(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo/ tubbym,
yalor. im more or less done with shopping for NB, except some toiletries and essentials. but everytime go out, still will hands itchy and buy some more! just now bought swaddling blankets even though i know not necessary. but so soft leh, cnt resist...

heheh First Mum- what swaddling blankets did u get? fr where... me still undecided abt getting them.

Most of the stuff bought already for baby. Outstanding list:

Bath Tub
Swaddling Blanket- not sure???
Diapers
Mobile for Car Seat??
Cloth books for bb

sweethalo,
fr taka leh. australian brand, cnt remember the name. but hor v soft and thin, and the colors are gorgeous! infants only need swaddle for 1st few wks, after that can double as blankets when go out. initially i wanted to use nappy cloths, but like i say, hands itchy...

bathtub and diapers sure need but can buy later. cloth books and car mobile are optional. but IM SURE u'll still buy kekes.

My outstanding list:
towels
blanket/duvet for cot
cot bumper
everyday clothes for 0-3mths (but expecting my friend to give me)
Ikea changing station

FirstMum, happy with your swaddle blanket purchase right?
How much were they? You make them sound so good!

tubbym,
oh yes, u reminded me. i need to get new hooded towels too. cos the pigeon ones ive got are not absorbent.

actually u can change the baby in the cot. a waterproof mat and towel shd suffice. changing table quite dangerous if leave baby unattended and doesnt last v long.

swaddle blankets 2 for $29.90. not cheap, but so nice. u girls shd check it out kekes.

hi dolly, welcome!

Hi dolly, welcome! It's quiet tonight...there should be more banter in the day tomorrow
Let us know your details (EDD, hospital, doc, baby gender) and BlueDream will update it into out June table!

Firstmum, I'm thinking of getting the changing table cos in the beginning when I'm recovering from c-sec wound, not sure if I can bend over so easily while sitting or standing, so I thought the changing table is taller, I can just stand. After I'm all healed, I'll either continue using it, or just use it as extra storage. What you think?

tubbym,
i c. ya. it makes changing easier in the sense that u dont have to bend over. are u buying the one with storage? thats quite gd lor, if uve got space and budget for it. i just thought that the useful life wont be that long. but since u have ur reasons, then buy it! haha.

but u must be v careful never to leave the baby alone, even if u think that he wont flip/ shift cos we dowan any accident.

Firstmum, ok, will remember that. I plan on just getting the cheapest one, think it's $55, since not sure will use how long, don't want to spend much on it.

sweethalo, yes, must dry the baby hehe... But I guess if really really forget, can use our adult towels first anyway (find the softest one). Don't forget hankies or wash cloths.

i went to Taka on Sat but didnt see any swaddling blankets leh...

yeah- towels most prob buy the Mothercare ones since I hv a $20 store credit need to use before 3mths.

washcloths bought from Ade last time liao...

hihi, so many nite owls' mummys!
Looks like I still got a lot to buy!
My EDD is 5th June, it has been shifting forward the last few time I visit my gynae
I'm delivering at Mt Alvernia, my gynae is Dr YF Chan. It's a boy!

I looked at the IKEA changing table too... yeah, can detach the top when you no longer need it, but the door or drawer for the shelf doesn't look that nice... still thinking if I should just get a standard shelf and use the baby cot as a changing table

tubbym,
ya sometimes just close 1 eye and spend the money to satisfy our own insatiable need to shop! $55 ok la, just pay and pretend to forget abt it heheh...

sweethalo,
its a v small section (only 1 shelf) near the allerhand bags and baby cots...i think only 2 different brands nia.

hmmz... this gynae that I am seeing now is my 2nd gynae becos the 1st one I saw during 1st trimester does not do delivery anymore. My current gynae told me that the most accurate edd is the one taken at 1st trimester??

Taka fair- somehow just can't seem to find anything to buy at the Taka fair leh... dono why... only managed to buy 3 pc pigeon clothings for $9.99 on the 1st day I went and that's all so far...

FirstMum, hubby already agreed to the $55 table hehe, so that one no prob.

dolly, EDD keep shifting forward cos baby is bigger than norm is it? Is this your first?

sweethalo, my doc also never say anything. Maybe our kids not so "muscular" haha. When I ask if my baby is big or small, he will always say it's normal, average. But I see ppl here the weight range like v big leh, how come everyone also average??

my doc also said the 1st tri scan is most accurate, cos by 2nd tri, babies grow at different rates (fat, thin), while in first tri, it's all still pretty standard, cos only the internals are forming, so it's a good gauge of EDD. Dunno leh...

For my FA scan, the sonographer actually didn't state based on scan, when my EDD should be. The EDD stated on my results is the EDD that I told her...

hmm... dono when will mine tell me the wt and sz of bb... worried tht some of the clothigns i bought will be too small for him ...yikes!

Taka fair- I also kaypo went to check on the Tiny Love Mobile and the Bright Starts Playmat that I bought at Tangs a few weeks ago at the member's sale leh... Tangs still cheaper...

TubbyM- ya exactly the same case for me... they just using the edd given by the 1st doc cos he saw me through 1st trimester

o one more outstanding item - my NB infant pillow hehehe..

<font color="0077aa">LFB, like that also can?! Just anyhow spot one and that's it?! It's freaky... I feel like I'm being spied on now. Hmm...
I think you noticed me cos I'm bigger sized than all the others. So command more visual attention. *chuckle*

>> I only noticed a yummy mummy from your class cos she had a short well-maintained bob, face not made-up, but could still see she had very pretty features. Other than that, I didn't register anyone. I think I'd only have noticed if a REAL penguin waddled past!

Ooooohh! bubu, where are you off to!? *green*

Tubbym~, she IS a cute little girl. I love animals.
*hi-five eh?* She's a mongrel who strayed into my dad's company grounds one day with her brother. The workers took to them and fed them until dad said don't want them there... then sis adopted the more docile of the two. Snoopy's brother is a very agressive fella. Don't know what happened to him.

>> It's hilarious! My sis said she was nursing bb in the room with door shut cos MIL and Bro-IL were there... Bb was howling inside cos hungry and Snoopy guarded outside the room door and howled along. Hahaha!!!

First Mum, agree with you. SWEETHALO &amp; TUBBY are terminal TubbiLitis liao. WBB was saying walk walk walk shop shop shop until go into labour... I couldn't resist catching sweethalo's eye and pointing at her while giggling. Heehee... She was looking mighty guilty too.</font>

hehehe... WBB was really cool. Glad I signed up for the class. Chidori became her model of the night... hehee

I really can't help but be amazed at the MTB who said she doesnt hv coffee break or tea breaks... and only eat Tapas for dinner!! No supper!! Wah!!!

heehe... Think that was Friday nights out ba...

But was just wondering how to survive hunger huh???

( me just sent HB to the fridge to me some Haagen Daz Strawberry ice cream ...hehe)

<font color="0077aa">My hubby dearest is so sweet. Last night after class, we slept REALLY REALLY late cos after our late dinner, we foolishly came home and devoured our Elvis durians. By then it was almost 1am and we were so stuffed, we had to wait a little while before going to bed. *sheepish grimace*

My man comes and sits himself down in front of me and thumps the bump WBB style (East, West, North South) a few times. Then he does the butterfly strokes... Then he checks bump bounciness at ribcage to see if bb was happy with him. He looked so smug when bump did proved bouncy and announced gleefully that "bb liked it!" *grin*

Following that, he insisted on massaging my arms WBB style - Indian dunno-what > Swedish dunno-what > rolling pin > Indian twist > Open Palm > Twiddle N Pull > Pull back? > tip press > side press...

Still not enough! He then laid a palm on bump and talked to bb WBB-style too. Haha!

Then today he reminds me I'm only allowed to walk for 20min, then must stop for a (NON-DOUGHNUT) break.

I feel so blessed. Praise God for a godly, loving and doting hubby!!
My man is really a good student neh! THANKS, WBB!</font>

Yeah, 1st time preggie. Didn't know till it's around 2 mths, at that time the scan says EDD is 15th June... and the date has been creeping forward...
Now bb is 1.2 kg, I gained 13 kg too

Cassey, you are truly blessed
But I'm sure you'll do the same for your man if there ever were an occasion where your roles were reversed (not literally though haha).

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, you believe her completely ah? I'm skeptical...
I think if I was asked, I'd have censored the biscuits and ice-cream snacks I had lor.
Anything not an official meal-time snack can be excluded...
Like that serving of Yami Yogurt, the few chockies pinched from a colleagues' desk, the goreng pisang I grabbed after work...
*oops*</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, oui, my eyes are naturally dreamy-looking cos they're teeny tiny lor. CHEY!
You ah... pick on me cos of my single-lidded eyes *frown &amp; grizzle* Politically INcorrect!!

Tubbym~, I sure hope so! This sweethalo is SO not helping with her announcements of sweet treats.
Now I feel like grabbing the remaining half of my Yami yogurt and stuffing it down my throat too.

Hihi dolly(dunno-what-numbers)... Is yours a girl/boy?</font>

huh... leave out for what?? She was trying to see if her food intake has enuf calcium or not leh... her food abit the malnutrition leh...

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, easy answer. To impress ppl like you lor! *chuckle*
YEAH! Poor chidori! I didn't mention it cos then everyone'll know she's chidori! Hahaha!!!
She got completely molested throughout the evening.
It was so funny when WBB was saying "DON'T HELP ME AH". *rofl*</font>

Eh, I'm getting hungry too, had my dinner at like 5pm or something stupidly early. Had 2 rounds of cereal already, but it's not doing the trick. I need to eat meat lah...

dolly, my EDD very close to your original one, I'm 14 Jun. My baby now 1.1kg, so quite close to yours also, but doc never shift my date leh... Oh well, doesn't matter to me anyway, cos with my c-sec, I'll prob deliver in 1st week of June too.

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, Oh dear, I hope that mummy never reads this.. but I'm jaded and cynical man.
When she hemmed and hawed initially, then announced she had a glass of milk for b/f...
Then after more prompting, slowly one item after another came out, amounting to such a super American Breakfast,
I was smiling &amp; trying not to roll my eyes, thinking... OoooooKAY... here we go... *yikes*</font>

But i am not at all impressed with her diet leh... tapas! hmmz... makes me feel hungry ...

TubbyM - this weekend got do grocery shopping or not ?? wait no food in the fridge again...ehhee...

Ya ya, I did grocery shopping just now. THEN. I sneezed (still got cold), and I had a small leakage! I was stunned for like 2 secs, then told my husband to stay put while I rushed to a toilet. It was only a very small bit, but still, I was pretty traumatised. By the time I came back to supermart, hubby paid up already, and was waiting for me outside. So we just left. Then I realised that means I hardly got enough things to stock up my fridge! I have 4-5 varieties of fruits though... And milk and cereal. Guess I won't starve, but nothing else substantial.

How come WBB's feet are black...??

<font color="aa00aa">Survey results are in. A total number of 24 MTBs responded. Here are the results &amp;...

<font size="+1">Confirmation of Central Gathering!</font> Please book slots in your diaries, ladies!

Date: Friday, 17 April 2009 (20 of 24)
Venue: Raffles City (City Hall MRT) (21 of 24)
Time: Evening, exact time T.B.A.

<blink>Kindly send positive RSVPs to Cassey's PM - subject Central Gathering RSVP</blink>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, yeah! And she kept assuring us that the room is clean. What a joke!

Tubbym~, cos we're all barefoot in the room.</font>

Wahahaha... Don't wear white socks! Sure no way of cleaning them after that...

Yay, central gathering confirmed! Will note down. Cassey, have not booked by first aid class, but if I do go, I'm pretty sure I'll come down after, since so many MTBs will be there!

Ok, I'm off to bed now, try to sleep before my hunger gets out of proportion. Chat again tomorrow!

hehehe... i guess we are the ones mopping it clean tht night...hahah

TubbyM- maybe run to the shops again tmr? u need some nutrition leh...

Me just made myself a bowl of maggie noodles...

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Survey of Central Gathering Eatery</font>
Currently there are suggestions as follows:

#1 Shokudo @ City Link Mall
#2 Cafe Cartel @ Raffles City SC

Potential attendees, kindly PM me with either <font color="ff0000">your vote</font> OR <font color="119911">suggestions for other eateries</font>
To facilitate sorting, PM subject: either <font color="ff0000">Eatery Vote</font> or <font color="119911">Eatery Suggestion(s)</font> pls

THANKS HEAPS!</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, Hagen-Daaz, followed by maggi mee? Interesting... I feel like noodles too. But hvg indigestion.. Better ABSTAIN!
I'm off to go lie in bed soon. Hey, what's your laptop set-up? I get a backache after sitting at my desk for hours.
*hoping hubby does a repeat of last night again*</font>