently still awaiting Central Gathering RSVPs from:
BlueDream, Blurmom, Bubu, Dovey, Fatmom, FirstMum, hapeverafter, neeciel
Pls drop a line even if it's tentative and confirm again close to time.

Currently still awaiting appearance of silent readers: kikismom, feifei26 &amp; more regular postings from some others</font>

Cassey, still scared to buy durian from Geylang leh, cos ppl here can be quite sneaky. That's how my FATHER got cheated over the D24 ones. Me looking all pregnant and waddly, coupled with my geeky glasses (de rigeur when in Geylang, else risk being mistaken for one of the working types there, pregnant or not), I might as well hang a "sucker" sign around my neck.

<font color="0077aa">l'tulips, I checked with sellers along Balestier. They clarified that styrofoam boxes are often for fruits with a few seeds that had worms. So they can't sell those fruits in their shells, so they throw away the affected portions and pack the remaining and sell at a lower price cos it's opened already.

I'd love to take the leftover seeds from the worm-infested fruits cos they choose the choicest fruits!</font>

Maybe i can beg my friend's hubby to bring me durian shopping. He looks tough, tall and big, can speak hokkien, and looks like he knows how to choose durian! My friend will hate me though, cos she's absolutely disgusted by durians hahahaha....

Ok, I'm thinking too hard about durians, even plotting to use friend's hubby. Sigh...

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, I always talk to them during the encounter... lots of eye contact, smiles, and just be friendly.
I'll kinda say, can you choose good fruits for me pls? Rich &amp; creamy. Tinge of bitter is fine too.
You look like an expert. I'm sure you'll do better than me.
So they choose for me and then I'll CHECK CHECK CHECK the fruits to death! HAHAHA!!!!

When I reject fruits, I kinda go into a "bimbo" routine again. Heehee... but can still be firm!
*M1 advert thumbs up and idiotic nodding action*

They're usually quite nice and oblige when you ask to check the fruits.
If they complain you press press their fruit, you can counter saccharine-sweetly:
Oh, don't worry, I always make sure I don't leave marks behind... SURELY you don't expect me to splurge without checking right?
Then for good measure, flash a mega-watt smile and blink blink. *grin*</font>

<font color="0077aa">dolly, ALAS!!!! That stall closed down months ago! THEY HAD GOOD STUFF!!! *sob*

Tubbym, some men just need ego-stroke, from a 'sucker' or otherwise. Heehee... Don't we all love it?!</font>

the four seasons durian is no longer there? argh, i had it once there.... sitting down and enjoying the elvis durian and another branded one. and it was an expensive treat. ha........

think it's the durian season now, i see durians almost everywhere now.

Cassey, it was nice of that person to tell u. cos most will proabbly just say, open put styrofoam box for ur convenience ma........ u know what i mean....

Ok, I googled it, and apparently some stall on Lor 9 is very good, with non-pushy old uncle. I think I can handle non-pushy old uncle! Maybe bring my pretty girlfriend along for extra saccharine factor hehe.

Still googling...

eh the four seasons durian no longer there meh???!!! used to pass it while driving but never once stopped and buy leh... wanted to ask hb to go buy tmr or sunday when we gg back my mum's plc leh.... and now u all saying it's closed????!!!!!

FAINT!!

sometimes my fil go to lim chu kang or chao chu kang, dunno which chu kang he goes la, den he will pick up durians from dunno where la... those kampong dunno wat durian... and they are great, bitter and sweet. hahaha... must ask my hb to tell his father to get durians soon.

wah tubbymummy, u best wor, can even google and find which stall of durians is better.

I finally found the durian company that I like! 717 Trading!! *dance a silly dance around the living room*

But they're not close to my house
Nevermind, I'm sure I can find my way to Yio Chu kang Rd or Balestier one of these days...

Opps, didn't know Four Seasons is closed! No wonder it was not open the other day when we go past it! Cassey, Thanks for telling us!

cassey, stretchmarks don't fade in? they jus burst out? tat's scary, stretch marks cannot be felt right? it's tear marks right? muscle tear cos of the expansion.. i'll hv to ask my hubby everyday in case it suddenly jus appear whr i can't see it.

Re: durian
thanx dolly, i was going to ask for feedback on the four seasons durian place at still rd. i jus had durian feast last week. is it too much to eat again this week? scarly bb grow too fast. ha!

wah faint!!! the 717 trading even got website.... now the durian sellers so high tech sia... hahahaha

wah emperor jade durian mooncake...
wah durian pudding....
durian coil!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DURIAN SANDWICH!!!
durian cake!!!!!
durian puff!!!

i feel like popping the puff into my mouth now!!!

gosh, i suddenly realise i actually swallowing my saliva leh... wah piang....

wah the cakes.... yummy

wat? tat still rd four seasons closed??? faint.. i was still thanking dolly for giving review on it.
oh, 717 durian pastries are nice! yummy!!!

Oh... just remember, Goodwood Park is having this durian fest again! Not that I've gone for it before but I heard it's famous

If you are near SengKang Compass point or near Kovan, can try the durian puff and durian at this emicake shop! The one near Kovan side sell during in front and durian puff inside the shops. The durian puff have rich fillings! Take the large size one for more satisfaction

<font color="0077aa">dolly, it's been closed for quite long. Don't know why. But what a disappointment. I remember the HUGE durian they used to have outside. *sad*

Mika, I don't know how they're SUPPOSED to make an entrance really... *who wrote THAT script?!* but mine just appeared and yes, if I run my fingers over them very carefully, I can feel some unevenness. It's skin stretch marks lor. I reckon even if you stretch plastic stuff or even dough, you get some mark.

l'tulips, actually, being from the service line myself, if a customer makes eye contact and seems genuinely interested, you'd be willing to go an extra mile or two for them. So I always try to see them as 'friend's and not sellers... if you get what I mean.
> I find they always respond really well to that and will engage me in conversation while they choose the fruits for me... even giving me advise on how to choose it next time "in case I meet those dishonest types".</font>

hmmm.. makes me wana go buy durian puffs now too. puteri mas durian puffs are nice, but they are getting smaller in size leh.....

Tubbymummy, the D100 looks solid leh!!!!!!

<font color="0077aa">bbPotato, I find Puteri Mas used to be really good... but standard seems to have dropped considerably since expansion.
Bought their durian cake last time $80++ bucks and the standard was disappointing for the whole family.</font>

it has been quite awhile since I had Puteri Mas, cos it was so out of e way for me. Mayb tmr when hb's back, will persuade him to go buy some durians

last sunday we r @ Geylang, my boy very funny, he got 2 50c coins with him, he gave it to my BIL and ask him to buy 2 big durians for him.

<font color="0077aa">bbPotato, *chuckles*! Your darling boy's currency very strong in this economic downturn huh!?!?!</font>

hmmm... I remember China Town (near the CK department store) used to sell 50cents / $1 durians.... wonder if they have it there

BTW, I remember someone bought the Pigeon nursing bra at Taka bb fair? Is it good?

wah... you gals talked so much about durian... make me go and buy durian pancake during lunchtime... was at amkhub so bought one from four season stall... the durian filling is really very yummy...

regarding the stretchmark, this morning i also spotted a small little red patch on my tummy! dunno issit stretchmark or not... *sob*

TubbyMummy, 717 is one of my favourite choice too. I know their boss!! Wahaha. But the durian is not cheap at all wor. I rem last time when during durian festival, they ‘leh long leh long’ D24 1kg $3 only!! Another store I like is along blastier road. They call the durian as “butter durian”, u MUST have booking before going down as they dun entertain those without booking as they always fully booked.

For durian, regardless at Geylang or whichever place. I feel we must act as we really good in durian. Like you must know what type of “Type” u like. Then u must tell them that last week I at oop street buy, not bad but not the best. So tho to try urs, if urs is good we confirm will come back. U wanna earn my $100 1 time only? Or you wanna earn a lot of my $100?? Then they know u are not those can play play type. So normally using this tactic, my durian sure to be BEST!!

For some durian store, you buy at the certain KG, they will deliver to you. Best time to buy durian is evening time. As morning from Malaysia delivery to Spore, then will reach Spore evening. So ard 7pm buy durian is the best.

<font color="0077aa">innocentwar, keep an eye on it... it could just be a clothes' crease from sitting down. For your sake I HOPE it is!

Tubbym, Aiyo, how can you live in East and NOT know Puteri Mas?! They started off at Joo Chiat... still there now. Have a stall at Suntec City, at the eatery section beside Carrefour.</font>

Mika, I think if u just ate last week, give it a couple of weeks rest hehe... Durian heaty, u might kenna sore throat. Or if baby grow too fast, kenna stretch marks!

Ahnet's suggestion for post partum durian hamper not bad neh! Kekeke...

lovelytulips, yalor! the D100 sounds very shiok right? I've never tried it before. Must explore... Next week must plan one day where I can go down to either YCK or Balestier. I ate the 717 durians on a couple of occasions before, and really liked their durians, so I'm quite motivated to take the trouble to travel there. Some more got such yummy looking pastries!!

GASP! Suddenly realise that Old Airport Rd that durian pastry stall belongs to them! Yippee!! Can walk there!

Cassey, I've spent my whole life living in the North and central lah, pardon my ignorance hehe... Only started living in the East in recent history, still discovering the food wonders of this end hehe... One of the first things I tried was 328 Laksa. *bleeargh* I've never eaten laksa before, and I will never eat it again.