(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

I am reaching 29 weeks at the end of this week. Can't wait for 37 weeks to arrive sooner...Gynae says he will teach me how to count baby's kicks from 32 weeks onwards. That means I have to be extra vigilant about his kicks. I'm not sure if I still wanna get the bebe sound (Baby heartbeat monitor) as I am thinking I might not be able to keep track of his kicks when I am working. Someone said the bebesound can be bought at the baby fair at Taka fair? Any thoughts on this?

For those mums who are trying to avoid episiotomies, you might wanna check out this perineal gel that I bought from Mothercare today. I am hoping to avoid an episiotomy as well so I going to try applying that to make that area more flexible.hee. Lets hope it works.

ehhehe... *hi-5* TubbyMummy- I was also halfway throught the exel spreadsheet of $ spent so far when my laptop keyboard mati-ed!

Dono isit in protest or not...ahhaha

tubbymummy,
try to get the senior member (forgot what they call), they got 15% discount (normal 10%). My friend use to have but her’s expired already.

What?? How to get the Mothercare gold card??

bbaugustine/cassey, actually I've also heard of a massage you can do on the perineum to make it more flexible. Don't remember where I saw the instructions, but believe u can find it if u googled it.

GULP. Ok forget it. If I got my pram from there, maybe still can get a bit closer to the $3k mark (but still very far). I think I don't need to be so high class get gold card hahaha

oh ya, your keyboard now how? Buy new laptop? Or buy external keyboard to fix on?

nozomi, you're also night owl what
but my dark circles getting from bad to worse. Not sleeping that well anymore lah, back hurts...

happysahm- the sale is only on children's clothes leh... nothing on maternity that I saw there...

there are some markdowns here and there but no additional member's discount

tubbyM- keyboard is still dead... hb got me one of those small mini net tops that are popular now and really quite cheap... but most of my data and info are saved on the other side... actually just wanted to get a keyboard... but he just refused to help me get one!! arghgh!

sweethalo, i was also thinking of getting a net top. I've had problems with my laptop since maybe 1yr ago, I just couldn't get online, regardless of what sort of connection I use (land line, cable, mobile broadband). I had wanted to bring in for servicing, but was too busy at first, then was busy moving house, then this and that, and by the time got time, it seems so pointless liao haha. Everything else works fine, just cannot connect to internet. Then hubby said previous laptop also 2-3yrs old already, why not just get a new net top. Now still wondering if I should, have been using hubby's Mac all this while haha.

ooo.. actually the surfing is quite fast... think the chip is meant for surfing.

It's small and light, just right to bring around and not weigh u down.. i brought it along to Mt A when my dad was there... got connected to the wireless broadband there instantly and cld surf.

I quite like it... hb bought the LG one which threw in a the detachable dvd player too.. think it was 789 or something

caramelle also seems to be MIA today...bing nvr see for so long also.. hope she remembers abt the TMC class this sat...

wonder if there's anything good still at Taka fair... I didnt get much there that day cos was tired and frustrated too that didnt hv the taka card!! arrgh

Ya, I like the price! But haven't done any research, so dunno whic is supposed to be good or not. Your LG so far so good is it? I should go and take another look. Last time used to do work on laptop, but since becoming preg, I mainly use laptop for surfing net nia, don't need anything fancy. My hubby say buy MacBook, which I feel is pointless, cos spend all that money just to surf net??

Ya, I also didn't go back, cos no Taka card, like not as exciting haha. Maybe should have just gone to apply for the smart card like what caramelle said. Some more I got $50 taka vouchers to spend.

yeah, if habits are more to surf and maybe occasionaly word processing, think Net book good enuf liao.. price is good! Plus it runs on XP!! which is miles better than the damn Vista! I hate Vista!

Plus I think next time, can bring baby out and go hv coffee somewhere and surf too! hehhe

so far the LG one is pretty good... my hb's guy colleagues evaluated all avail at the fair and they seem to conclude LG was the best deal and performance leh.. .so he just bought it...hahaha

Oh ya, I don't like Vista too, it's not stable. XP still better. And yes, I also have dreams of going out with baby to stir coffee and surf net hahaha... I miss staying at Thomson, can push pram stroll out to Thomson plaza sit at starbucks. My area now, only got 24-hr kopitiam with lots of undesirable characters...

I wanted to go IT show to kaypoh, but was afraid of the crowd. And knowing my hubby, he won't go there even if I paid him good money.

hehehe... yeah.. wonder if those dreams are only going to be just dreams ala Sex and the City... sigh...

skarli after birth, only keep on sitting at home and pumping milk out! HAHAHA

HB works at Suntec so he has no choice... actually i find he enjoys going to the show! One time, he had me tagging along on Sunday just to get a printer... wah i almost hantam him cos we didnt have lunch and went, ended up just walking and walking... so hungry!

ay, at least that means got milk to pump. If only sit at home, face turn more and more yellow everyday, that'll be more jialat. I still want a life! Wondering if I'm expecting too much.

I am aiming for the Baby Bjorn Synergy... think it's quite good... but think HB has overload on equipment now... hehhee... so will buy later.

I met a mum carrying her baby in one at the Isetan Sale... spoke to her and her hubby... and they say it's the best! it gives back support... told me not to even consider the other models which only offer a cross bar and thus can cause back and shoulder aches... Think it will be useful especially in crowded places where prams and strollers just become too cumbersome.

I have a fren that went to London for holiday with her 5yr old and 1yr old. she didnt even bring a stroller along. just the Baby Bjorn and she said it was so so much easier and fun!

Will try to get one fr the states which is cheaper than here...

Oh ya, maybe I can ask my sis to buy from states also... but in a way also quite scared to buy, cos I got back problems, wonder how long can I use a carrier before I find it too taxing, regardless of how it's supposed to have back support, know what I mean?

btw, u confirmed baby name already?

yeah esp for u... but the other slings look like they will strain the shoulders too!

If u can't use it, get ur hb to carry bb in it.. hehee...

erh... actually hv not leh.. how ah??? think will be panicking soon!

ya, and I will only visit places like nice shopping centres where it's easy to push pram around haha.

I am stuck at the chinese name. I want my kid to have chinese name, single word only, but frankly, we don't know where to start. Don't really wanna ask other people, cos I'll get all the irritating suggestions, plus sure will have some ppl tell me to go to some master to count, which is something I don't believe in.

hahaha... I think the engrish one we're quite settled lah, but trying to match a chinese name that sounds ok with the engrand name and the surname, eh..... a bit tough lah. Some more must take into consideration his side know how to pronounce or not. *faint*

hehehe... maybe it'll come to us like a dream soon... hehee

okies need to koonie liaoz.. getting tired and also planning to head out in the morn! Nitez!

Dear Mummies/ MTB,

Recently I had a VERY BAD encounter with Philips Singapore’s Customer Service regarding AVENT VIA Storage Cups.

I bought a lot of AVENT products during the OG 20% sales in Jan’09. I gave birth on 13 Jan & then started to use the product somewhere there then. One of the item I bought was the VIA Cups 240ml/8oz & 160ml/6oz bundle of 10 each in the box. The first few 6oz cups that I used have no leakage. Few days ago, I used one of the 8oz. I was surprised that it leak so I checked the cup. There was a needle hold at the mouth of the cup. The rest of the 9 cups also have the same problem. I believed this is the plastic molding defect. So I called Philips Singapore to check whether I can exchange the unused cups as I can’t use a defect item to store my BM & for sterilization.

The CSO who attended to me was Michael. He gave me a string of questions & asked for my receipt. I told him that I had thrown away the receipt. The stupidest thing is he even asked me how to spell the product. I told him that’s his product & he should know what that is. I already told him the remaining 9 cups are new & untouched, yet he kept asking me how many times have I used & where did I store it. Obviously unused items are in the box! He said with no receipt, there is nothing they can do as it is proof of purchase. He even suggested me going back to OG to reprint the receipt. I told him this is OG not any small shop that can trace backdated receipt. All he kept saying is “No receipt, they can’t recognize the item.”

I was angry as the product defect is due to the manufacture’s fault & in the end it become at the expenses of us, the consumer, I can’t even exchange the product.

I demanded to speak to his manager. His manager, Aaron Tan, again asked a lot of questions & said the same thing to me. He kept saying the service centre do not warranty items without receipt & it is very difficult to convince the service centre of the defect. When I asked him, “How do u warranty a plastic cup?” he did not answered my question & keep talking about the receipt. He also asked me did I check the product when I purchase. Items were all in box & sealed. Was it possible for us to check before buying??? Once open, its considered sold, isn’t it??

Here, I would like to emphasize that what if it was a gift? Do people buy gifts for others & leave the receipt in it? There is no flexibility in the way they deal with defect products. AVENT is AVENT from Philips, is there any imitation? If no, y can’t we exchange the defect products? If I had used it even if it was the manufacture’s fault, I will not ask for an exchange. But now, it is untouched, moreover, it is not cheap. Average per cup is $1.50. If there is no QC assurance on AVENT products, are we the consumers still able to trust them? For all we know, we will be buying defect products WITHOUT assurance & no exchange policy.

I am very upset & disappointed with the way they treat consumers who trust them. They breach my trust on their products. Therefore, please check all items from Philip Singapore if you are to purchase in future, keep the receipt as you may not know they sell defect items. My advise, best is don’t buy anything from them as the customer service or service centre have very bad way of treating the consumer.

For me, I will never trust them again. Never, again!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">MY SISTER HAS POPPED!!!! I'm an aunt!</font>
Due to some complication, sis was warded early this morning for an emergency Caesarian.
My niece was born early this morning at abt 7am weighing 2.8kg! Praise God for safety.
Going to see the family at hospital now. Toodle-Loo!</font>

Grats Cassey..

Sorry ladies that I didn't come here for quite some time, was too tired and busy at home.

Went to see my gynae a week earlier, had a constant tummy tightening yesterday and end up it's my little fellow pressing on me so I will having tightening all the way till he pops out. He's weighing 1.05kg at 28 weeks, still acceptable according to my gynae.

Mothercare Gold/higher disc card
Need to spend at least $1,000 to get the 15% disc card. So I only settle with the normal card.

Baby name
Got mine (both chinese and english names) since I got to know the gender.

Just clear the archives...Heng only 1 page

Nozomi,
Gyane also told me the same thing, 2nd preggie can feel earlier. I just hope bb dont pop so early.

Cassey,
Congrat on upgrading to be a Aunt.

Yesterday went to get some books for #1 at taka. After that get myself a drink n cheese cake at Coffee club....SO SHIOK kekeke

Dear ladies,
just to check. Anyone experience tummyache at week 27? I had the most uncomfortable night yesterday while sleeping. I woke up at 3am and couldn't fall asleep anymore due to tummy ache. It comes and goes. I thought it was contraction, freaked me out totally, thus making me lose sleep. This morning, the sensation is still here and I just felt like tummy weird weird one. But baby kicking, so I also dunno. It felt abit like cramp and pain. Should I go see doc or wait for another day? sigh. First born, super kan cheong!

LFB,
Did u time the interval of the tummy ache feeling that comes n goes? Cause if it is regular for 1 hr than it is contraction leh. I think u better call and check with your gyane.

Congrats Cassey on becoming a Aunt!!!!

LFB, call ur gynae and ask instead of going down first if u are worried.

i had the worst toilet experience last night. sat there for almost 45 mins. and i was so scare of straining myself. after the whole ordeal, my legs went wobbly - told hb machiam i did wrong thing, scare till "jiao luan".

Cassey, congrats!!! you sound so excited that all of us here are as excited as you. how are both mummy &amp; baby doing? so you hv some couple mths of baby handling and diaper training before yours comes around.

tubbymummy, you stuck on chinese name? you wan us to help or u prefer to kill some more brain cells between you and hubby?

LFB, wanna call your gynae and chk? at least mention abt ur condition see what they say, we inexperience but they shld b experienced enuff to tell you wat to look out for bah!

sweethalo,
ya, yest. couldn't 'tong' any longer..went to koonz. r you out for therapy sessions with ur boy already?

Cassey,
Congrats! you must be really excited being an aunt.

Jackie,
Do u feel that the vaginal part is protruding out already? i used to get tt in the later stage..but now i kena already. gynae said due to bb wt. + my legs seems swollen, am whaling..arghh..all came tt fast.

CONGRATS Cassey &amp; sis! Keep us updated!

LFB, u called your doc already or not? Just put your mind at ease lah...

Mika, thanks for the offer for chinese name hehe. I'll go check with my mum on what she thinks (my dad's chinese also as bad as mine, prob worse), and if I'm STILL stuck after that I'll come here and seek help!

Jackie, shiok right, your little afternoon escapade? Hehe... You brought your boy along, or really go and chill out all by yourself?